This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

ManageEngine Endpoint Central Logo

ManageEngine Endpoint Central

Desktop, mobile device & patch management software

see alternatives

ManageEngine Endpoint Central Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


402 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the easiest to use management systems yet powerful as well

Reviewed a year ago

We went from having a few devices in a few close locations to 100's of devices located across multiple states. Having a reliable and simple way to manage these devices has made my job 1000 times easier.

Pros

I had started with Maas360 and every part of that seemed to be confusing and poorly laid out. With DesktopCentral that wasn't the case. It was easy to find what I needed after a very short time of poking around and trying things out.

Cons

About the only thing I can think of at the moment would be that that the mobile devices are separate from the inventory. It made the integration of the 2 products seem less integrated. But this was, to be honest a minor issue to me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best ITSM Tool

Reviewed 7 months ago

It has made our endpoint management and deployment easy as we have automated most of the task using this product.

Pros

The remote control functionality to provide remote help. Threat and patch management.

Cons

One feature i would love to have is ability to use software metering for web-based applications. this feature is currently not available in the software metering module.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Increased mobile users required us to move to a cloud solution.

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience has been great. The product is easy to use and helpdesk support is always quick and friendly.

Pros

As COVID hit our company we suddenly went from about 40% remote users to 100% remote users. As a company we have always deployed laptops to our users but most of them were in the corporate office regularly. With COVID that changed and degraded our ability to know vulnerability levels and to ensure all systems were patched. We have deployed the in-house Vulnerability Manager Plus from Manage Engine but with users not always on VPN getting up to date information on laptops was difficult. Moving to the cloud solution was a great option for us as it had most of the capabilities of the inhouse system in use with the benefit added features like system inventory, remote management and always on connectivity through the cloud.

Cons

There really isn't anything I like about this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Brilliant system that is constantly updated with new features

Reviewed a year ago

Customer service is usually really good. most issues are resolved within a couple of hours. if logs have to be sent, I'd give them 4-5 days

Pros

The system is cheap, reliable, integrates with our Servicedesk well and constantly has new features added to it

Cons

When a new update is released, their quality control can sometimes be lacking. there's always several issues such as not being able to search, not being able to sort, not being able to connect to PCs (these issues were just in the last 2 months). Even though we have the Enterprise version (that's supposed to include everything), In the last 2 years, they've released a couple of Add-ons... They seem to ignore the fact that we paid for the enterprise level to get everything included, and are seperating everything that they can so that we have to continue spending

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Desktop Central offers the best features to manage multiple devices from a Central device.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our organization is using Desktop Central to manage all of our devices including devices with Windows and Mac OS, Android and iOS devices from a single Device. Desktop Central has allowed us to give the Power of controlling all the devices to a Single Central Device which can be operated by Senior IT managers. We can manage Software installation, patching and deployment with ease. We can also monitor who is using what device and when, means we can easily monitor our devices using Desktop Central. The pricing perfectly fits our need, also we can get Quote to best explain our requirements and get an even perfect subscription from them. They also provide a 30 day trial to effectively understand and evaluate the complete product.

Pros

Desktop Central offers a lot of features to effectively manage several devices anytime from single Central Device. Some of the most helpful features are Turn On/Off the controlled devices, Operating System patch management, installation and deployment of Softwares, file transfer using Remote Sharing etc. Desktop Central allows patching, imaging and deploying of OS, which helps a lot in keeping all the devices safe from known/unknown Security threats by remote upgradation. Desktop Central also allows us to monitor several things like Login History, Software and Hardware Changes etc which helps our organization a lot in monitoring the use of our devices. Overall, we can have full control over all of our devices easily and effectively from a single Central Powered Device anytime.

Cons

A few things I think should be improved with Desktop Central is their Customer Support Service. Recently, some people from our organization were having trouble with Desktop Central but the Customer Support team was not effectively helping them out. Though, the problem has now been solved because we went through their Guides and Documentations and figured out how to fix things up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Desktop Central - A Replacement for SCCM and WSUS

Reviewed 7 months ago

I've used Desktop Central at my previous company and learned the product fairly quickly. When I joined IPS our [SENSITIVE CONTENT] decided that we will use the same product for our environment. This was hands down the best decision that we made because DC really gives us an in depth analysis of our systems, and we are able to management these systems, and make applications available for users to install by themselves.

Pros

Patch management, software deployment, hardware and software reports, Self Service, and other "built in configurations" are utilized by our company daily and weekly. This is hands down the best product in the market for UEM. Also the support is top notch and I've never had an issue that could not be resolved.

Cons

The only thing I can think of is that there are no Dynamic custom groups for Users. We have an internal application that we use and weekly I have to go in and add the new users to the custom group so they can see the software in the self service portal. This is not a deal breaker, however.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

best MDM and Desktop laptop monitoring tool

Reviewed a year ago

best MDM and patch management system can monitor the devices from one plat form

Pros

manage all desktop laptop from a single platform, user can enroll by themself from the portal

Cons

it should synchronize data with Asset explorer , but that option is not available, MDM is not supporting linux

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So many useful features that you don't get with a normal Windows Domain controller

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use Desktop Central as it offers so many extra features, as I mentioned in my first paragraph. These features are really useful and save so much time.

Pros

There are so many useful features in Desktop Central. My favourite features are: - Being able to remotely wake up and shut down computers - Inventory history showing hardware changes - Reports of which user logged onto which computers, which really helps find who works at which desk

Cons

The updating routine for getting the latest version of Desktop Central is very tedious, requiring a backup, shut down, downloading a file, and then manually running a patch installer. I would like to see an automatic updater, but perhaps it is for those who are very strict about software installations.

Vendor response

Hello Aaron, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. Thank you for letting us know your pain point in upgrading Desktop Central. Your feedback will be passed on to the development team. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good for patch management, USB port lock down, and self service portal and OS deployment.

Reviewed 8 months ago

Manage Engine reduced tickets and the patch management enabled to be cyber essentials plus certified.

Pros

The self service is the best thing for the users and the service desk. it was removed a lot tickets and given the users the power to install that they wanted without giving them admin rights. It has given us in IT the ability to patch manage are large fleet of laptops, and servers with Mac Windows and Linux from one central source. Control USB ports. Run scripts multiple machines quickly in a manged way. Gather information about machines , and get to the command prompt of machines without disturbing the users. We also use it for OS deployments.

Cons

There was issue with the OS re-deployment and MAC addresses getting locked but that seems to have been ironed out now. I which the support staff were more keen /allowed to have a screen share/audio conversation with you. So you could upgrade a support chat to a voip call. And that you didn't have to zip the whole of the log folder every time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Desktop Central: Tech Perspective

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it is a good product and accomplishes our purposes.

Pros

This software is really good shut the price and features it comes with. Replaces a lot of tools we have had to mismatch and put together all in one.

Cons

The user interface and language of the site is somewhat confusing and not intuitive. They have a log guides that help. Just not as intuitive as I had hoped.

Vendor response

Hello, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central and it's unified approach. We hope our product has helped you with securing and managing all your endpoints, thereby replacing multiple tools that you've had to use in the past. If you require further assistance with the user interface, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very important and useful automation tool for IT.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It automates a lot of things that takes time to manually do it. In simple words, it saved enormous time, energy, money and definitely increase productivity.

Pros

Ease of use, available feature to monitor status of specific computer desktop, server and laptop. As part of my job, to ensure 100% software patches are applied and monitored this application is very important to me or must have.

Cons

Poor support, raised a simple recurring issue (which suddenly occured) but no sulotion even remotely checked and provided the logs but still no clear guidance on how to correct. We have software patches for some reason cannot be distributed to computer desktops. We can manully download from the server and iinstall manually with no issue.

Vendor response

Hello Wilson, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. Thank you for your feedback on our support and we're happy to inform you that our support has scaled up to deliver top-notch customer service. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great all-in-one management platform

Reviewed a year ago

We initially replaced our WSUS system with DC, then expanded it out to cover MDM (replacing Meraki) and vulnerability scanning.

Pros

- Centralised patch management - Vulnerability and threat management works pretty well - Excellent, responsive support team - Once you get used to how it works, it's pretty robust and nice to use - Nice MDM, desktop, laptop and mobile management all in one place

Cons

- It takes a while to get your head around how updates are applied - it is quite 'batchy' - The MDM UI is sometimes a bit confusing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great overall product, has completely changed how we deploy and manage our software.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The biggest benefit for us was the software deployment piece, ve were previously deploying through GPO

Pros

Software deployment is great and Simple to use, the software portal has really decreased the amount of IT tickets we receive in relation to software requests. The tools are also very useful, we have setup reboot polices to force updates to install and set up remote control so we don't need to run around the building. We found the patch management module easy and quicker to use than WSUS and the reports are also more specific.

Cons

No software portal for mac. License management is tricky to use as it is based on the product and version, some software has multiple versions depending on install date so can be hard to track. Would like to see better reporting in regards to USB device management particularly for drives

Vendor response

Hello Barry, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central and its software deployment capabilities, in particular. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. We're happy to let you know that self-service portal is now available for macOS users as well. Also, software licenses for different versions can be managed. And, we've enhanced our reporting with respect to USB devices. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

All in one!

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall it is great. I was not expecting this many features, and it will save us money too.

Pros

Software deployment, patch management, MDM, and remote support all together. We did not have software deployment in the past, and now we can everything for the same cost we were paying for Just remote support and MDM.

Cons

I did not see how to assign software licenses to users instead of devices. We have a mix of packages that are user based and device based.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Positive overall

Reviewed 5 years ago

Better control of our desktop/endpoint environment for support, patches, and configuration pushes... all at a fair price.

Pros

Clean interface. Easy to find most information. Some nice tools included, would like to see more tools like remote registry viewer.

Cons

Help file is a bit limited. Online KBs and forums are average to OK. Support for non-critical items is responsive enough. Worried that "live" support for emergency items (i.e. DC is not starting, database problem, problem during upgrade, etc.) is not easily available via phone (I have not had to contact support about a critical issue to date).

Vendor response

Hello Timothy, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. We've relentlessly worked on extensive help documents and knowledge base articles that might help you. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Manage Engine in Lafert

Reviewed a year ago

i'm really happy of this product, i can have a full control of our assets. it was very easy to deploy and i like the possibility to manage also the mobile devices.

Pros

the easy way to manage the devices and reporting the integration with other product like Service Desk (that we have already implemented)

Cons

i have some issues with the Mobile Device Management, i'm not able to understand why certain policies were applied not to all the device of the target group.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Free to use for up to 25 computers - A really good time saving tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been using ManageEngine Desktop Central for a few years, and are still on the free tier that allows up to 25 computers to be managed. The primary purpose we had for installing it was to make sure all our computers have the latest Windows Updates installed. This is important to keep all our computers secure. It has been working well and I would recommend anyone with an office to use this software.

Pros

What I like most about ManageEngine Desktop Central is that it scans all our Windows computers on our network, and checks and reports on which computers require Windows Updates.

Cons

Sometimes the Windows Server component of ManageEngine Desktop Central does not start up on boot, and has to be started manually. It means after a reboot of the server, sometimes we do not notice the ManageEngine Desktop Central server hasn't started up and we do not receive reports for a few days.

Vendor response

Hello Michael, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. To ensure that the Desktop Central server is up and running after every system boot/reboot, you'll have to enable an option under the 'Product server settings' to 'Start Desktop Central automatically on machine bootup'. If you require further assistance with the server and client startup, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Titan Machinery Desktop Central Trial Review

Reviewed 8 months ago

Our main goal with this software was Windows and 3rd Party Software Patch Management. The trial has proven that Desktop Central does this very well. We will also be using the product configurations area to deploy new printers later this year.

Pros

Our number one goal with this product was to patch our existing computers. Manage Engine makes this very easy and straight forward. I like that you are able to patch on demand as well as automatically apply patches. The 3rd party software catalog is huge and great for patching our 3 party software. The configurations that can be done are also very useful, it acts almost like a GPO from a Windows Server without the confusion.

Cons

This is a very feature packed piece of software. With a lot of features comes a lot of buttons to push. It takes some time to get used to where everything is located in the software but I would rather have the features and have to hunt for them a little than have a stripped down piece of software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent management solution for small companies without the baggage and up-sell of the big guys

Reviewed a year ago

We have been extremely successful, and the software has really come through when we needed it. It has streamlined our onboarding as well. Additionally, the software is improving over time. Performance is strongly better today than when we started with the platform.

Pros

The cross platform coverage is not just lip service. We manage Linux, Mac, and Windows machines on equal footing.

Cons

The weakest area of DesktopCentral would be realtime scripting and diagnostics. Software analysis and reporting is sub par. There are gaps in functionality where the system is gathering certain data points, but you cannot report of script based upon them. For example, you cannot search machines for active processes. Most of this can be worked around, but is inefficient.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The One-Stop-Shop to star centralizing Desktop Mangement and more

Reviewed a year ago

I wanted to get an overview of the scattered software landscape of my tenants and even more information about their security and patch levels. as well as getting an providing remote access for support and maintenance

Pros

I knwo Manage engine products for a longtime, before they sneaked unter ZOHO hoods, but just for test and integrations with vendors I was working for. now, running my own business, was looking for an easy to use solution for myself and my tenants. als requirements are fulfilled. which are primarily: remote support and patch management and MDM (more to come, integrate) the ease of use, many features combined in one Web UI, useful add-ons to Microsoft build-in tools. one agent for a lot of functionality, not for each and every feature a dedicated tool or agent. remote access to clients, supp

Cons

- what could be better would be remote printing capability would be a nice feature, this is missing to comparable product for remote support/access ... - Ui a little bit better modernized, sometimes switches and radio buttons are not highlighted enough

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good alternative to SCCM with complete features

Reviewed 4 years ago

All in one management system. Easy to setup and interesting cost

Pros

Easy installation on premiss , a little less on Azure. Templates are available if needed. Many option ad cool feature from distribution of software to remote control. Managine MDM , server and workstation is very easy once setup.

Cons

No integration with Azure Active directory, still base on Active directory setup for the workstation? Management little tricky with on a cloud based domain. Groupe poicies and update management not easy to remove.

Vendor response

Hello Philippe, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. We are working on the integration with Azure Active Directory and please be informed that Desktop Central instance is available on Azure marketplace. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The right tool for the job

Reviewed 4 years ago

You really only are as good as the tools you have available. This is one of the best tools to manage hardware, software, and end users as well as troubleshooting systems. It makes my job much easier than other tools I have used in the past!

Pros

- Ease of use - Remote support capabilities - Asset management functionality - Integration with Service Desk Plus - Overall information available - Automated patch deployment and management

Cons

A lot to take in at first. It's very feature rich which can be somewhat intimidating at first. It almost seems like some of the functionality could be simplified somewhat.

Vendor response

Hello, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you automate endpoint management and security, thereby replacing the multiple tools you've had to use in the past. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Desctop Central for ITSM

Reviewed a year ago

We are generally satisfied. We are also pleased with the fast technical support provided by the business pastner Vitel.

Pros

User friendly, Best dashboards and interface, Best patch management, RDP to computers by secure gateway from everywhere

Cons

License management needs further improvement. It takes a lot of license inventory for a program. Example: Dessault Systems (Catia)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic endpoint and even server management

Reviewed a year ago

This has helped me so much that when I started in a new company I made sure to get it for our deployments and management, it was easier to do since they didn't have one. Everyone I introduce this to thinks it is amazing.

Pros

Gives us the ability to monitor and run reports on all of our end points. The higher end component for OS Deployment has made PXE booting and loading as easy as clicking a few buttons. We can now deploy images on new or redeployable PCs in under 10 minutes and have a user setup and working in about 20 or less. Patch scanning and remote software deployment are amazing. Configuration changes like USB drive locking, printer or other kinds of things can be managed for better security. Documentation is fantastic with a large KB site.

Cons

Can be difficult to figure out some things. Some areas are accessible through multiple different ways to get there. Some areas can be a bit convoluted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best In the business-Desktop Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Helped to be compliant at audit level & maintain the inventory details.

Pros

Ability to patch all the applications used over the organizations, Software Deployment with Self Service Portal for users,Security Policies & USB Management for security purpose & Most liked feature is Inventory module.

Cons

The Agent communication period of 90 Minutes.