This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Network Performance Monitor Logo

Network Performance Monitor

Powerful, Affordable IT Management Software

see alternatives

Network Performance Monitor Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


65 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An effective tool to monitor almost everything on your network

Reviewed 3 years ago

This has been a great NPM tool and it our primary source to seek any network specific metrics.

Pros

Efficient dashboards and alerting system. Best network tracing capabilities.

Cons

Price. This price should be more reasonable, especially for smaller businesses to come on board.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent product that provides greater value for the money

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of installation. Product Support in clubs I've of upgrades. Great online training and folllowup

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love the product!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Being able to forget about the network 24/7 and rely on it to notify us when something is wrong.

Pros

Ease of install, ease of customization, and easy to learn based on the interface. Without training, I was able to pick it up and run with it.

Cons

The cost is the only concern I have. You buy modules based on what you need, and I think one package with all would make life easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Network Monitoring tool which is always coming out with new features

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is just one of the many suite of applications that SolarWinds offers to help manage the Network. Ease to use and helps diagnose / troubleshoot issues. Easy to automate alerts to notify you of problems afterhours. Great graphical interface as well.

Cons

Is more costly than other tools but worth the cost as SolarWinds will take less time to manage over time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool to manage your network

Reviewed 9 months ago

The experience is excellent because we buy the modules for servers and network monitoring and help us a lot to see what is happening in our network and historic reports from an specific services or server

Pros

NPM is an excellent tool to manage your netwotk includind services and hardware. The implementation is easy and it have default templates and report that help you to start and see the information out of the box without do extra work

Cons

If you nee to see information like network traffic you need an extra license that is additional cost or if you need to see databases performance is other license, so to see the entire picture you will need pay more

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple and to the point, very concise when you need a minimal amount of information.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I can pull up any piece of networking information in a matter of seconds. There is not a big learning curve.

Cons

Sometimes it seems to be too minimal, some features that are present in other network performance monitors are lacking in SolarWinds' version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

tool for Networking professional

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great tool who are interested in Computer Networking and want to explore the background of any network as well as will be aware of it.

Cons

Not for a beginner that is for sure since it requires you to have certain level of knowledge of a network.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for network monitor

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy interface for beginner as well as expert level. I like how it displays the characteristics of a network.

Cons

Sometimes it gives lags but still update comes late so it create an issue for a user who requires real time network monitoring.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy Network Monitoring tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall good tool

Pros

It is able to monitor every device in your company and check for high cpu utilization, low memory, failures and errors. As well as make backups of all your devices. Works with almost all network products and can be customized using universal pollers to handle almost any imaginable product.

Cons

Slow performance on web interface. I think they should work on the overall look of the program, integrate more features into the SolarWinds NPM suite.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds Network Perfomance Monitor

Reviewed 2 years ago

Network performance Monitor has been one of the better tools I have used from Solarwinds. It was their first product and by far has been the most developed.

Pros

The Solarwinds Network Performance Monitor tool is a great tool to have because it lets me manage all my servers and network devices health in one single pane of glass.

Cons

The product is great but sometimes can be too modular. Would like more examples of how other clients use the product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SolarWinds Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

SolarWinds is what you expect from a legacy SNMP monitoring and management system... it's great for managing network devices. The rest of it is not so good. Its IPAM solution has a Read only API, meaning you can't modify records with your existing automation. Worse yet, they have no plans to fix it. It can do a lot of things, just not well. You will end up needing to fill the gaps with other tools.

Pros

Network device management Price

Cons

Lackluster API that's partially implemented. Interface is clumsy and requires a lot of redundant clicking.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NPM is great

Reviewed 2 years ago

Monitoring our network. Making sure there is no latency or downtimes.

Pros

It is really easy to find what is causing issues especially when coupled with NTA. Without a tool like this there could be really long down times. It is basically out of the box ready, very little set up.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about it. There was some difficulty getting budget approved because of the cost but for me it is totally worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Monitoring

Reviewed 5 years ago

Solarwinds Network Performance has been excellent for monitoring my mix of Cisco and Brocade Equipment.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent system for monitoring

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This has to be by far the best networking and services monitoring tool I have ever used. It is rich in features and it just works.

Cons

It is an amazing system and I would recommend to anyone. It is however a little time consuming to set it up, for some people even a little challenging.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My NPM for critical NOC Monitoring and its operations

Reviewed 9 months ago

NPM is the best solution when it comes to performance monitoring as for sure no other product can beat in terms of monitoring like Netflow, web filtering, interface, CPU, bandwidth, disk, servers, DB, etc... and many more. Even though it is best but has complications in learning and budget issues.

Pros

if there is something that everyone is interested in this product is its capability and performance. It makes network engineers' jobs easy and to identify errors quickly and focus on things that were really required. Analysis of network firewalls on a very high basis like bandwidth utilization, Netflow, web filter, etc.. for engineers to analyze and identify when any issue comes up.

Cons

Budget is always an issue so many times after POC clients prefer for alternate solutions as it is best in capabilities of monitoring but its concerns about the budget when it comes SMB customers especially.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Works well overall but can get slow over time

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use this software to monitor our network equipment and servers and for the price it works well for doing that.

Pros

Was easy to setup and maintain and their support seems to be great to work with.

Cons

Over time it gets really slow and the server needs rebooted. Nothing I've tried including putting it on a new server seems to rectify this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds npm

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used multiple network monitoring softwares and there is no comparison with the support and quality of software with SolarWinds. A perfect monitoring tool with out of the box reporting and alerting with extreme customizations.

Pros

I have been using this software for a very long time and its graphical representations and reporting is so top notch and its very easy to install, configure, and troubleshoot and interact with highly skilled individuals on its Thwack Community and share and discuss new ideas and look for guidance/assistance and documentation with labs and we can collect points to exchange with gifts and certification vouchers.

Cons

Its a bit costly and fortigate firewalls are not supported completely to provide its site to site vpn details like it shows for cisco asa. It would be great to be able to monior our vpn and who gets in and out of our network.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

network management in minutes

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

SolarWinds NPM (Network Performance Manager) is one of the most gratifying products to use. After installing on a server, you can literally in minutes begin collecting actionable network performance if you have previously configured SNMP on your network equipment. Most of the products integrate, building on each other and adding more value. I have always been impressed with how their new versions add significant features and value for just paying maintenance on the product. Their online training is also very valuable.

Cons

More advance features will take more effort to configure and generate actionable results. You can easily be overwhelmed by alerts and syslog if you do not make an effort to manage what you really need to see.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Provides all the information that helps you with keep on top of your network before problems arise.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Being able to monitor and receive real time information about known devices on your network as well as having the forecasting ability so that you can plan for future growth easily.

Cons

Some of the alerts may require you to do some customization in order for them to work. Licensing for some of the modules may get some what pricey if you go into a higher level tier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We use NPM to monitor our network stack.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Fast, clear status of performance and possible outages. Easy integration with other tools and custom alert mechanisms. A focused company who is very involved in making great tutorials.

Cons

The GUI is starting to look dated, it could use a complete overhaul. License needs can be tricky to determine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Network performance Monitor is a must have tool for any IT professional to succeed in their job.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

You can not fix something you do not know is broken. NPM allow you to be notified as soon a any component you are monitoring goes off line. Its a game changer for IT pro's trying to get a handle on their network and hardware.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good aspects of Solarwinds

Reviewed 25 days ago
Pros

Being able to view the traffic levels passing through the circuit or port and being able to view how long it has been down if there is any interruption here are the best aspects for me.

Cons

As the number of nodes increases, there may be some slowness.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Monitor the network

Reviewed 10 days ago
Pros

You can see the lines bandwiths and poor cable connection with it.

Cons

Sometimes it is freezing and late to open the monitoring page.