App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Katalon Studio Logo

Katalon Studio

Automated testing tool for web, mobile & desktop application

see alternatives

Katalon Studio Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


694 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Katalon Studio: Compare Testing Efforts

Reviewed 3 years ago

Dependency Management- Maven should include Faced the problem to connect the app in Dev environment through VPN to real devices in the cloud.

Pros

Creating a Project that includes all common features. Also, TestOps area as well which allows integration of all new technologies/tools.

Cons

Record mobile option has an issue with sync from the real physical device. The side navigational window sometimes not sync instantly. It requires to refresh the screen.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Rapid Automated Enablement

Reviewed 3 years ago

I started to use Katalon Recorder for my first ever automation implementation. I was able to create an E2E solution in just over 2 weeks. With a very basic pre existing know how on automation , I would say a job well done !

Pros

Ease of Use. Community support. Intuitive UI .

Cons

Katalon Recorder has some limitations. If you could introduce a headless run mode , it would be unrivalled.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Software to use in as Automation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best Software used to learn and Best working

Pros

This software is easy to use and best in market to learn automation in easy way.

Cons

The Functionality of the software is best easy to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Katalon for automation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. Easy to use 2. You can start creating test cases from the beginning (Framework out of the box) 3. Free 4. Can integrated via multiple plugin's 5. Active forum to help 6. Great for beginners 7. user friendly help document

Cons

1. More free plug-ins can be added 2. Can not merge two projects 3. Better cucumber integration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Now do Automation without any hassle

Reviewed 3 years ago

I highly recommend all those who have very little knowledge of coding and want to pursue their career in automation can use Katalon Studio. Organisation who wants Automates solutions can also go for this as this is free and time saving.

Pros

1. Almost all the feature for automation. 2. User friendly UI. 3. Support lot of integration. 4. Can do automation of Web,Mobile and API. 5. Can build automation scripts in less time than WebDriver. 6. Provide lot of useful plugins. 7. Reporting part is very useful. 8. Acn write code in manual mode and script mode.

Cons

I found nothing major till now. But if it would be greart if Katalon can open multiple projects at the same time.Right now only one project can be open at a time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent free tool for automation testing

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience is great. I can do wonders in using this tool for automation.

Pros

It is tool with in built framework. UI Features are easy and great.

Cons

There should be provision to create re-usable functions . It is there in keywords but some better option then will be good. Mobile automation still needs to develop. There is little lagging in that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool for testing.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was great. The tool is basically free to use. The sets of automations are well developed.

Pros

Testing web and mobile app is very much easy by this tool. The automation procedure is great. The UI is great. Test data management and recording of test generation are the features of Katalon I love the most.

Cons

The tool is not a open source and the worst thing I've come across that is works on groovy. I would like to seen more coding languages added to the software. I've also encountered some lag while using this platform on my laptop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon Automation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease to create automation test cases and easy to debug the code

Cons

Katalon crashing on me a few times so i found it sometimes annoying when its crashing during work

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for speeding up development

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall Katalon Studio helped us speed development and create solution which our client liked a lot.

Pros

Easy to create testing project & create page models using recording tool. Excellent project structure layout (object repository, test cases, listeners)

Cons

It is very hard to debug code & also there are no compile-time error checks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Katalon is the best <3

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Katalon is a free open source application where I can automate my test cases in any environment no matter whether the device is web or mobile.

Cons

Compatibility with Java, Selenium, xpath, Groovy and being able to execute Javascript statements

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

QA Automation Team LEad

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The improvement that you have to develop new functions to katalon

Cons

I think i need auto converter engine to convert old scripts from selenium to katalon so some missed features to support pom.xml and maven must be available this will give katalon the availability to be more customized especially in reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Katalon a software through which you can automate your testing easily and efficiently.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The product is very useful to automate test cases and reduce efforts to test.

Pros

Not so much of learning requires to use Katalon, just start using it and later by exploring found so many interesting functionality of it to work on.

Cons

Associated with crome version, sometimes need a specific crome version to use katalon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Future of automated testing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Free, Selenium based engine, automated testing for UI. It is very easy to deploy and to use because of which it gets my recommendation for being user-friendly.

Cons

Lesser number of scripting languages, not open source and has a smaller community. There have been a few bugs and freezing issues as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Api testing tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its a good tool, a nice addition yo a testers arsenal.

Pros

This tool is easy to pickup. Quite user friendly and easy understandable. The views for seeing the errors is really nice.

Cons

The response time can be improved . Sometimes the output result takes much longer to appear in run time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy of use when it comes to recording test scripts using the record web functionality. Playback of test cases are smooth and fast without any issues. The object repository is easy to maintain and update. Having the ability to have test cases to be data driven (through the use of spreadsheets in our case) allowed for test suites to be set up and run through iterations of test data for a test case.

Cons

The size of method code which can be implemented would be the only con I can think of, if the method code could support larger methods within the test cases then 1 script could be used through being data driven for multiple test cases.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Undoubtedly the best solution out there

Reviewed 3 years ago

The tool makes it easy for us to automate sytems integration tests that need to be run daily, so we can catch any integration problems we might have in our ecosystem.

Pros

- Free - Web UI and API testing made easy - Framework approach - Extensibility

Cons

- IDE has lots of room for improvement - Some basic bugs have been present for a while now

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best Free Tool for Automation Purposes

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am an Automation QA Engineer and I tried using Katalon Studio for API automation. However some limitations regarding it's features made me switch to something else. But I am still using and plan on using Katalon for FrontEnd WEB automation.

Pros

Easy to use Integration with Katalon Recorder Can export code into many different language formats API Automation and easy to make assertions

Cons

Limited support for types of Auth when using API calls; Kinda complicated when trying to organise Tests in Test Cases in Test Suites - The Overall Hierarchy; When doing more complex test cases and assertions.. it can get stuck or can end up using a lot of system resources; Could have more precise and details errors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The first automation tools i used

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Because It's easy to use even if you can't programming (I mean: script coding)

Cons

The team of Katalon Studio always update this tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Full-featured, easy to use product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, the product functions better than the comparable selenium recorder. I would like the ability to export web application tests to be run in protractor or some other test runner like Karma. As of right now, exporting the tests for Node produces a file with a 'txt' extension. I'm not sure why it isn't even a '.js' file.

Pros

The recorder provides a simple mechanism for creating integration tests.

Cons

We are having a difficult time exporting the web-driver tests from the recorder and running them in protractor.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's a great concept, but since it is a testing tool, it has TOO many bugs.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Waste alot of time. A testing tool must be tested more before it is released, or should be marketed as such.

Pros

Easy to record and use. Very intuitive. Basically the interface is a copy of Selenium IDE. Records absolute xpath well.

Cons

I don't even know where to start. It is very messed up at what it is supposed to do basically. It will give you lots of options to use but most of them are either broken or just there for visuals. The idea behind the tool is great but the execution is horrendous. Eg, You can add csv sheets to the recorder but can't actually use it. You can export scripts from the recorder but it wont even work on their own Katalon studio. Many a times we are unable to save recorded scripts and have to rely on copy paste which actually wastes more time. We all have stopped using this product, and are working on IntelliJ's Idea IDE. Much more reliable and so easy to manipulate the script.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Project Katalon

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm implementing automatic scripts for regression testing.

Pros

- easy to use - eclipse framework behind - deductive - entry level friendly. it really thought me lots of concepts about automation.

Cons

- for the moment doesn't have dark screen. - It's still in development and it has some little bugs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Product that ever used

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very helpful for the QA team who has no experience in coding.

Pros

Supports Page Object Model, Direct Integration, Cucumber support, API testing

Cons

Few minor issue in playback while identifying elements which is not very big and this is start of this application and it can be fixed by katalon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very helpfull software and focus on writing test scenarios

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Very helpful in term of writing faster test scripts, coming with a ready solution. Don't worry about setting up browsers, updating drivers, only select the browser you want to lunch. Organized project by repository.

Cons

Very expensive for small businesses like our company

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superb Product to learn Automation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy to Understand, Easy to implement. Everything is EASY EASY :)

Pros

I love the in build architecture of Katalon. It is a bunch of everything. Just call keywords and do whatever you want to automate :)

Cons

As I am software Tester, I found only one bug into Product. 1. We can not modify the name of Test Object. When I tried to changed name then it through error message but when I closed and re-open Katalon then the Test object name is changed. Otherwise product is absolutely best to use

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Automated Form Submission Testing

Reviewed 3 years ago

I learned it and have now training several other coworkers to use it.

Pros

Katalon makes it possible to create an automated web to lead form submission process, via a unified graphical user interface.

Cons

It has a learning curve but documentation and online learning materials are available