App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Katalon Studio Logo

Katalon Studio

Automated testing tool for web, mobile & desktop application

see alternatives

Katalon Studio Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


694 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good tool to start automation testing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The documentation and the community of Katalon is the best thing. Whenever you get stuck, wou can definitely check for a thread of discussion or create a new one and a response immediately. Also the documentation is easy to use and understand.

Cons

Sometime the releases that are made are not stable meaning the feature that was working well with the previous version is not supported in the new release.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Freeware Automation Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall experience very good as a newby can easily get the idea how to work the ide without prior knowledge of selenium.

Pros

The Test case design strategy, Report and the locator strategy

Cons

The IDE freezes frequently, so while working we may have to restart the ide several times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review about the best automation software in the world

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm just only doing web automation on this software. Where I have covered the UI and Database.

Pros

The software intelligency and user friendly is quote impressive. Some of know how to manage the all things in one software, like your team making the 360 type software which is Katalon Studio.

Cons

Nothing much unlike the about this software. Overall experience of my about this software is good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An automation starter pack

Reviewed 3 years ago

Katalon Studio is probably the best automation software in the market. It made really easy for my people to start testing with record&play feature.

Pros

This is a very usable and likable software, I've experienced with the trial version and it is strongly possible that my employer will buy a full version.

Cons

The price is a little bit expensive for companies located at regions where their currency is weak if compared with US Dollars. Also it has some language gaps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon t exceeds my expectations

Reviewed 3 years ago

We needed to automate SAP. This did it really well

Pros

It is so easy to just pick up and start automation. UI element recognition has been easy. I've automated SAP pretty easily.

Cons

It is quite memory intensive and had an issue work MS Teams being installed on the same PC. Otherwise it is awesome

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool I've used to ramp up automation quickly

Reviewed 3 years ago

I had to build up an automation framework from scratch and wanted a tool that allowed someone to use their coding knowledge, but also adapted to someone less technical. Additionally wanted a tool to allow for BDD/Cucumber, organized things well, produced good reports and was easy to maintain. Katalon delivered on all of that and was the easiest tool I've used to quickly get started. It combines the GUI based approach that licensed based tools offer as well as leveraging the abilities of Selenium and Cucumber; all for free!

Pros

Quick setup, easy to use, lots of features, well organized, integrates with Cucumber/JIRA/GIT/Jenkins and provides the flexibility of coding or using a GUI based approach to create your automated tests.

Cons

New tool, so not as many examples to leverage for troubleshooting yet and every now and then had issues with saving changes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Tool with Expanding Functionality

Reviewed 3 years ago

Katalon Studio allows coding Quality Engineers to work side by side with non-technical Quality Assurance team members to create robust and hardy test automation. Our company has moved to using Katalon Studio exclusively for all automation testing, both UI and API.

Pros

Ease of use, customizable methods (keywords), a fresh approach to the page view model of programming

Cons

Can be a bit of work to get/keep working on remote server executions in headless mode.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio a friendly tool to automate

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. Inbuild Object repository 2. Inbuild Keyword Driven framework 3. Ease of use 4. Custom Keyword support Java and Groovy 5. Reporting 6. Mobile and Web automation, even a new person can start automation using Katalon studio. 7. Use selenium script

Cons

1. Cannot create two differnt project at a time same as eclipse and other tools 2. Merging two or more project is a manual process

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does what you need at no cost

Reviewed 3 years ago

We started using Katalon Studio around a year ago. Some users with little or no experience could easily get comfortable using it just by hitting record and playing around.

Pros

Web, mobile and API testing, and of cost the cost.

Cons

Unlike tools like Selenium the script creation is limited to Java and Groovy only

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio experience

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

It's easy to jump into and get started with, similar to selenium with more robust features. For a team that doesn't have a coding background and plans on expanding to different platforms, it ticks most of the boxes. The free version also offers enough functionality to users that are in small organisations and can't afford the more expensive tools.

Cons

the dark them isnt great. When capturing runs using the record feature, some elements arent always captured correctly, and have to be captured manually. The documentation could be better

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent UI Automation Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a QA analyst with intermediate experience level in automation this tool really helps when you are unable to build a testcase and can make use of the tool to record and export it to a script which can be directly used in your automation code thus killing two birds with one stone

Pros

1) Record and Play to Automate tests on the go 2) Export to/Import from other languages to build scripts for use in other environments quickly without effort which helps beginners to pick up automation easily 3) Supported on Windows/Mac and also available for use as plugin for chrome browser making it easy to use across multiple platforms

Cons

Support documentation for Linux does have some scope for improvement since I found it difficult to use it in a linux environment as compared to windows or mac

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best

Reviewed 3 years ago

Maintaining and control over issues

Pros

Free and open-source, used to record web applications, API test and integration with Jira and Jenkins

Cons

Everything about the software, user-friendly even for users without programming knowledge

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I am Happy that I found this Automation tool.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Over all I liked Katalon Studio Tool, its very friendly for the user who has less coding experience to automate.

Pros

Automation feature which makes to understand a user how to automate the scripts and also I like the chat option within the tool.

Cons

Menu options are not very user friendly on the left and right side of the tool. The Main menu options are good. I liked the older katalon version of 5 plus

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One Solution for all your Automation need, Web, API and Mobile app automation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. Katalon Studio is an Open source tool, freely available to all your personal study or organisational(Client) Automation requirements use. 2. One stop Tool for Script-less Automation 3. Take care of Web, Mobile App and API automation 4. I like the version 5.7 on wards Katalon supports BDD - cucumber approach decently. I have used it in my one of POCs. 5. As the tool developed Wrapper over EClipse - Simple and Easy UI. 6. Perform AI visual-based testing with Appli-tools integration 7. Ready made Framework with page object repository available by default for a new project. 8. Multi Browser support 9. Higher degree of re-usability of all artifacts 10. Most important feature is IDE to record and convert your test scenarios into TC's

Cons

1. There is no big community support just like Java-Selenium we would get easily for free version 2. There are some minor bugs in tool, but yet to mature enough as time passes 3. Tool gets hang some times, similar to we frequently observe it with Eclipse 4. Identifying iFrames is bit challenging

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My Experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

Swiftly able to design automation test cases across many environments with the easiest of user interfaces and easily the best tool in the market.

Pros

There is no framework that needs to be set and it follows the page object model which is the most sought after one,the most user friendly automation tool ever.

Cons

No cons to say the least but I had to pick one the option of manually loading the steps is one option which I would say is the least liked one as it could have been entirely scripting but having said that the manual process has also been very helpful for those who don't have coding knowledge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automation Made Easy :)

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. Script Recording 2. Ease to Code in Groovy 3. Inbuilt Object Repository 4. Cool Report

Cons

1. Need more documentation and support 2. Scripts Not capturing when Lots of Iframes are involved but Katalon Recorder extension captures iframes 3. Need support for Enterprise Browser

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon a game changer for CI Setup

Reviewed 3 years ago

Script creation time have reduce. Reporting is very clear and understandable . The best part is integration with gitlab which helped in implementing the CI process. Thanks a lot Katalon Studio

Pros

Selection of the element identifier. Debugging script from current line of code instead of running full script. Clean up of all driver is awsome.

Cons

The API part is need more option as some of the parts is missing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Record & Play Test Automation never been easier!

Reviewed a year ago

Mainly Katalon helped us create Test Automation Scripts for Legacy Projects in a very high speed which is one of the best aspects about it especially because it doesn't require any programming knowledge.

Pros

I liked how intuitive and easy is the tool in helping the Quality Team to record and play their Test Automation Scripts without having programming knowledge. Also the tool provides many other features including Web Applications Testing, API Testing, Mobile Testing, Desktop Applications Testing, etc.

Cons

The tool can be a little expensive. Also, since the tool is relatively new to the market compared to some other tools, this makes troubleshooting an issue a bit difficult as you won't find large support community.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One stop solution for Automation for mobile, Web and API

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use Run from here feature very useful Switching between iframe is most useful No need to design a framework

Cons

Renaming and Deletion is time consuming and sometimes hangs SVN plugin is missing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

New Range of Automation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Can integrate Selenium, Jenkins, Git, Cucumber and Java code Easy to get xpath

Cons

UI little boring Delay methods like element present, element clickable are not working File upload wont work properly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio review

Reviewed 3 years ago

this software is a game changer

Pros

this software makes it really easy for me to test my application and its faster than selenium

Cons

needs load testing right now I am unable to perform load testing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and adaptive

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Switch between Groovy and transcription. Easy to use. Frequently add feature like proxy configuration.

Cons

The problem we encoutered is the dialogue with Jenkins, it's disturbed sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Katalon- automation tool

Reviewed a year ago

Good tool for automation, easy to install. User friendly up to some points.

Pros

Katalon is a good tool to create and store your automated test. I like the reporting part and how you can structure the test scripts.

Cons

I felt that Katalon is not for a beginner, it takes some time to acknowledge all the features and to play with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing tool for automation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

its so easy to launch and create the tests with minimum required knowledge and effort. also brilliant for api testing

Cons

the reporting of execution can be difficult to read and follow

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A great tool for Automation Testing! Amazing features and user friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is very easy to learn and I would recommend this to anyone who is new to automation testing. This tool is very user friendly, but I faced some issues such as scripts failing randomly, or generation of huge volumes of cache files. But the overall experience is good as I got a lot to learn and implement as well.

Pros

I liked the fact that Katalon Studio provides us a lot of Features that we can make use of, in order to automate test cases. It provides the features such as web recorder, object spy, a user friendly interface. It organizes all the files in separate folders and generated detailed reports of the execution taken place of the test cases.

Cons

The tool generates a lot of cache files and sometimes it gives an error because of it. Sometimes the web recorder does not work. Once the test cases are passed, again if we run the tests, it fails.