App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Zabbix Logo

Open source software for IT infrastructure components

(18)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Zabbix Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

87

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.94/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

site24x7
datadog-cloud-monitoring
solarwinds-n-central

Pros and cons

Free and open source tool with fully like commercial feature is the best reason to select this nice product for day to day monitoring.
Once this Software is installed, and configured correctly, it works as it should. Great for pro-active monitoring.
The newly designed web interface is user friendly and help in implementing and deploy with ease.
Some of the errors do not provide enough information to troubleshoot issues. Documentation regarding firewalls needs to be updated as some of it is several years old.
Lack of automated backend processing to keep the database tuned to peak performance.
Some of the data can be a bit intimidating, but that's really a user issue.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


87 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Grant W.

Senior Cloud Engineer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Pretty Good Monitoring Software.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Grant W.: Hi there. My name's Grant. I'm a DevOps engineer. I would give Zabbix a four out of five rating....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abhinav K.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A complete Automation Monitoring Solution for DevOps environment

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are monitoring the complete infrastructure with the Zabbix and implementing it with each new project we are working on. The agentless monitoring provides the advantage on some hand where installing of agent is not easy or possible. The newly designed web interface is user friendly and help in implementing and deploy with ease. Dashboard also provide the push notification to right user group about its issue and monitoring engineer can detect the root cause of the issue.

Pros

The new Zabbix 4.0 has significantly enhanced the dashboard and other graphical widget. The newly design time module selection also allows the word syntax for faster access to the metrics. Zabbix provides the mutiple modes like Kiosk mode & compact mode view to present the data in more efficient way. Zabbix 4.0 come with the new tag based permission which gives the flexibility to manage the access to user group. Zabbix community is increasing rapidly as it provides the complete open source enterprise level monitoring.

Cons

The only lack I find about Zabbix was documentation and lack of other online content, but after implementing it I find the official documentation is fair enough to implement as the pre-configure template are easy to deploy.

FC
AvatarImg

Faustine C.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A powerful, stable, flexible and customizable and extensible monitoring solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Zabbix caters for our monitoring needs and I am very happy with it. We can now monitor thousands of devices and hundreds of thousands to millions of items. The solution is stable and customizable to handle different monitoring needs of my organization.

Pros

Rich in features, a lot of possible Intergrations, out of box templates and multi-tenancy support, powerful API, supports most monitoring protocols for networks, servers, services, applications and IoT. Can monitor pretty much everything using standard protocols of custom scripts.

Cons

Initial setup requires a lot of work and a lot of optimization is needed in the long run. The documentation isn't so clear for first timers, especially when common issues arise during installation or post installation administration.

JG
AvatarImg

John G.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Customizable monitoring platform

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very good at tracking server inventory and offers a comprehensive alerting platform for any number of different scenarios.

Cons

Confusing and hard to set up. Training is a necessity in my opinion if you are going to get the best from this product

FN
AvatarImg

Franco N.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Zabbix monitoring tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

In my experience of use, this tool has helped me a lot to monitor my clients' infrastructures, in particular I have zabbix cloud installation templates (aws) and it is easy for me to make a first delivery, then according to the needs Customer configurations are made to monitor the services, it helps a lot to take preventive and reactive measures of the equipment listed.

Pros

- Easy installation on both linux operating systems - It has many templates for integration with networking systems - Complete infrastructure and web services tool - Very easy to modify according to the need of the company

Cons

- Delay in integrating with new services, such as the Slack tool and cloud services such as AWS - Difficult procedure to backup all configurations - Difficult process to migrate from one version to another - Does not have multiple MFA authentication

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty Good Monitoring Software.

Reviewed 5 years ago

pretty good so far however we are looking at Sensu.

Pros

We have been using Zabbix for the last 2 years to monitor a mixture of cloud and on-premise servers and it seems t work quite well

Cons

Setting up Zabbix was a bit of a nightmare but one setup it seems to function quite well.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emiliano Ariel V.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Monitoring tool for the Infraestructure World

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's the main app for get and store info about our infra. Several months are stored and we can get nice graphs.

Pros

Zabbix is a great tool for make monitoring on your infraestructure. You can get alerts based on hour, diferent metrics, a sum of problems like @high cpu usage on four servers" at the same time. This help us to get stats and make changes.

Cons

It's hard to understand the main concepts. There is no work on news systems like Kubernetes and autoscalation.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Belmin K.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favorite monitoring solution

Reviewed a year ago

My go-to monitoring tool for Enterprise.Creating infrastructures with one central Zabbix server and many Zabbix proxies sending data to the server.

Pros

Easy deployment, good documentation, good user interface and great features.

Cons

Some configurations might be difficult if you don’t read a lot of documentation.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gurleen K.

Information Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Zabbix - The Enterprise Level real time monitoring.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Zabbix is helping in to monitor the Application and Network. The best thing I like in it is the flexible dashboard which can be configure according to the need of the administrator.

Pros

Zabbix provide the enterprise level monitor. Network monitoring is every effective as it let us know the each packet loss rate and interface error rate with this it's each to check the network health and also monitor any changes in network like hardware removed or connected. Server Monitoring have feature to monitor the host and help in administration. It also provide the number of templates to monitor the all poplar Operating System. A large Zabbix community is also a plus point of it. Application monitoring is the best of zabbix as it have number of in-build template to monitor the Applications.

Cons

Most complex part of in it is implementation and configuration for dashboard. Learning curves are sharp as it have limited engineer that work on it. The master node can be setup only on Linux OS.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Vikas t.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keeping an eye on your infrastructure

Reviewed a year ago

Great experince

Pros

In order to guarantee your infrastructure's seamless operation and avoid downtime, monitoring is crucial. You can monitor crucial metrics like server performance, network traffic, and application health with tools like Zabbix and get alerts when something is off. You can do this to find problems early on and fix them before they become serious.

Cons

I did not get any cons but i think but setting it up and optimising it can take some time and a thorough grasp of the system.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Max S.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential for SLA & security monitoring

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've implemented Zabbix monitoring more than five years ago, and extended it nearly to all areas of our IT operations: it helped us to proactively identify and fix problems before our customers face those issues. With the help of Zabbix, our SLA is close to 99.997% (2018).

Pros

- Extensibility: you can add your own triggers and monitor nearly any aspect of nearly any system; - Integration with notification mechanisms (Slack, SMS, Telegram, Email) allows to deliver warnings to responsible person and eliminate the issue; - Affordable and widespread solution: you'll have no issues finding personnel to configure and support the solution in-house.

Cons

- The solution might look overwhelming to non-tech people at first, but it's still ergonomic.

OG
AvatarImg

Omar G.

Plastics, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good Tool to monitor almost everything everything in one place

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy Installation Implementation takes time. Adapting it to your environment and customizing it also requires some time, but in the end, it's something that's going to help save you from checking device by device. My experience has been very good, I have used many monitoring tools that have also been good but this is the one that has convinced me the most. It requires time for implementation but it is understood that it is a free tool.

Pros

I implemented the appliance with Ubuntu and if you follow the manual the installation is simple. A variety of monitoring resources can be added and triggers can be customized according to your needs. The dashboard gives you a very wide view of all the computer resources and gives you the possibility to prioritize in a more efficient way. You can create your own maps, review detailed graphs of resources, create macros and view the online information of all devices. In general, it is a very useful tool.

Cons

It takes patience and time to adjust the triggers so that it only shows you the problems that really exist in the infrastructure but once you adapt it to your needs becomes an ally to be aware of the resources and be able to react in time. When a problem arises with the tool, there aren't many forums and it requires you to invest time in finding the solution. In almost a year and a half that I have using the tool I have only had the monitoring stopped for a few hours because the service stopped, I found the cause looking in the forums and I could solve the problem.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Open-source enterprise grade monitoring solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

General purpose open source monitoring tool which provides a good starting point for day 2 operations.

Pros

It was very straightforward to get started using the software. Zabbix is open source monitoring platform and there are a number of different ways to quickly install the product. All that is required is a compatible linux distribution and persistence layer. I used Centos and PostgreSQL. A few commands later and I had Zabbix up and running. Our primary goal was to use Zabbix for network monitoring, although...

Cons

Lack of automated backend processing to keep the database tuned to peak performance. As mentioned before, if you need a custom integration, or a more complete integration for an existing solution, you'll need learn how to customize zabbix. Depending on your team's technical ability, this might be a challenging endeavor, as the provided documentation can be lacking. While you have the ability to generate reports, Zabbix doesn't support all file formats.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Todor T.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Seamless one-stop for any monitoring

Reviewed 3 years ago

For a cloud monitoring system, including custom processes and polls, it has proven useful in both monitoring and administration.

Pros

The customization of triggers. Easily configure any trigger like a watchdog for any process, event or other. Fast email delivery, integration with other collaboration tools. Fresh and clean dashboard (also configurable).

Cons

A more interactive dashboard. While you are watching it, there are intervals of refreshing the data, but I couldn`t find anything less than 15 seconds. Which, in all honesty is fine, but in a fast paced environment, it would be useful to have it "live-stream" without any delay. Especially in networking aspect.

CP
AvatarImg

Cody P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superior Infrastructure Monitoring

Reviewed 6 years ago

Zabbix allows me to provide better service up-time and stay ahead of any encroaching issues through my entire multi-cloud infrastructure.

Pros

Zabbix is very flexible and can support just about any monitoring scenario. I have been using it since version 1.8 and it has helped me be proactive in solving issues before they arise. It is the single most useful piece of software I use day in and day out.

Cons

The learning curve can be a bit steep for new users. Especially those lacking programming or linux skills. Grasping the concept of writing trigger expressions can take a while; but they are very flexible and powerful.

Gk
AvatarImg

Gaurav k.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best software to monitor Servers

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Zabbix hepls in network monitoring, server monitoring, and many more. It helps a lot in server monitoring by giving configure alerts on time. It shows servers stats in many forms like graph, chart and e-mail alerts. It is also very cost-effective.

Cons

zabbix documentation is very challenging. Sometimes i will find the Zabbix documentation difficult to navigate or understand, especially for advanced use cases. I suggest to improve a liitle bit to understand.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for free and extremely powerful

Reviewed 7 years ago

So to start off, it's tricky to complete the initial setup. Once setup, great for cloud monitoring and data logging. There's 100s of pre-built sets of monitoring for linux and windows. We use this to monitor 100+ individual SQL instances and 8+ Windows cloud servers.

Pros

Very powerfull once configured Lovely php based gui Almost infinate amounts of host templates to import User based views, also via LDAP Alerts Network maps Graphs (for the managers)

Cons

Tricky to perform initial installation Some templates may require 3rd party plugins from github

AG
AvatarImg

Anton G.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Monitor all the things, on a budget.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Proactive monitoring of servers and infrastructure.

Pros

Free and FOSS keeps the cost down, so that's good. It can monitor so many things - servers, switched, sensors. Alerts can be configured to be sent to the right personnel and at the right times. Worth the effort to get it setup.

Cons

The effort to get it setup can be a bit much, depending on the devices that you need to monitor. For example, IPMI can be a challenge.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniela E.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tremendously brilliant and excellent Network Performance Monitoring tool.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Enables ease to monitor our organization servers performance.Enables ease to carry out root-cause analysis.

Pros

It's a reliable tool for analyzing and monitoring our organization network performance.It's simple to identify and mitigate network performance issues with Zabbix.It's simple to receive instant notifications and alerts when issues network performance issues arises.

Cons

I haven't experienced any downside with Zabbix as it suits best all my needs.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eunice E.

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Zabbix the most Delectable, profound and Omnious website monitoring Tool.

Reviewed 2 years ago

The tool prevents my servers storage from running out of space and it is flexible as it keeps on evolving and adding new features to meet all our needs.

Pros

It makes it simple to monitor and track network performance. It instantly sends alerts incase there is a problem with our servers. It can be gotten for free.

Cons

The tool meets all my need for me to find a dislike.

MF
AvatarImg

Mike F.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A flexible and powerful open source monitoring powerhouse

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of implementing plugins and extending it to our use cases

Cons

Does at times require diving into its documentation for certain things

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eder S.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Steep learnig curve

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is feature rich and very stable. It's an amazing solution

Cons

It's a bit hard for those who are new to Zabbix.

ML
AvatarImg

Mustafa L.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Watching your network grow

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Easy to add and manage and draw your network appliance.

Cons

Ui could be more nicer to look and feel.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Carlos Andres R.

Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Zabbix review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's a very important tool when I've many server running in our infraestructure.

Cons

That needs a deep kwnoledge to setup that.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My experience with Zabbix

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like the flexibility and ease-of-use of Zabbix, an open-source monitoring and alerting system. It's highly customizable, enabling organizations to adapt their monitoring and alerting systems to their unique requirements. Additionally, it's simple to set up and use, even for non-technical users, making it easy for them to manage their monitoring systems.

Cons

I have no negative feedback to give about this tool, as it satisfies all our requirements.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

network monitor for my business

Reviewed 6 years ago

with a single tool you can manage the alerts in the different components of the business network, versatile and easy to use.

Pros

Impressive tool for monitoring the network and servers of the company, with a very intuitive dashboard, easy programming of alerts for hardware and software, such as the operating system and database, real-time log management.

Cons

The log must be integrated into a SIEM, for the management of cybersecurity events