Paessler Reviews

Paessler Reviews

Paessler

Network Monitoring For Serious Professionals

4.62/5 (37 reviews)
15,041     3,234

Rahman Babayev

great network monitor but...

07/02/2017

This software is very good and useful, but sometimes it suddenly shut down, I think you have to look at this problem, without this it is very helpful, thanx)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Paessler


Thanks for the review Rahman!

PRTG shouldn't be crashing at all -- this is definitely not normal behavior (and we apologize!). Could you please send a "support bundle" to our tech support team so they can help? You can send a support bundle easily from inside the software, under Setup / Contact Support. This automatically attaches a screenshot and log files to your question.

Read more
Vini Moyano

Missing Maps, Monitos and much more :-(

07/12/2016

Good price, but with weird support and missing a lot of features, like MAP customization, Dependencies, APM, NTA, etc.

Pros

Price, only.

Cons

Missing many cool features like others have.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Paessler

need to be better

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Paessler


Hi Vini,

We¿re sorry you weren¿t able to find many of the features you were looking for.

Would you like to be contacted by our presales or support teams? They can show you where to find the ¿missing¿ features such as mapping, custom maps, custom monitors, dependencies, application monitoring and netflow monitoring, all of which are included with PRTG.

Read more
Eitan Burcat

Solves our monitoring needs

06/11/2016

We manage lots of machines with PRTG, it helps us focus on the important stuff that's going on. Covers divers needs.

Pros

It's easy to use without getting too technical when you start of, and lets you ramp up and dig deeper as you go. Covers lots of different scenarios, good visualizations, good performance, good features are getting added as we go.

Cons

Windows based, and sometimes it's awkward to manage lots of linux machines with it - especially when the monitoring requires scripts to run on the remote machines.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Paessler

Any monitoring software is part of a monitoring process that needs to be in place. It's very important to keep improving the monitoring as the software develops, and keep the rate of false alarms very low.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Micah  DeVries

PRTG, great network monitor when it isn't crashing or glitching

10/10/2016

The software is very easy to set up, which is a plus. But for some reason it keeps giving faults reports, and sometimes would randomly crash. Tested on multiple devices. Has potential to be great though.

Pros

easy to set up, has good potential

Cons

Crashes and is glitchy, could use some work.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Paessler


We're really sorry that PRTG isn't running smoothly for you. Most crashes are related to hardware or operating system configurations -- would you be willing to open a support ticket with our support team, so they can check your logs for you? The logs would also help them debug any false positives you are getting. We'd be happy to help get PRTG running for you.

Read more
Leon Plesse

Installieren, einrichten, entspannter arbeiten

10/05/2016

Mit dem PRTG Network Monitor von Paessler haben wir in unserem Unternehmen die gesamte Monitoringinfrastruktur neu aufgebaut und somit viele Verwaltungsaufgaben erheblich effizienter gestalten können. Neue Mitarbeiter finden sich in der Weboberfläche schnell zurecht und per Push-, Mail- und Telegrambenachrichtigungen ist man bei einem Ausfall immer sofort informiert. Zudem kann man schon oftmals in der E-Mail den Grund des Ausfalls ersehen, da sehr viele Messdaten und Details mitgeschickt werden. Die Smartphone-App ermöglicht einem jederzeit den Überblick über alle Sensoren und Geräte. Somit ist das PRTG-Tool auch bei mir privat auf meinem Home-Server im Einsatz und überwacht zuverlässig Geräte im LAN und Server in Rechenzentren per Remote-Probe.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Florian Gewecke

Verified Reviewer

That really made my Day!

29/04/2016

First of all: Actually (April 2016) the product is free for up to 100 Sensors! I was searching for an easy solution to monitor the internetconnection of one of my customers from outside. They sporadically experienced strange bandwidth problems and the cable provider didn't solve the problem within months. So while searching for an easy to install and use monitoring (simple ping) solution I found PRTG from Paessler in Nuremberg. I 've heard of it before as the Windows based alternative to Nagios. What can I say: I expected a solid Dice Game and ended up in Las Vegas! Installed withing minutes on a small Celeron machine running Windows 7. This runs the core Server and the Probe. You create Groups within the Windows (or Browserbased) Desktop. Within those Groups you create Devices and Sensors (Ping, HTTP, FTP, NTP, SIP, SMTP, SNMP Switch Traffic, ... and I'd say hundreds of others) at Locations you can define and are shown on a map. A configurable HTTPS allows secure Browser and mobile APP access. I use the one for my Windows phone that shows me my favorite (customer) Sensors directly. Automatically scan your Network (that might create a lot of Devices and Sensors, especially when you are using SNMP ready Switches, but don't worry, just pause them before you run out of your licenses). Monitor Switch Traffic if you wonder how long the Windows 10 updates disturb your other Machines. You can install remote Probes in other networks to monitor them and still collect all data on one central monitoring server. PS: In the end, the cable provider changed the modem after I sent them several times very clear screenshots from PRTG where you could see the 1800 ms echos all three weeks instead of 32 ms the rest of the time.

Pros

Very good structure and overview of your devices and systems load, usage, availability and traffic Easy install and use. No deep knowledge of MIB, RMON, LINUX or SNMP necessary Free for small environments Very Flexible (google 'prtg netatmo' for an impression :) Be aware and informed about uprising problems (Mail, SMS, Mobile) You literally see what your users experience

Cons

Really! I have been thinking, but didn't find that much. Rather ... nothing? OK, one: you need a Windows system. That might be an issue for some.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Willans

Excellent Monitoring Product!

23/12/2015

PRTG is a easy to use, intuitive program that is very straight forward to set-up yet provides significant value back to the IT Team with its vast monitoring and reporting capabilities Paessler as an organisation is constantly updating PRTG to meet both the current upcoming needs of organisations with their extensive collection of available sensors, and if you require something specific, it is very easy to get it configured with the Custom Sensor options available. They are also small enough to listen the feedback provided by customers to feed into future updates to the product via their wishlist. Another important aspect of this solution is the prompt reliable support as well as a wealth of information in the Resource Centre and Knowledge Base. Now that it comes as a Free Solution with 100 Included Sensors, there is no reason an SME Sized business cannot get basic device monitoring running in less time than it takes to make lunch.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicholas Hoague

Fell in love with it at first glance!

24/10/2015

I've tried many SNMP monitoring tools, but PRTG beats them all ... at first glance! I currently monitor our data center and all customer servers using PRTG. We monitor our data center temp, internal temp of servers, load times and run times on our batteries, loads of Linux servers, bandwidth throughput on our switches ... I could go on and on. PRTG cluster with a remote server and their iphone remote app make this the absolute best monitoring solution available. I love PRTG!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stuart  Pritchard

Using PRTG for small medium business

06/10/2015

I have tried a few other monitoring software packages (Solarwinds, Manageengine and Spiceworks) but find PRTG far superior ¿ especially with the mobile probes. I am using your program to monitor a small network at home (Free version ¿ up to 100 sensors). It includes several PC¿s, mobile devices, printers and other home devices (smart TVs etc) running through a Cisco router. I am able to get very detailed DSL / interface and Netflow/SNMP and syslog stats from my Cisco as well as SNMP traffic stats from PC¿s and printers. I also have a packet sniffer running on a SPAN port on the Cisco. At present I have approx. 80 sensors running (this is adequate for my needs) and find the detail and look of the software provided is excellent. I work in IT and have promoted your software to many small businesses as it is so easy to integrate and give valuable information regarding local networks.  

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Greenbaum

Best monitoring software for the money

02/09/2015

When I was new to my job, I was tasked with finding a new monitoring software. After trying out about 4-5 options, it was clear that PRTG was the best choice. Since that time, I have consistently been very happy with my choice. It's extremely powerful, easy to setup and use and it just keeps getting better with every update. The mobile app is fantastic and they recently added mobile probes. For large enterprises or for people who have a specific need that PRTG can't do, there are possibly better solutions. But I would say that for 95% of companies, this is the software you want.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dave Derrick

Makes my job easier

11/08/2015

It's extremely versatile, I've managed to configure it to monitor everything I need. I have some SQL sensors giving multichannel results, the graphs are amazing. The notification options are also great, I get email, SMS and Prowl alerts. The only thing I think missing is the ability to silence "noisy" sensors. If a sensor keeps going down and comes back up repeatedly, I can only pause it and not get any results, or acknowledge it and it will alert next time it goes down. I'd like the sensor to continue recording results, just not send me alerts too often, maybe a "don't send alerts for the next X hours" option.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Paessler


Dear Dave,

Thank you for your detailed review and the feedback you have provided. In regard to turning off alerts, please have a look at this Knowledge Baser article, in which the situation you mentioned is discussed: http://kb.paessler.com/en/topic/52303-disable-notifications-without-pausing-a-sensor

Kind regards,
Florian

Read more
Daniel Drewitz

PRTG is a great and easy to use monitoring tool

07/08/2015

PRTG combines lots of sensors and information for nearly every device and purpose with an easy to use interface. We are using the software in a small environment and it is helping us, to keep track of important services and the health of our hard- and software. With push notifications to a mobile phone and/or e-mail notifications we never miss an error or a problem. We are even using PRTG to get notified, if a printer runs out of paper. The software is easy to set up and to use as well. It is nicely customizable and perfectly suits our needs. A helpful knowledge base and manuals are a good support as well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
FANKY CHRISTIAN

Fast and Easy to use

06/08/2015

Very fast deployment, easy to use

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tyler Voegele

Amazingly simple monitoring solution

05/08/2015

A leap above most products I've reviewed, and very reasonable pricing makes this a business must.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andreas Herde

I would like to work for PRTG

17/06/2015

... but haven't a chance so far

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wouter Hindriks

Best & affordable Monitoring Product

16/06/2015

Very complete product, with everything you need to monitor every server, network component and piece of software you have. SNMP, WMI, SSH, Powershell, Netflow etc etc. All included. Been using it for 7 years now and the product improvements are spectucular.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Crow

Playing a different game than the rest of the "competition"

16/06/2015

We've been using PRTG for over a year now and have never looked back. Their user interface is amazing, their support is second to none, and their product is as fast as lightning. We are monitoring about 20000 items on 1500 devices at over 100 different locations. The system hums along keeping watch over all of our critical systems without skipping a beat.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Veldman

Easy to install/use & good support!

16/06/2015

We are now monitoring our Network with PRTG from Paessler. We have compared 15 different Network Monitoring Tools, but PRTG fits the best in the company. Over 1000 sensors are now being monitored. If somethings wrong we get notified by SMS/Mail. Very good support, much documentation, very easy to use!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Timmy DoWork

Excellent example of German engineering at it's finest

10/05/2015

The best network and systems monitoring software on the market. Turnkey deployment with unparallelled ease of use while offering advanced technical features.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tulio Eduardo Soares

Software realmente muito bom.

08/05/2015

Estou utilizando o software já tem 8 meses. Estou gostando muito dos resultados obtidos, a interface do PRTG é bem amigável. Algo que poderia melhorar, seria aumentar a base de dados do PRTG em relação a MIB dos produtos. Suporte técnico em português seria interessante e também Paessler investir mais no Brasil.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pål Røtnes

PRTG is the best piece of code running in our datacenter.

08/05/2015

PRTG has been a blessing. I cannot see how we could have grown in complexity like we have without it. Comparable product seem to be MUCH more work, sometime a lot more expensive, and they don't really give anything more back. Support response has been INSANELY good. Twitter, email, tickets. Response is almost instant, and problems solved or new features implemented(!!) fast. I have raised two issues that come to mind. Thinking PRTG was lacking in features. Turns out I just didn't know how to configure it (which was in both cases pretty obvious). The Android/iOS apps have grown a lot since we started using it. Now we have stopped sending texts and rely only on the apps, which work flawlessly now with pull-notification. (Note: Push had some issues, we're still holding off on that.) I'd consider changing jobs if we dropped PRTG. Its. that. good.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rex de Koning

Great product and possibilities

07/05/2015

Overall not much to complain about, the only thing in my experience that could use some working on is the dashboard designer, that's not really intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yugandhar Mocherla

Excellent solution to monitor the Network devices and bandwidth utilization

01/04/2015

We use PRTG Network monitor for our Network infrastructure monitoring and I recommend PRTG for Network Engineers who will spend most of the time on NAGIOS/CACTI. It is less expensive and user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Per Hillerström

All u need

31/03/2015

From day one this product have helped me in my work. I have a long way still to learn more about it, but still I have not found anything this product could not cover.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Petru

Great experience

31/03/2015

Great software for monitoring servers, probably the best out there but it could be so much better. There are hundreds of important sensor types that could be added. Maybe something like a public sensor types ideas box could be created. Missing the posibility to actually sell monitoring services to customers based on PRTG.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Paessler


Thank you very much for your review and feedback. You can send feature and/or sensor requests to support@paessler.com anytime¿we will evaluate them, prioritize and add them to the wishlist.

Read more