App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PRTG Enterprise Monitor Logo

Keep control of a large IT and maximize its performance!

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PRTG Enterprise Monitor Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

51

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.04/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

site24x7
obkio

Pros and cons

Overall experience has been good, it does what it says and it has been very useful for monitoring our systems.
The ease of setup was wonderful and it served almost all our needs out of the box.
I love that it includes native support for a lot of brands and products like Servers, Routers, Firewalls, Switches, Workstations, Software, etc. The ease of use of PRTG is incredible.
Having to license and manage a windows server just for PRTG is a bummer.
I run a single server with close to 10,000 sensors, which is considered the maximum for a single server and I see performance problems from time to time because I run it at red line.
Too hard to read sometimes about notification.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


51 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Balayo S.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PRTG Enterprise Monitor, A Network Engineers' Dream Tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall Paessler Enterprise Monitor is great IT infrastructure Monitoring tool with great features and core functionalities that IT operations would need to well monitor and make decisions about their infrastructure.

Pros

1. Reporting features that fully give an Insight of all IT infrastructure from small to large scale, offering IT Engineers and Operators all the information they need in one single place. 2. The ability to monitor IT applications, services, Capacity and Configuration management.

Cons

The sensor layout and management isn't well automated for easier understanding and could be confusing if handed over without proper documentation

Vendor response

Dear Balayo, Thank you very much for your positive review! We're pleased to hear that PRTG Enterprise Monitor offers comprehensive reporting and monitoring capabilities, making it a dream tool for network engineers. We're committed to continuously improving our features to ensure that IT operations have all the insights they need to effectively manage their infrastructure. Your Paessler Team

JE
AvatarImg

John E.

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PRTG Network Monitor - Best Network Tool for the Money

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using PRTG for over 10 years in my career as a IT Network/Systems Admin. There are plenty of tools on the market that can do this same thing but none of them allow for the simple yet powerful design of PRTG. I recommend it to friends, and colleagues all the time.

Pros

PRTG helps me keep my entire network visible in a single pane of glass, whether that is network, server, virtual, or WAN, I have eyes on my network at all times.

Cons

The only negatives I will mention are minor. I run a single server with close to 10,000 sensors, which is considered the maximum for a single server and I see performance problems from time to time because I run it at red line. The interface is a little dated by 2022 standards and could use a facelift.

Vendor response

Dear John, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review! We are currently working on a new interface, which you can already try out now. Your Paessler Team

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Frank L.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nothing stands alone but PRTG is stable

Reviewed 2 months ago

Best of the available options when surveying the field.

Pros

A great map, lots of sensors, good educational online training, customizable.

Cons

Not the most intuitive, consumes quite a lot of compute resources.

Vendor response

Dear Frank, Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We're glad you find PRTG stable and appreciate its comprehensive features. We strive to provide the best solution for network monitoring and are pleased that it stands out among other options in the field. Your Paessler Team

RA
AvatarImg

Rafael A.

Computer Networking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Involved needing to get more hands on

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

the alerting is on point as it barks about everything if your not carefull

Cons

the landscape for displaying visual maps needs a lot of work.

Vendor response

Dear Rafael, Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

BH
AvatarImg

Bryce H.

Public Safety, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PRTG is the one tool I HAVE to have in my toolbox

Reviewed 3 months ago

I love PRTG. It is genuinely the one tool I have to have running in any environment I am supporting. I don't know that I'd be able to do my job to the best of my ability without the data and tools that PRTG provides. Management is easy, maintenance is easy, and the PRTG support team have always been wonderful to work with. I don't see myself ever changing NMS providers.

Pros

The ease of setting up and the flexibility that the system has. The range of tools PRTG offers is amazing for its price. Not only that, but the system itself is robust and easy to configure and manage. Being able to create useful maps with important data makes it a tool that other non-tech folks can benefit from as well. And the remote probe features are so important in multi-site deployments.

Cons

I wish it had more support for running Linux. I know the new probe can be deployed on Linux (which I've tested quite a bit and enjoy using), but it would be great if that became a possibility for the entire core probe. Having to license and manage a windows server just for PRTG is a bummer. It's worth it for sure, but I'd prefer using Linux instead.

Vendor response

Dear Bryce, Thank you for your detailed review! We're happy to hear that our tool is an essential part of your toolbox and that you find its setup, flexibility, and range of tools impressive. We appreciate your feedback regarding Linux support and will certainly take it into consideration for future improvements. We're committed to continuing to provide you with the robust monitoring solutions you rely on. Your Paessler Team

JU
AvatarImg

Johanns U.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PRTG is the best recommendation I can make to my IT colleagues

Reviewed 2 years ago

Since I've been using PRTG Enterprise Monitor my work has become much easier, it's a tool that you become addicted to as soon as you start configuring it. I have surprised my superiors when I take quick action due to the immediate alerts that PRTG sends me.

Pros

Its simplicity of use and implementation. It does what it has to do. It greatly simplifies the monitoring of large and small networks.

Cons

It could not only monitor, but also be an active part of the devices. Manage them with protocols like SSH, Telnet, RDP from the software.

Vendor response

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

José F.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best application for network monitoring

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general, this is the best application for network monitoring, fast implementation, many reports, and many ways to get notifications. A good tool for teamwork.

Pros

It is easy to set up, implement, and deploy. It is a Web interface and desktop app which allow fast access.

Cons

The interface of Map must be easier and more organized to understand.

Vendor response

Dear José, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Cheers, Paessler AG

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jorge Alejandro M.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice way to keep your eyes on the infraestruture

Reviewed 3 months ago

Excellent! Easy to use, accuracy, stable, powerfull creating reports.

Pros

The user interface is instuitive. The reports are very friendly, easy to use. The native sensors are a good way to built the dashboards easily .

Cons

Maybe to be able to allow configure parameters to export.

Vendor response

Dear Jorge Alejandro, Thank you for your positive feedback! We appreciate your suggestion regarding configurable export parameters and will consider it for future updates. Your Paessler Team

JH
AvatarImg

John H.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PRTG Enterprise Monitoring

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, it's been a great asset to our firm as we've grown in size and scope. The few times we have had to utilize PRTG support they've been quick and knowledgeable.

Pros

Ease of use. I can sit someone down who has no experience with System/Network monitoring and show them PRTG and they can instantly identify what systems are in a healthy state and which aren't. Green=Good / Red=Bad.

Cons

Configuring the alert notifications took some time so we weren't overwhelmed with the amount coming in but also making sure we received actionable alerts.

Vendor response

Dear John, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback! We're glad to hear that PRTG's user-friendly interface has made system/network monitoring accessible to your team. We appreciate your insight into configuring alert notifications and are constantly working to streamline this process for improved efficiency. Not only that, but we're glad to have been a valuable asset to your company's growth, and our support team is always available to provide you with prompt assistance. Your Paessler Team

PP
AvatarImg

Paul P.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PRTG Enterprise Monitor is a good tool for monitoring

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

PRTG is able to notify us very quickly in the event of an outage

Cons

PRTG Enterprise Monitor doesn't have any flaws, it's just paid compared to Nagios Community

Vendor response

Dear Paul, Thank you for your positive feedback on PRTG Enterprise Monitor. If you would like to give us more feedback, why not become part of our PRTG Feedback Insiders. You can find all the information here: https://go.paessler.com/prtg-feedback-insiders Your Paessler Team

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Carolina R.

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

the ideal monitoring tool for large IT infrastructures

Reviewed 10 months ago

For any IT team it is absolutely clear that the network infrastructure is the backbone of any current company regardless of its size, and based on this, investing in tools that allow monitoring from the macro to the micro all the details of operation, processes and others makes the company feel confident in its deployment of network equipment and the operation of this, PRTG Enterprise Monitor provides all these features with the added bonus of a technical support team that we have received the collaboration of when required.

Pros

Our company is distributed in several LATAM countries and all its IT infrastructure is located in various datacenters located in some of its major cities, this topology has required a tool with which to have a global vision but in turn detailed of the different data centers and each of the teams that make it up, in turn, services, protocols and other additional elements that are required for proper operation; the control panel is extremely simplified but at the same time powerful and allows with a few clicks to add new data centers as the network expands and immediately we have the visualization of the elements that are required, this is simplicity and effectiveness of the tool.

Cons

It is clear that PRTG Enterprise Monitor is focused on huge IT infrastructures which have many elements and processes that need to be monitored, this translates notoriously in operating costs since it must be taken into account that the license for these cases depends on the number of sensors required, although looking at it from a preventive point of view will be reflected in the initial ROI as it will allow correcting failures before they cause considerable operating expenses.

SL
AvatarImg

Scott L.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PRTG is a great tool that we use every day, all day.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, this product is excellent and don't think I could find any other software so complete.

Pros

PRTG is probably one of the easiest software packages I've ever used. It's highly customizable and easily set up. You can give a device a name and IP address, tell it to auto-discover and it will find all applicable SNMP or WMI items for that device that can be monitored. You can then go through and take things out that you don't need or care about.

Cons

There are some things that are not customizable that I wish were. For example, every time I do a device discovery on a HP switch, I get the port discovered, but also get the RMON port discovered. I do not need both of them. If I delete the RMON port and do a weekly discovery, it picks up the previously deleted RMON ports. I've contacted support about it and the only way to keep that from happening...

Vendor response

Dear Scott, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Your Paessler Team

PM
AvatarImg

Phillip M.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fanstastic software which helps save time and enables better troubleshooting

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

The ability to get notifications and fix problems before staff even know something is a problem is fantastic, especially when you appear at the door just as someone goes to place a ticket. The Slack integration means we can also keep an eye on certain critical infrastructure, like WiFi and Printers, and get a notification right to our phones. The history log is also really helpful when diagnosing issues that occur sporadically over time, but never when IT is there.

Cons

There are a lot of options, but this also means that there is a steep learning curve to ensure everything is setup correctly.When turning on certain functions, you need to enable it in multiple places, like when I was trying to get the Slack integration working. I had enabled Notifications for certain events, but I hadn't set a trigger for Notifications

Vendor response

Dear Philip, Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that PRTG is a time-saving solution for your troubleshooting needs. The ability to proactively address issues and the Slack integration seem to be valuable features for you. We appreciate your input regarding the learning curve and multiple setup steps, and we'll take this into consideration in our ongoing efforts to improve the user experience. If you ever need assistance with specific configurations, please don't hesitate to contact our support team. Your Paessler Team

IO
AvatarImg

Israel O.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love the PRTG Enterprise Monitor solution.

Reviewed 2 years ago

In the past, we spent many hours a week manually checking the status of our infrastructure: availability, capacity checks, service status, updates, etc. Now PRTG does it all for us. PRTG is responsible for monitoring the availability of our equipment, services, review capabilities, database availability, etc. Even now we know the hours of greatest demand for our services and the critical hours. When something in our infrastructure failed, we were aware of it until the client reported it. Now, PRTG takes care of sending us an email notification, telling us what the problem is. This allows us to react even before users are aware of the problem.

Pros

I love that it includes native support for a lot of brands and products like Servers, Routers, Firewalls, Switches, Workstations, Software, etc. The ease of use of PRTG is incredible. You can install and configure it in minutes. The support and documentation of the solution is very good. It even allows you to integrate with other solutions and/or create your own sensors.

Cons

I wish there were more backup monitoring options in addition to VEEAM.

Vendor response

We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review! Have a look at our PRTG Sensor Hub. Here you can find scripts that extend the monitoring of VEEAM. Cheers, Paessler AG

RS
AvatarImg

Ranga S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Covers all the bases for mid-sized corporate infrastructure

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using PRTG to monitor all aspects of our network and server infrastructure. After trialling a few products, PRTG was selected several years ago for the extensive feature set at a reasonable cost of ownership. So far we are completely satisfied with the product. PRTG is right-sized for us without all the features we need. We have integrated PRTG with Grafana to produce extremely user-friendly dashboards for our management and the integration was a breeze.

Pros

Ease of use Balanced cost to features Detailed dashboards and graphs Realtime Alerts/notifications Continuous updates and new sensors/features added regularly Easy integration with dashboard software (ie. Grafana)

Cons

Heavy use of resources (I do not believe this is a product issue as we are sharing our hardware resource for other admin utilities)

Vendor response

Dear Ranga, We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

MA
AvatarImg

Matthew A.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for our company

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been great. I have the monitoring dashboard up at all times and it is reliable.

Pros

I like how it was easy to set up and easy to scale. I can set up a typical branch office monitor configuration and literally copy and paste it to set up a different office's monitoring. I like how customizable the notifications are - what do you want to be alerted on vs not alerted on - how much - alerts sent to who, etc...

Cons

I wish there was some aspect of IPAM or even DDI management. Having some sort of inventory management as well would be nice, maybe in the form of a dynamic subnet scanning and showing what is live on the network without creating a static entry in the list.

Vendor response

Dear Matthew, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Your Paessler Team

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

excellent monitoring software

Reviewed 2 years ago

good support, overall you get a fast and in depth response.

Pros

stable, lots of sensors, being able to use customized sensors, app, reporting, API

Cons

not being able to select a language per user, this is set for the whole configuration.

JP
AvatarImg

Justin P.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use interface for administrators. Maps are great for presenting to end users.

Reviewed 2 years ago

excellent product that is easy enough to use for the average IT engineer or high level technician

Pros

simple to create monitors and create custom notifications

Cons

initial configuration takes a small learning curve to get up and running

Vendor response

Dear Justin, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Feel free and have a look at our how-to guides to get the most out of PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

po
AvatarImg

peter o.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Motoring world

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The system is easy to setup; using the auto discovery that help to bring up the most relevant sensors to the device being monitored. The network diagrams gave us great insight when troubleshooting issue and pinpoint where the root is. It allows us to be always pro active and provide the uptime required by the business without manually carry out the tasks.

Cons

The default parameter could provide some false positive alerts; some adjustment is needed to make alerts more suitable to the company

Vendor response

Dear Peter, Thank you for leaving us a review! Your Paessler Team

AI
AvatarImg

Ajet I.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to setup and use monitoring tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its good starting point in your monitoring toolset, easy to deploy and manage, intuitive and self explanatory software

Pros

Its very easy to deploy and configure, the software is intuitive and self explanatory

Cons

Some of the stats are not as accurate in the sense that the min sample time is 10sec so not really real-time monitoring. Harder to deploy on remote systems, you need to deploy a remote probe. Their support can certainly improve

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Cheers, Paessler AG

KY
AvatarImg

Karen Y.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Network and servers monitoring solutions that's easy to setup and maintain

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience is very positive

Pros

Easy to setup and add the devices/sensors if you already have SNMP configured on the devices to be monitored. Auto discovery may offer stuff you weren't thinking to monitor.

Cons

Web GUI may not be user-friendly for some tasks. For example if you can't right click on a sensor and open it in a new tab.

Vendor response

Dear Karen, Thank you for leaving us a review! Have a look at our PRTG Desktop. This is an alternative interface that you can use to connect to a PRTG core server or a PRTG Hosted Monitor instance. Cheers, Paessler AG

TG
AvatarImg

Tim G.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Unicorns do exist!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Not often you can find a package that bundes all your wishes but PRTG does that. The inerface allows quick identification of issues and the alert system is used daily. The commitment to constantly improving the product only make me want it more.

Cons

Deployment poses a challenge with all the sensors and reslly no identifier for some - but the catalog is exanding

Vendor response

Dear Tim, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Take a look at our how-to guides to get the most out of PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

BC
AvatarImg

Bethany C.

Packaging and Containers, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Affordable and Customizable

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using PRTG for years, and it has always been reliable and easy to use.

Pros

This software is very reasonably priced, and you can customize the sensors to match the needs of your environment.

Cons

It does take a while to set everything up if you make everything custom, but it is worth it.

Vendor response

Dear Bethany, Thank you for leaving us a review! Feel free and have a look at our YouTube channel to get the most out of PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

MK
AvatarImg

Matt K.

Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Monitoring

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience has been good, it does what it says and it has been very useful for monitoring our systems.

Pros

Many sensors, easy to setup compared to competitors. Very customizable in alerting and what you can monitor.

Cons

Doesn't scale well once to 10k+ sensors, vendor recommendation against virtualization. Price increasing and licensing scheme.

Vendor response

Dear Matt, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Cheers, Paessler AG

BR
AvatarImg

Bill R.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product - I use it daily

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent experience from installation through deployment and growth

Pros

The ease of maintenance, reliability of alerts and ease of monitoring without agents.

Cons

A bit complicated to configure anything except basic alerts. Not much integration with third parties.

Vendor response

Dear Bill, Thank you very much for your review! Cheers, Paessler AG