App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TeamCity Logo

TeamCity

Continuous integration and automated testing software

see alternatives

(0)

TeamCity Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

49

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.42/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It's easy to use (for it specialists), it has clean and friendly interface, it's very customizable.
Better than some other CI tools, liked the support for branching in Teamcity. Previously even forked off an OpenSource CI product - that was a very expencive solution.).
My experience with TeamCity is great, and I would recommend it to any developer looking for an enterprise build server without cost.
Learning curve can be annoying especially if you don't have support within your team. It takes time to master the tool.
The interface is very hard to understand where some of the options are.
Its cost could have been a bit more reasonable. Another limitation is java based configurable build management software.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


49 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

shaik a.

201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best tool for build configuration,build history, and system maintenance in real time applications

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Every enterprise business uses this tool for maintaining their services enabled and establish the best business flow. All the services that are being build via Mule can be available via team city to be deployed.Its features include build history, user management and system maintenance. Build history has excellent feature of holding the various build version that are deployed earlier.Use service messages...

Cons

The least of this software is there are some additional features required for the versions to avail across different enviroments like manual build configurations process can be avoided for the lower environments and UI part can be increased looking for new enhancements

EW
AvatarImg

Eric W.

Real Estate, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Teamcity

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

I am able to successfully manage over 600 projects in Teamcity in my environment. Updates are a breeze and downtime has been damn near zero in the five or six years I've used this product. The build configs are super flexible however I've not used another product so I'm not sure how my experience compares to the next.

Cons

I'm not a huge fan of the experimental UI for some views but for other items I prefer it. I'm often switching back and forth between the two UIs

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Prateek B.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use CI CD tool

Reviewed a month ago

One of the best things about TeamCity is its ease of use and flexibility. Here are a few key features that make TeamCity stand out:User-friendly interface: TeamCity has an intuitive and easy-to-use interface that makes it easy to configure and manage build configurations. Its web-based interface is also customizable, allowing users to tailor it to their specific needs.Flexible build configurations:...

Pros

TeamCity is an essential tool for the project. Some of the features we like about TeamCity are - User-friendly interfaceComprehensive integrations with other tools and technologiesScalabilityRobust security featuresExtensibilityExcellent support

Cons

Resource-intensive (requires dedicated hardware and can slow down other processes on the same machine)Limited cloud options (on-premise or self-hosted options only)The steep learning curve for more complex build pipelines and configurations.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nice Integrated CI

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It connects well with other JetBrains tools.

Cons

It is not as popular as Jenkins so does not have as many plugins and the community using it is a lot smaller.

DP
AvatarImg

Dushyant P.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Integrates well with existing workflows, but access management is a pain

Reviewed 4 months ago

The integrability is a major plus point, and it has taken away a major blocker of manually ensuring sonar and build validation is passed before PRs are merged to avoid code breakage. It can further see some improvement so as to make the process faster and more streamlined

Pros

Teamcity allows us to implement CI CD pipelines for PR validation, by ensuring sonar checks are complete and builds pass before a PR is allowed to be merged. It integrates well with our VCS, Stash (Bitbucket Cloud) to ensure a Teamcity flag is present and applied before a PR is merged.The process is reliable and consistent, and works for new repos and configurations as well

Cons

The admin panel is cluttered and hard to move around, with confusing mnemonics for different validation jobs. Access granting is also unclear.One major pain point is that TC doesn't allow manual trigger of first PR build, and the process takes a lot of time, reducing efficiency.

AG
AvatarImg

Adrian G.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A big time saver

Reviewed 6 months ago

I just love it. It saves us a lot of time, and makes every

Pros

- Before using Teamcity, deployments took about 30 minutes and had to be performed during maintenance intervals. Now we can deploy to production servers during the day if necessary. - Running tests can take a while, so it might be forgotten if someone has to do it manually. Teamcity automates this, so that we don't even have to think about running them again.

Cons

It's hard to say. Teamcity is really well polished, so I have very few and only minor suggestions. The only big downside to using TeamCity is that the initial setup takes a lot of time. But that's not not Teamcity's fault and the time is well invested.

AvatarImg

Karol Ż.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good tool for CI/DI

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Free for small configurations, enough to small teams. Fast and stable. Easy to configure and maintain.

Cons

I guess the only drawback of this tool is that it runs on the JVM and thus requires a fair amount of memory resources.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not brilliant but OK

Reviewed 10 months ago

Better than some other CI tools, liked the support for branching in Teamcity. (Previously even forked off an OpenSource CI product - that was a very expencive solution.) Pretty reasonable product, but overhead of having own infrastructure, and always wanting more BuildAgents, made moving to AzurePipelines a more attractive proposition.

Pros

Configuration and ability to quickly set up new builds, nice integration into GitHub and other tools

Cons

Overly complex, I could never create a build without making a mistake, and having to go back and fix it up... Always got something wrong, although I have used it for around 10 years. Moved to Azure pipelines due to reduce cost, don't think it's any easier, but the build scripts are now in VersionControl

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nicholas B.

Facilities Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great DevOps tool

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Highly customizable pipelines, supporting multiple build steps with intelligent links and flows between them. Integration with Azure and Octopus Deploy are easy.

Cons

Integration with Azure could be deepened, as at the moment it is done via an ad in rather then being natively supported.

AS
AvatarImg

Abhishek S.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best teamcity review

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall I am very happy with the tool.

Pros

Dashboard is very easy to understand and logging is user friendly.

Cons

Support team is not that great. Usually they respond in two weeks time which does not help at all.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool to build your Application with confidence for continious Integration

Reviewed 4 years ago

We can solve a lot of problems using teamcity as it is one of the continuous integration tool which helps in never ending business success story. As it is been used for deploying our services to the server very easily. We can have teamcity configure with different various tools like ant maven which help us in continious integration process. Best of this it helps us understand where our build process went wrong and root cause for the failure rather than manual intervention in trouble shoot it directly show the issue we can dig the process and resolve the issue from there onwards and UI part is much more flexible so that we can organise as per our requirement

Pros

The good thing i always like with the teamcity is its cross platform means we can configure agents of other OS types so it can build anything easily. It is Good integration with variosu different frameworks and it has various methodologies that can be used as a part of your application development and code dump. It also have an amazing feature of supporting the extension via plugin mechanism we can...

Cons

There is nothing much least about this but there are few drawback like for a single person holding project teamcity is not right choice.Upgrading the teamcity is very lengthy process and consumes large amount of time. The logs that are being generated during the build process can be made much more beautiful with UI changes

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not an easy tool, but does the job

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It does its job, and once you've set it up it's pretty solid. Agents and server have never needed a reboot as far as I know, and upgrades are quick enough. The integration with the VCS (SVN where I work) can let you keep track of what you have down the pipeline and, if you use the right tracking tool and add ticket numbers to the commit comments, you might find useful seeing what brought to that commit. If you often create new projects, the template feature can enormously speed up the process.

Cons

It's very very easy to screw up. It gives you quite enough rope to hang yourself and your whole team twice, like creating dependencies among builds so that a simple commit can make the agents run for hours, or other amenities where you're not really sure what's the code you're building from (or, you might even be sure, but wrong!) If you're not well organized and don't know your way around the myriads...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gurleen K.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TeamCity - A platform to approach Continuous Integration and Delivery.

Reviewed 4 years ago

TeamCity By JetBrains provide the hassle free Continuous Integration & Delivery. The freeware license come with up to 100 build configuration and 3 build agent are enough to check the feasibility study of your product. The powerful build CI & smart configuration make it enterprise like DevOps tool.

Pros

TeamCity by JetBrains is one of the best and simple tool to manage the build and Integration. The powerful integration features out of the box make it unique and operation team first choice. The DevOps approach helps in continuous Integration & Delivery. Smart Configuration feature like project hierarchy, in-build templates, build chains & dependencies split the build sequence in multiple step to serve in simplex form. The Version Control Systems integrate the process in comprehensive way. Build History is also helpful in tracking the issue & let us allow in tracking the changes in the development process. Statistics of build history and test result help in generating the reports.

Cons

There are numbers of In-build configuration plugins for cloud integrations like Amazon, Azure, vSphere, Kubernetes and many more but cluster and creating the plugin for on-premises infrastructures is really a big and complex task to do with the TeamCity without the help of expertise.

LD
AvatarImg

Laura D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible CI tool

Reviewed 9 months ago

Very stable CI tool with very low maintenance.

Pros

For smaller teams with less than 100 build configurations it is free of charge. It provides either an UI or an own language (Kotlin) for configuring the build configurations. Also offers wide options for automatical cleanups, reducing the required time for administering the application to almost zero

Cons

Some features, like artifacts path or filters offer their own filter syntax. I think it is pretty difficult to get into this syntax as the documentation could be better. But once your into it, it is very flexible and covers all requirements.

MS
AvatarImg

Mahipal Singh B.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TeamCity Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

My overall experience with TeamCity is too good. It reduces the developer's efforts to push the changes in the server.

Pros

The most impactful feature of this software is to help the CI/CD. Team members can easily deploy the changes done in the product application to the server. It supports multiple version controls like git, svn, etc. We can easily integrate different version control to different servers to push the changes in the server. While deploying the changes it will also let the user what all the pending changes he needs to push onto the server. It is easy to use.

Cons

As of now, I don't have anything which I don't like about this software.

MJ
AvatarImg

Matt J.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Changed the way I computer

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

My phone is my laptop- my laptop is my desktop. My work computer is my personal computer. I can control any of my computers from anywhere. When my kids need me to enter the admin password, I just do it from my phone. I've turned a dozen or more people on to it, because it's just that convenient.

Cons

The only con I can think of is that it's enabled me to be even lazier than I used to be. Do I need to do something on the downstairs computer, but I'm upstairs? No problem, I just teamviewer in from upstairs. I've gained 15 lbs.

TB
AvatarImg

Terence B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Developer's Essential Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Once you get this powerful CI tool up and running, it will save your development massive amount of time. We have been using this for years, all set up to build, run unit tests and deploy to a staging server. Also, JetBrains generously lets you use it for free up to 3 build agents from the get go, so cost is not a concern here.

Cons

The tool can be a bit complex and overwhelming to get started if you are new to the tool. If you overcome this hurdle, it will be worth your while.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pravin kumar B.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One stop tool for CI/CD

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used the tool with my two previous employers.. definitely improved the productivity of team.. it was uself with both web and desktop application

Pros

Highly flexibly and configurable.. filled with a ton of functionality.. if you don't find a functionality, you will still have option to configure through custom scripts

Cons

Learning curve can be annoying especially if you don't have support within your team. It takes time to master the tool

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance,

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent continuous integration and automated build tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

TeamCity plays really well with .NET check-ins and continuous integration. If you've checked in something that breaks a build, or that won't pass the tests that have to be passed before a build commences, TeamCity will definitely let you know. This is a great kit for CI and getting builds out when you've got multiple players involved in updating and maintaining code throughout the day.

Cons

The security options for TeamCity to let people run it from workstations and simulate a build to see what might break -- that can be a little tricky to get going.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher E.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Team City, My Personal Experience

Reviewed 4 years ago

My experience with TeamCity is great, and I would recommend it to any developer looking for an enterprise build server without cost.

Pros

Personally, I've used Jenkins, Team Foundation Server (DevOps), and a few others. For continuous integration, and multi-platform tool/build agent deployment nothing beats JetBrains TeamCity. Any kind of compiler, build tool, or plain application can be assimilated into your build model using JetBrains TeamCity. Best of all the application is free, the only limitation being the number of builds and branding.

Cons

My only issue would be it's heavy memory footprint, but that's due to the java run-time. If you use Visual Studio 2017, and TeamCity simultaneously there's going to be a lack of performance.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ekta K.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great tool for CI

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We manage all build configurations, deployments triggers, automated tests triggers through Team City. It is the best tool, I have used till now. It allows you to clone projects, mute/investigate failing tests, pause triggers.

Cons

You need some time to master the use of team city. There is a lot to learn if you are new to team city. But with time and practice, you are good to go.

HS
AvatarImg

Henry S.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Used this as part of the deployment pipeline. Using it everyday - although mostly automated already.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Deployment pipeline for programmers

Pros

I'm familiar with it in regard to build and deployment pipeline. My current company uses it as well as my previous one. The UI seems quite intuitive, as I could modify existing pipeline quite easily. There are quite a lot of features (although I believe there are lots that I haven't explored yet).

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JR
AvatarImg

Juan Ramon G.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We use TeamCity for automation and CI and is great

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

TeamCity in comparison to other CI software have a better interface. It is clear and helps to understand the software. The integration with other software is algo great.

Cons

Maybe that is not an open source software and the limit of free agents (Only 3) because if you have to compile code in different kernel versions of Linux (like us) is a problem. I think that a few more free agents will be great.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Vasyl S.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have for continuous integration!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's easy to use (for it specialists), it has clean and friendly interface, it's very customizable

Cons

Have nothing to say about cons regarding this software

PC
AvatarImg

Philip C.

Consumer Goods, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for automating builds, especially with multiple devs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good features overall and seems to be up to par with competitors such as Azure Pipelines; there is a learning curve for first-time users, and certain menus/settings are hard to find, but offers good options for configuration and flexibility

Pros

Ability for continuous deployment to happen when multiple devs are involved in projects; ability to kick off builds from merges into Git. The "target" branches can be switched temporarily to monitor other branches for short periods

Cons

Basic tiers only allow certain number of builds happening at the same time. Oftentimes automated testing tasks must be paused to allow site builds to happen