App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

cPanel & WHM Logo

Server management software for small and medium businesses

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

cPanel & WHM Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

150

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.87/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

manageengine-opmanager
site24x7
cloudways

Pros and cons

It's a great software with great features and you can easily manage either the clients websites or your business ones easily.
I think the API is by far the best of this software, it allows a great deal of automation.
I like that it's easy to use and that you can manage all your websites or clients websites from an easy interface.
The update process always feels risky, and the methods of implemnting nginx just feel awkward.
It your internet connection is weak you may keep getting logged out.
I find it a bit tricky to figure out at first and seems to lag a tad.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


150 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lilian M.

Sales Consultant

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great hosting providers

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Lilian: Hello guys. I am Lilian. I'm a digital marketing executive, and I'll give cPanel and WHM a five...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Josh C.

Website Designer/ Owner

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Great product but bummed by the price hike.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Josh: I'm Josh. I'm a web designer. I give cPanel a four out of five, and for more reviews, click below....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bed K.

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hosting, Database and Email Management in Single Spot.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using Cpanel to manage my company website and company business email. I found Cpanel is easy to deploy and reach in features like email management, autoresponder, file management, SSH terminal, securities, and more.

Pros

Easiest to use and don't need deep knowledge of deployment while building and setting up a website on Cpanel. Cpanel enables me to manage all of my business emails in one place with an autoresponder.

Cons

I feel difficult to use Cpanel on my mobile. Sometimes I need to operate Cpanel while I am far from the city at that time I face some difficulties using it. All other features are excellent.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

.Kim M.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

WHM - The Best Software To Manage Hosting Accounts

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good software, an ideal solution for small web design companies who might also want to start making money on hosting. The system is easy to learn, find features in it's documentation, and navigate through the organized administrative panel. Creating a new web hosting account for one of your new customers can be achieved in just minutes.

Pros

WHM (Web Host Manager) is the very best software to run a small web hosting business. The interface is very simple and easy to understand. The documentation is organized by category, making it easy to find the instructions on how to do any of it's many features. The most common function you will probably use is setting up a new hosting account for a new customer, which it's just a matter of a couple of clicks and then inputting a few form fields.

Cons

The system isn't the greatest for medium or larger web hosting companies unless you integrate a third party system like WHMCS. Smaller hosting or web design companies might also want to integrate third party backup solutions , because the backup of cPanel accounts is not as modern for ease of use as one might think. Otherwise, you have to go through each cPanel account, one by one, back them up, and then download the backup.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Functional Hosting Suite

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Has all software components to host a basic shared Web/Mail server. End-user interface is easy to understand for non-technical users.

Cons

The software suite is rather bloated and often contains multiple versions of software that provide the same functionality.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nipon D.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

For Managing Web server & Hosting business - this is absolutely the best option.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve been using Cpanel & WHM for over 7 years now and I’m really happy with their product.

Pros

I run a small Web development and Hosting business. Cpanel & WHM really made my business easy. Cpanel takes care of your web hosting needs. If you’re reselling hosting space, WHM offers everything you need and it works like a charm with WHMCS automating billing and everything.

Cons

Cpanel license is little expensive for small business or individuals if purchased directly from them but most hosting companies provide free license tagged with their products

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Harshad P.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Perfect Platform To Sell & Manage Your Hosting

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am using whm panel since last 6 years and its very useful for me and i manage my more than 200 hosting clients using whm panel.

Pros

Its Perfect Platform to manage and sell your hosting to your clients without having much knowledge of server. You can easily create individual accounts and hosting packages with custom configuration. you can also block any hosting acount from whm panel or you can edit package configuration very easily

Cons

actually i dont find any issue with whm panel by cpanel, its very easy to use. only they have to launch official mobile application to manage this WHM panel services.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wale A.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best solution for web hosting management

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've been using cPanel/WHM for over a decade now and I honestly don't see myself switching to a different solution anytime soon.

Pros

Once set up properly, WHM makes web hosting management a piece of cake since most customers prefer cPanel anyway and are quite accustomed to it. Its ease of use makes it the number one choice. WHM puts every control into the user's hands, all with an intuitive GUI.

Cons

It's quite easy to use, but that doesn't mean setting it up is a walk in the park. Also, cPanel was expensive, and it got even more expensive with the recent hike in price.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Danish M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Most Widely Used Control Panel

Reviewed 2 years ago

cPanel and WHM are one of the first options that came in to a developer mind when thinking of Control Panels for you VPS or Dedicated Server. This is also the most widely used control panel as a Web developer.

Pros

The updated UI of cPanel us great, it has a great search functionality. Add ons makes your life easier. The options available to customize the flow is easy and the Integration with WHMCS is great.

Cons

The UI is great but still can be improved. It can be complex to use for beginners and can overwhelm you. The File Manager UI is old.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abhik B.

Computer Networking, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

cPanel is the most full featured web hosting control panel in the industry

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with cPanel is very good. Except for the high price, I like it a lot.

Pros

cPanel has all the features necessary to manage a web server for web hosting. Further, it allows fine-grained permission control for the users. The end-user interface is very intuitive and easy to use. File manager, autossl etc make things easy. Many free and paid plugins are available for automated script installation like WordPress, Drupal and so on.

Cons

cPanel is very expensive and the price is increasing day by day. They introduced per user license price quota, instead of per-server license pricing, one and half year ago. This made it very difficult for large organizations with many users to afford it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris B.

Computer Networking, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I'd be lost without you WHM

Reviewed 5 years ago

running this software for twelves years over at my company, it makes every step of not only running your own website easy you can then make money selling sites and domains to others with as little as 20 us a month depending on the company you are with

Pros

We love all of it easy to use lots of self help doc and even pop up tips on damn near everything you have a question for. When that fail there tech support is by far the best i have dealt with in owning my company in the course of 16 years

Cons

Not a damn thing keep doing what you are doing team WHM!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ankit J.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool to manage your reseller hosting account

Reviewed 6 years ago

Basically WHM is a super awesome umbrella account for multiple hosting in your reseller. Or maybe if you have multiple websites and you want to easily manage those. Earlier before knowing about WHM, we used to keep a excel file for all cpanel access and its user name and passwords. Plus we had to buy each hosting account everytime when a client asked for. Life is quite easy for me after knowing about WHM.

Pros

Extremely easy to understand terminologies. Managing WHM is so easy, in terms of logging via cpanel and then any account in your reseller. Website management becomes so easy. Otherwise earlier we used to manage each hosting one by one.

Cons

User Interface can be improved a lot. It shows quite a many error and memory status while creating a new account. More advanced options should be provided in WHM to manage clients panel and if options are to be shown or not.

JL
AvatarImg

Josip L.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Run your own hosting business like a pro

Reviewed 4 years ago

WHM by cPanel is a must-have if you are running your hosting business. It seamlessly integrates with other services providing you with an extremely easy to use interface while also providing exceptional service to your clients.

Pros

With WHM it is so easy to create a new cPanel account for your customers. Just with the press of a few buttons, they get their username and password which is assigned to their purchased hosting package. The best part is that this can also be automated so you won't be losing time to some boring tasks like clicking through cluttered UI. WHM also allows you to monitor your whole server and see load and...

Cons

There are no many cons with WHM. If you chose WHM you are good to go with your hosting business. You won't regret it. But be prepared that it is not easy to setup. The average person could have some problems with the initial setup of WHM but once it is configured properly there should be no problems. The only problems I experienced are AutoSSL which fails to provision SSL to domains who are pointing to Cloudflare or similar services.

VJ
AvatarImg

Viktoria J.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best webserver management solution available

Reviewed 3 years ago

We used WHM and cPanel to host and manage websites we own. It makes management a walk in the park, as its GUI is a great way to deal with actions that would otherwise require using terminal and typing in endless commands. This way you can deal with most issues using their built in tools and features.

Pros

cPanel has the most features among the webserver management solutions we have tried. Not only is it feature-packed, the features are also well made and useful. cPanel's best feature, though, is the ease of use. Setting up a domain, installing WordPress, and managing files, databases, permissions, and metrics has never been easier! I also love the Softaculous installer that is compatible with cPanel.

Cons

The pricing system changed recently, and it is not as affordable as it once was.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best in class for Linux hosting!

Reviewed 5 years ago

If you have a linux server and want to be a webhost, good or bad, you need this. If you want webhosting, you want a cPanel/WHM platform. Made right here in Houston, this is the industry standard.

Pros

WHM is the software you want if you are going to be a webhost. It lets you spawn your customer cPanels and control each element from your WHM console. Also, it is a GUI for many of the more painful points of server administration that would otherwise be handled on the command line.

Cons

It is pricey! Worth it, but pricey. Also, the WHM software does have some difficulty with functions and DNS records either showing as complete but not working, or records like that getting "stuck" somewhere in the server's DNS zone. Also, management of a large number of cPanels can get daunting quick.

CK
AvatarImg

Corey K.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WHM is a very solid product

Reviewed 4 years ago

My experience with WHM (the product) has been very good. My experience with support has been very good. My experience with the new owners has been costly and nerve wracking.

Pros

WHM makes working with a server much easier due to having an interface for many common functions. This, in turn, saves a lot of time. Time is money, so...

Cons

WHM was recently acquired by some investment group and jacked the prices through the roof for a lot of people. Even for me, the rate increase amounts to $180 per year. For larger companies it was in the 10's of thousands of dollars and put some out of business. Not cool, and gives me a bad case of anxiety when I think about the future.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As far as I'm concerned, WHM Cpanel is the BEST solution for Server Hosting Management.

Reviewed 6 years ago

If you're running a web server, WHM is ten times better than the competition in my opinion...I've tried the others, and they just don't compare!

Pros

My server that I've had with my host company for well over 10 years now uses WHM/Cpanel. I love, love, love it. I've worked with other servers using other software, and by far, WHM is the easiest, most straightforward, and the most extensive. It's totally easy to find what you're looking for with the search box. WHM also integrates with many other pieces of server software making putting together a web server that can be managed simply a breeze.

Cons

I haven't really had any issues or cons that I've found with WHM.

DU
AvatarImg

Dennis U.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

cPanel/WHM is the Backbone of our Web Development Business

Reviewed 5 years ago

WHM gives us the capability to provide hosting needs to our many clients. It's very easy to use once set up and plays a critical role in keeping our clients happy with their websites.

Pros

cPanel/WHM has made it easier than ever to manage many, many websites. With our constant growth, it's extremely important that we can quickly add sites, manage site/server settings, limit profiles, etc. cPanel does all that and more and keeps all of our servers running smoothly.

Cons

There was quite a learning curve to learning and setting up the software, but once it is set up it is easier the ever to manage!

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Although there is room for improvement this is by far the best hosting management software available

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

WHM and CPanel are very powerful and with them, it's possible to manage pretty much every aspect of a hosting server without being a systems administrator. There are a lot of extensions available, and as the user base is large it's possible to find solutions to issues online quite easily.

Cons

The interface can be confusing and the way that options are grouped does not always make a lot of sense. The documentation often assumes extensive knowledge of systems administration.

TM
AvatarImg

Tapiwanashe M.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolutely amazing webhosting management software

Reviewed 5 years ago

This was our first option when we were starting our hosting services and it was just a great option such that it just became the only option, it's so great and has made managing accounts a breeze, this is definitely a great piece of software worth the money

Pros

I think the API is by far the best of this software, it allows a great deal of automation. The documentation is just so great and so detailed you probably won't get lost for both basic usage and API calls The User Interface is clean, you don't get overwhelmed which makes it easy to use.

Cons

Feature are split between multiple API versions, it'd be great if all those things could be consolidated to just one version that requires one method of calling that would definitely make life easier. It your internet connection is weak you may keep getting logged out

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Doug B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WHM is the definitive source for Apache web server access and maintenance.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easy of management of the Apache Webserver

Pros

Easy of use, secure, patched & maintained are just a few words that sum up this software. Running a production level Apache Webserver without WHM is not something that anyone wants to do. It's graphical interface is intuitive and well documented.

Cons

Some areas that drive me craze about WHM is NOT being informed when updates are going to happen and the lake of a good, reliable mobile application.

OO
AvatarImg

OLADIPO O.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy Website Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great experience using the application,i prefer to use than many other ones because of its flexibility

Pros

Makes website management and hosting easy for a beginner or person not IT savvy. It provides a better user interface for file management and also email functions.

Cons

The email capacity is smaller to have uses with heavy files or data. Then the security in place for email scams or theft is not robust

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Industry Standard

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

cPanel is the industry standard for web hosting, and has been great for us. Easy to customize each account, setup mailboxes, install packages, and monitor usage

Cons

Wish there was a way to create multiple cPanel/WHM users so that everyone doesn't have to login with the main account. And have the ability to apply 2FA to all accounts at once

DC
AvatarImg

Divaldo C.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good server control panel managment

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have several clients that use cPanel as a control panel and feel more comfortable using it so I keep this control panel in the server maintenance and management agreement.

Pros

Because it is a very popular control panel, most of the developers I work with know and prefer to use.

Cons

Prices are quite high analyzing the cost and benefit.

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very fast way to host a light wights and powerful web hosting

Reviewed 7 years ago

Really easy and fast web hosting and is light on the host and gives a lot of options

Pros

A really good system to keep Wordpress sites running on. Constantly updating and maintained with a lot of features to make sure it run the way you need.

Cons

Support can be really hard to get a hold of (luckily there is a lot of information out there) Might not be easy for beginners.

NK
AvatarImg

Naman K.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cpanel WHM is awesome

Reviewed 2 years ago

First of all cpnel support staff is very polite and helpful they alway with you beginners can also handle cpanel with the help of cpnel support.

Pros

All features are very useful personally i love cpanel

Cons

No need to do I think so or you beter known what should You improve you are perfect everywhere.

SK
AvatarImg

Sean K.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We use cpanel on multiple hosts for multiple uses

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It takes the guess work out of running CLI commands. It does it all for you so you don't have to worry about making mistakes.

Cons

Pricing models are a bit steep especially for smaller businesses. We don't host other people's web apps or web sites, just our own and the pricing model should be able to reflect that.