App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Ostinato Logo

Ostinato

Traffic generator for network engineers

see alternatives

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Ostinato Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

32

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.88/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

An outstanding platform for performance testing that rivals high-end hardware solutions.
Perfect solution for network testing under virtualized envirnment like GNS3 and EVE-NG.
Moreover, Srivats provides outstanding customer service and always responds to questions in a timely manner.
In other words, to identify if packet loss is verified and when such bottleneck can be host based.
There is nothing about Ostinato that has disappointed me yet.
It sometimes requires a lot of manipulation to get the attack to register on the security tool.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


32 reviews

Recommended

JH
AvatarImg

James H.

Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An outstanding platform for performance testing that rivals high-end hardware solutions

Reviewed a year ago

I have worked for a few companies now and it is very hard to justify a performance tester outside of QA and Dev so to have an affordable option that works allows me to take Alliance Partner acceptance testing to the next level rather than trying to rely on tcpreplay or Dev to let me use theirs.

Pros

1. Ease of use2. Multiple deployment options3. Flexibility to customize screens4. Import of existing PCAP files5. Granular control of steams

Cons

The one drawback is that a lot of my testing with our security alliance partners require the use of specific pcaps, I leverage, https://www.malware-traffic-analysis.net/, for the much of this. It sometimes requires a lot of manipulation to get the attack to register on the security tool. May just be a training issue so a whitepaper etc on this would be great.

Vendor response

Thank you James for your kind words. Regarding the malware pcap replay not registering on the security tool, please reach out to the forum or support. We will try and help you out.

BM
AvatarImg

Bob M.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Teaching Packet Crafting to Teens

Reviewed a year ago

Ostinato is a great teaching tool for both networking and security. It allows me to create customized challenges (packets and traffic) and let the students figure out the solutions. This also means there are often more than one way to solve a problem thanks to the way Ostinato break apart packets and traffic. All students know Wireshark but now they know how to manipulate packets and traffic on their own. This lets me dive into forensics as well. Ostinato is not a forensic tool but it does allow an investigator the ability to see traffic, trace traffic, evaluate each packet, dissect those packets, and develop a plan for evidence collection. This is a much needed tool for any network analysis.

Pros

Teaching teens means they ask a lot of questions. Ostinato is well documented and provides an answer to just about every question that come up. The best part is that I can show the students how we get to that answer. This also allows me to bring up additional questions for the class and let them discover the answers on their own. All the teens know TCP and UDP. I like to have them dig into other protocols to discover how each are different (frames, size, data) and Ostinato allows me to assign new concepts and let the students play with them on their own.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve but nothing that can't be overcome as you learn how packets and Ostinato work together.

Vendor response

Very happy to see that Ostinato is helping educate the next generation of network and security engineers!

WR
AvatarImg

Wojciech R.

Computer Networking, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Generator not tester

Reviewed 3 years ago

Only suitable for laboratory use. It has the potential but lack of network tester functionality disqualifies it from everyday use.

Pros

Platform Availability (Linux, Masons etc)

Cons

Difficult to use, no network tester function.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! Can you elaborate on what network tester functionality you are looking for so that we can consider implementing that in a future release? Srivats (Founder, Ostinato)

jS
AvatarImg

jeff S.

Computer Networking, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool to have to complement your enterprise network support systems

Reviewed 4 months ago

It is my go to product for packet crafting for security/FW testing, network load and fail over stimuli testing. Application simulation for performance. I have used this product almost ten years. It has matured greatly and if its result data can be tied into analytics/splunk/AI type systems vai api pipeline an AI system can take the traffic load/impact results from Ostinato and provide additional analysis feedback.

Pros

Ease of use, mature gui and the ability to craft packets as well as use pre loaded or saved traffic sessions.

Cons

selecting/discovering interfaces but that has matured as well. Much improved

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words Jeff! Your suggestion of integration with analytics/splunk/AI systems is a good one!

AG
AvatarImg

Aharon G.

Semiconductors, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have tool

Reviewed a year ago

This is the must have software for any user who needs to simulate/test network equipment and can not use real traffic generator like IXIA or SmartBits. For example, when working from home office.

Pros

I really like the look and feel of real traffic generator.

Cons

I miss support for some kinds of protocols, like PTP for example.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Aharon! Please let support know about what new protocols you would like to see and we will add it to out roadmap!

JO
AvatarImg

Juan O.

Aviation & Aerospace, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ostinato is a very easy to use traffic generator. It provides a comprehensive API that can be easily incorporated into an existing test environment. The Ostinato GUI makes it easy to replay existing network captures (.pcap files) to exercise a DUT. It also has other cool features such as the ability to export a given configuration to a python source file. This allows for quick logic prototyping and testing. Moreover, Srivats provides outstanding customer service and always responds to questions in a timely manner.

Cons

some Ostinato products require license authentication with a remote server. This is not a problem for most people, but it could be a limiting factor if the intent is to use it in classified labs with not access to the outside world

Vendor response

Glad that Ostinato is helping you, Juan! We will work on the offline license server as soon as we see more demand for it from other customers!

SL
AvatarImg

Sira L.

Utilities, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We use Ostinato in generating traffic in our firewall testing.

Reviewed a year ago

As mentioned before, the overall experience with Ostinato is satisfied. We meet our goals in the network security testing using Ostinato to simulate various types of crafted traffic we were planning to test.

Pros

Ostinato provides us a handy tool to generate traffic that we are using to pass on into the testing firewall stack. It has a lot of options to craft the traffic and control the behavior instead of bringing in a lot of end devices which is not practical in our lab environment. The feature we used most is to rerun the recorded traffic from the production which save us a lot of time.

Cons

We had a lot of difficulties in running the Linux VM. If this small VM can get improved, it will be most helpful. We tried to build a mobile test pod by using R-Pi in order to perform our test out of the lab environment, out in the field test. But it was not working quite well as we expect.

Vendor response

Happy to hear that Ostinato is helping with your firewall testing, Sira! We will reach out to you about your difficulties with the VM and look into how we can improve it.

PG
AvatarImg

Peter G.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent alternative to expensive network performance testing tools

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

The GUI is very easy to use and makes sense. And now with the TURBO mode we can test devices up to 40G without any problem. Also the tech support is TOP NOTCH.

Cons

Overall everything is well documented and easy to use and understand. I would like to see the GUI have saved preferences for setting port stat columns a certain size etc. Currently you have to resize them each time you bring it up. But that is minor compared to the amazing functionality of the product.

Vendor response

Thanks for your kind words, Peter! We'll try and extend the GUI to remember the last column size settings for the ports window.

SR
AvatarImg

Scott R.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fine product. Replicates customer issues very well.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Very good.Would love to know if there's any way (present or future) to leverage a CLI-based ostinato.I.e. a CLI command in linux that would do the same as the "generate" click in the GUI.Example (new command called "ostinato-send", etc.)ostinato-send <stream> <interface>etc.

Pros

Powerful and easy to understand.Easy to install, too.

Cons

A little confusing understanding how all the streams/interfaces/names all work together. (a bit diffuse conceptually at times) but I can always figure it out.

Vendor response

Thanks Scott for for your review! We will try to explain the various concepts and the relationships better. Regarding the CLI, you can do this easily using the Ostinato API - please reach out to Ostinato support and we'll help you out!

MP
AvatarImg

Michael P.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

When iPerf just doesn't do it anymore...

Reviewed 8 months ago

It was great working with [sensitive content hidden], he is always quick to answer emails and improve his product.

Pros

Had to test MPLS and VxLAN traffic at higher speeds and Ostinato met our requirements with a low cost compared to other expensive appliance based traffic generators.

Cons

No cons as of yet, still testing and using the product.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Mike!

GC
AvatarImg

Graham C.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ostinato in Schools

Reviewed a year ago

Outstanding - it is accessible and user friendly - simple - and helps young students learn - keepUp the great work

Pros

Getting students to craft packets so they understand how networking works - we use it in class with our yr11 students (15y) to create messages, encrypt messages inside the payload icmp packets - use wireshark and nmap to find other students - and make conversations back and forth so they understand mac and IP addressing and data flow

Cons

Nothing - it is the best product for anyone wanting to start in networking

Vendor response

Thank you Graham for your kind words! We are happy to see Ostinato helping to train the next generation of network engineers!

JC
AvatarImg

John C.

Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value for the dollar

Reviewed a year ago

I use the product to test functionality and it has worked perfectly for the goal

Pros

The cost/port for simple functionality testing. The cost per port for performance testing is also exceptional

Cons

I would like to order and rename the physical ports into logical groups. Other than that there very little to not like about it :)

Vendor response

The upcoming v1.3 will allow user editable port descriptions (see https://twitter.com/pstavirs/status/1568183077662490624). Please share your use case for reordering ports and we will consider implementing!

JP
AvatarImg

Joao P.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

+10y in and still so relevant !

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This traffic gen has been a life saver in multiple occasions. Working for a VAR and having multiple projects all with different traffic profiles, Ostinato is versatile enough to be able to generate or even replicate production like traffic to identify problems in a network setup.

Cons

End to end traffic analysis complement could be useful - to understand if what is sent is aligned to what is received. In other words, to identify if packet loss is verified and when such bottleneck can be host based.

Vendor response

Glad that Ostinato is a "life saver"! We will reach out to you to understand more about what kind of end to end traffic analysis features you would like to see and add it to our roadmap.

MP
AvatarImg

Matheus P.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Help with Homologation and Certification

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We use a lot L2 features (like flood) and IPv6

Cons

No Cons, Ostinato fulfill with all that promised

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Matheus! If there are any missing features that you would like to see in Ostinato, do let us know!

rn
AvatarImg

robert n.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Osintato

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ostinato provided the capability that my testing required. I did at first require some support for installing Ostinato on a 'fresh VM', and the support was immediate and the directions to correct the issue were accurate.

Pros

I first implemented a test system using Ostinato because of the capability to configure and create traffic for testing the VLAN capabilities of a driver and associated software for an embedded switch device. This testing and traffic generation capability of Osintato was the easiest 'software' tool solution available.

Cons

There is nothing about Ostinato that has disappointed me yet.

Vendor response

Thank you Robert! I'm happy that Ostinato is proving useful to you.

TL
AvatarImg

Tony L.

Computer Networking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

nice traffic generator for mpls networks

Reviewed a year ago

nice tool I used when ixia was not available.

Pros

ability to generate packets unicast & multicast across an mpls network

Cons

used to be a con but not anymore: generating large volumes of traffic was not available when I purchased tool; now I do see there is a Turbo Transit add-on available to allow users to generate large line rate traffic

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Tony! Glad to see Ostinato stepping into Ixia shoes. If there's a missing feature that you'd like to see in Ostinato, we are always open to suggestions!

TN
AvatarImg

Tam N.

Computer Networking, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Networking test tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use, and reliable. Support is outstanding.

Cons

Need more support with different NIC. I have issues sending and receiving tagged on certain NIC cards.

Vendor response

Glad that you are finding Ostinato easy to use and reliable, Tam! Please reach out to support with your NIC issues and we'll help you out!

AC
AvatarImg

Andre C.

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent solution to test throughput perfromance

Reviewed a year ago

Great quick support. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone that wants to perform throughput testing

Pros

What's great with Ostinato is that it does not need special hardware to run on. It can run on pretty much anything. Most other solution need high-end or special hardware.

Cons

The UI could be a bit more stable and more modern in its feel/look. Maybe a web based UI instead of a dedicated app would be best.

Vendor response

Thanks Andre! Yes, the UI is a bit dated but functional, so at the moment we prefer to work on new features than completely redo the UI. You can try setting a different theme for the UI - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQc6xa2Rc9Q

SN
AvatarImg

Steven N.

Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

being able to build packets for testing a network on how it will behave is a absolute godsend.

Cons

Not have prebuilt packets for common protocols is a bummer some times. Would be nice for fast spin ups.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Steven! The Ostinato bundles include a bunch of pre-built example streams including Dual Vlan, Gratituous ARP, IGMP Join/Leave, IMIX, MPLS, Ping, DSCP QOS, UDP multicast, VxLAN etc.

SD
AvatarImg

Shawayne D.

Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Application

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to model and simulate what is happening in my customers network. It has helped me troubleshoot issues, develop QoS policies and identify potential bottlenecks in the network.

Cons

I have not really found a gap in the product. With the frequent updates and communication I have been extremely pleased.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Shawayne! More features - big and small - are coming!

YK
AvatarImg

Yavor K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very functional software for testing various features of networking equipment

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

A rich set of ability for fine-tune our test scenario. We can construct custom IP packet passing through all OSI layers.

Cons

GUI is good but I think can be worked in a direction to be more user-friendly interface. Some functionality are not so intuitive.

Vendor response

Thank you Yavor! We will try to make the GUI more intuitive and user-friendly

PC
AvatarImg

Paul C.

Wireless, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exceptional

Reviewed a year ago

These guys are hard workers. Reliable

Pros

Ease of use. Documentation. Can talk to support when necessary.

Cons

I have not discovered any dislikes or desires for improvement

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words and support through the years, Paul!

MC
AvatarImg

Massimo C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best product for test your business network

Reviewed a year ago

good product that i working with a QOS for a critical business flow that pass trought the WAN and Ostinato permit to me, to test the QOS and the critical application and the behavior of buffer router during a filling of Queue.

Pros

that is possible to personalize each field of pachet in particular the QOS (dscp).

Cons

My opinion could be also a small graph that show the speed of my packets

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Massimo! A realtime graph of tx/rx rates and speedgauges are on the roadmap!

mc
AvatarImg

ming c.

Computer Networking, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

perfect solution for network testing under virtualized envirnment like GNS3 and EVE-NG

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

able to run inside virtualized.envirnment with easy. relatively inexpensive.

Cons

love to see live time update on stream statistics. currently, need to stop stream, pull the statistics.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Ming! As the user guide explains live update of stream stats is not supported currently due to packet processing cost reasons; but we will consider how we can support it in the future!

AK
AvatarImg

Andres K.

Computer Networking, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good application, some issues with the use

Reviewed a year ago

Great application!!!

Pros

I liked the way we can integrate Ostinato into the network or lab and the capacity of protocols we can test.

Cons

It has its complexity to use. In order to test some use cases the configuration could be hard to do

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback, Andres! We'd love to hear more about the complex configuration cases and see how we can simplify those - please reach out on the forum or to support!