This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Splunk Enterprise Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


147 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very effective for planning and management. We use it very frequently in our work and until now i never had any issues with the software performance or understandability. Has a very good learning curve.

Pros

Ease of functionality and combining it with open source technologies provide a lot of features.

Cons

Nothing that i dont like as of now. I think its pretty good since its easy to understand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Many Featured Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We first started using Splunk as a log analysis tool like many companies do but we're not getting into a number of other use cases based on how powerful and robust the tool can be for our business. They have a lot of good apps on their marketplace and the visualizations make information for less tech savvy users readily available.

Cons

Starting this tool up and really getting it working takes some time, research and resources just based on the vast number of solutions it can provide. Like other tools that we use, it requires us to have good focus during planning to make sure we're not trying to do too much and instead focus on a few use cases to start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Splunk

Reviewed 3 years ago

The log logs if you will are very compact and the cataloging is very well done.

Pros

We use Splunk to parse and catalog our system and audit logs for propiertary software we use in house. The file sizes are compact and the search is very thorough.

Cons

The interface is somewhat clunky and a little hard to navigate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Logs, logs, and more logs!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Splunk is a great way to teach tech folks about logging and how technology in the IOT world communicate. Indexing and parsing make reading code so simple and easy to identify faults.

Cons

Would be nice if there were different user roles so a novice would not be overwhelmed with so much at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Splunk is a good logging and performance monitoring application

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The logging and monitoring aspect of Splunk and the ease of use.

Cons

The interface could be a little bit better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great software to extract data from huge data set

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Splunk can handle huge data set and grab specific information from a data set.

Cons

It is costly but it provides great value for the money.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk is a critical tool for monitoring and alerting

Reviewed 8 months ago

Splunk is a great product for enterprise monitoring and alerting.

Pros

They have a robust platform that I have used for monitoring and analytics. There are a lot of options and customization available when using it.

Cons

Because there is so much customization and options available, it can be complicated to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to understand if you a technical outlook

Reviewed 4 years ago

The inbound and outbound data on our network traffic is outstanding. You can customize this logs to your benefit and creating dashboards on this is very simple

Pros

What I most like about Splunk is that it assists me in creating dashboards for my teams and other teams to verify the validity of our incoming and outbound network traffic.

Cons

Learning the syntax searches about it seems to very difficult and there aren't really any training guides or help on their website that I've found that assist very well with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Critical tool for our team

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It is able to be expanded easily and quickly. It is polished and designed very well. Allows my team to inspect issues quickly and pull from many different sources in our enterprise.

Cons

Price is a bit high but you get that with Splunk. The good thing is that Splunk always is trying to be competitive so this may change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Complete solution for Log centralization

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use Splunk to collect logs information for our application which deployed in AWS, it collects the application logs directly from Application EC2 and also integrates with CloudWatch, Load Balance and other AWS component to collect AWS logs relate to our Application, we also get the log from AWS billing report to track our spent in AWS.

Pros

Splunk has very strong query language event complex commands like Join, subquery or aggregate which much the same with SQL query with good report UI to display result. Set Splunk system is easy with install Splunk server and its agent in every node then configure logs location to collect. It provides many built-in Apps to collect logs from other popular tools such as AWS, Salesforce, Kafka...

Cons

Splunk query language is quite hard to learn for new user and its query error is too generic for troubleshooting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Dynamic monitoring and logging tool

Reviewed 3 months ago

Filtering and wild cards to do a monitoring is the best about this tool also integration with tools like control-m could be a good option

Pros

Assurance tool for critical monitoring process

Cons

Missing helpers about configuring reports and queries

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Splunk Enterprise - One Stop solution for Log Monitoring

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Ease of querying logs, user friendly front end, user can create automated alerts for receiving information on current state of the data

Cons

Sometimes, becomes slow when trying to query historical data

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago

Issue resolution

Pros

Best tool for application event trend analysis, Effective report of logs, Useful for new users , support analyst

Cons

To generate report need some automation. Has to write query using parameters, For end users it is difficult to configure.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product to get analytics for Big Data

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Hadoop analysis is good for Fixed size dataset. Splunk product captures, indexes real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, and visualizations which are very easy and helpful to understand the data.

Cons

I think there are no features which I do not like. I think during clustering I faced some problems thats it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use once set up

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to set up alerts and reports based on logs that come in from almost anywhere and anything in our network.

Cons

In can be a bit of a bear to get set up but that is the case with almost any enterprise level software like this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Splunk is a fantastic SIEM

Reviewed 4 years ago

Splunk has helped us see much deeper in to our data and find reoccurring patterns very easily

Pros

GREAT ability to scale Good price Easy to set up

Cons

Can give more information than you know what to do with Learning curve

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Once You've Mastered, Hard to Get the Hang Of

Reviewed 3 years ago

I enjoyed it, but as a person with no coding/technology experience going into using it, I had a hard time figuring everything out.

Pros

It can do a lot once you figure things out-- you can run a really professional software on this platform and make it look nice as well.

Cons

Super hard to get the hang of for a beginner. Don't use this if you've had no experience with computer software or coding before. Also, some of the products on the "free trial version" aren't available on Splunk Enterprise, which doesn't make sense, because Splunk Enterprise is more expensive?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

good software...clumsy syntax for queries

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

There are TONS of capabilities. The software can handle a lot of data and is able to produce query results in a short amount of time.

Cons

The software is difficult to use (I didn't have to set it up) and the query structure and syntax is very clumsy and non-intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Absolutely Great way to deal with logs

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It is an excellent way to search for anything in your logs and even monitor them!

Cons

It requires some skills to configure it right, especially the distributed version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A good solution for monitoring and alerts.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The ease of use for splunk has increased productivity and reduced investigation time. Splunk is a devops and team lead life saver.!

Pros

Theres a certification path to using Splunk. Extremently easy to set up reports within minutes which add good value to the company. Reviewing data has been beneficial at both network and server level. Its made Devops lives easy in such a way that all teams can pull relevant information beneficial to them.

Cons

There are alternatives available which make Splunk a hard sell for organizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have tool for managing logs and monitoring the app behaviour

Reviewed 4 years ago

Just amazing tool to manage your logs

Pros

I think it's great tool to see the logs of your application with advance query search. Splunk support lots stat mechanism, also you can start multiple stats jobs on your location. It is just fabulous thing.

Cons

I have been using this for last one and half year but can say a single negative point of this too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

If you want SIEM, it's splunk and only splunk

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great company, great company, amazing high price tag....

Pros

It dominates the industry in SIEM.... People would love to hate it... it's critical in terms of looking at your logs and seeing if something is not right and you have hackers or unwanted people on your system. It's the industry leader and has all the cool features.

Cons

The price.. it's expensive and you have vendor lock-in... All my clients hate it for the price, but love it for its features and leading R&D.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy way to review multiple log files and check for errors

Reviewed 4 years ago

Better visibility of application errors

Pros

Very useful for combining log files from multiple sources and setting up predefined reports to check for errors.

Cons

Free version of splunk light doesn't allow automatic notification by email of log errors. However as I have paid nothing I can't complain too much!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for monitoring errors and issues

Reviewed 9 months ago

Quickly gets me the data I need to investigate problems

Pros

I get daily reports with trending issues and potential bugs that allow me to quickly see what issues need to be addressed before they become problems. The aggregated data logging also allows me to get the additional data I need to identify the root causes of problems and share that with other team members

Cons

Sometimes it can be difficult to filter down to the level of data I need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SPLUNK Everywhere

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Verry handy usage Fast query and result scalable Big Data No SQL good community

Cons

License is at little bit too expensive. Professional Service at Europe is not very well stuffed.