MantisBT Reviews

MantisBT

Open source web-based bug tracking system, written in PHP

MantisBT

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


89 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mantis-Nice Bug tracking tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Mantis BT is really good bug tracking tool. Its open source, web-based, free and very useful tool for managing bugs. Life cycle of an issue can be easily managed and tracked. Health of the project can be view by checking the status of bugs. Send E-mail to each individual on status change of the task. A good tool to in a project.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

If you are looking to kickstart with a FREE bug tracker, go with Mantis

Reviewed 2 years ago

What i really liked about MantisBT is the simple and straightforward approach to tracking and squashing those pesky bugs! It is a real monitoring tool to keep track and address issues in the development or post-go-live of the project. Not much after that.

Pros

What I liked about MantisBT is the simple workflow it requires of the user to report, track, and update "bugs" in your projects (software). Instead of keeping track on the old and clunky offline Microsoft Excel, we deemed it best to implement a simple bug tracking system to quickly address issues in our software development project.

Cons

What I liked least about the software is that it is very limited in terms of its features and being an Open source solution, lacks the commercial support of similar paid software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Product for bug tracking

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am recommending to use Mantis

Pros

I've had Mantis running since last 2 year without trouble. The reporter simply logs in and reports a problem. This is very easy to use. User can log his bug and track the status very easily. Best tool for bug tracking.

Cons

I have no issue to use this product but design view is not good. Need to improve some graphical look and feel.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best for the Bigger Projects and Time consuming for the smaller one

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its the very good software as its free and I am Technical. Don't use it if you don't have Technical Knowledge.

Pros

- Open Source and Free - Lots of Functionality to track and maintain the Bugs - Make the issues relationship and get the perfect estimation. - Great Reporting for the Ongoing Projects - Easy to upload on the server.

Cons

- Take lots of Space on the server and if its shared hosting it will become super slow - The Layout is very much Outdated looks like 90's OLD Movie.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for issue tracking

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This product is good for small projects to track the issue. By using this, we can generates the reports on different filter basis. Also, log the discussion points during the progress of task.

Cons

Filter is not customizable. But i will recommend this because it will give us a productive working facility.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for basic project management

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

If you are look for a basic bug tracking system for software development, this is one of the tools you might want to look at. Got all the basic things you need to start a project.

Cons

Not as feature rich and as cutomizable as some other bug tracking/project management tools like jira.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rock solid Bug Tracker

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Simple installation and use. - Allows customization to address different project needs. - Useful integration with Testlink allowing to assign bugs to test cases

Cons

- UI is very outdated. - The reporting tools are limited. - The installation files lack any kind of documentation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fantastic open-source bug tracking tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Bug testing, tracking tickets, product management

Pros

Open source, easy to configure and customize, has all the basic features we need, makes testing and tracking issues very easy

Cons

Very basic user interface, does not integrate with other tools, sometimes the configurations are too complex to bother

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

User friendly bug tracking tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Mantis is open source and highly customizable bug tracking tool. It is very user friendly and has a simpler GUI.A must have tool for any project

Cons

Reporting can be improved, user customization can be enhanced and integration with othet project management tool can be added

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good but feels dated

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to setup and straightforward to use. The user interface is simple but gets the job done plus it's free and open-source.

Cons

The user interface, although has been refreshed, still feels dated compared to some of the more popular alternatives

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It is a simple bug tracking tool and can be used in more than one project

Reviewed a year ago

Mantis is a good bug tracking tool, it is free and can be used in several projects.

Pros

It is free, easy to use and has a simple workflow to track the bugs.

Cons

The interface could be better to have a better user experience. Sometimes the icons get me confused.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Syed Mantis Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using Mantis for my current company for almost 4 years. This software is being used for tracking and assigning issues/tickets to the team for different projects and you can follow up with your team members by manually going into the specific ticket what is due for that day etc. I gave Mantis 3 stars because there are limitations and have some boundaries.

Pros

Easy to use. User friendly

Cons

You don't have a way to track stuff automated way. Where you should receive notification if a person did not touch the ticket and the deadline is near. You have to go in and track all those things manually. Where a person who assigned the case and the person to whom the case is assigned both should receive automatic reminders and warnings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy website to report and track status on bugs in code.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's a good simple bug tracking system that people who don't want to fill in a lot of fields would enjoy using.

Pros

The website is very easy to navigate and searching for bugs can be done quickly by just entering text that is in the bug's title or description.

Cons

No cons that I can think of. Bugs can be reported quickly because there aren't many required fields to fill in.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Issue Tracker

Reviewed 4 years ago

Collecting data on all of our firm's development issues is of high importance to us. Mantis is a good tool for that.

Pros

Mantis offers a good interface to gather comments, files... for all team members involved. A lot is predefined (like choice lists), so you can quickly dive in. Lots of possibilities to filter your views and searches.

Cons

Personally, I find it hard to set up - let alone customize - the system. Therefor, we're using it straight from the box. There are features that I'd rather remove from the interface, but I wouldn't know how. I contacted Support several times in the past (not recently though), no response. Most of the settings are awkward to apply, takes a little getting used to.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best bug tracking tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its very easy to use, easily bug assign to the developer and As a Team lead Its very easy to track the bug.

Cons

Its not create any report at the end of project and have less in demand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is a solid, battle-tested bug tracker with focus on simplicity and clarity.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how Mantis has improved and progressed over the years but has retained its core principles: it's a solid product, with all the features you would expect by a professional bug tracking platform, and focuses on developers productivity.

Cons

It can be intimidating for novice developers and its look-and-feel might not be gorgeous, but its UI is clear and concise.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mantis is a tried and true bug tracking software for teams.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Used by a team of developers and testers to report, track and resolve bugs/issues/defects.

Pros

Very customizable, and allows full teams to us it. Features for the free version are still great. Automatic emails to team members.

Cons

Interface is a little out dated and clunky. Could use a nice modern refresh with a bit of UX input.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

good

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

fields are well designed and dashboard. i can find my assigned work quickly and its priority. You can customize your workflow.

Cons

reports are not that easy to get when you want an specific scenario and through historics it is a bit difficult to get those.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's very helpful software. I have to use it every day and it helps me to solve my problem whenever

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Quickly and easily update your team and clients via notifications on issues, resolutions, and comments There is no like least like discover so far, I will keep updated once I have bad experience to use this program

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Software for bugs tracking

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

MantisBT is for any company that relies on a centralized system in order to keep track of software/Web site bugs. This system can be used by any level of business from SMBs to large enterprises.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MantisBT product review

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall 5

Pros

almost everything what you can imagine with great feature even in free version. You can create/modify as per your requirement. Many things you can add as per client requirement.

Cons

e-mail configuration is bit tricky...many people have issues while configuring email part and solutions given in forums worked differently for different people.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MantisBT is a popular open source bug tracking tool and easier to use.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

MantisBT is a light and easy to use Bug tracking software. MantisBT has gained popularity as it is easy to install and can start using the same in few hours. MantisBT is a Web based tool built on PHP and MySQL platform. MantisBT has some nice features and the same are easy to configure for most of the MantisBT administrators. The MantisBT UI is comparatively easier to customize and the fields can be...

Cons

MantisBT has several nice to have features but also has some demerits or disadvantages. MantisBT is comparatively slow. MantisBT UI is not so appealing. As MantisBT is open source there is always the security concerns and not so good Support team for quick help on the MantisBT software. One need to rely upon the Forums or user community for help or plugins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best bug tracker I ever used

Reviewed 4 years ago

I only have experience with Mantis, TFS and Jira. And this one I like the most. Most orderly bug tracker and easy to use.

Pros

The overview page with the different colours and simple forms.

Cons

Not adapted for agile programming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A great tool for keeping track of various bugs and issues.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best part about Mantis is that it's free and open source. Our team of developers where able to implement it rather quickly into our information system to use as a bug/issue tracker. We like it so much we plan on widening the scope to use it for an online helpdesk ticket system for our district.

Cons

With it being open source there are a few bugs here in there of it's own accord. Sometimes access permissions can get kind of wonky and there isn't an easy way to delegate only certain amount of access to a single person.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Mantis is a solid program for tracking issues

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Highly customizable, Open Source, Easy for new users to get the hang of it. I'm a developer and have modified Mantis for users adding time tracking and billing to the base product. It is very robust, fast and secure.

Cons

The interface is a little dated. Mobile users are stuck using a desktop web interface. Some configuration options are difficult to understand.

page 2 of 4