App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PostgreSQL Logo

PostgreSQL

Open source relational database management system

see alternatives

(3)

PostgreSQL Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

398

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.02/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It is an impressive open source software, really reliable. I love its PostGIS spatial module, which enables powerful geospatial functions.
After switching over from Access, it has been nice to be able to have a more robust experience.
It's a great relational database management system. It's open-source, free, reliable and secure.
Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.
Lot of features are missing from it as compared to the other products in the market.
I had skipped the few initial classes and missed the part where the professor taught how to use the app.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


398 reviews

Recommended

DZ
AvatarImg

David Z.

software engineer

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great SQL dialect

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

David Z.: My name's David, I'm a software developer in the audiovisual industry, and I would give PostgreSQL...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Danilo N.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best database ever!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best database management system: plenty of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), easily expandable, incredibly powerful configuration options.

Pros

PostgreSQL is the most flexible database management system out there. It has a lot of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), which make it very expandable too, incredibly powerful configuration options, etc. It has almost any type of column that your system will ever need.

Cons

I really don't found any PostgreSQL problem until now, so I would recommend that you use it without any fear.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best open-source RDBMS out there

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, we have a very productive experience with PostgreSQL. Whenever we need a backend database for any of the apps we deploy, we use PostgreSQL. It never fails us.

Pros

I like how easy it is to set up and deploy a PostgreSQL database. It has a rich ecosystem of tools and a great open-source community behind it.

Cons

I don't have anything I dislike about PostgreSQL.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pedro P.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

database alternative to mysql

Reviewed 4 years ago

it's a really good database manager, easy to use and the community version is free to use in a commercial environment

Pros

in general is a good database manager like MySQL you have many functions and one, in particular, the notifications, you can send a notify and it's like a broadcast message, useful for interaction with the backend

Cons

the way how to backup and restore is sometimes complicated, we tried to automatized and sometimes works others not, the same script! and because of that, you can have an empty DB

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Powerful and Reliable Open-Source Relational Database Management System

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, PostgreSQL is a powerful and reliable open-source relational database management system that offers a wide range of features and functionality. While it may be complex to set up and manage, the platform's extensive documentation and community make it an ideal choice for businesses and enterprises that require a powerful and scalable database system. If you're looking for a robust and reliable database system, PostgreSQL is definitely worth considering.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a powerful open-source relational database management system that I have used extensively for several projects. I must say that it is one of the best relational database systems available in the market.What I liked most about using PostgreSQL is its reliability and robustness. PostgreSQL is a rock-solid database system that is known for its stability and scalability. It offers a wide...

Cons

What I liked least about using PostgreSQL is that it can be complex to set up and manage. The database system has many advanced features, which may be overwhelming for beginners. However, PostgreSQL offers extensive documentation and a large community of developers, making it easy to find solutions to any issues that may arise.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The right database for 95% of use cases

Reviewed 3 years ago

Postgres is there for you whenever you need to store and retrieve simple tabular data. Whether that's your app user's name, email, and settings, or the projects and project content that they've created. As long as you're not dealing with over 10k transactions per second, it's cheap to use and extremely easy to set up. Oh, and it's also not great but just okay for advanced searching such as full-text search.

Pros

- Postgres is just soooo reliable, it's hard to corrupt or lose data unless you go in and manually edit or delete the data. - Battle-tested ACID transactions to make sure you only update the data when it makes sense to have saved me so much time. - The SQL interface is easy to use once you've mastered SQL (which it isn't; it's the simplest of all the languages I've learned). - Newer versions even has support for advanced use cases such as arrays and JSON objects. - The best thing is that 90% of the backend software developers know Postgres (or MySQL which is pretty dang similar) so help is never too far away!

Cons

The only real reason to not use Postgres is that it is pretty hard to scale. If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize. Postgres provides poor support for identifying the queries that are running really slowly. e.g. you have to install a buggy plugin and then query a funky poorly documented table. Trying to do master-slave replication is also quite difficult as you often run into consistency issues and will have to modify app logic. In these cases, it's better to go with NoSQL obviously.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful database

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent database engine with a lof of features and great overall performance. It has a very huge community so you could get help very easily. I'd recommend to use it.

Pros

Highly recommended. It's the most powerful database engine I ever worked with. It has a lot of features that I used and worked very well: postgis for spatial searches, full-text search, partitions, etc.

Cons

At some point, we start having problems with very slow queries, and after some debugging we discover postgres decided to use the wrong index to perform the query plan. Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PostgreSQL is the best open source database

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used another database for a large Brazilian bank. It was not a free database. The migration was excellent.

Pros

PostgreSQL has several advantages. It is lightweight and reliable. Search filters are very easy to understand. People who know the basics of the SQL language can do several queries, since PostgreSQL assembles selects. I can change it within the table itself, so I don't need to do the update command. On top of that, it's free and open source!

Cons

Sometimes the connection to the database drops (internal server error 500), and it is necessary to connect again. When the query has many records, the data return is slow. They are the only negative points of this tool.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Fernando R.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful database

Reviewed a year ago

We use PostgreSQL as database tool for all our healthcare software products

Pros

PostgreSQL is eaiser to maintenance and to install than other RDBMS like ORACLE. PostgreSQL is open source so is cheaper than other RDBMS. It takes less learrning time than other RDBMS

Cons

We do not have any cons about PostgreSQL

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jonathan Alexander C.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A robust database engine for your web projects and platforms

Reviewed a year ago

I have used this database to carry out web projects in the health sector and it has been of great help to manage processes and data in a very efficient way and with the best performance that I have seen.

Pros

What I like most about this database engine is its security, scalability and high performance for the development of platforms and web applications, easy to maintain and manage

Cons

That I did not like the product, its difficult or complex syntax, sometimes the very tedious query error

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pinki K.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best RDBMS for microservice structure

Reviewed 3 months ago

Its been very good experience to use postgres. Very easy and very effective to manage data. As we have microservice architecture so need lots of database of individual services and with postgres we reduces cost of licensing.

Pros

This is very easy to use and manages. Easy to handle JSON data type and having lots of data type available. Table partitions available for increasing performance.

Cons

Creating store procedure are still very complex and not good as compare to sql server.

OD
AvatarImg

Osman D.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Postgresql_02-07-2022

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Postgresql is the best database system to store data.

Cons

The most usaged features is an extensions. I think that this features should include to standard postgresql distribution.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nothing but praise for *the* SQL DBMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are running tens of Postgres databases and we have no reason to switch.

Pros

It's been reliable beyond all expectations. Put your data in Postgres, you know you'll find them when you need them.

Cons

VACUUMs are a big performance penalty, and the default auto-vacuum settings aren't always optimal for all use cases.

RP
AvatarImg

Rishikumar P.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

"PostgreSQL: A Robust and Reliable Database Solution"

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall, my experience with PostgreSQL has been positive. It is a robust and reliable database system with advanced features for data management and analysis. The active community and comprehensive documentation make it easy to get started and the software is well-suited for a wide range of applications.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a powerful and flexible open-source relational database management system. It offers high performance, rich SQL support, and advanced data types, such as arrays, hstore, and JSON. It can be used for a wide range of use cases, from small web applications to large enterprise systems. The active community provides a wealth of resources, tutorials, and support, which helps to easily create...

Cons

PostgreSQL is a powerful and versatile open-source database system that offers many advanced features for data management and analysis. Its robust SQL engine and built-in support for advanced data types make it a great choice for a wide range of applications. While the software can be a bit complex to set up and manage for beginners, the comprehensive documentation and active community make it easy to get started. Overall, I highly recommend PostgreSQL for anyone looking for a reliable and feature-rich database solution.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mark M.

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid database that won't break the bank and won't let you down

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have never lost data, never paid too much and never looked back. PostgreSQL is at the hear of our organization and our trust has paid off in the long run. Running it on top of a managed stack such as AWS RDS is they way to go as this is the hardest part of using PostgreSQL and you don't want to waste time re-learning what has already been learned. It's worth the cost to use these services in the long run. Rapid prototyping can be done locally and is free so your price to start is always zero!

Pros

PostgreSQL is and always has been one of the most feature rich and solid databases available. Its price / performance / feature set is simply unmatched in the industry today.

Cons

There is a lot of old information on the internet that is no longer relevant to current versions and you must sift through this in some cases to find the modern and elegant solutions. It was touted as "slow" compared to MySQL in the early 2000's and much of that information is wrong due to lack of user experience with the product or no longer the case today.

AB
AvatarImg

Arik B.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PostgreSQL as application database

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use PostgreSQL as our system database for the software we develop, we find it reliable, robust and with great performance, we use both PHP and C++ to access the dataabse.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a full featured SQL server solution. it is free and open-source, PostgreSQL can be installed on many different platform like Linux, Windows, macOS and other. being open-source if has lots of contribute tools from the open-source community providing wide range solutions, PostgreSQL is also available in the cloud from all the major providers.

Cons

Management is less comfortable and some settings needs to be done in PostgreSQL configuration files, also database schema management tool is not so comfortable, but you can use 3rd party tools for that also

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Adil M.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PostgreSQL

Reviewed 2 years ago

One of the best open source relational database in the market. Large support of data types make it powerful and lots of storage of less schema data. ACID compliant and lock management support.

Pros

PostgreSQL has a wide support of server operating system e.g. windows, UNIX, Solaris, Linux, FreeBSD, Open BSD and OS X. Large support of APIs like ADO.NET, JDBC, ODBC and native C library which makes it easy to connect with any module. Good support of programming languages as well i.e. C, C++, JAVA, .NET, PHP and Python.

Cons

Wide support from community but some times its difficult to track any issue and get support. Reading speed is bit low as compared to other DBMS. Documentation is only available in English.

AA
AvatarImg

Ashish A.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Open source object-relational database management system for Web Developers

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

PostgreSQL or simply Postgres implements the SQL and advanced SQL standard very well. It can handle workloads ranging from small web applications to large data warehousing with many parallel users. Postgres provides a easy to use tool called pgAdmin to interact with and manipulate database. It provides support for complex data types like (multi-dimensional) Array, Json, user-defined types. PostgreSQL provides higher number of connections at cheap price. It support all types of indexing for faster retrieval of data. In my company we replaced our database server from MySQL to PostgreSQL because of PostgreSQL higher db connections connections in cheaper price as compared to MYSQL. It is also available free of cost till 10,000 rows on Heroku.

Cons

PostgreSQL query syntax for some complex queries like array, json, string functions and case operator are bit complicated to write . Installation and configuration of PostgreSQL is not as easy as MySQL. Documentation is not as good as compared to MySQL and it is bit harder to search for help regarding some complex queries and database functions on google. Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL.

CH
AvatarImg

Carlos Hugo Martin C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Experience with PostgreSQL

Reviewed a year ago

We have used the database for the implementation of reporters in most cases, seeking to remove the load from the main database.

Pros

It allows me to implement a robust database in a very short time, using a structure very similar to Oracle, in addition to having many tools that allow us to manage the data in the best way.

Cons

There are functionalities that with third-party products can obtain better results.

PT
AvatarImg

Paul T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best database offering available

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent. The documentation is complete and well-written.

Pros

PostgreSQL is standards compliant, performant, high-quality, easy to use, well documented, innovative and feature-complete.

Cons

Replication still has a way to go compared to some competing offerings, but additional software can be used to fill in the missing features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Danny V.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PostgreSQL is a free and robust relational database management system

Reviewed 3 years ago

With PostgreSQL we can manipulate our databases that contain large volumes of data. The main benefit is that it is completely free. Also, there is no limit amount for users that can be added in the administration of the database. Another benefit is that it is compatible with different programming languages.

Pros

I like PostgreSQL for different reasons: - It has flexible implementation options. - Large volume databases can be stored. - It is possible to have multiple databases on a single server and have different configurations for them. - PostgreSQL is completely free. - Its base language is SQL, making it very easy to manipulate. - It has excellent administration toolkits.

Cons

I dislike PostgreSQL for different reasons: - I don't like that the more detailed documentation is only available in English. - It has a high CPU consumption.

IP
AvatarImg

Isak P.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Open source relational database with lots of features

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Open source. Offers a rich set of features and extensions. Available as fully managed database on most cloud platforms.

Cons

Some cases, often involving large sets of data, might require some advanced knowledge in order to run properly/performant.

PG
AvatarImg

Parul G.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

World class DB management and Open Source tool

Reviewed 5 months ago

Flexible, robust with advanced features. Complex DB dashboard.

Pros

The ease of use sets it apart from other tools

Cons

The DB performance , lack of in depth documentation and lack of dedicated customer support to get quick help on critical production loads.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Powerful and Reliable Open-Source Database

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, PostgreSQL is a powerful and reliable choice for users who need a robust database management system. While it may require some initial learning and setup, it is well worth the effort for those who need a high-performance database.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a feature-rich and powerful relational database system that is suitable for a wide range of applications. It is an open-source software, which means that it is free to use and modify. It has a strong reputation for reliability and performance, and it is used by many large companies and organizations.

Cons

No database can cover all types of workloads and PostgreSQL is no exception. For example, it may not be the best choice for real-time analytics or high-speed transactions.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Juan Carlos G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The open source db for bussines

Reviewed 3 years ago

I implemented a Solution on Infonavit the biggest credit giver on México they needed to save AND process data about their clients so I saved all the data on PostgreSQL everything worked like a charm ok PostgreSQL side

Pros

Free to use Robust technology Reliable Full compatibility with most integrations of AWS , Azure , Google , IBM Gasto , secure Not so hard learning curve Great community Constant upgrades

Cons

It feels a little bit overwhelming at the beginning Sometimes can be difficult to enable ok servers for the PDO driver

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Trang N.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best ORDBMS with full support of stored procedures and triggers

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use PostgreSQL as the main database in our system which we need in our system to processing and does an additional task at the database level and frequency need to use complex SQL which needs to join between the table and View. With PostgreSQL we could store the whole of our JSON object instead of breaking down to field like other sequence databases

Pros

PostgreSQL provides the complex functions in its stored procedures and triggers. PostgreSQL also works well in the JSON file, it allows us to store, search and index by JSON content data. It provides privileges at the object level to User and Role to make data more secure. It has many advance SQL command like Table joins, Subquery and Views, the performance of PostgresSQL is greate when we need to execute complex SQL command

Cons

It does not cache the Query execution plans so sometimes cause a delay when we need to run SQL repeatedly. Its UI tool, PgAdmin's is not good compared with other tools that lack some function of the search or Scrolling.