App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Logo

Server and website monitoring software

(15)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


561 reviews

Recommended

LW
AvatarImg

Loyal W.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Free Tool.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We get to communicate with our end users closer on issues and determine if we can guide them through the troubleshooting or walk to their location. It saves time and money while increasing communication.

Pros

You can't beat the price. It is free, easy to configure, and easy to use. It is cloud based so no internal setup. It does allow attachments so pictures and document guides can be sent back and forth with users asking for help as well.

Cons

You are limited in setup options and design. You can change some colors, text, and add some fields, but it is a basic free help-desk tool.

CS
AvatarImg

Charles S.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Spiceworks Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our team solves tickets everyday using Spiceworks. Love the fact that users can log in and check on the status of their ticket. The email notifications for incoming tickets is also very good. It greatly increases our company's performance without costing anything. This is easily the best ticketing system available on the market.

Pros

Easy to use, free and Great UI. Love the ticketing system. It's greatest feature is the inventory management system, it scans and inventories practically everything on your network.

Cons

The only thing I dislike is that spiceworks only supports Windows Servers. I hope in the future they start supporting Mac OSX.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

james c.

Entertainment, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding, absolute as well as complete helpdesk software

Reviewed 6 years ago

I would say it is the most outclass software that can be used in a best way for keeping picture of hardware inventory update. Furthermore, it can be utilized for serving the purposes of internal auditing.

Pros

I would say it is the most fantastic way of monitoring numerous devices quickly and easily. It is the most user-friendly software. I love its interesting features and dashboard through which we can easily see the frequency of open as well as closed tickets. Moreover, another plus point is that of using this software is that we do not have to worry about using our important data as it has the option of saving history also that can be reviews anytime.

Cons

Spiceworks Network Monitor is one of the best IT tools. When I started using this tool it was a little difficult to learn, but it did not take long for becoming me an expert of having a great command. Now I feel this is the best network monitoring tool I have ever used that does not keep cons.

MP
AvatarImg

Matt P.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great free help desk package

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've been using Spiceworks for our help desk for several years now. It's great for our small IT department by helping us track issues and assign them to the appropriate tech. When our users have an issue, they send an email to the help desk address. Spiceworks then picks up the messages and creates a ticket. We were able to customize the ticket templates to our liking as well. It's really handy and you can't beat the price!

Pros

You can't beat the price! The web interface and phone apps are pretty decent too.

Cons

It doesn't offer as many features as some of the paid help desk offerings and occasionally the ads are distracting.

AR
AvatarImg

Alex R.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic platform with advanced options

Reviewed 6 years ago

For nearly a decade of using Spiceworks, I cannot say enough good about it. Bugs get worked out pretty quickly overall and with community development, features just keep getting added on that are actually appropriate for networks.

Pros

I love that it's not just free but a fantastic help to most IT infrastructures. Being able to run reports for managing offices is invaluable!

Cons

I've had issues getting it to work with non windows systems, but that can be expected. I would like to be able to customize wmi queries to get data more reliably and faster, but overall it's fantastic as is.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andre B.

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

4 years of happines

Reviewed 5 years ago

The benefits that system brought to us is for sure our best experience with the system.

Pros

We moved to spiceworks about 4 year ago. What we most like is how the helpdesk and the network monitoring is helping our daily tasks. We can easily check the computer in our network, find the apps installed and let customers to enter their tickets synced with they machine. This reduces a lot our effort to give our customers a good quality of support

Cons

We are using the free version and the ads are really the problem, but we can leave with it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

very good help desk ticketing system

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very positive overall experience with this software - we tried this in one of our smaller acquisitions that did not have a formal ticketing system to resolve issues (especially HR and IT).

Pros

It is an open source, cloud based easy to use and intuitive ticketing system especially if one is looking to get started quickly for a smaller user user environment. It has a very good user community that provides help in case we need help on getting started and daily use of the system.

Cons

The one issue that we faced was not getting a complete, accurate picture of the inventory on the network when we used the in built feature to scan the inventory of assets on the network - we were able to resolve this with community help.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dan J.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for a small IT shop

Reviewed 6 years ago

Spiceworks has been a huge help for our company being an SMB with 3 IT support workers. We didn't need anything big with lots of bells and whistles. If you just need something simple to track tickets, this does a great job. There are ways to get it to do more and include more add ons, but it's not as simple as a larger tool that has many of those features out of the box.

Pros

Free; Easy to set up and use due to minimal features; Very easy customer dashboard set up; Good communication abilities

Cons

Minimal out of the box features means it's quick to set up and use, but it takes more effort to customize.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher W.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Network Monitor Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great tool as a backup to a real network monitor. Wouldn't recommend as a primary.

Pros

Its free. Easy to setup and has great monitoring features.

Cons

Must be installed on multiple machines to work properly

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

George R.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free Help Desk software that actually fits the bill!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to setup (cloud or on-premise versions). I was also able to copy the configuration from an onsite installation to a cloud installation. Tickets are easy to manage, and we can keep track of what work we've done on various assets. User management is also easy, though we don't use it much.

Cons

I don't think there is anything I dislike about it. Since we only use it to generate our own tickets for the IT team to communicate about what needs to get done, I don't have any user complaints.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool if you have someone maintaining it

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is a good tool for work tickets. Easy for users to open tickets and keep track of what's being done (when staff update the notes on a ticket). Can keep track of ongoing issues or past issues.

Cons

I think this tool would be working better for us if the person that is supposed to be maintaining it would actually maintain it. For a while we were getting lots of errors where users weren't able to open tickets, or when they did open tickets the email wasn't being sent out to the IT staff.

MP
AvatarImg

Mike P.

Philanthropy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not mush Spiceworks does not cover for an IT admin

Reviewed 6 years ago

Spiceworks coimmunity is a great resource for any issues as well.

Pros

Easy to use and navigate software from the get go. The ability to monitor your entire network from one program makes my job so much easier. The ability to track inventory, issues as well as print out reports helps me stay on top of any issues that come up last minute.

Cons

I cannot think of any as it does what it is created to do. I could see them added some premium features that would be prices based but then that might turn people away.

PE
AvatarImg

Patrick E.

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fully featured and completely free!

Reviewed 7 years ago

A more organized approach to helping our users. Every IT person can keep track of open issues and document resolutions.

Pros

- Free - Easy to use for both the IT staff and end users - Great customizable reports - Supports plugins and extensions - 12000 tickets and counting!

Cons

Not much honestly. The software is free because it's ad supported, however this is one of the few platforms where the ads are not intrusive and can be quite useful. Spiceworks vettes their sponsors, so you know you're supporting the product.

BM
AvatarImg

Ben M.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great product for a small team

Reviewed 4 years ago

Been used within the IT department for years and hard to justify paying for an alternate when this meets needs. But if you are looking for a solutions for a larger team or multi department this may not be ideal.

Pros

For a free product this is quite good for a small team that doesn't need bells and whistles within their service desk software. Easy to setup and use.

Cons

Functionality is lacking compared to other software's in the market, however as it's free this is understandable.

AB
AvatarImg

Arnissa B.

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Great for a start up

Reviewed 2 years ago

Spiceworks is great for a small start-up company since you can use it for free. It didn't work for our use. The asset management side wasn't the best either.

Pros

There is a cloud base version, and it's free.

Cons

The ticket management isn't the best. You don't have options to view another tech's tickets without looking at all the tickets. Generating reports isn't the easiest. There are a lot of key features missing when handling a ticket. You don't have an option to put a ticket on hold or a waiting-for-response option.

SM
AvatarImg

Sam M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

With using this free service - you get exactly what you pay for.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It was free. The dashboard view made it easy to quickly see our tickets, and make assessments. The reporting feature were able to be scheduled and sent at intervals.

Cons

The email based platform was not ideal. It was difficult to get users to send in enough information to quickly troubleshoot and assess problems. We never used the portal side submission - so I imagine that would have made things easier. Once our database grew the system crashed quite frequently.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael D.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A huge boost to our performance

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Spiceworks was a God-send for me and my team. We needed a tool that could adequately query requests and Help-desk calls whilst keeping it simple. We were almost instantly able to achieve this. It's fully customizable to suit whatever need we have. I'd even recommend it for non-IT teams. It's that flexible.

Cons

It's great out of the box, and support is great but it was still a bit of a learning curve to configure. All in all an awesome product.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jordan D.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SNMP monitoring made simple and cost effective

Reviewed 6 years ago

Network Monitor is one of my favorite tools from Spiceworks. It allows me to see how my switches and servers are doing from a convenient dashboard. When there is an issue, notifications to email alert you of the problem for quick and easy response. Network Monitor can be resource intensive if you are not tuning the software properly, and running on Windows is not necessarily helping. Compared to other similar tools, Spiceworks Network Monitor is by far the simplest and easiest to get up and running. If you are managing a small or mediem business, Spiceworks Network Monitor is a great tool that will result in time and cost savings.

Pros

Inexpensive and simple SNMP monitoring easy to download and setup within minutes Monitor multiple devices from a variety of manufactures notifications

Cons

Installable only on Windows a little top heavy hasn't evolved much since conception notifications are aggressive and needs a lot of time to tune properly

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spiceworks Ticket System is the Best!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease for an end user to submit a ticket and for me to communicate updates for that ticket are outstanding. I use this for a very basic IT help desk ticket system and am amazed at what you get for free. They can create tickets and communicate via a web page or via email conversations. Even with email it keeps a record of the communications with the ticket.

Cons

None. I mostly use only the ticketing system which I have detailed above along with some of the support community message boards. I have no complaints about any of it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Drew L.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A good solution for IT Help Desk

Reviewed 6 years ago

Used Spiceworks for just over a year before moving to a different solution. If we were a smaller environment I'd have stuck with it 100%. The community around Spiceworks is really the secret sauce that makes it work. Small-Medium business should absolutely have this in their list of contenders when it comes to helpdesk management and documentation software for entry level.

Pros

Extremely involved community. Lots of experts. Local server client with some cloud capabilities. Excellent forums. Good documentation features. Good price point.

Cons

Lacks some features that other "big boy" helpdesk software might have, like integrated remoting. Discovery tool is a bit obstuse and not very useful.

CF
AvatarImg

Cindy F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Spiceworks Review

Reviewed 8 months ago

I was moderately happy with it. We no longer use it but did use for several years.

Pros

It was low in cost and easy to customize.

Cons

Spiceworks is not very sophisticated and at the time, was difficult to access remotely.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sean D.

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Reviewed 6 years ago

Law firm help desk. We've been using Spiceworks since 2009. We moved from an on prem install to the cloud around 2015. This is constantly open on a browser and use this nonstop. Our users send an email and we are easily able to track open tickets so nothing falls through the cracks.

Pros

We love Spiceworks! Speed of site is great (from email to ticket creation). Good reporting, Activity tab is great to see what has been happening.

Cons

Searching through tickets can be painful using the Cloud Helpdesk.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Patrick H.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Free, Easy Setup, Great User Forum

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

FREE, FREE, FREE - in a world where IT always has to watch the budget, its nice to have a great helpdesk management system out there that is FREE!!!! Easy to setup, deploy and track assets quickly

Cons

The only draw back is that you have to wait for support in the user forum/community. instead of being able to pickup a phone and call someone you have to rely on others to answer the questions that you run into (which often only takes a few minutes)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Paul N.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Help Desk Software for the money!

Reviewed 6 years ago

LOVE Spiceworks. Been using it for about 9 years and have looked at several other systems and we have decided this is the best fit for us.

Pros

Feature Set is amazing - there are plugins to do things if you want to do more than is built in but the built in is plent for us. Price is right (free) and it works amazingly well!

Cons

Inventory module is confusing and there is no way to keep it as updated as I would like. It has lots of old data that is hard to get out of the way.

ES
AvatarImg

Elaine S.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Basic no-frills IT case submission tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

In general, Spiceworks is straight forward and gets the job of ticket submission done. I can't speak to how it looks on the receiving end, but as someone who uses this software to submit help tickets, it is very easy to use.

Pros

Spiceworks is very easy to use. It may vary depending on your organization, but for us it is a simple one page form that lists all the questions and fields you are required to complete to submit a help desk ticket. There's nothing confusing about the set up or layout.

Cons

There may be some questions that are not required, depending on the type of ticket you are submitting. For example, at our company both IT and facilities tickets are submitted through spiceworks; however, there are some questions specific to IT tickets only. It would be good if some questions automatically collapses or appears depending on the "pathway" of your ticket.