This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Splunk Enterprise Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


147 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great log analysis software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated. Gives very powerful insights into the logs Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Software is fantastic once you get it fed the data. Setup can be a bear.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Software saves a great deal of time tracking down errors and issues in the network. Was able to spot a security issue using the software we might never have even noticed otherwise.

Pros

Fast consolidation of disparate logs in an easy to search way for troubleshooting. I can find problems within my organization very quickly. Sales team was very responsive in getting me a trial license to estimate my needs.

Cons

Set up takes some time and planning. The Licensing scheme can be pretty expensive and until you've got it up and running it can be hard to estimate how much license you need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A tool that every sys admin needs to have

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I'm not sure from where to start in this case. We use splunk for many things but mostly to analyze the traffic on the network / firewalls. It provides us with a nice overview of what's going on. It makes it very easy to spot spikes on the network and it will provide you also with deep analyzes. For us it's an indispensable tool, probably the best tool we have.

Cons

To search for something is not always easy, however there are a lot of forums online, so finding help is not that difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

Reviewed a year ago

The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Pros

Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Cons

Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Carry out data analysis with Splunk

Reviewed 6 months ago

It has been a great experience working with Splunk , we have been using it since past 3 years. It is integrated tool with fuse component for real time data analysis of the data flow from source system to target system

Pros

-Easy to use tool -Simple graphical interface which makes it easy for a new user to understand the features easily -Real time data analysis can be carried out

Cons

When we try to search for data which is more than 30 days old, then sometimes we see slowness

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is the tool every devops should have expertise on!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Made life easier for all SRE/DevOps oncall.

Pros

First of all you don't need to login to your servers. Just configure splunk forwarder on all of your server and have peace of mind. During outages you dont have to panic and just rely on Splunk and be sure that you will have your root cause visible in splunk.

Cons

Kernel huge page issues, Search head clustering, Index clusetering. These features are as good as costly too. For SHC and IC it does need all same config hosts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent product

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have worked with dozens of companies to implement Splunk. My experiences have bee overwhelming positive.

Pros

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons

Very expensive. Difficult to implement until all moving parts are understood. Steep learning curve for beginners.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very reliable and powerful resource

Reviewed a year ago

On business side we have a lot of logs, informations provided for a very different resources, the most beautiful thing about Splunk is to consolidate everything on just one place, and the ease to extract this information make Splunk the most powerful resource to gather and extract data from every resource that you have logs, even if you are using Windows or Linux, Splunk covers both.

Pros

Ease of use, you can extract any kind of information using commands provided by the software vendor. The other good thing about this software is the easy implentation on the servers, and the configuration is basic.

Cons

For people that are not used to use command lines, it might be a liitle bit difficult on the beggining.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Premium but pricey log management and analytics tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having a enterprise-ready centralized logging tool is critical for production success.

Pros

Splunk integrates with almost all popular enterprise software products including VMware, AWS, Azure, etc. Most customers use it primarily to do log analysis but it can also perform data analytics for business reporting. The UI is very straightforward and enables you to quickly search through large datasets using SPL. We were able to quickly locate the source of the issues by using Splunk to triangulate logs from several different components. There is a Splunk Cloud version with a free trial if you are aiming to do some integration work and testing. Finally, like all monitoring tools, Splunk offers AI and machine learning for even better predictive analytics.

Cons

Splunk is expensive and probably not for smaller startup companies. The pricing is tiered and is subscription-based so if you start to ingest a lot of data, look out. It can eat into most of your IT budget and Splunk by itself doesn't handle all the Day 2 operations that are needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent tool fol log analysis

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Splunk is a great enterprise-class tool for log analysis and troubleshooting of IT systems. Its graphics capabilities allow you to easily see trends that would otherwise go unnoticed. With a single click, you can retrieve information dating back months ago. Splunk is able to handle any type of input file and this allowed us to get very rapid prototyping cycles. Compared to the competition, it has integrated AD authentication, which fits in perfectly with our corporate security. The software is very fast, even on second-tier hardware.

Cons

The license fee is a little too high. Some sections of the support site contain outdated information. Since the Splunk syntax has changed over the years, it's quite easy to find information that is no longer relevant. The "basic" charting options are somewhat limited, and the "advanced graphic" syntax requires a charting guru.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Monitoring Tool Splunk

Reviewed 7 months ago

With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely suitable to utilize, in light of which we can make different dashboards. For server Monitoring, Splunk logs are not exceptionally accommodating. It totally depends on log explanations, assuming articulation isn't organized in standard organization, and it gives mistaken outcomes.

Pros

Splunk Light is ideal for independent on-premise organization. Augment endpoint logging. Can find and store logs from a wide range of resources. Customization of dashboards. Making applications dependent on your requirements.

Cons

Complex generally design. Long execution time. The instrument needs to incorporate AI to comprehend the framework logs and alarming ought to be founded on the auto learning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

Reviewed 4 years ago

make our business life easy

Pros

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk is great for finding things in server logs

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The server logs are all stored in the same location and you can easy subdivide them by application. So different servers or processes or whatever can be in different buckets. This makes troubleshooting easier.

Cons

Sometimes depending on far back you are trying to go the product can be a little sluggish. Beyond that nothing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best thing for monitoring application

Reviewed 4 years ago

good log monitoring tool

Pros

We are using this tool for monitoring our services log. It is easy to monitor the data using this. For each service, you can configure which log file should be shown on the UI(web). On UI, it provides lot of features like finding pattern in logs, doing analysis and generating reports and much more.

Cons

Learning is slow. Initially, it takes time to understand the reports and pattern it finds out of the log. But it's worth learning it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very cool but pricey

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Cons

Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best place where it store massive logs for quick view and helps us in troubleshoot best

Reviewed 5 years ago

A lot of the manual work.got reduced it helped a lot in getting the data from.server

Pros

The best part of it is its UI which has very responsive page and can drag couple of days logs. Best in its performance and versions are being upgraded at regular intervals and its best in delivering the outcomes as required

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Log Manager To Have Fireproof Applications!

Reviewed 3 years ago

With Splunk your platform should be safe and easy to maintain, specially if your are constantly adding features into it thanks to its error alerts.

Pros

User friendly and an awesome dashboard to manage your logs and analyze your apps.

Cons

It can be a little expensive but it's worth.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Splunk Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Cons

At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk - Log management, analysis and action software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Identify and resolve quickly your operations and security matters with this great application.

Pros

All in one solution to collect logs, analysis, diagnose and report. The application has a nice console where it shows all the necessary information with some very nice graphics and information.

Cons

Free for 500M/day but a bit expensive if you need to collect more, or have the need to have more users logging in.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Splunk review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Mainly checking code for Fatal errors and application error which does not break in development environment.

Pros

I work at Fintech company and we use Splunk for checking error logs and tracking anything that goes wrong within the system. I like Splunk as it gives exact line number which is breaking the code which makes easier to debug.

Cons

The index should be accurate otherwise viewing logs is not easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for huge infrastructure

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

1.Ease of use 2.support ad-hoc query and then analytic. 3. defining field extractor is simple and you can use it to search again. 4. It's a powerful ecosystem

Cons

1., it's slow and maybe make system unresponsive when you search data over long time range, or large amounts of data 2. there are too much CPU cost when index too much items on Windows machine. 3. price becomes high as you scale.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

great insights from system logs

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using extensively to monitor production jobs and production server. We have setup splunk Jobs to continuously monitor space , files on our server. Automatic emails are triggered if space is not available as expected. This helps to take proactive action and avoid production failures. Splunk is also used to monitor files received from various sources. Our jobs requires multiple files to run the process. We have setup splunk jobs to monitor the files and if any file is not available we are alerted using emails

Pros

Various insights are derived from otherwise neglected system and process logs. Library of functions is readily available to read the logs , perform string operations and scan the file. Information can be represented using numerous charts , bars and graphs. Very useful in production monitoring and alerting using email option

Cons

I feel debugging is difficult. drop down or drag and drop functions should be made available because it's difficult to keep track and remember syntax of functions and it's usage.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Powerful and easy to administer

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It very easy to jump in and learn. Installation, configuration, and administration is very easy. Use of the product such as Search/Dashboard can seem daunting at first but is actually very simple. Splunk has very good documentation and community support. I am always able to find answers to my questions by using Splunk Answers and/or the IRC channel.

Cons

Licensing and pricing in general. Managing the license usage can be annoying and paying for more can be costly. There have been quite a few times where small issues with our log intensive systems have caused license violations. Scenarios like this are usually avoidable with small changes to the Splunk configuration but it can be tedious.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for logs & data anlaysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a developer/operations team member i felt this tool is excellent to analyse any logs or texts

Pros

log analysis, text patterns, statistics and graphing

Cons

Too much of programming, not easy for laymans to write queries.