This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Test Modeller

Model-Based Test Automation. Create rigorous tests and data.

see alternatives

Test Modeller Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It can be integrated with all kinds of frameworks, software and more. Really dedicated and enthusiastic team to work with.

Patrick R.

The Test Modeller was easy to integrate with our own delivery and we were given fantastic support from the team where customisation and advise was needed.

Sean R.

The ability to generate A.I. ready test data lakes to help train and prove our algorithms and the ability to provide test data coverage and built in code dependency analysis was a game changer.

Jonathon W.

Cons

It's hard to find in-depth documentation for some of the concepts and options available.

Tomas R.

Because of the complexity sometimes I got lost in all the features, but I also need more experience to fully utilize all the features.

Marius T.

Limited amount of users therefor relativity unknown.

Tuan T.

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

15

4

4

0

0

83%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


23 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reporting of acitivty in a PSD2/Open banking Sandbox

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were implementing a PSD2 sandbox to support testing of APIs for a large bank in Europe. This required detailed reporting on activity within the sandbox. Using a simple interface to VIP Test Modeller we were able to simply ship request/response pairs across to the VIP Test Modeller. VIP Test Modeller then collected the information and enabled detailed or summary reports to be created based on the provided detail. An additional bonus we got from the data was that it could be used for problem diagnosis.

Pros

It was very simple to integrate our solution to provide a feed of information to the VIP Test Modeller for post processing for reporting purposes.

Cons

To date, we have not experienced any issues with the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ultimate Toolkit for Intelligent Automation (AIOps) / GATED AI testing

Reviewed 2 years ago

After evaluating a number of different tool vendors, Volo.ai selected Curiosity software as they provide next generation capabilities that leading vendors (i.e. Magic Quadrant) was unable to provide our landscape is testing next generation A.I platforms (e.g. Neo4J, OpenCV, Kafka / Zookeeper, MongoDB, VectorFlow) which other vendors had limited native support for any of these technologies. The ability to generate A.I. ready test data lakes to help train and prove our algorithms and the ability to provide test data coverage and built in code dependency analysis was a game changer.

Pros

Ease of use, SaaS based modelling (MBT) capabilities, powerful robotic process automation (RPA), synthetic data generation across the platform, automatic generation of functional / non-functional artefacts (e.g. selenium, restassured, taurus, wiremock), extensive support for continuous delivery & deployment (i.e. Jenkins CI/CD) and ChatOps toolchains (i.e. Slack).

Cons

Lack of current support for container technologies (i.e. docker)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Video Tutorial

Reviewed 2 years ago

fine

Pros

It seems good to watch this video tutorial. Its easy way to under stand the flow like how to create and how to map the values etc.. Total I would rate this VIP to 3/5

Cons

Must have all videos with full set like how to add test data. for instance: I have tried to create an automates script with this modular with the help of the video and one point I have created and mapped the variable and generated the script. but we don't know how to run. late we became to know to use the server but we didn't see the such a explanation from the videos. we would suggest to explain with set of video.

Vendor response

Hi Jerome, thank you for taking the time to review The VIP Test Modeller, and for suggesting new tutorial videos. We are constantly adding to our online library of on demand resources, and will continue to do so. In the meantime, I think that we have some videos that should be useful to you. Video instructions on adding test data can be found as part of the following training course: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-101-videos/ Instructional videos for running test scripts and setting up the automation server can also be found in this knowledge base article: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-102/ Thanks again for taking the time to review The VIP Test Modeller!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding tool for test automation

Reviewed 6 months ago

TestModeller is an outstanding tool for test automation and test data management. We have run a PoC for 6 months using an on-premise installation (in Azure), utilizing the Cypress framework. Tests are run in docker containers when generated from TestModeller and updated to Gitlab. Also, the ability to separate models and generated tests from the functional representation of the elements in the system under test, enables us to generate tests even before code is written to implement an element in the DOM for in-sprint testing. This of course also eliminates the extensive maintenance you normally must conduct to test automation frameworks.

Pros

Visual modelling generally reveals more test cases by showing which paths through the system under test are being visited. Testers and other stakeholders can easily do the modelling while engineers overlay the automation. Complex applications can be broken down to manageable models in a hierarchy Great connectivity to test frameworks and other applications.

Cons

Some of our requirements (Cypress, Docker) gave some challenges, but with very good support from the vendor it all came to work well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Early adopter on personal experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

The maintenance and visibility of testing effort for automation purposes quickly tapers off. With VIP it's much easier to maintain larger sets of scripts and just regenerate the tests. That saves a large amount of time when tests have to change. This quickly amounts of 20-40% of the time spent on existing tests that are reduced. This allows the teams to focus on what matters, as opposed to the earlier tested risks.

Pros

The ability to generate optimized test scenario's with a visual interface. This allows a very direct conversation with stakeholders to see what tests cover what part of the software and more importantly why. Then overlaying Automation and Data elements allows for a much more sophisticated way of handling the maintenance within test automation and the regeneration of tests. The integration aspect of handling everything and the ability to interface with Excel in the background to manage data aspects makes this very easy to interlock with existing tests and various other solutions

Cons

Initial easy to learn, hard to master. Modeling software is deceptively simple and can quickly add value but it's a bit more difficult to maintain models since any model is a reduction of the reality. It's very easy to tell somebody to use this but requires a little maturity to really drive home the value.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Personal Review VIP Test Modeller

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience with the VIP Test Moddeller tool is very positve. Its easy to learn, easy to implement and integrate and of huge value in the communiation with your stakeholder.

Pros

- the model based approach! Visualizing your test and business flows! - the many ways this tool can be integrated in other tools - the many develop languages its support to do automated testing - The great great great support behind this tool!

Cons

The look and feel can be improved on some areas. But keep in mind, the tool has been developed in less than a year!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better quality tests with this must have tool.

Reviewed 2 years ago

TestModeller, with its model-based approach, focus on the models, test design and test creation. At the moment I’m using it for testing websites but you can use it for api, performance and more. Even without knowledge of program languages you can automate your tests. Also, it is possible to convert the created test cases to different automation frameworks. With this product you also realize the importance of test data even more. With each run of tests, it is possible to start with a new set of data. Rich and production like data. It really helps you identifying the unhappy paths and lets you think what the system under test should behave.

Pros

You can combine different models. So, less testing but more coverage. Even without knowledge of program languages you can automate your tests Rich and production like test data generation Rapid test scenario creation You know the test coverage and can choose different levels of it. It can be integrated with all kinds of frameworks, software and more. Really dedicated and enthusiastic team to work with

Cons

The product is relatively unknown at the moment. It shouldn’t.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Integration with Test Modeller to accelerate lowcode automated testing

Reviewed 6 months ago

Test Modeller is a major accelerator in setting up automated test processes for clients and has a positive impact on the quality of the delivered applications.

Pros

Our company Omnext is working together with Curiosity to implement automated testing for clients in lowcode environments such as Mendix and Outsystems. Omnext is providing data about the lowcode application, which is imported in Test Modeller via an interface. Testmodeller provides seamless integration with external data sources. The capability to import external data sources and generate out-of-the-box automated test cases, which can be run in different testing tools is a major accelerator for the testing process of the client.

Cons

We have not experienced significant issue while working with Test Modeller. Omnext and Curiosity are working on further improvements of the exchange of data and other lowcode environments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great help for our development proces!!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was using ARD before, but now switched to Test Modeller, because it is next level. Specially the test automation and recording part, are proven very helpfull!

Pros

- easy to use - models help you to give good inside in quality of the software - great support - makes life more easy!!!!

Cons

- I had some questions, but by having contact with the support team.. all issues are solved. So, i in my case there are no open issues anymore :-)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Rapid modelling and automation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Lots of supporting material, e.g. videos, guides and tutorials - including a self-paced online training course. Plenty of options for integrating with your existing CI/CD pipeline (e.g. Jenkins, Azure Devops, Jira). The many accelerators in conjunction with the built-in Selenium wrapper enables rapid experimenting.

Cons

It's hard to find in-depth documentation for some of the concepts and options available

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Swiss Army Knife of Testautomation

Reviewed 2 years ago

MBT is hyper intuitive. Great support. Testmodeller is worth the investment for just setting up automated regressiontests yet it can be utilized as the commandcentre for your CI/CD pipeline.

Pros

What tools would you like to have on you when hiking through inhospitable environment? Preferably all of them. Test Modeller is the Swiss Army Knife of Testautomation in the harsh hyper-change environment of the 21st century workplace. Testdevelopment, testarchitecture, testautomation, synthetic testdata generator, scanner, scriptconverter, recorder and more. It's everything a QA engineer might need in his quest for quality.

Cons

You don't need to be a specialist to learn this framework, yet it's not as simple as it looks. You need to invest some time and experience to really get the hang of using this tool and all the possibilities it's offering.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Process automation at its best

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The very idea of automating the process is quite captivating. Adding icing to the cake is the visual modeller which helps to model the process easier and the ability to import from standard formats is a bonus. Other than automation VIP helps to streamline testing process by supplementing the test data generation. This will help to produce better quality test cases which are easy to produce and maintain.

Cons

The learning curve is not steep thanks to video tutorials and the Trello board. However the knowledge base articles are not easy to navigate to and fro especially when you like to start reading something which are arranged in sequence of articles. The forum and community support seems to be missing at least to me. All the questions during learning phase and trivial issues cannot be answered by support always and having a forum which will address this will help a lot not only to generate new ideas but also to minimise FAQ and request for clarifications.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Test Modellor Overall Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Demo video is running more fast so understanding the flow is bit difficult. How to integration with automation is need more clarity explanation in Demo video

Pros

Draw a flow chart for the screen is easy and also recording the screen is more feasible to user

Cons

Test Modellor supports only in chrome browser. If it is support in other browser means it will be helpful. Integration with automation is bit difficult.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The VIP Test Modeller Karthikeyan. I just want to let you know about our series of step-by-step videos on integrating The VIP Test Modeller with existing test automation frameworks. You can find the short instructional videos on the Curiosity Knowledge Base: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-102/ Thanks again for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Test Modellor io Plugins

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Recording and Scan features and help us to draw the flowchart in Test modellor.io

Cons

Integration to automation tools feels bit difficult . Need step by step process video to integrate to automation tool. Test modellor io plugin should be used in all browsers

Vendor response

Hi Dhinakar, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The VIP Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we do have a series of step-by-step videos on integrating The VIP Test Modeller with existing test automation frameworks. You can find the instructional videos on the Curiosity Knowledge Base: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-102/ I hope you find these videos useful, and thanks again for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The test automation tool you didn't know you needed

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Test Modeller breaks down complex test scenarios into manageable and readable BPNM diagrams giving you a holistic view of the system under test, this really allows you to bring testing forward in the SDLC. Test Modeller doesn't try and force you to create tests using specific frameworks, allowing you to choose what framework works best for your company, Test Modeller sits on top of your chosen framework enhancing the capabilities and eases implementation.

Cons

As with everything Test Modeller is not a golden bullet, as a user of the software you need to invest time into learning the capabilities and some understanding of test automation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great features, easy to implement and use - Exactly what we were looking for

Reviewed 2 years ago

Analysis and reporting for a specific project, but i can see us using this for other requirements in future projects.

Pros

The tool provided the exact functionality we required for a recent project. The Test Modeller was easy to integrate with our own delivery and we were given fantastic support from the team where customisation and advise was needed. The end user is very happy with the result and we have had no issues with the implementation.

Cons

The tool does come with a bit of a learning curve, but i wouldn't really consider it a con given the range of features and what we were trying to achieve. Any queries we had around implementation were quickly answered and explained by the support team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Framework for Testing community

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Test Modeller is an amazing component of VIP. Gone are the days where you had to allot time for designing test cases. With modeller as soon as you create process model it automatically generates test cases using advanced coverage techniques. What I have seen is this avoids over and under testing.

Cons

While the usability is good it can further be fine tuned. Training content also can be fine tuned a bit.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A robust and versatile model based testing tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

1. Ability to integrate with any given test automation framework 2. Quick ramp up time - with a minimal training a user can start operating the tool and build models 3. Have a test automation framework of its own 4. Can build automated tests for web based and backend appslications 5. Ability to automate performance testing

Cons

Would be good to have more training videos to help users gain knowledge on its versatility

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Software for Test Case and Test Data generation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

User friendly No more automation skill requirement

Cons

Nothing to say Some technical skill required

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automated testing made easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Automated testing within reach and without writing the same tests scripts. VIP Test Modeller does enable an organization to seriously make a big left shift in their continuous development strategies.

Pros

No code or technical knowledge is needed to start using the VIP Test Modeller. Re-use existing test script and models.

Cons

VIP dependency on Windows Operating systems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Test Automation Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Ease of use due to complete model based solution - Integration with Selenium and many API - Webbased no dependency on OS

Cons

- Limited amount of users therefor relativity unknown

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great test tool for testing AND analysis

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

I really liked the whole idea of the tool. You can start with a process flow and within each step, you can add more valuable data, cases, flows, etc to make it completely customized for your goals. I am a business analyst and not a tester, but really like this tool because I can do the testing myself without needing the help of a tester.

Cons

Because of the complexity sometimes I got lost in all the features, but I also need more experience to fully utilize all the features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

VIP Supports in Testing

Reviewed 2 years ago

1. Worked with API and Database testing using VIP tool support 2. Also performed ETL testing

Pros

1. User Friendly 2. Automation result will be very Fast 3. Easy to implement 4. We can perform Even API, ETL, Database & Performance Testing easilty

Cons

1. Smaller changes may affect entire script.