App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Katalon Studio Logo

Katalon Studio

Automated testing tool for web, mobile & desktop application

see alternatives

Katalon Studio Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


694 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio the tool for Automation testing

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome tool for automation testers, All in one for all your automation needs .Intuitive analytics dashboard and reports.

Pros

Katalon studio has the best user interface, easy to automate API, UI and Mobile devices. Inbuilt custom keywords,Custom keywords, plugins, Katalon Analytics, cross browser testing. Its Freeware.

Cons

Desktop applications cannot be automated. Need more features for API testing like SOAP UI. Small community.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review of Katalon Studio

Reviewed 3 years ago

Suites for middle range business for running test in web based

Pros

Ease to use for scripting automation in web based GUI and API testing.

Cons

-API respond code does not supports unicode -Heavy load when run test in more than thousands records -Does not have a summary report send out as email after finish running a test suite collection -Mobile framework does not mature enough to script automation for mobile app testing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very good open-source tool which supports all selenium features with a better handling interface.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was a very good experience. It suits a team very good if the team is new to automation.

Pros

Inbuilt functions, Automated reports, Automatic framework structure, runtime logs give much more visibility into what's happening

Cons

Too much information in the html report, Should provide option to add customizable report like reportng

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

My Time with Katalon

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to get up and running quickly with automation.

Cons

I don't like that it's not open source making all our automation efforts completely dependent on this tool and its company to continue to support it. I've had experience in the past where a tool is suddenly not being supported any longer and over time scripts start to fail because of changing technologies that are no longer supported resulting in needing to port out everything to another tool or rewriting from scratch. I've gone through this pain and that's my main con with Katalon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very powerful software with a bit of a learning curve

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

For web testing, the easy to use recorder makes it dead simple to create tests and use cases which you can easily implement and tweak to your needs. The GUI is easy to understand and has a deep tool set. Being able to install and run on Windows, Mac and Linux is terrific. Being free for what this software does is incredible.

Cons

Katalon is touted as being very simple, even for beginners, but I would disagree with this. There is a bit of a learning curve, especially if you have not previously done automation with other software. Once you get the hang of the workflow, things will start to feel intuitive, but part of the issue is that there is so much you can do with the software, you can feel a bit overwhelmed at first.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall experience is very good,software solved our resource problem ,Previously we are using multiple tools for automation like appium for mobile and selenium webdriver for web and Restassured for api testing where as the katalon gives us the feature to all in one.so instead hiring different person for different technology now we are managing with one tool and less number resources.

Pros

first thing I Most liked about this software is Object Spy ,which is really good as compared with other tools i have used. 2nd thing is writing and executing script is very easy because of manual scripting feature.at the same time scripting feature is also available for advance users which really make this software awesome.

Cons

cannot be used for desktop applications.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

QA for every one

Reviewed a year ago

I’ll admin I am kind of a Katalon fanboy, for my needs and workflow Katalon is an amazing tool which enables me to think and develop testing scenarios really fast and almost no friction when adoption the tool for the team.

Pros

Easy to use, automagically created test scripts that works and you can fine tune manually or out right create from scratch via easy to learn (Java based) groovy scripts

Cons

Hard to say, you can compare it against other “free” options for pricing but it depends on your own team capabilities and time to make that comparison .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Test automation

Reviewed 5 months ago

It is really great for test automation. We can run cross browser tests and also mobile automation.

Pros

Community edition is also available. Easy to set up and use. Auto-completion suggestions are providing while writing scripts. Very easy to write test cases because it has inbuilt commands and keywords.

Cons

Sometimes it is very slow to start and load projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon is the BOM!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love this tool and it saves me hours of time in organizing and generating test cases.

Pros

I like the usability of use and katalon and the ability to organize test cases and share then through GitHub.

Cons

I do like the record function alot but often the use of x paths create fragile test. One are I would like to see the usability improve in in creating test with Date Slider information in the test whenever I am creating test that need to use date sensitive inputs the test often become fragile and my date sliding techniques only work from year to year.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon expert

Reviewed 3 years ago

Every person can learn this without Coding knowledge. In my project, people came from manual testing background also automating the product using katalon. Easy and quick learning is possible compare to all other automation tools in the market

Pros

Easy to learn, develop and quicker execution compare to other tools. As my 14 yes of experience, this is good tool and saving time in execution around 40 to 50 %. Developing the scrips are too much easy and quicker and quality, quantity in terms of productivity is high.

Cons

Open source and all inputs getting from the websites

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Finally a tool for Test Automation!

Reviewed 3 years ago

This tool made it to easier to expand our DevOps Continuous Testing automation. Now the too l is open source, it is even easier to incorporate into our other programs.

Pros

The tool can be used by a novice or a experienced s/w resource.

Cons

Limited support for Linux environments. Since most of the Federal agencies S/w development is on Linux environments, it will be good to see in the near future support for Linux

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very powerful test automation platform ( a framework).

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is a free, easy to use, flexible and very powerful platform for Test Automation.

Pros

+ Free + Easy to use + Coding possibilities for advanced testers + Built-in reports + Data driven testing is supported + The tool is very flexible in terms of testing approaches and could be adjusted to most frameworks + New methods in Java can be added + Mobile testing is integrated + Jenkins and TeamCity are supported + Git is supported + Nearly everything you need to get started and build your automated tests is in there

Cons

On our machine we weren't able to configure IE11 properly and run tests on this browser. Might be a lack of knowledge on our side. Not sure.

Vendor response

Thanks Alex for the nice review. Regarding your issue with IE11, please refer to this guide: https://docs.katalon.com/display/KD/Internet+Explorer+Configurations. If you still experience this issue, please contact us via the forum at https://forum.katalon.com/ Regards, Katalon Studio Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not a developer

Reviewed 3 years ago

The IDE allows for quick development of regression tests that are easily updated when changes occur. The Studio provides a way to perform more robust testing not available in the IDE.

Pros

Simple to use IDE that works in both Chrome and Firefox. Studio has many tools to assist this non-developer get up and running. Also, there are some great contributors in their forums that have very creative ways to test things that aren't normally supported.

Cons

Just a couple of things that used to work in a now deprecated IDE(not Katalon) aren't available in this IDE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Studio shaping our RPA

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am a die hard fan of RPA and Automation and with the arrival of Katalon studio, i spend lesser time in fixing various frameworks and more into developing/building the actual stuff that i wish to! A big thank you to the team at KATALON!

Pros

This software is very intuitive and doesn't require the user to first go through the complete manual and then try hands on. You can just install it, go through a short tutorial and get going!

Cons

Not exactly dislike but the ability for the user to customize the way the framework works to a more granular level would have been great!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Automation - Move one step ahead

Reviewed 3 years ago

Loving it. Team also enjoys working on katalon

Pros

1. User friendly, less learning curve while onboarding a new team 2. A lot of tutorials and blogs available for reference 3. If the team is familiar with automation tools, adapting Katalon makes life more easy 4. Better object identification, though tweaking is required at times 5. Reusablity 7. Record and Play back for quickk reference

Cons

1. Can't Export/import Object repository to other projects 2. Still lot of coding is required, we are not saving much time here

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon for automated tests

Reviewed 3 years ago

I liked it very much for the feasibility of use when loading and the portability it has, you just have to run the file without installing

Pros

I really like the user-friendly interface, the organization of the objects and the configuration features

Cons

What I like least is the poor management of changes when changing an attribute, the object search filter does not search by attribute

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio is the Best Automated Testing Platform for Web, API, And Mobile

Reviewed 3 years ago

We can easily automate Web and Mobile Apps, and also Web APIs. Katalon Studio allows us to code to achieve complex functionality using Script Mode. We can create, manage and use test data with ease. Katalon Studio facilitates test writing by using custom keywords. Object spying and recording tools are the main features that increase the efficiency of test automation. Integrated with JIRA; Katalon Studio allows bugs, test logs and test results to be sent to the relevant system.

Pros

Supporting development facilities such as debugging, writing in script mode etc...

Cons

There is nothing to like least about Katalon Studio.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio is a great automation testing tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

The main advantage of Katalon Studio is Freeware Software and has an excellent customer support, they make sure queries raised in the forum are worked upon in the next relase of the software

Pros

With katalon studio, test cases can be easily created, updated, parameterized and integrated according to the business requirements. User does not require much knowledge of Html or Java. It not only provides automation testing for web browser, it also supports mobile testing and many more features to come. The best thing about Katalon is its Web-record function which can just create test case just by recording the flow of apllication.

Cons

It's still developing as a product, every month an update is released which has got new features and better functionality is expected which sometimes proves wrong. It does not support automation for silver light based application and flash based application

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easier, Cheaper and user friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Katalon is a powerful tool it makes it easier to find objects and stores them in a repository. You can also add functions into the production for easy multi use of the same code. The product is much easier to use then Selenium.

Pros

One of the main reasons I chose this tool for my team to use is because you don't already have to know how to program to use it. This enables me to use people that are not as expensive to do our automation.

Cons

There is no dark background for when you have to script only white. That C# selenium test can not be converted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon for test automation beginners

Reviewed a year ago

I recently started test automation and I have already tried out some complex applications. But Katalon was indeed different. I found it easy to learn and as place where I could simply start test automation without worries. I'm still practicing with this tool and only used it so far for mobile automation and started web application automation as well. I must say if you are new to test automation, please try this. With this you will easily enter to automation world

Pros

Katalon is a platform where we could automation all web, mobile applications and what I love most is its simplicity. I started as beginner with Katalon and getting hand on experience wasn't that difficult for me like in other automation tools. It easily detects objects, parameters and also it has whole set of keywords so you don't need to worry.

Cons

Actually so far I did not find any faults except it has little performance issue where it stuck at times even in high performance machines.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing tool for QA Team

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Easy to use you can create any test cases in less than 30 mins Great UI and self-explained tools

Cons

Need performance testing tools or integration with Jmeter

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best testing tool..

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Inbild method , object repository , recording support.

Cons

Data driven can be enhanced currently we are not able to work in multiple sheets in single excel but it can be achieved custom..

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best automation tool present in market.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best automation tool to start automation with minimum coding experience. Rating : 9/10.

Pros

User can automate UI , API and mobile application. It have best feature keyword creation. User can develop their own custom keyword based on product requirement and use. Katalon Store is best feature to add plugin.

Cons

There is few bug in tool. Need to be resolved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio vs Selenium Open source Technologie and Paltforms

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fine. USability A GUI capabilities A Selenium capabilities - B+ QTP capabilities A Framework design and high level automation : don't know Sir.

Pros

Wow, 1. Free evaluation licensing, 2. ROI on investment 3. Object repository capaibilities like QTP, totally missing in selenium 4. Frameworks seem to be there, all qa models in software testing have frameworks, you will also get there soon.

Cons

Cons: Sorry to say, no market in 50BN US $ Software automation market in 2017 AD. 2. Nobody is giving any certification in Selenium unlike QTP, yet top R&D countries like USA, India, UK, Australia, Israel, Canda, and Japan maybe will go after selenium 3. If a software SDET, QA DEv or automation engineer is looking for an SAP type career it has ended, QTP is no more. For mobile markets open...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Katalon - Changed the way the automation is done in our Organisation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome, this tool has completely changed the landscape of our automation in our organisation

Pros

CI/CD Support BDD support All the Selenium keywords are already implemented Ease of use and ease of writing the custom code to use Plugin store to use cutom keywords from market store API Support

Cons

Reporting Unable to support kerberos authentication