App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Logo

Server and website monitoring software

(15)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


561 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ian A.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Superb product

Reviewed 5 years ago

If you are looking for an all-round software package with a decent helpdesk system, inventory management, numerous IT tools and a great community on a limited budget, Spiceworks should be your first stop. While there may be other packages that work better on individual sections, you are unlikely to find another complete solution for so little.

Pros

Excellent set of features Amazing community

Cons

Can sometimes be a little slow Ad-supported

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The IT community built around Spiceworks make it worth it just for that alone

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

FREE! Yes, it doesn't cost a thing other than ads, but we find they really they are not all that obtrusive. This is not just bare bones free either, its literally the entire enterprise level suite.

Cons

Network scanning is quite slow and we find that sometimes device outages are not found right away. When scans do finally complete, often some manual edits are necessary.

JM
AvatarImg

James M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Free helpdesk and IT asset management, what more do you want

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Okay, it is free, not like a trial version but fully free. As is the cloud based version but that doesn't do the Asset management. Install it and use it. easy. Oh yeah did I mention it is free. Help is community based but it is very good and active.

Cons

We had some issues getting ti to talk correctly to some of our older switches but other than no real negatives

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Randy Q.

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most informative, outstanding product and unique way of monitoring your network

Reviewed 5 years ago

If I talk about my overall experience I would say, Spiceworks Network Monitor is considered to be the best ever ticketing software.

Pros

I like almost each and everything about Spiceworks Network Monitor. It is super easy to use and set up. It can be used perfectly in monitoring software installations as well as checking license expiry. It helps us a lot in solving our several problems. Its' easy to use and simple interface is highly appreciable. It keeps me alert about the significant issues prevailing.

Cons

It is no doubt the most useful software. One of the drawbacks is that this seems to be quite complicated to the new beginners due to which user needs to have bit training of it in order to have complete command on it. Other than that it is an amazing product.

BP
AvatarImg

Branimir P.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice and comprehensive helpdesk solution

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This helpdesk has a lot of features considering that it's free of charge. Inventory is a nice feature, it can even get hardware information on branded PCs (serials...). Reports can be customized as needed, a query can even be written if you are familiar with SQL.

Cons

Software can only use built-in SQLite DB, cannot use MS SQL. Sometimes there are problems with sending emails, then a service restart is needed. Admin accounts are linked to online forum account and cannot be locally managed (password reset...)

DY
AvatarImg

Diego Y.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Spiceworks is very easy to use but has some problems

Reviewed 6 years ago

Being able to help users out at the campus.

Pros

Spiceworks is very well laid out. You can add several different sub categories to bigger categories and makes it easier to categorize what the user's problem is.

Cons

The analytics suffer when it comes to running numbers at the end. There are some numbers to calculate but you can't go as deep as some people would like to.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best free Help Desk Software Available

Reviewed 5 years ago

It helps with tracking issues and communicating with the end users on what step of the process the issue is in.

Pros

It is free, you can choose either cloud or on-premise install, and it has all the basic features you need to run a helpdesk.

Cons

There isn't a lot of features, and while the plug-ins work very well and there are many of them, there aren't any being made recently.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew C.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fairly easy and best price point!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

We are a SMB that needed to streamline some IT processes including help desk tracking. Spiceworks also gave us inventory insight into our network, and is an open community that features lots of new plug ins.

Cons

If something doesn't work the way you think it should, it can be tricky to work through and determine what needs to be done instead.

EH
AvatarImg

Emil H.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best free Help Desk platform

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have been using Spiceworks as our main IT Help Desk Platform. I am using the word platform as it is really a platform on top of which you can build you IT management. A lot of apps are available and you can use it even for approval processes for the IT. It is fast to set-up, easy to use and whats most important it is free. The only disadvantage is that is uses SQL lite so if you want additional...

Pros

Fast, easy to use, lite

Cons

Only SQL lite, reporting

PK
AvatarImg

Pauline K.

Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful but Decided Not to Keep Using it (used cloud version)

Reviewed 8 years ago

I used the cloud-based version of Spiceworks for our tech support team as our ticketing system. It was a way to keep track of all the inquiries, a way to divide tasks, keep track of how quickly these tasks were getting done and what topics are being worked on the most. Spiceworks is very easy to get off the ground, very easy to use. I liked the categories, having its own portal, & email address. I used it with my google group so anyone who emailed our specific email would then get forwarded to Spiceworks and from there it would automatically generate a ticket. I found it great to take a quick look to see productivity and efficiency of the team. It's a centralized location and prevents topics/emails from being forgotten.

Pros

Easy to use. Reporting feature is cool to see what response time is, can export a report to CSV. Nice for supervisors to see what is being worked on. It splits up the responsibility of the tasks and we know who is responsible.

Cons

Any yahoo.com emails would not get the creator labeled properly so if we were to respond to that ticket, it wouldn't go to the actual creator. Staff found it cumbersome and difficult to read the small font and to follow the thread.

CP
AvatarImg

Carlo P.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quite possibly the best free ticketing system for any Service Desk

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall a very happy experience, thus our reasoning for deploying this to many of our clients sites.

Pros

Spiceworks is extremely easy to use, not only for a Service Desk but for the end user as well. Also offers great free reporting.

Cons

It does lack some features that you get from a paid alternative such as Autotask,, things such as integrating into an RMM system.

DD
AvatarImg

Douglas D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good basic software for In house IT Departmet

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

First and foremost this is free software. It allows are IT department to track and support many tickets. Relatively easy to use. Documentation and Webinars are more than adequate.

Cons

We had a little difficulty installing product and getting it set up the way we wanted it but nothing major. Bug fixes and updates are slow but they are free!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chad S.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I don't know what I'd do without spiceworks

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's ticketing program is really easy to use - and easy to ask for help from other IT people. It's easy to track time, and stay organized in a field that's really easy to be disorganized.

Cons

The only thing I can think of bad is that if somebody replies to an email after closing the ticket, it reopens, and you have to close it again.

AS
AvatarImg

Arpan S.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Help Desk Ticketing software available for free

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface. - Contains tons of features - Easy to deploy with tons of "howtos" available on Spiceworks website.

Cons

- Because the software is free, the support is only available through Spiceworks forums. Can be frustrating if an immediate help is needed as at times getting an answer on the forums can take few hours.

LA
AvatarImg

Leo A.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent functionality

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using this product for many years and never considered searching for an alternative.

Pros

The vast functionality sets it apart from the other free options for network monitoring. Spiceworks has a great support forum as well.

Cons

I have not experienced anything negative with the network monitor. Setup is quick and easy and needs minimal maintenance.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's simple and it works

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Spiceworks IT Help Desk in our organization of around 49 staff for several years now and it works well for what we need it to do. We would suggest it to any organizations our size that are doing IT Help Desk work in house.

Pros

Spiceworks is an easy way to manage IT help desk requests within your organization. It's easy to use and automates emails and updates along the way as problems are being solved by your team. It's also easy to setup when you are managing all of your help desk problems in-house and not hiring that out.

Cons

The automated emails are the most attractive but they are efficient. The system also only works well to the extent to which your team is willing to keep the tickets up to date.

CP
AvatarImg

Chet P.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

great free product

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This is a great helpdesk product for free! I tried other free solutions but none were as complete as this. I highly recommend to all those on a budget

Cons

They dont let you create user profiles. Everyone who submits s ticket puts in their email as a username. If they fat-finger or anything like that, it tracks it as a separate user.

RB
AvatarImg

Ryan B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great free helpdesk tool for IT pros

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Very customizable - you can add categories, columns. Works seamlessly with users and is very easy and simple to use and make changes. More features are added over time. It's free!

Cons

Can sometimes be a bit buggy but this is usually easily resolved. Maybe not as feature rich as paid for helpdesks but does everything I want it to do.

CB
AvatarImg

Cathy B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good product to manage IT help tickets

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, the # assignment options make it very easy to use via email without having to login, simple to create reports and setup custom workflows.

Cons

Infrequent crashes require restart but not enough to look for an alternative. Would like to be able to customize the ticket list view window to allow a longer list to be visible

DJ
AvatarImg

Daniel J.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Convenient and works well

Reviewed 5 years ago

Love it, and love the SW community.

Pros

The free ticketing has helped our department TREMENDOUSLY! Also, with the free cloud helpdesk features, we have easily set it up for us and the maintenance as two separate ticketing systems. Maintenance likes it, we like it, yes.

Cons

None that I can think of. I always recommend it to people.

GF
AvatarImg

Gregg F.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Help Desk Software for this IT Department

Reviewed 6 years ago

Helpdesk support software at no charge.

Pros

I'm a 1 man IT Department servicing 65 mixed engineering and professional user base at an engineering firm. Here are the Pros: * Easy to setup, just install on a virtual or physical PC or server. * Doesn't use much in the line of resources in the background (I have it on a Core i5 desktop w/4GB of RAM that still gets used for light MS Office and Internet tasks) * Tickets to track current and previous issues with a good selection of reports. * Can make your own semi-customized reports.

Cons

* Interface could be a little cleaner. * Where they put some of the options doesn't necessarily always make sense, but can be figured out.

SR
AvatarImg

Stephen R.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software and Service

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software is a great one. It has a great support community behind it and the features are exactly what's needed.

Pros

I love the way the community feeds into this software to bring new ideas and features. Being free is another great thing too!

Cons

I don't have anything bad to say because it's such a great service. I have used it for a while now and love it.

SK
AvatarImg

Scott K.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Used for Years

Reviewed 8 years ago

There is a local (completely free) or web based version (monthly cost $10), exceptionally easy to use and install. Updates have been seamless and it is a unified communications platform

Pros

Easy, configurable and free. Has an App for Admins which makes remote administration easy. Has good updates, version control and notifications.

Cons

Can't interrogate 100% of network devices but it is close to it.

MM
AvatarImg

Matthew M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Asset and Support Tracking at its finest

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The tool has been depoloyed to all users at the health center I am affiliated with. The team has the ability to track and monitor support requests on a daily basis. The tool is easy to use.

Cons

I have not found any cons with the product at this time. Integration with our other products has been simple and easy to use.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Aviation & Aerospace, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BROAD AND VERY HELPFUL

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I use Spiceworks to monitor my networks, email, servers, and routers. It has full security measures great for safeguarding your work. It has management features as well, for an asset, application performance and others. It is amazing. It completes a developer’s necessity.

Cons

Integration with other software is a problem since it allows little 3rd party software to integrate with. Besides that, there is not many disadvantages or negative sides of using this product.