This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

vCommander

Private, public or hybrid cloud management platform

see alternatives

vCommander Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The reports are detailed and useful and we can extend the automation to give our end users the ability to make requests quickly and easily. Product support and documentation is very robust.

Anonymous Reviewer

There are many benefits that I already have mentioned previously that make vCommander a very strong and solid option.

David V.

Excellent Cloud Management Platform, has great features and makes automating existing infrastructure possible while also allowing for greenfield deployments as well.

Noah J.

Cons

We see occasional slowdowns in the portal and need to restart. This impacts our users but it difficult to monitor for.

Chris L.

Deploying multiple applications per request can be confusing and difficult. Embotics should improve this area.

Mike H.

I will give them credit, however, that they recognize these pain points and have moved toward fixing this issue.

James Y.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

4

5

1

0

0

90%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


10 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast Implementation, Extensible and Powerful, Some features Continuing to Mature

Reviewed 2 years ago

This tool has filled multiple business cases in our Enterprise. A user portal to request and decommission services without having to grant users rights to IT systems such as vSphere or the DNS servers. A place to generate useful reports about services and resources that actually relates to current systems, including show-back/charge-back reporting and ownership information of systems. The ability to right-size systems based on current utilization to save cost and resources. The ability to Lifecycle systems to ensure they never exist beyond their intended useful life. Transforming our on-premises environment to be more like a private cloud without having to buy multiple vendor products and a lot of new hardware to make it happen.

Pros

Excellent Cloud Management Platform, has great features and makes automating existing infrastructure possible while also allowing for greenfield deployments as well. Plugs into any API, and has a scripting engine that makes possible what many other tools fail at. Great reporting functions and excellent user portal. Does not require an overwhelming amount of infrastructure to run the software.

Cons

The included API is bifurcated between the Legacy API and a New API. This means that some functionality only exists in one or the other API and has not been fully migrated and harmonized. This is continuing to improve going forward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful tools right out of the box

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were able to automate the process of requesting or removing servers from our environment allowing our infrastructure staff more time to work on other projects and initiatives. The users could request a server, obtain the appropriate approvals and receive the resources needed in less than an hour instead of days. Additionally, the users had the ability to access their servers without getting unnecessary access to our vCenters with excess permissions.

Pros

The software provides immediate functionality once you plug in your environment that does not require a team of people to run. The reports are detailed and useful and we can extend the automation to give our end users the ability to make requests quickly and easily. Product support and documentation is very robust.

Cons

Some scripting and programming knowledge, especially API knowledge can be very useful when extending automation tasks into your environment. Without these skills you may need to rely more on support and professional services to accomplish some goals.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall great software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

self service portal for customers: allow customers to perform vm deployments, power on/off, perform snapshots

Cons

could be buggy at times. When customers use portal for self-service, they ran into few issues with the interface. Could take a bit of time to fix due to time difference

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Wing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

vCommander was the answer to our long search of VM automation and provisioning software.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have recommended this software to other colleagues in other business units inside our company that they have been deploying vCommander. I also recommend the product when teaching our courses worldwide and talk about the different needs we had and how vCommander has been able to resolve them all so far. There are many benefits that I already have mentioned previously that make vCommander a very strong and solid option.

Pros

How easy it is to integrate with complex systems. The very intuitive workflow to deploy system configurations that with other products would take us days. The cost value this has brought to our company. Integrating with various technologies and all seamlessly managed through a centralized management interface

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review David, and the positive comments. And thanks also for being a great customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy initial setup, great reports, VM costing data, user friendly Self-Service portal.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Time savings, better understanding of the environment,

Pros

The initial setup was easy and with in a hour was connecting data from our environment. The Self-Service portal is user friendly and gives end users vCenter features without giving the access to vCenter It allows users to take their own snapshots, get console access to a VM, and request more memory and CPU resources. The reports from vCommander have been more useful and easier to use than out previous big name vendor. Support has been knowledgeable, responsive, and easy to get a real person to talk with.

Cons

We did need some help with a few scripts on some out of the box things we wanted to do but that was more of a us problem then vCommander.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review David, I'll pass on the good comments to the support team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

vCommander is a very capable platform. With its versatility, it is a market leader

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

vCommander is feature packed. If you spend the time to develop a strategy to use all of its features, the value is outstanding. Embotics' customer support is unparalleled. I've never met a group of more capable and enthusiastic support professionals. Tarek and the team over there are dedicated and knowledgeable.

Cons

The pain points I have with vCommander revolve around its ease of use. It really takes some time to ramp up on, as the admin console was clearly designed by an engineer, not a UX designer. I will give them credit, however, that they recognize these pain points and have moved toward fixing this issue. The newest release, for example, changes the UX for the customer portal and it's significantly better. I look forward to their continued development and refinement there.

Vendor response

Thanks for the Review James, glad to see you like the new interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple, intuitive tool used to deploy applications and services

Reviewed 3 years ago

Rapid deployment of applications - from weeks to hours.

Pros

Very simple to use. Do not need to dedicate multiple resources, or hire professional services to configure and manage. Powershell based & integrates with many other configuration tools (Puppet, Zerto, Chef..) Costing metrics are easy to configure and understand.

Cons

Deploying multiple applications per request can be confusing and difficult. Embotics should improve this area.

Vendor response

Thanks for the comments Mike, I'll pass the feedback to the product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We employ vCommander for our API driven workflow. The Embotics team has been helpful.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is relatively easy to use and has not required extensive retraining as we originally transitioned from vmware labmanager.

Cons

We see occasional slowdowns in the portal and need to restart. This impacts our users but it difficult to monitor for.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review chris, i'll pass your comments on to the product team to see if they can help you with the portal issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use software, very capable

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Good vRA alternative. Very easy to use and capable software. New HTML5 interface is very slick and quick.

Cons

The licensing cost is very high, although comparable to vRA. There are certain things that vRA does better, but not many.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Michael. And of course for being a great customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall experience with the product from an engineering perspective has been positive

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Product support is some of the best I've had with any vendor - support knows the product inside and out and not just sending you a document that doesn't answer questions. Application itself is fairly easy to use and gives the customer an experience to use their virtual services from anywhere needed.

Cons

The interfaces of the product were created by an engineer, that shows the depth of them and the technical understanding that goes into them. Having using the application for a short period of time and being an older version, it does have a very plain feel to the appearance. Scripting seems to be the fix of many things we've had issues with where the functions are not streamline - but also could be due to the product version we're on.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Phillip, I'll make sure to tell the support team of the positive comments. Hopefully the interface of the latest version will resolve your issues with that.