Actionstep Features

Actionstep

More headspace for what really matters

4.33/5 (109 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Accrual Accounting
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Archiving & Retention
Automatic Backup
Automatic Billing
Billable Items Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Built-in Accounting
CRM
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Case Management
Case Notes
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Communication Management
Compliance Management
Configurable Workflow
Conflict Management
Contact Database
Contact Management
Contract/License Management
Court Rules-Based Scheduling
Credit Card Processing
Cross Ledger Posting
Customer Database
Customer Statements
Customizable Fields
Customizable Forms
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Deadline Management
Document Automation
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Document Templates
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Management
Expense Tracking
Fee Calculation & Posting
File Management
File Sharing
For Family Law
For Legal Professionals
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Legal Case Management
Microsoft Outlook Integration
Multi-Location
QuickBooks Integration
Receipt Management
Records Management
Recurring/Subscription Billing
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
SSL Security
Search/Filter
Secure Data Storage
Staff Calendar
Status Tracking
Summary Reports
Task Management
Task Progress Tracking
Task Scheduling
Third Party Integrations
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Timer
Timesheet Management
Trust Accounting
Two-Factor Authentication
Version Control
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Accrual Accounting
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Archiving & Retention
Automatic Backup
Automatic Billing
Billable Items Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Built-in Accounting
CRM
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Case Management
Case Notes
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Communication Management
Compliance Management
Configurable Workflow
Conflict Management
Contact Database
Contact Management
Contract/License Management
Court Rules-Based Scheduling
Credit Card Processing
Cross Ledger Posting
Customer Database
Customer Statements
Customizable Fields
Customizable Forms
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Deadline Management
Document Automation
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Document Templates
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Management
Expense Tracking
Fee Calculation & Posting
File Management
File Sharing
For Family Law
For Legal Professionals
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Legal Case Management
Microsoft Outlook Integration
Multi-Location
QuickBooks Integration
Receipt Management
Records Management
Recurring/Subscription Billing
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
SSL Security
Search/Filter
Secure Data Storage
Staff Calendar
Status Tracking
Summary Reports
Task Management
Task Progress Tracking
Task Scheduling
Third Party Integrations
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Timer
Timesheet Management
Trust Accounting
Two-Factor Authentication
Version Control
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Accrual Accounting
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Archiving & Retention
Automatic Backup
Automatic Billing
Billable Items Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Built-in Accounting
CRM
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync
Case Management
Case Notes
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Communication Management
Compliance Management
Configurable Workflow
Conflict Management
Contact Database
Contact Management
Contract/License Management
Court Rules-Based Scheduling
Credit Card Processing
Cross Ledger Posting
Customer Database
Customer Statements
Customizable Fields
Customizable Forms
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Deadline Management
Document Automation
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Document Templates
Electronic Payments
Electronic Signature
Email Management
Expense Tracking
Fee Calculation & Posting
File Management
File Sharing
For Family Law
For Legal Professionals
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Legal Case Management
Microsoft Outlook Integration
Multi-Location
QuickBooks Integration
Receipt Management
Records Management
Recurring/Subscription Billing
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
SSL Security
Search/Filter
Secure Data Storage
Staff Calendar
Status Tracking
Summary Reports
Task Management
Task Progress Tracking
Task Scheduling
Third Party Integrations
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Timer
Timesheet Management
Trust Accounting
Two-Factor Authentication
Version Control
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Mobile apps

iOS App


1 review

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Android App


9 reviews

Actionstep Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Actionstep's features:

John T.

One year after launch and we love Action Step

2019-04-05

We use it as a total case management solution.

Pros

The app is also good, but primarily for calendar, contacts, and posting time.

Cons

No integration with Adobe Acrobat like there us with Outlook.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Richard S.

Actionstep evaluation

2019-07-15

We've been able to somewhat streamline our practice administration, and we like how all case information can be contained in one place

Pros

e-mail integration is easy and seamless highly customizable excellent document management

Cons

steep learning curve weak online training materials requires a consultant to truly make it work our version does not yet sync with Quickbooks

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Richard - thanks for taking the time to review Actionstep - it's great to hear such positive comments about email and document management. I just wanted to acknowledge your comments on training. We are working on improvements to our on-boarding materials will most certainly use your feedback to improve training. I will ask someone in our our support team to get in touch with you about your Quickbooks Sync. Thanks again and do get in touch with our support team anytime you need help: support@actionstep.com

Read more
Anonymous
lawyer (Law Practice company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

The Jury is still out ...

2018-02-06

Pros

As far as document management goes, it’s very good.

Cons

Always seeking to fob you off to expensive third party service providers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ashley S.

Decent legal software

2020-07-28

We keep track of our time better, and thus bill more.

Pros

The customizable workflows are nice, though there is a bit of a learning curve to implement them.

Cons

But some of the others, like the ones that look at time entries or payments by clients, are difficult to understand.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Ashley,

Thank you for such a positive review.

Great to hear you have utilized Actionstep to make your firm more efficient and thus more billable time.

We understand our product is comprehensive and it sounds like you have started to customize it to your needs.

In regards to your custom reporting - I have put in a request to our Customer Success Manager who can help you create the reporting you require.

Thanks

Read more
Brahm D.

Actionstep still the best but not yet perfect

2020-10-16

I get the most satisfaction when I get a new client and need to create a document that I have set up document assembly for, and am able to generate in seconds a document that would have taken an hour or more to create manually.

Pros

Document assembly tools are the most powerful of the many cloud based law practice management systems I have looked at.

Cons

Options for integration with accounting and invoicing software is fairly limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Brahm,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

Its great to hear you are saving hours using our Document Automation functionality!

Should you ever have any questions or would like to learn how how to get even more out of Actionstep, please do not hesitate to contact our customer success or support teams

Thanks

Read more
Malinda J.

Lots to love about this program

2017-03-06

) - Contact records that exist independently of cases but may be linked to cases -- so updating a contact applies changes across the board - Newsfeed-style case notes with tag options to identify notes as "important," "call," etc

Pros

) - Contact records that exist independently of cases but may be linked to cases -- so updating a contact applies changes across the board - Newsfeed-style case notes with tag options to identify notes as "important," "call," etc

Cons

- Challenging initial setup (customization of features) - Cumbersome process to unlock encrypted zip files after backup request - Previous difficulty with calendar integration caused problems with client scheduling and has made us skittish about returning to use of the calendar, even though we see this as a high-value feature of ActionStep

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katherine L. T.

Great product . . . gets better all the time.

2018-10-02

Information is so much easier to find in Action Step than in the program we used before. The search function is powerful.

Pros

The Enhanced Billing Module was vast improvement over the previous billing capability.

Cons

The creation of a "workflow" is very complicated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Law Practice company, 1-10 employees)

ActionStep - Great Product for a New Cloudy World

2018-11-19

Excellent. Has made us a very efficient and effective firm, and that was important for a start-up.

Pros

Could-based (no servers needed). Document management.

Cons

Interface with Xero is a bit clunky.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Deirdre W.

Very happy with the system, easy to use and very intuitive and good support

2017-05-04

Saved money and improved efficiency and file management

Pros

The system is very good value for money and you are not locked into an annual contract.

Cons

Apart from setting up standard letters and templates which take some time to master and do not have the time to learn at the moment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Thank you Deirdre

Read more
Anonymous
(Law Practice company, 1-10 employees)

Great Productivity Tool but Additional/Improved Integrations Needed

2020-08-03

Pros

The timekeeping functions, file notes, and overall organization into workflows are tremendous features.

Cons

Gmail/G-Suite integrations are lacking.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi,

Wonderful to hear your firm is seeing tremendous results from Workflow within Actionstep. It's a common theme of from firms to see similar benefits once they dive into Workflow.

If you do have specific requests or suggestions, please do not hesitate to email support@actionstep.com so our product team can assess them in light of upcoming development.

Thanks

Read more
Chris L.

Good functionality ....

2019-04-06

Very efficient and it’s great having a management system that does everything from CrM to workflow to back end integration with Xero

Pros

The Cloud based nature so I can work anywhere, the ease of billing and integrations with Microsoft’s office 365.

Cons

The ability to code templates (complex) and the average nature of existing templates, the user guide needs to be adapted to family law add on, and ongoing support is expensive using contractors

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tony F.

The best all in one workflow management system around

2017-11-17

This software has allowed me to simplify management of my business, keeping all of the information I need to operate in a single location.

Pros

Everything from the initial client contact through to completion of services, incorporating a single place to track all project related emails, time tracking for employees, easy billing process, tracking of invoices, creditors, production of financial reports, outstanding billing reports and numerous other customisable options.

Cons

The only downside I can think are that it is a little expensive (but then I am only a sole trader now not working full time, so if I was working this business full time then I would probably feel differently on this factor) It is generally easy to use, but maybe not as intuitive as programmes like Xero or MYOB, but that said I feel this system does a hell of a lot more than they do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rafat S.

Quality process creation and automation software

2019-10-31

The positives far outweigh the few negatives, it's a good and fruitful process automation software.

Pros

It's good all-in-one-place legal process management with simple ways to assign tasks to partners and associates and to set proper workflows.

Cons

It's not the most user-friendly software to work with, it takes time to get used to.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Rafat- thank you for your review. We are glad you were impressed with the software.

It sounds like you've customized Actionstep to your ways of working.
We appreciate it is a highly customizable system and we do understand that this means it can take quite a bit of time to get up and running. We are constantly looking to improve our product and greatly appreciate your feedback.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact our support team (support@actionstep.com)

Thanks

Read more
Angela Y.

Actionstep one stop online package

2015-03-12

Action Step helps us efficiently manage all our franchises with advanced functions such as workflow management, accounting and payroll management.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peter M.

Peter Mericka - Long-term Actionstep User

2021-10-06

Over the years since I first signed up with Actionstep it has moved with the times, constantly improving but also constantly delivering the tools, staff satisfaction and safety that regulators, staff and most importantly clients have come to expect.

Pros

The ability to build my practice management system my way, using tools available within Actionstep and also through the integration of other applications.

Cons

I mention this because I came to love the ability to create a unique email address for each and every matter, but I do acknowledge that the need for higher levels of security is the reason that this feature had to be retired.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Peter,

Thank you for your fantastic review. Its great to hear after all these years Actionstep continues to grow with your firm.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact our customer success or support teams should you have any questions.

Thanks

Read more
Lisa D.

Actionstep has been a fantastic software tool for our business.

2017-08-28

The entire team knows exactly what's going on in any case with the click of a mouse.

Pros

Love how everything relating to a client emails, documents, notes, calendar is all in one place.

Cons

Wish we could have faster upload/download times for documents. But that could be a function of cap of internet speed in a rural area.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bruce F.

Excellent Practice Management Tool

2021-04-20

I believe this is one of the best practice management programs available at a reasonable cost.

Pros

I have found that the combination of file management, ticklers, calendar and ability to operate across the law firm by our users was very helpful

Cons

As an Internet cloud-based program it is subject to the rims of the various Internet providers use across the firm. That being said, in four years I have only had one problem which lasted more than half a day, and it was probably addressed by customer service

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Bruce,

Thank you for your response - Great to hear you are seeing the benefits of Actionstep across your entire firm.

Thanks

Read more
Jean R.

Great for start-ups

2015-03-12

Client and matter management, accounting and invoicing are easily set-up.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bob M.

Cloud legal practice management with the functionality of premise-based applications

2015-03-13

Views can show filtered lists of cases, tasks, or appointments that need your attention.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer M.

Incredible program!

2019-04-29

Pros

Actionstep makes it easy for multiple team members to monitor client matters.

Cons

I need to be able to draft "visually appealing" statements that span the entire service of a matter and have not been able to find a place in a/s to do that.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ozzy O.

Actionstep Workflows

2020-02-25

Since Actionstep is completely cloud base and accessed via a browser we were able to deploy it to all our remote locations without the need of installing and maintaining software.

Pros

Having the ability to customize it via workflows is a huge advantage for us.

Cons

The home screen dashboard can use some design updates with relevant information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Thank you Ozzy, great to hear you found the transition from Time Matters very positive. We love to hear users making the most of our customizable workflow as well.

If you have any questions - please don't hesitate to contact our support team on support@actionstep.com or in our in-app chat.

Read more
Scott M.

Effective and Efficient Law Practice Management

2016-08-26

Pros

I track all of my time and do all of my billing from Actionstep.

Cons

- I would like a place to track mileage for business expense reimbursement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Actionstep

If you're not very computer savvy, you will probably need some training on this. Also, I've chosen only to move my active matters over the Actionstep, and for me that's a manageable task because I'm very small. I imagine any normal practice would have to enlist them for data migration because it is quite tedious.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leslie B.

A slower learning curve that completely pays off in the end

2019-12-03

The integration between its web forms (you create forms in Actionstep then you just plug 'em into your site), the app, and documents is a huge time-saver.

Pros

I also love the (again, customizable) matter lists so that I can see at a glance where each of my cases is and what's coming up.

Cons

The help section--the old user guide is still the most helpful thing (even though out of date for some things) but it takes some digging to find it. Also, I wish it did contingency fees more directly, but the work-around isn't bad. Finally, I really hate the help chat tool being always visible in the lower right. I'd rather go to a contact AS for help page than have that thing lurking there, but that's a minor complaint.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software



Hi Leslie

Thank you so much for your response.

We are so happy to hear you have dived into Actionstep and made the most of its customizable features. Thank you for your feedback concerning the help section and the chat, we are gathering feedback and looking to make these work great for everyone.

It is also fantastic to hear how you have been using integrations across Actionstep to help you transform how you run practice.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact our support team (support@actionstep.com)

Thanks

Read more
Nigel M.

Powerful and flexible practice management

2021-11-02

I have used the product extensively over the last 5 years and would happily recommend it as a platform for legal practice management

Pros

I have used the product in a number of different law firms and have been involved in the setup for those firms. It is easy to use and easy to adapt to your own requirements

Cons

I have no adverse comments as I have not found any aspect of the software to fall short of what is needed

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tausha R.

Just Okay

2020-02-24

Pros

This was my first practice management software.

Cons

Sometimes the software has glitches and looses things like notes that you put on the scratch pad.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Tausha, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and I'm very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

To address your feedback; we have expanded our customer service team and have prioritized chat responses.

If you have any more feedback we would love to speak to you and see what we can do to help. Please contact our support team at support@actionstep.com

Thank you again for your response

Read more