This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Redis Enterprise

Database management and data backup software

see alternatives

Redis Enterprise Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Our experience was great, we were able to accomplish our goals and the support team was more than generous with there time.

Anonymous Reviewer

To accomplish such excellent efficiency, Redis has some constraints on how it displays its information. For something that operates as quickly as Redis, this trade off is often worth it.

Mujde E.

Redis supports data structure like Hash, String, Lists, and sets. Speed is very fast and supports many programming languages It is open-source and stable so, this is the reason to say 'Yes' to Redis.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

As the data resides in RAM for faster access, it could have performance effects if the server system is not well managed. There is still a lack of a proper UI management tool for Redis.

Mehak A.

It is a difficult task to learn how to use Redis from the documentation.

Joe C.

Takes a bit of time to get it up and running. Had trouble when trying to setup on one of the website we were making but ended working out.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

43

10

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


53 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gets the job done before you know which job that is

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It makes clustering, sharding, backups and more very easy to setup, control and monitor

Cons

The prices are a bit too high for small projects, it's ok for an enterprise global solution

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Implementation was simple, we setup a multi-site active-active cluster in 30 minutes!

Reviewed a year ago

Our experience was great, we were able to accomplish our goals and the support team was more than generous with there time.

Pros

Redis Enterprise provide the ability to make our application highly available using their XDCR feature. We setup a multi-data center cluster the replicated in real-time so that we could design our application to actively server from multiple data centers without any additional latency.

Cons

It needs a better UI, I would definitely like to be able to exec commands without having to login to the hosts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Redis Enterprise - OSS or Enterprise

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I would really appreciate the Redis Enterprise engagement especially the support as that is something (apart from cluster support) which really makes it shine.

Pros

The pros over other solutions and its open source versions include: 1) On the fly scaling Scale to more/less cores and memory as and when needed. 2) Cluster support Support for clusters unlike the OSS version where the cap is on 1 core and fixed memory. 3) High availability & automatic failover Redis enterprise manages the failover internally, so no crashes. 4) Predefined SLAs A mandatory spec definition required by most enterprise customers 5) Monitoring, alerts, etc all such services are available Get notifications on configurable events

Cons

Well, the pricing may not be very well suited for small companies which are low on budget. Not really a con as the open source version does most of the things except for the cluster support on the technical side of things.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

God of cache management

Reviewed 3 months ago

Performance is an important factor in the applications we develop. For this reason, we use cache in many places. We store and manage all our cache objects on redis.

Pros

My favorite feature is that it has a very flexible and performance oriented structure. It is a cache management application that is already used all over the world and has a large community. In addition, you can easily perform all your operations via the command line.

Cons

The product price may be a little cheaper, although I don't see any shortcomings. A useful interface can also be provided.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Many integrations Database

Reviewed a year ago

Experimental applications / demos for prospective apps / labs, Open Source mostly.

Pros

If I, as a developer, had the luxury of choosing a database by just a logo or colour palette initially, I would definitely choose a Redis (Redis Enterprise) because one of my favourite colours is scarlet. Surely there are other reasons for liking Redis: intuitiveness, innovative features, flexibility, scalability, ecosystem.

Cons

Since I use Redis Enterprise only in experimental applications / demos for prospective apps / labs, no issues so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Redis Enterprise is the best solution for a fast, in-memory production database

Reviewed a year ago

Redis Enterprise, with its optimizations and great support, enabled us to switch over completely to using Redis as a the cache layer for an enterprise-grade client application within the insurance industry.

Pros

Redis allows you to deploy an extremely fast production-grade clustered in-memory datastore that can be used as a cache layer or for any other fast data access needs. Redis Enterprise provides a managed solution which is deployed on memory-optimized instances for the best performance. Since this is an enterprise solution, the support provided for a given cluster is exemplary.

Cons

The cost for a given cluster is much higher than contemporary solutions. Configuring a custom security scheme for a cluster can be quite cumbersome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The nearly perfect cache

Reviewed 2 years ago

We're caching mostly everything now in Redis. Performace has ski-rocketed,ans the database decoupling has also improved application resilience and reliability.

Pros

Redis is a very flexible key-value store, allowing a lot of different data types. You can set a TTL for each key, you an have replica stores, you can set up a Pub/Sub, you can persist to disk, and all this in memory, with blazing fast performance and unbeatable reliability.

Cons

No database known to men can, to this date, provide consistent transactions, partition tolerance and high availability. Redis is no exception here.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Benefits Accrued by integrating Redis as a Cache storage .

Reviewed 3 years ago

The fact that Redis boasts of more than a billion downloads means that if you have a problem you are most likely not the first person to come across it. And with its massive online community your problem gets sorted quickly. For newbies, I highly recommend visiting Redis university website for online tutorials with practical applications of Redis data structures.

Pros

Redis has many benefits one of them being speed, reliability, and extensibility. Redis as a cache storage optimizes the fetching of data to and from the main storage. I also like the fact that with every Redis version that gets released a number of commands are added which simplifies work.

Cons

Redis to me has made my job simpler having not used any other product for a cache storage before am a Happy Redis user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best solution to use as cache

Reviewed 10 months ago

I use Redis on a daily basis to reduce the load on database servers and increase application performance. All calls to my APIs first make queries on Redis and only in case of error go to the database, this ensures greater speed in the responses. However, good planning is necessary to ensure synchronization between the SQL database and REDIS. In addition to a good maturity to map data from one database to another.

Pros

I liked the simplicity of creating and retrieving keys and the integrations available with different programming languages

Cons

The documentation is a bit complex for those who have never had contact with the product, understanding some concepts of how to use the key types takes a while.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fastest caching tool which is now available on cloud

Reviewed 3 months ago

Redis Enterprise is a good fit for large implementations which require support.

Pros

Redis is an inmemory cache which means that it is extremely fast. Installation is very simple and there are numerous deployment methods. We've built many microservices that simply spin up Redis as a container on Kubernetes for inmemory caching. From our own testing, the performance is faster than competing solutions like Memcache. Scaling is easier to do on Enterprise vs open source. Testing and debugging is straightforward through the redis-cli tool. Beyond the inmemory cache, you can also use Redis as a NoSQL database. Redis Enterprise for Cloud make it easy to configure HA Redis if you don't want to use the native ElastiCache or MemoryStore options.

Cons

Redis Enterprise for Cloud pricing can get quite expensive based on your memory limit. That said, the free tier is quite usable and if you opt for subscription based pricing, the discounts are more dramatic. Redis does provide a handy calculator to more accurately estimate your costs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Redis is awesome

Reviewed 3 years ago

Redis is a basic, but extremely fast, key-value storage. We made a decision to use Redis because our use case didn't require a full blown database. We needed something to hold the data temporarily and loss of that data wouldn't lead to any issues. Redis was perfectly fitting our use case, and since then we are a bunch of happy Redis users.

Pros

- Being a non-SQL database, it does not require any structure. Perfect for unstructured data like key-value pairs. - Redis is extremely fault tolerant. As soon as we write a record, it gets saved to the disk, without any performance issues. - Redis is very lightweight. In docker it takes less than 30MB, so it is so easy to run multiple containers in cluster without taking too much power. - Redis has a very good query API, and they are in their website each operation is clearly mentioned with its time complexity. This gives you a clear picture of performance. We didn't in fact do any performance testing because we trusted their site with all the information. - Redis has a very strong community around it. We have never found an issue for which a solution didn't exist beforehand.

Cons

A cluster in Redis was a little hard to understand and deploy, but this is a one time thing to learn, no worries.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best available DB solution for data caching and session management.

Reviewed a year ago

The use-case for us was caching of data from DB queries and session management for multi-server application, Redis was made to handle these use cases so for us it was a perfect solution very less latency in data fetching helped us load a DB query heavy web page in few milliseconds

Pros

The data remains in memory so it's incredibly fast to fetch data based on keys. The design is fairly simple to use, there is a wide range of data types that can be used. clustering and data distribution is very easy when using Redis.

Cons

As its primary advantage is the speed of reading and write, the security features are limited in the DB. As the data resides in RAM for faster access, it could have performance effects if the server system is not well managed. There is still a lack of a proper UI management tool for Redis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Redis is super fast in-memory cache

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using Redis to provide faster response rate by storing and retrieving data from redis. We also use redis to process our background jobs. Benefit i received from using redis is speed and reliability.

Pros

Redis is high performance open source in-memory cache. Redis is my favorite choice to store data into cache. Cache can be used in multiple use cases like session storage, page caching, temporary data caching for faster speed. Redis supports various data types: Lists , Sorted sets , hash tables, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes. Redis provides secure and high availability service.

Cons

It is tricky and time taking process to setup redis for production environment if using to process background jobs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Absolute non-avoidable piece of your software solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

couple of years back I started using redis, I was new to redis, datastructure, lua script, hosting, clustering but their technical team helped us to design the architecture using their services and guiding to build best practices

Pros

Redis enterprise gain big confidence in market with their ready solutions build on redis database. these ready solutions and new data structures are helping to build software applications much faster and with great performances

Cons

Costing is little high, but if you are getting best solutions with less time to go to market then why not pay?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply put Redis is fastest and easiest to use data storage software I've ever used.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Faster development times and easy database scaling.

Pros

It's fast, reliable, and easy to use. The added support and scalability of Redis Enterprise allows an already easy to use solution to scale to solve any problem.

Cons

Redis has some limitations with how it stores its data in order to achieve such great performance. Often times this trade off is well worth it for something that works as fast as Redis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good in memory database

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good in memory database

Pros

Works as both in-memory database and message bus with it publish and subscribe mechanism which is used for IPC(inter process communication)

Cons

It will be good if they can provide acknowledgement to publisher once subscriber consumes it..

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Redis review

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general I'm very pleased with the software and it meets the needs I need - a good opportunity to say thank you!

Pros

I use this software to manage all user data in our apps at the company: Software that works very simply with a real-time update of our user status in the app. It's very easy to update users' data.

Cons

Sometimes information from certain keys can not be cross-referenced. The filters sometimes do not work at all (or not well).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust in-memory database

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Very quick to insert and retrieve values. Supports complex types of values. It is Possible to build an architecture with high availability.

Cons

The Redis does very well what is proposed to be done, there is nothing that I think is bad about it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Bulletproof in-memory caching layer that surprisingly does much more

Reviewed a year ago

From initial experience onward, still an excellent in-memory database.

Pros

Having used OSS Redis for years, moving to Redis Enterprise is a logical transition. It's an open core model with enterprise grade features such as improved scalability and performance. The other unique feature is the multi-datacenter support for active-active configurations. Redis supports multiple data types and models (Cypher, JSON, time series), so you can migrate from an existing solution. The durable persistence option allows you to leverage SSD storage which is much cheaper than Memory.

Cons

Setting up a Redis cluster does take some time and know-how. Same story for day-to-day cluster operations, although Redis does provide some automation in this area.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience has been good. We use it for storing/accessing user sessions and it has met our needs very well with little cost.

Pros

It is fairly simple to get up and running and extremely cost effective. Beyond those base points, it scales extremely well and performance is great.

Cons

The documentation is not very good at all when it comes to the available commands. It is a difficult task to learn how to use Redis from the documentation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Redis Enterprise Beyond what was imagined

Reviewed 2 years ago

High avaibility, excellent service, covers the need to have several Redis databases on a server,

Pros

Write data in a quick way Can be used as an intermediate layer Durable and zero dataloss

Cons

For those who use software for the first time it is challenging

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

REDIS ENTERPRISE FOR HYBRID DATASTORE

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are merging the data nearly a million coming from multiple apis as a feed.We need to mesh the feed and get the results out of it. We have improved our search time 4X times faster by using redis.

Pros

We use redis extensively in our application.The basic factors it stands out from the crowd are 1.Fast 2.Reliable 3.Rich set of data structures 4.Easily scalable

Cons

Some better documentation and tutorials they can have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect default chose for high load solutions

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Redis as probably everyone know - simple and simply works. As it simple it's easy to start using it by new developers. Simply work means that it requires minimum it support.

Cons

So no Cons actually. Just like with any solution it's not a Silver bullet. Learn about it and read documentation and use cases. Know when is better to not use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Using in production for 4 years

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We are using Redis for session management and query result caching and the experience this far has been very smooth.

Cons

Love to see soe good tools for monotoring the Reds clusters.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best in-memory key store

Reviewed 3 years ago

Redis has brought an impacting performance boast to many of our apps. Whenever data doesn't change very frequently we're using Redis as DB cache.

Pros

Easy to setup and get running Simple to use by developers and sysadmins alike Very high performance High reliability Master-slave replication Pub/sub support

Cons

Some operations are very complex (e.g. zrevrangebyscore)