This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

ManageEngine Endpoint Central Logo

ManageEngine Endpoint Central

Desktop, mobile device & patch management software

see alternatives

ManageEngine Endpoint Central Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


406 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Product

Reviewed a year ago

over all experience is satisfactory

Pros

easy to use, gives good control over end points, patch management

Cons

frequent update lead agent connectivity issue, unable to update big patches of Microsoft,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Options But a Little Pricey

Reviewed 3 years ago

ManageEngine Desktop Central has helped with automating patches. We also use it to install a base load of software for new computer installations that is automated as well and this save time during new computer setups.

Pros

We like the automation of ManageEngine Desktop Central. The basic inventory of hardware installed on the systems makes it easy to gather information to make decisions on upgrades refreshes without having to sit at the machine. Desktop Central also reports warranty information on systems which is helpful for budgeting purposes. The built in alerts aid in completing our daily checklists as they alert to vulnerable systems that need to be patched.

Cons

The software does come with a great deal of options and functionality but for a small startup, it is somewhat pricey. We have found other solutions that have similar functionality that also incorporate anti-virus and malware protection that are less expensive.

Vendor response

Hello, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you automate endpoint management and security. We'd be happy to know more about the other solutions that you're currently using to see if our product has scope for additional functionalities. If you require further assistance with the product or the pricing, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Tries to do too many things

Reviewed 4 years ago

This product advertises a lot of features and functionalities that try to make the solution a one-stop shop for IT departments. Unfortunately none of the features work well or work at all. When compared with other patching solutions, software deployment solutions and help desk toolsets, it falls flat on its face and does not meet the demands of an enterprise sized organization. Support staff is foreign based and can be very difficult working against the language barriers or trying to explain the problem even though they appear to be trying to help.

Pros

Useful dashboard for inventory of hardware and software.

Cons

Patching is extremely complicated compared to competitors. Agents deployed to endpoints consume large amount of CPU and RAM. Customer support is a small team with most tickets taking 3 days minimum. Every case starts with uploading logs. Product patches are being released constantly to fix the large number of bugs in software. Bandwidth management for remote offices does not function well and will easily consume an entire circuit. If this happens it is difficult to stop the traffic until the action has completed. Small mistakes can have big consequences when configuring deployments.

Vendor response

Hello, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like our intuitive dashboard for hardware and software inventory. We're sorry about your unpleasant experience with the product. Our patching today has transcended and become a lot more seamless with the introduction of automated patch deployment tasks, wherein every stage of the patch cycle is automated. We've grown as a team, and currently...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

So many features especially the remote control such as remote registry and wake on LAN. Deploying packages is good to but the status page could be a little more elaborate.

Cons

User Interface could be cleaner. Currently it feels a little crowded and could use some consolidating.

Vendor response

Hello Philip, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. We're working on our product's user interface in terms of creating better visibility and streamlining the modules. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great remote support software suite providing easy way to connect remotely or get software inventory

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Remote support features. System manager with remote command prompt support. Access to registry, inventory and hardware and software settings.

Cons

Won't get installed or updated easily in clients computers. Remote support connection outside of company network is hit or miss.

Vendor response

Hello, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central and its remote access capabilities. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. We've worked on the remote desktop connection for your local and remote offices. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Option for Processes.

Reviewed a year ago

I can find what I need with my computers

Pros

Auto installation tasks, auto update options.

Cons

RPA capabilities and working online all.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why you should look no further and trial this software now!

Reviewed a year ago

I am managing multiple office locations with multiple clients using one product to manage it all. I love this software and would recommend it to anyone in IT.

Pros

Saves time, money, and people. You can manage everything from behind a screen and do about anything with this software. I have looked else where at other products you get more value for less money here. Buy this product now and start saving yourself time and money like I did.

Cons

Nothing, this is the holy grail when it comes to Systems Administration Software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very robust product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Remote access is simple as well as patch management. The inventory module is extremely detailed. We are starting to go full in on the MDM module as well

Cons

Not happy that the new security module is an add-on

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best all in one endpoint management tool available

Reviewed 10 months ago

I love this software and the features it provides. Their support team is pretty responsive if you are able to clearly demonstrate the problem. I wish they could iron out their bug frequency and make the software more stable overall.

Pros

Our IT team uses desktop central every hour of every day. We automatically deploy patches for OS and 3rd party tools. We manage asset inventory and MDM with it as well. I am able to run detailed reports for my manager and executive team. Our technicians use it for Remote Desktop support.

Cons

There are frequent bugs and most of them don’t impact overall use of the software but sometimes it has broken remote support for us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Software

Reviewed a year ago

There is so much feature packed into Desktop Central. Most of them so useful and so convenient.

Pros

We use this software mainly to rollout Windows/Linux patches, third party software updates, software installation/uninstallation and for remote access of internal workstations. It is very easy to use and all in one interface. You can even launch command prompt in the background as the user while the user is using the computer. Saves us so much time.

Cons

The pricing is in USD only. Their latest Endpoint Security feature requires separate licensing. Some features like MDM and OS Deployment require a steep learning curve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

All the different functionalities in one location Desktop central. Remote tool is amazing. Easy to setup and administrate. It does what it says. I also use the mobile device management feature which is easy to use.

Cons

Nothing at all. The software does what it says. Support is great as well.

Vendor response

Hello Angela, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. We're delighted to know that you haven't had any concerns with our product. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Life Saver

Reviewed a year ago

In our environment we have to meet many government mandates that for a small company can be challenging. This tool helps meet many of those requirements and combines them into 1 tool.

Pros

So many features! Love how many applications are built in to auto deploy. Love all the reporting features as well. In a distributed environment I need to be able audit and this tool allows me to do that.

Cons

It can be a bit complicated to really configure at the detailed level I need but most tools are. Would like to see more canned configurations for Linux support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Well Rounded Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Reporting provides accurate details to resolve compliance or security issues. Inventory of accounts and assets is maintained and the patching and speed of pushing them out is easier without disrupting users. Remote access to the user when a user needs assistance and or training.

Pros

ME is akin to having at least one 24x7 IT person working. The reporting is completed and has helped flush out rogue and outdated drivers and cloud activity. Patching with ease and the remote tool all built in. Most campuses could easily utilize this tool to better manage assets and inform on problem areas.

Cons

Some of the reports could be consolidated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I have been working with computers since 1975. I administer several servers and help desk role.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Knowledge of my users hardware and software.

Pros

The thing I think I use the most is the remote access. I have also played around with package installations. It is handy to be able to see what versions of software have been installed. Also, knowing what hardware the user is on.

Cons

It is a little tricky to use the package installation, but that could be my own failing. Also, it appears to be consuming way more disk space on the server it is on than I anticipated.

Vendor response

Hello Marc, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Desktop Central - complete solution

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Patch management, remote control, IT inventory

Cons

Deploy configuration not always report in real time the status

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not intuitive, Sometimes makes management easier

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easily remote into client computers. Inventory of software and hardware is super simple.

Pros

Cost, it is very inexpensive in this software category but you get what you paid for is true for DesktopCentral. Support is easy to get a hold of. Remoting into a clients PC to diagnose issues is dead simple.

Cons

The lack of feature updates and the constant releasing of additional software which you need to pay for makes management of a large network difficult due to the intention software fragmentation of features. If they were to combine and add more value to the base product rather than looking to squeeze every penny out of each new feature, this product would be a great product. Many times when you are analyzing why a patch isn't being deployed, it is due to other reasons when contacting support and they rarely help with a solution to solve 150 computers refusing a patch. Usually the answer is to just disable DesktopCentral client to run Windows update traditionally due to the inconsistency of the ManageEngine client.

Vendor response

Hello, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central - our inventory management and remote access capabilities. We're sorry about the unpleasant experience. As for the patch management functionality and the product features, we've evolved to provide top-notch and hassle-free features. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ME Desktop Central

Reviewed a year ago

Great experience so far. Looking forward to moving our entire infrastructure over.

Pros

Ease of Setup. Very easy to setup and no problem at all.

Cons

Little options here and there could have made it easier. I email those options will I run into them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Desktop Central - Handy endpoint support tool for everyone

Reviewed a year ago

All in all, ManageEngine Desktop Central gives you great benefits starting from server, computer to smartphones and tablets. You can easily automate tasks for everyday admin tasks such as deploying patches and OSs and remote troubleshot.

Pros

Easy deployment in nutshell. You only need to run a small package which will install automatically and start communicating with the central server. It will scan the endpoint and give you a full report from serial numbers to vulnerabilities within very short period of time.

Cons

When using file explorer tool to copy files to remote locations, first time for an individual user, Desktop Central asks for a browser plugin to be installed. I find that this is lil bit annoying as some Admins don't use the same workstation everyday.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product for the Price

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Central Control of all systems and mobile devices from one application for patching, software deployment and mobile management

Cons

Really need the mobile data usage reports that have been in development for to long which would really benefit my company for monitoring mobile data usage

Vendor response

Hello Mark, Greetings from ManageEngine! We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at cms-eval@manageengine.com. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at desktopcentral-support@manageengine.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is the really useful product

Reviewed a year ago

The main thing is remote control to help us to take remote access to users laptop and solve the issue.

Pros

Remote control Patch Management

Cons

The look and feel of the product is must improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for the money

Reviewed 3 months ago

We are benefiting by keeping up with patches and all our inventory, Desktop Central is also very cost effective since its only ~$2.50 per device.

Pros

There are so many features in Desktop Central, so many that we might not ever use some of them. But they manage to keep all these features working and at the ready for when we might need them.

Cons

The interface is a little hard to navigate at first, its a little cluttered and not as responsive as others. But when you have so many features its hard to find a place for all of them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ManageEngine Desktop Central will make your admin life easier

Reviewed a year ago

I think its a great product that does what it should do. Patching is reliable and easy to use.

Pros

Simple and user friendly. Easy to schedule patches on multi devices including 3rd parties software.

Cons

So far so good. nothing much to complain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comments

Reviewed a year ago

Not bad experience, had issue patching issues in the past but seems to be working fine now.

Pros

To remote into users computers quickly.

Cons

Slow connections using VPN.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Desktop Central Review

Reviewed a year ago

Great product, awesome potential for an efficient environment. Some functionality has ease of use, others require technical walk-through and assistance. Knowledge base is very general and support is hard to reach.

Pros

Features and functionality. The ease of use for end user and technical team.

Cons

Customer support. Most responses return an article to read and no support to the intricate details to the issue you may be facing that isn't documented. Calls aren't returned although they are promised.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ManageEngine Desktop Central

Reviewed a year ago

The most complete tool I have ever used for IT Management and Security

Pros

Threat & Patches very usefull because we dont need to get another commercial vulnerability scanner. Can complement with Open Source tools for vulnerability scan. The patch manager is awesome because we can patch third party softwares.

Cons

Mobile Device Management because if implemented we would have to publish on the Internet so that the phones can see the server. This would be good as an add-on but for cloud use only, not on premise.