App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Splunk Enterprise Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


149 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Powerful and easy to administer

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It very easy to jump in and learn. Installation, configuration, and administration is very easy. Use of the product such as Search/Dashboard can seem daunting at first but is actually very simple. Splunk has very good documentation and community support. I am always able to find answers to my questions by using Splunk Answers and/or the IRC channel.

Cons

Licensing and pricing in general. Managing the license usage can be annoying and paying for more can be costly. There have been quite a few times where small issues with our log intensive systems have caused license violations. Scenarios like this are usually avoidable with small changes to the Splunk configuration but it can be tedious.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for logs & data anlaysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a developer/operations team member i felt this tool is excellent to analyse any logs or texts

Pros

log analysis, text patterns, statistics and graphing

Cons

Too much of programming, not easy for laymans to write queries.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful Log Server Software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software puts all your logs and events in one centralized location making managing logs easier to manage.

Cons

When they first started they had awesome plans and options but it has changed since the beginning. Still great

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very advanced log storage and analyzer

Reviewed a year ago

For the log retention and analyzing purpose, it's the tool #1 in the market right now.

Pros

Splunk is first of all reliable from stability and information security perspective, which is a must. Second, it has one of the most advanced feature sets in analyzing, manipulation, anomaly detecting and processing log data residing in its database. Even AI/ML options are on the table, and it's possible to start implementing AI/ML with Splunk immediately.

Cons

For certain types of use, licensing structure can hit you in your face relatively quickly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Worth the Learning Curve

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

As a software engineer, Splunk helps me debug issues in my microservice applications. The Splunk forwarders are efficient and quickly collect logging from multiple server instances. The timestamp resolution is precise making it easier to track down race conditions. The reporting and pivot tables are powerful ways to visualize frequency of api calls once you learn the syntax.

Cons

Splunk forwarders that collect the data from applications can sometimes hang and need to be restarted. The amount of traffic that can be collected has maximum caps based on your subscription.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk review

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Easy to use tool with use in IT as well as security. Further business users can be trained easily as well.

Cons

Have not found one yet since I started using 4 years ago.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great logging software

Reviewed a year ago

The software itself is great for querying logs. They just need to improve their product's stability

Pros

Splunk has excellent abilities to search and data-mine your logs. In addition, you can build dashboards on top of aggregated data in order to save precious time each time you want to have a look at your system's performance without querying from scratch.

Cons

There are times in which the service experienced performance issues. Sometimes they were so severe which meant you're "blind" since you can't access your logs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

True Enterprise Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Splunk made our life easier.

Pros

A very effective log analyzer and the part I love most is the infrastructure monitoring. A proactive monitor and alert generator for our Critical Production Environment.

Cons

If SPLUNK enable SQL alongwith its own SPL so the generic users would have been able to work more better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome tool to check cloud based system logs

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Can create charts / Graphs / Table for quick results

Cons

- At times it becomes slow, when I use my splunk in multiple windows (i use around 6-7 splunk windows at a time)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Splunk, gold standard in log collection

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Many prebuilt log analysis modules. Competitive advantage over DIY solutions. Easy to setup and administer.

Cons

Your costs can be high in larger installs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good tool for log mining

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Building a query is very easy. It's easy to understand the interface, graphs are good and can be easily exported. The dashboards are very useful.

Cons

I am not sure if I am using the latest version, but the version I use sometimes would expand the text area where the query is written hard to tell if the search is still on or done. Also, sometimes it takes very long for a query to finish execution. I understand it depends on the query itself and also the amount of data, but the tool aims at getting quicker result for a high volume of data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good log monitoring and reporting tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The charts and visualizations that you can create in general have a good look and it has the minimum functionalities expected as a user (export, filtering, search, etc), I spent some time trying to understand the interface and functionalities but once I started to load some data and use the search I was able to see the capabilities of the product.

Cons

Splunk is easy to start going but difficult to master with so many features. The query language has many analytical features that requires some learning curve

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Splunk

Reviewed 3 years ago

Splunk as a whole was a really good solution for log ingestion and search. Query language was quite simply which made it extremely easy to learn.

Pros

Splunk makes log aggregation and log search extremely easy for micro service model architecture. UI feels easy to navigate and the query language is quite simply to learn

Cons

Sometimes log ingestion takes a lot of time , depending upon the method we use to ingest the data. Enterprise version vs on site is also an interesting choice

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk Enterprise

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

A very high-class product. Integration with other systems is great. The system can analyze a lot of information from many systems at the same time.

Cons

Very good product with almost no drawbacks. I believe that the manufacturer may reduce the restrictions for the free version

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thumbs up for error log collection and be able to query on that logs

Reviewed 5 years ago

1) time! (directly proportional to number of servers to manage) 2) graphs gives you lot of information and act quickly.

Pros

1) Querying the logs with ease. 2) Statistics on the logs gives you greater insight into whats happening with your system. 3) Group error logs by type, by server.. etc. 4) Professional interface.

Cons

does what it says, no question about that but learning how to query took some time in the beginning. so, a small learning curve there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

splunk usage

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

troubleshooting IT problems made it easier and faster

Cons

search speed can be slow sometimes based on your query

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for tracking performance and other stats

Reviewed 3 years ago

Splunk is our go to when it comes to setting up alerts for our applications and getting to any deficiencies or problems before they become major

Pros

Love the ease of being able to log various performance statistics for our applications whether it’s documenting response times or any failures

Cons

Some things like figuring out the ways plunk structures it’s queries for search is difficult. Seems like documentation is not very straightforward

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk Enterprise

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm continuously impressed by the quality of the software, and the depth of what it can accomplish. Worth every penny!

Pros

After going through the free online training I was able to get this product up and running to consume Linux audit logs. Writing SPL wasn't too difficult, at least for basic scenarios. The regular expression generator is especially helpful!

Cons

The configuration resides across many different levels (default, local, and then again within the apps). Having levels of configuration is a bit of a nightmare to manage.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great reporting tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that it's incredibly easy to create reports and dashboards. You don't have to even know the schema of the database it's hooked up to because splunk will guide you through the creation. I've used lots of report building software and Splunk blew me out of the water.

Cons

I wished it would take SQL queries when I first started using it but I got used to their query structure quickly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use monitoring software

Reviewed a year ago

So far great experience with splunk to monitor the health of the application in the production environment and test environments.

Pros

We use splunk to monitor the health of applications in the test and production environments. It allows to create queries to see the specific event.

Cons

Pricing of the license is high especially when the number of users is more and also support from splunk is inadequate when there is a issue

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Splunk - Real time Log Master to handle volume data

Reviewed 4 months ago

Very good for log analysis and data continuous analytics.

Pros

INgestion of the huge volume of the data. q

Cons

Reporting commands on volume data and training documentation on the reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Splunk Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have good experience. we are using this tool to forward the logs of servers.

Pros

A log forwarder tool which you can use free upto 500MB. No Development work required to provide value. You can create your own queries and event based alerts.

Cons

The software is very powerful but to use those feature you will have to buy the license then you can get all those feature that it has.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So easy to find my data

Reviewed 3 years ago

It makes troubleshooting network issues so much easier. In a matter of seconds you can find all of the data you need to diagnose most of your network issues.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and to find my data. The search engine is so fast and intuitive.

Cons

This is a powerful tool and it can prepare very detailed graphs and charts. The con is that it takes more training and time to perfect your skills to create these graphs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

amazing tool to look at your application behaviour

Reviewed 4 years ago

best tool to monitor logs of your application

Pros

Main purpose of this tool for us is to monitor the logs of our application. And I can say, it is very good at this. Finding the stats, pattern out of log is very easy. You can run multiple queries job on a single application log. You can monitor job running on your logs like you can kill them, can stop particular job. It's support of sql like queries on logs is just amazing.

Cons

This is a great tool, there is no disadvantage of this product but just mention you need a bit of learning to use it's all the functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

splunk enterprise security

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall splunk is the best tool it provides lt of system information, we have installed splunk on all the servers accross our environment

Pros

Integrating spunk with other tools it is one of the best feature which splunk has. we can pull logs by integrating with other tools.

Cons

Writing a query in splunk is difficult. it should customize the query for users.