App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Virima Logo

Virima

Intelligent CMDB automation and complete IT asset management

(1)

Virima Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

15

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.8/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Great product; feature rich. Team seems responsive and looking to help us be successful.
It has been a great product, and they have been a great organization to work with.
Virima is a very comprehensive ITAM/ITSM tools for organizations that follow the ITIL methodology. It is a feature rich offering with very responsive support.
No being able to monitor legacy intermec scanners. This is due to intermec produce not allowing.
Say you forgot to do a scan. You can login on your phone and fire off that scan.
Frankly, buying Virima felt risky. Their presence is not huge.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


15 reviews

Recommended

FP
AvatarImg

Franco P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast, Intelligent, Cost Effective ITAM/ITSM Discovery Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the autonomic socially intelligent automated algorithms that perform discovery. These algorithms and engines are far better than all of the products I’ve ever used. As an industry recognized discovery and ITAM tool expert, and conference speaker, I have spent countless hours evaluating tools for diverse customers. In the end I’ve always needed a socially persistent tool that would continue...

Cons

Accessing and managing a Virima instance via a browser takes some getting use to but it is still a value add to be able to manage a customers instance from a phone. Say you forgot to do a scan. You can login on your phone and fire off that scan.

TL
AvatarImg

Taylor L.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Virima User

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very positive.

Pros

Great product; feature rich. Team seems responsive and looking to help us be successful.

Cons

No cons. Feature requests are inevitable, and I have a few. Team seems responsive and open to them; would like some more visibility into the product management space so we can see where things fall.

RR
AvatarImg

Robert R.

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Virima is an excellent value in the ITSM space

Reviewed a year ago

Our business relationship with Virima is second to none. When we had to meet a crazy launch deadline, the implementation team committed to 30+ days of 12-16 hour a day, 7 days a week work with us. When we were up at 4AM for the second day of our launch window, they were right there with us. They have been one of the few vendors where it really does feel like we're in a partnership.

Pros

We were first attracted to the product for the robust CMDB and discovery toolset. However, once we implemented the product, the part we liked most was the business rules engine. It is flexible, powerful, and rarely have we found a use case that it could not handle. We were even able to sustain the loss of two headcount from our front line in a reduction of force by building ticket routing AI with the business rules engine.

Cons

The forms aren't WYSIWYG, so there is sometimes a bit of shuffling required to get items where you want them on the page. The system is built with a self-contained design philosophy, so generating emails or alerts to your company email is possible, but not default.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Maritime, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A CMDB for the rest of us

Reviewed a year ago

We are a mid-size company without in-house skills to build/manage a complex CMDB. We did not want to blow our budget on a single product. We conducted significant research before selecting Virima as our CMDB provider. We consulted with Gartner, with end users and had presentations/demos from 1/2 dozen players in the field. Frankly, buying Virima felt risky. Their presence is not huge. Their prices are very reasonable. Their product seemed straightforward. What was the catch? None. I am moving on to a brand new company needing a greenfield infrastructure build. My choice for their CMDB is simple - Virima.

Pros

Ease of deployment. Virima got us up and running in no time. Ease of use. The information Virima CMDB provides is easily accessible to the average user. A graduate degree in boolean operators is not required, nor is learning a boatload of arcane report construction techniques. Excellent technical support. You need help. They are there. Not only are they fast - they go the extra step of making sure you get the help you need. Very impressive.

Cons

None come to mind - seriously. As noted - the application's learning curve was easy.

MW
AvatarImg

Mike W.

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Virima

Reviewed a year ago

CMDB discovery has been a huge asset.

Pros

Business rules, filtering, CMDB and ease of use

Cons

The UI can be difficult at times. Can't customize your width of columns. Can't Administer database and backend stuff through the Application.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Virima is a great ITAM system

Reviewed 5 years ago

Virima has helped us understand more of our environment for IT, and helped with Asset, change and Release management.

Pros

Ability to scan an internal network and fall all devices on that network. The Business Service Maps are great for finding communication between endpoints.

Cons

The scans can be very slow and can vary in length.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review. The discovery scans are carefully designed not to impact network or device performance. The scan periods will vary depending on how much and how deep you choose to scan at one time. Performing deeps scans on hundreds of servers and the underlying network infrastructure might take some time but that enables the awesome Business Service Maps you like.

EG
AvatarImg

Elaina G.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very adaptable!

Reviewed a year ago

We have had some glitches here an there and Virima support and team have been great working with us to get these issues resolved. I think Virima support has been very accommodating and helpful.

Pros

We were able to work with our implementation team to set this product up to report and alert on hardware and software end of life dates so we can be more proactive about software and hardware. We can plan purchases of new equipment better knowing when assets need replacing prior to the expiration dates.

Cons

I don't really dislike anything about the software.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Furniture, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ITAM Plus included features that an Enterprise would

Reviewed 5 years ago

Excellent professionalism and customer service are part of the Virima package. Couple that with a world-class ITAM/ITIL tool and you have a combination that will easily take market share from some of the 'big guns'. Great doing business with them.

Pros

- Very intuitive interface - Feature rich ITIL-centric solution that handles all change, incident, problem and reporting needs - Dynamic Business Service Maps show Up and DOWN-stream impact to connections graphically - Integration with Service-Now and other support tools makes CMDB value immediately visible

Cons

- Minor changes in how our business would like to leverage the tool are being offered up as suggestions but no real deficiencies

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Virima

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our experience implementing VIrima in our environment, specifically for ITAM, has been a great experience. The team at Virima has been very helpful and responsive delivering our requests and working with us.

Pros

Virima is a very comprehensive ITAM/ITSM tools for organizations that follow the ITIL methodology. It is a feature rich offering with very responsive support.

Cons

The software seems to be growing rapidly with new features being added constantly, which seems to cause some instability.

BJ
AvatarImg

Billie Jo N.

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Virma implementation and use

Reviewed 5 years ago

Support has always been helpful and resolved issue quickly.

Pros

Ease on install and use. Intergration with ServiceNow was quick and easy.

Cons

No being able to monitor legacy intermec scanners. This is due to intermec produce not allowing.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Asset Management software that interfaces with many different systems

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are still in the rollout phase with Virima, but their support has been excellent during this time. The reports we are seeing and the information we are able to glean will make the product pay for itself.

Pros

The business map views are really what stand out about the product. You have the ability to see an entire system, with all connections, showing port numbers, and expand that view to several hops. This gives you a dynamic view of business systems that is invaluable when troubleshooting or planning for impact of changes.

Cons

Sometimes the interface can be a bit clunky. A little refining of the look of the product would make the user experience better.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Virima

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has been a great product, and they have been a great organization to work with.

Pros

It is malleable, and able to adjust to your business's specific needs

Cons

It can have a sharp learning curve at first.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Virima is an excellent ITAM product suite.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Knowing the full complement of IT assets and the relationships of those assets to both protect them and to make more intelligent decisions in managing those assets.

Pros

Virima's intuitive UI and the business service maps are outstanding. The business service maps are a great visual representation of your CMDB - that was the differentiator for Virima during our POC selection.

Cons

We had a few technical issues to overcome during configuration of our non-windows servers; however, the Virima staff solved all the issues and were great to work with.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great insight to network landscape

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The products ability to present graphical business process maps representing relationships between servers is excellent

Cons

It took some additional work to get probes created some of the various OSs

DR
AvatarImg

Deven R.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datacenter migration

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use..also project management is excellent

Cons

As we use more, we might be able to come up..