This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Universal Type Server Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

When using the fonts on the user side their fonts turn on and off automatically so you are not having too many activate fonts at a time. This has been a great benefit to our business.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

The ease of use when adding to the library and the ability to share with our other departments. The administration console is simple to use.

AR

Amos R.

We were happy with Font Reserve, we finally were able to manage our fonts remotely and the user interface was nice for our staff, it was a game changer for us.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

This is frustrating and time-consuming and I am constantly asking my superiors why we have this software that seems to not do the only thing it was made to do.

DL

Doug L.

I've had to restart numerous times since the program wasn't responding. Not sure if it's a "me" issue, but my coworkers have had similar problems.

JK

Jenny K.

Auto-activation is frustratingly inconsistent. Font sync between computers can also be tricky.

DL

Doug L.

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

11

0

1

0

0

92%
positive reviews
90%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


12 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple, no-hassle, server-based font management.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Universal Type is a huge help for managing fonts for multiple workstations and multiple workgroups, both Mac and PC. I don't have to visit everyone's computer just to add or remove fonts, I can do this easily from my copy of the Universal Type Client.

Pros

I manage a variety of server-based systems, and this is one that I rarely have to do anything with to keep it working. Also, software upgrades/updates are extremely easy, just run the installer and after a minute or so you have a newer version installed and running. I don't think I've ever had to reboot for an update/upgrade and there has been very little downtime overall for this software.

Cons

I suppose it would be that it has the occasional bug requiring a workaround or an update to fix, but their support team always does a good job helping out with that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I can not say enough about the Universal Type Server and Client software.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Before the publishing company I work for switched from ATM (Adobe Type Manager) to UTC we would have our IT technicians going through 200 plus Mac desktops throughout the company verifying that everyone had the same fonts in the same location on their local machines, this was a logistics nightmare. Anytime an account would hand us a new font they wanted to run in their ad we would have to deploy a...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

I thought font software was supposed to be helpful...

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use UTS in a production environment, where the same file might be opened by different users on different machines. I might work on a file and save it. A different production artist may then open it the next day to make additional changes. UTS has a feature where it will auto-activate the fonts used in the document, as long as those fonts are available on the Type Server for the user to access. In theory, this is a great feature. In reality, I find myself having to activate fonts myself a good portion of the time. It seems to choose when it wants to work or not. This is frustrating and time-consuming and I am constantly asking my superiors why we have this software that seems to not do the only thing it was made to do.

Pros

When it works, the auto-activation feature is great. The ability to search is nice as well.

Cons

Auto-activation is frustratingly inconsistent. Font sync between computers can also be tricky.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Managing Fonts and Allowing users to get work done at a great overall value.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The biggest benefit is company wide management of our fonts to make sure that we have the correct licensing levels. Additionally we have one central repository for our fonts that our creative users can pull from. From the IT side of things this makes managing our fonts much easier and much more streamlined while reducing font corruption to a zero. For our users they have an easy to access and use font library that is catered to the needs of their specific department or group. When using the fonts on the user side their fonts turn on and off automatically so you are not having too many activate fonts at a time. This has been a great benefit to our business.

Pros

Makes managing fonts is rather easy. From the user side they really don't have to do much in order for the software to work. From the IT side server setup is a breeze and rather lightweight.

Cons

The only con I can see comes from having to make sure that your version of Universal Type is up to speed with the version of the applications, Adobe CC, that you use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Helpful but glitchy

Reviewed 4 months ago

If you're a graphic designer at a company I highly recommend UT. Really great tool to consolidate all your fonts that your company licenses.

Pros

My company uses UTC to help consolidate all of our fonts and this program is really helpful! I love the option to be able use a font "temporarily" instead of "permanently". Obviously we can't have all the fonts activated at once or my computer would shut down, so this program is really great. Also love the feature that you can group fonts into personal folders!

Cons

UTC does seem glitchy as times. I've had to restart numerous times since the program wasn't responding. Not sure if it's a "me" issue, but my coworkers have had similar problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes my job easier. Been using it for years.

Reviewed 4 years ago

As the administrator, it makes my job much easier. I can distribute new fonts to the users that need it from my workstation. I can add or remove fonts, or add or remove rights to use a font by a user easily as well.

Pros

The software allows me to restrict our users from installing unlicensed fonts. It also allows me to easily distribute fonts to a specific user, groups or everyone. And it helps make sure each user is using the same version of a font.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I like Universal Type Server as it allows me to administer fonts across our organization easily

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy font management across many locations

Pros

How easy it is to get fonts to everyone. Add a font sync and it is there for everyone to use. We use at many locations and it is painless to get fonts out,

Cons

The sync time on the fist sync. We use thousands of fonts so it take awhile. The required length of this comment is to long. Why have us babble on if we can say it quickly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is a great addition to our environment. it allows us to control bad font that users download.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ease of use when adding to the library and the ability to share with our other departments. The administration console is simple to use.

Cons

The limit in the fonts that can be used when purchased from an online source. usually the user purchase 5 and for it to work, I need to upload it on to the server

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great way to keep fonts in sync in the office

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Sharable across multiple machines so everyone in the office can have the same fonts on all software platforms. Really easy to sync with Adobe software.

Cons

Sometimes there are glitches when OS software updates happen. Takes a little time to make sure there are no issues before upgrading.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Extensis products just work!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

AD integration for user management. The ease with which you can organize your font collections. There support is amazing!

Cons

From time to time we have to rebuild the local font cache... Its not a huge problem. Luckily when it does exhibit itself its a predictable fix.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Extensis team was helpful during setup and any issues we've encountered over the years.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Makes it easy for me to organize and distribute fonts as well as keep track of ownership for multiple teams. Extremely helpful considering the thousands of fonts we own.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This product works well

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I personally like the security of this product where employees cannot download or add fonts, this allows us to be in compliance.

Cons

It seems to crash sometimes on PC's, it works very well on all our MAC's but we seem to have issues on the few PC's we have it installed on/