Actionstep Pricing Plan & Cost Guide

Actionstep

More headspace for what really matters

4.33/5 (109 reviews)

Actionstep Pricing

Starting from: $49.00/month

Pricing model: Subscription

Actionstep is offered across three pricing plans, outlined below.
Express: $49 per user/per month billed annually
Practice Pro: $89 per user/per month billed annually
Practice Pro+ Accounting: $99 per user/per month billed annually

Free Trial

Competitors Pricing

Zola Suite

Starting from: 59.00/month
Pricing model: Free, Subscription
Free Trial: Available

Captorra

Pricing model: Subscription

CoCounselor

Starting from: 85.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription

MyCase

Starting from: 49.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available

Actionstep Pricing Reviews

Pros

  • The system is a great concept. Great robust software that, if working properly, would allow practitioners to set up what they want by way of workflows and templates for each practice area.Andrew G.Read the full review
  • The great strength of Actionstep is its flexibility and the ability to be quickly adapted as the business requirements change.Roger L.Read the full review
  • The search feature is fantastic, I like the website design, I like the customer service.Kelci D.Read the full review

Cons

  • There are no workable precedents in my field (conveyancing – I also pay $49 for the add on). I found errors in the documents and some documents are out of date (by a number of years - and versions).Christopher C.Read the full review
  • Wonky, outdated interface; poor email integration, and terrible customer support. Clio and Zola Suite both really outshine ActionStep by a mile.Tyler S.Read the full review
  • I do not have an 'accounts' menu. The software has bugs and Actionstep are incapable of fixing them.Andrew G.Read the full review
88%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague

25 reviewers had the following to say about Actionstep's pricing:

Carol W.

Lots of Customization options, but lacking some basic common sense

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-15
Review Source: Capterra

Mixed. A number of positive features, but also a number of time consuming and expensive issues to set it up and keep going, and almost "TOO" much for our needs, since it is missing some simple features.

Pros
For a small law office, there is a lot of potential to customize the matter setup and use different workflows. Also as a supervisor there is complete transparency so I see everything my support staff is doing, I like that the system does a complete backup of saved documents and matters. The Home page is very workable. And the timekeeping functions are good. I also really like the Microsoft Outook integration, even if I keep having to reboot it.

Cons
First, something simple. Make an "out of office" message available through the email system. When I set this up on my outlook, then even though it is integrated, if the client sends an email directly through the Actionstep platform,they do not receive that out of office message. Second, the billing system is not user-friendly. First, the billing templates are a lot harder to set up than they should be, even with the pre-made templates. Second, the trust accounting is difficult to integrate into the bills. Yes, it is there but not in a way that is client friendly. Third, this is so simple I fail to understand why it isnt in place. Make some simple billing features automatic like the ability to print aging on a bill. They have a form for it but it just looks weird! And why shouldn't you just be able to carry over onto a new bill in an easy way. Other case management software has this in a very easy format. Also, when we upgraded to the new billing format there are some ongoing and permanent glitches that make my bookeeper's job harder. Finally, this is a costly system compared to some others in the legal field. And we have received word that the cost is increasing. We will be in the process of reviewing other options. We may decide to stick with Actionstep since there are a lot of good features, but we don't feel strongly enough to keep it with a price increase down the road, even if we are "grandfathered" temporarily. We hired a consultant to help us get it set up.

Response from Actionstep Software


Carol - thanks for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate your positive comments about Actionstep - particularly regarding transparency and Microsoft Office Integration. You have a number of suggestions which I am going to take to our product development team - hearing feedback like this is really helpful for us in planning out future product development work. We will be in touch with you directly to discuss these further. Thanks again.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review

Tausha R.

Just Okay

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-02-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This was my first practice management software. I liked the price and the ease of the setup. Since this was my first experience, I don't have anything to compare it to.

Cons
Sometimes the software has glitches and looses things like notes that you put on the scratch pad. If there are multiple windows open with the program, it doesn't always save the information that you enter on one page. Customer service is absolutely terrible. There aren't clear cut customer service hours and I can NEVER reach anyone by phone. If I'm lucky I will get a response via chat a few days later. I am looking to make a change.

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Tausha, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and I'm very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

To address your feedback; we have expanded our customer service team and have prioritized chat responses.

If you have any more feedback we would love to speak to you and see what we can do to help. Please contact our support team at support@actionstep.com

Thank you again for your response

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review

Jennifer H.

Great Features with Not So Great Service

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-07-15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it's been a decent system. There is room for improvement, but ultimately it does give you a lot of customization for a better price than a lot of cloud based services out there.

Pros
You can customize it according to your needs, including custom reports and exports. It's easy to use on a daily basis and has an attractive platform that is well organized. It has it's own document storage, so you don't have to use two different programs/services to get it to work (such as box or another doc storage service) It does conflict checks and syncs with e-mail so you can assign e-mails as you send/receive them to the matter they are relevant to.

Cons
The customer support is terrible. Response time has been poor. When there is a response, it typically is, refer to the on-line manual. My spouse is an IT person, so I'm fairly computer program savvy. So I don't contact tech support unless I've gone through everything in the manual and tried everything I can think of first. When that is met with "look at the manual" it's beyond frustrating. Once we get past that, it usually doesn't take them long to get the issue resolved or walk me through what needs to be done to achieve the goal. Also, in order to use the macros letters/documents where information auto-populates from your case into the letter or document, you pretty much have to be a computer programmer to get that to work.

Response from Actionstep Software


Jennifer, thanks for your feedback.

[Updated Aug 2020] -

Over the last year, we have focused on improving our support teams response rate & the quality of their responses. We now see upwards of 90% positive feedback after customers have dealt with our team and strive to improve that even further.

We apologize you had a poor experience with our team. If there is anything we can do to help you get the most from Actionstep, please do not hesitate to contact our team.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Julann T.

Actionstep Review

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-04-04
Review Source: Capterra

Really good - I would recommend them and have done so to other colleagues.

Pros
Excellent value for money. Easy to use and responsive customer service.

Cons
Setup costs were restrictive to me so I did it myself and I am unaware of some features!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Joe B.

Actionstep is a powerful practice management solution, but that power comes with its own challenges.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-02-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Actionstep is nearly infinitely customizable, and its orientation around workflows offers great promise for automating certain routine tasks. The user interface is logical, and each screen is packed with the information you would expect to see. The layout minimizes unnecessary keystrokes and scrolling to find the most important information related to a case or a contact. Document automation works very well. Likewise, time keeping is straightforward and easy. Recent upgrades have improved the billing process significantly.

Cons
Power comes at a price, in this case in the form of time. Actionstep is not an application for the faint of heart or those unwilling to devote significant time to onboarding and setup. Many users may find a consultant necessary to complete that process.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Arthur L.

Need big improvement in billing system!!!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-12-04
Review Source: Capterra

I used Actionstep in my previous company and it seems pretty good. However, after increasing the price, actionstep has not improved a lot and the billing system is still not work very good. At the beginning I have asked for Actionstep partner for help. But they did not come back - so I set up the actionstep by myself. It seems some of the function cannot be fully utilised.

Pros
the display of the program is good and some of the support team is quite responsive

Cons
The invoice system is terrible as it is not able to add it back to the matter. Further, the invoice system does not accept other currency billing method - this must be changed asap. Other CRM can amend the invoice on the matter file - not like actionstep need to download and upload the documents manually - that's ridiculous

Response from Actionstep Software



Hi Arthur

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

We have made significant upgrades to our billing since this review and hope you have had the opportunity to try them. Additionally, we have recently released our Lawpay add-on which should help amend some of the issues raised here.

Addressing your questions around implementation, our support team is available to answer any queries you may have to make the most of our software - support@actionstep.com

Thanks

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Tony F.

The best all in one workflow management system around

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-17
Review Source: Capterra

This software has allowed me to simplify management of my business, keeping all of the information I need to operate in a single location. When I was employing staff it recorded all of their time against the relevant projects, reported taxes due, kept all client details, kept a record of all projects I had undertaken, allowed me to look back on projects to aid in costing of prospective projects.

Pros
That you are able to operate your whole business on the one platform. Everything from the initial client contact through to completion of services, incorporating a single place to track all project related emails, time tracking for employees, easy billing process, tracking of invoices, creditors, production of financial reports, outstanding billing reports and numerous other customisable options.

Cons
The only downside I can think are that it is a little expensive (but then I am only a sole trader now not working full time, so if I was working this business full time then I would probably feel differently on this factor) It is generally easy to use, but maybe not as intuitive as programmes like Xero or MYOB, but that said I feel this system does a hell of a lot more than they do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Bruce F.

Excellent Practice Management Tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2021-04-20
Review Source: Capterra

I believe this is one of the best practice management programs available at a reasonable cost.

Pros
I have found that the combination of file management, ticklers, calendar and ability to operate across the law firm by our users was very helpful

Cons
As an Internet cloud-based program it is subject to the rims of the various Internet providers use across the firm. That being said, in four years I have only had one problem which lasted more than half a day, and it was probably addressed by customer service

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Bruce,

Thank you for your response - Great to hear you are seeing the benefits of Actionstep across your entire firm.

Thanks

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Jinny S.

This product does everything that we were hoping for!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-08-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I think I trialed almost all of the major case management software companies out there and this company blew all of the others out of the water for me. The product is reliable and does exactly what we need. Before we purchased this product I had to do most of my work manually and things would slip through the cracks. This product has resolved that issue. I also love the document generation feature and how deeply the product integrates with Microsoft Office Suite. Not having to type each document from scratch saves so much time! I personally enjoy how highly customizable the product is. I'm constantly pleasantly surprised to find new features it has that make my life easier. Some may complain that you need a third party firm to get you off of the ground and running, but I set up the entire system for my team by just reading their User Guide and talking to customer support. The price was another selling point for us. We're a local county government agency operating on a small budget so this price tag works well within what we could afford. The customer support is phenomenal. They try very hard to make their customers (or potential customers) very happy. Having our cases in a secure cloud means that we can work from anywhere which has greatly improved the way that we work. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking to get away from paper files and who wants to learn how technology can make your life easier and more organized.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Great if you have time to customize

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-17
Review Source: Capterra

The ease of keeping track of the lifecycle of our matters makes this well worth it. I spent hours following the tutorials on how to customize it to tailor it to my specific practice. But I think they purposely make them a little vague so you'll have to resort to hiring a consultant to tailor the program. Overall it's totally worth it, but I wish it was more user friendly to customize myself.

Pros
This software is an elegant solution for volume practices that categorizes matters in useful and dynamic ways, and is interactive so you can keep track of the progress of each individual matter.

Cons
It's expensive to customize because you have to pay for a consultant to work with you on it.

Response from Actionstep Software


Thanks for your review, and I'm happy to hear your likelihood to recommend Actionstep is 8/10.

I did want to clarify that we definitely don't try to make our tutorials vague. Our customers vary from IT Managers within larger firms, to solos, so it's a fine balance between making our guides too technical, and making them user friendly for all our customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Deirdre W.

Very happy with the system, easy to use and very intuitive and good support

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-05-04
Review Source: Capterra

Saved money and improved efficiency and file management

Pros
Can see progress at a glance. Homepage displays work done and alerts. The accounts package is comprehensive. The system is very good value for money and you are not locked into an annual contract.

Cons
There are no cons that I can comment on so far. Apart from setting up standard letters and templates which take some time to master and do not have the time to learn at the moment.

Response from Actionstep Software


Thank you Deirdre

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Lisa D.

Actionstep has been a fantastic software tool for our business.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

We've benefited from more sophisticated CRM as well as automating tasks associated with each step in a workflow. The entire team knows exactly what's going on in any case with the click of a mouse.

Pros
Love how everything relating to a client emails, documents, notes, calendar is all in one place. Plus reasonable cost even for small firm. We like integration with gmail.

Cons
We're waiting for integration of accounting software which is the last piece of the puzzle. Wish we could have faster upload/download times for documents. But that could be a function of cap of internet speed in a rural area.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Malinda J.

Lots to love about this program

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-03-06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I recommend ActionStep to other law firms. It has vastly improved our office workflow, and the various customizable features enable our employees to address clients' needs more efficiently. The ActionStep support staff are accessible and responsive to any challenges we face, whether they involve addressing problems or learning how to implement new features. What we love: - Workflows that are customized for different types of cases - Customized tasks that are automatically assigned to particular employees - Case dashboard: the "one stop shop" for all basic info related to a case (employees involved, clients, other important players in the case, calendar appointments, notes, etc.) - Contact records that exist independently of cases but may be linked to cases -- so updating a contact applies changes across the board - Newsfeed-style case notes with tag options to identify notes as "important," "call," etc. - Document folders with powerful search feature to easily locate documents - Integration with MS Office (Word, Excel, Power Point, Outlook) that allows case data to be merged into documents and e-mails and allows users to assign e-mails to cases - Ability to create letter and other document templates that pre-populate cases - Document portal that allows clients and other parties to securely exchange documents with the firm - Fantastic support staff and easy-to-follow tutorials The most challenging aspect of ActionStep is the initial setup (hence my three-star rating for "ease of use"). There is no sugar-coating it: the downside of all those wonderful customizable features is that someone in your organization has to do all the customizing. It's a lengthy process, and the initial data migration can also be time-consuming, but the friendly support staff are available to assist throughout the process. For us the end result has been well worth the challenging setup process. The ActionStep developers are constantly working on improvements to the program, including ways to make it integrate with other types of software and responding to users' suggestions. Occasionally the updates cause hiccups in the system, but they are typically short-lived. We genuinely appreciate the drive to improve the product and the responsiveness to users' wishes.

Pros
- Workflows that are customized for different types of cases - Customized tasks that are automatically assigned to particular employees - Case dashboard: the "one stop shop" for all basic info related to a case (employees involved, clients, other important players in the case, calendar appointments, notes, etc.) - Contact records that exist independently of cases but may be linked to cases -- so updating a contact applies changes across the board - Newsfeed-style case notes with tag options to identify notes as "important," "call," etc. - Document folders with powerful search feature to easily locate documents - Integration with MS Office (Word, Excel, Power Point, Outlook) that allows case data to be merged into documents and e-mails and allows users to assign e-mails to cases - Ability to create letter and other document templates that pre-populate cases - Document portal that allows clients and other parties to securely exchange documents with the firm - Fantastic support staff and easy-to-follow tutorials

Cons
- Challenging initial setup (customization of features) - Cumbersome process to unlock encrypted zip files after backup request - Previous difficulty with calendar integration caused problems with client scheduling and has made us skittish about returning to use of the calendar, even though we see this as a high-value feature of ActionStep

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

larry p.

user friendly

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-04-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the ability it has related to tracking of client base. It allows customized grouping of data and simplifies reporting. The best part is the integration with MS Word.

Cons
The checks for cost filter is not user friendly and has difficult learning curve. It is also a bit pricey, but other than that there are no real cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Graeme T.

Five Years On

Reviewed 2016-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

Five years ago I had what many thought was a mid life crisis when I upped stumps from a firm where I was the longest standing partner and decided to go alone. The first decision this IT illiterate had to make was what software would I use to help run my new firm. I considered everything from a bureau service to a server based system . By luck I chose ActionStep. At that point I had 2 users neither of whom had any experience with a cloud based system let alone ActionStep. Next month I will have 10 including my wife and our accountant Fortunately for us we had a dream run with ActionStep and every day we find another feature which helps us run an efficient and profitable firm . For a 50 (odd) year old who before he went it alone was still completing time sheets manually the software has been a breeze to operate and better still a highly effective low entry and ongoing cost option

Response from Actionstep Software


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, Graeme.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Chris L.

Good functionality ....

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-04-06
Review Source: Capterra

Very efficient and it’s great having a management system that does everything from CrM to workflow to back end integration with Xero

Pros
The Cloud based nature so I can work anywhere, the ease of billing and integrations with Microsoft’s office 365.

Cons
The ability to code templates (complex) and the average nature of existing templates, the user guide needs to be adapted to family law add on, and ongoing support is expensive using contractors

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Regan P.

Perfect for expanding businesses.

Reviewed 2017-03-24
Review Source: Capterra

Mine is a small firm that needs to keep an eye on overheads, but operate as efficiently and flexibly as possible. Actionstep has proven to be the perfect platform for us. It is easy to use, and the workflows can be adjusted easily as our needs change. In addition, the team at Advantage BA are always on hand to carry out additional training or provide support. I have used many more complicated and expensive platforms, and would not consider returning to them.

Response from Actionstep Software


Thank you the kind feedback Regan.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Damien H.

Catastrophic customer service and lack of common sense - too bad, it's a promising software

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

Given these problems, we are preparing our exit. It is an economic disaster for us (losses in implementation and losses on invoicing).

Pros
Powerful and easily editable workflow engine. Really. Mass billing features. Customizable fields. Extremely powerful templating.

Cons
Bugs in invoicing and accounting made me lose a lot of money. Despite corrections, some invoices do not appear at the customer level and we work in files with open balances. It's very stressful, too. Money flows are case centred, not customer centred. This is highly problematic (retainers go on a case and not on the client, so you have to open X tabs for X cases opened in this client to make sure you are not going to send an invoice to a client who has provisioned you...). User acceptance is difficult. It is complicated to require changes in workflows and field fills (this is not the responsibility of Actionstep, but don't think it will run by itself. You will need to coach your employees). Customer service is catastrophic. I screamed for help when the system started to double-deduct (!) the retainers. It took 4 months to get a solution. In the meantime, I have continued to lose a lot of money. I have doubts about their financial strength, since six months after I started using the software, I received a notice of license increase. When I asked for some help to switch to a cheaper license, I was told that it would not be possible to keep my data (!!!!).

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Damien, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and I'm very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

To address your feedback; we have expanded our support team and our support processes. We now have in-app chat direct to our team to help troubleshoot any issues that arise. Additionally - we have made numerous improvement to simplify our software.

Thank you again for your response

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review

Sharon W.

Actionstep review

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-04-05
Review Source: Capterra

We like the software itself. We have been using it for approximately 6 months and are in the beginning of phase 2 where we are starting to develop our work flows for each action type. We are anxious to learn how to build the processes so that we can begin doing things ourselves instead of paying the consultant to do it. I am not overly confident in the knowledge of our consultant so I feel that at times we are overpaying for the time he spends looking for the answers to our issues and helping to train us on how to do things.

Pros
The ability to create workflows and automate some of our processes

Cons
The lack of after hours tech support and if our consultant is out of town or busy we have to wait to resolve issues that come up. We pay for every phone call to get assistance so the install and the ongoing support has been very expensive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

The Jury is still out ...

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-02-06
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
As far as document management goes, it’s very good. Cloud based, with a dynamic interface, it offers a refreshing change from LEAP desktop.

Cons
Accounts stinks. Enhanced Billing Mode. What’s so enhanced about it? The level of support from AS is generally poor. Always seeking to fob you off to expensive third party service providers. Get your act together AS and listen to the pleas of support from your users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review

Natalie W.

Our firm uses Actionstep's workflows to increase efficiency & deliver better value to our clients

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-21
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to increase efficiency & deliver better value to our clients because we have built automated tasks, checklists, templates, data collection, and deadlines at every step of the process. We know in advance which team member will complete the tasks, and we have peace of mind that nobody will miss anything. We can gather data about our files and make decisions based on real insight into our firm, rather than gut-based guesswork.

Pros
Actionstep allows you to build custom workflows that you can use to manage any aspect of your practice. We believe in workflows so much that we dedicated an entire podcast episode discussing our experience with another lawyer obsessed with workflows too. We have over 50 workflows that help us to structure processes within our tax-litigation files, as well as for administrative matters, such as asking for client testimonials. We give our team peace of mind that nobody will miss anything as we have built in automated tasks, templates, checklists, and deadlines at every step of the process. We can make sure that the most appropriate team member performs each task. The workflows are also a great resource to help train new team members because we created detailed descriptions of how to complete each task with links to our internal knowledge base to give team members additional support where needed. In addition to custom workflows, Actionstep also allows you to gather custom data so that we can make more informed decisions.

Cons
Actionstep is unique and sophisticated. However, Actionstep falls behind its competitors and is underdeveloped in some key areas, such as budgeting capabilities, template user experience, graphical displays, mobile applications, and reports. Prospective users should not underestimate the commitment and resources required to build workflows and implement Actionstep. Building workflows requires time, money and, most importantly, grit. Not everyone is ready to make this investment in the future of their firm. Although you can outsource the technology aspect of inputting the workflows to the system, you need people within your firm identifying the steps and tasks that you want to build into the system. We are a very process-driven law firm with a lean focus, so Actionstep is perfect for us, but if you aren't familiar with process mapping it can be a daunting task. When you get over the initial investment of mapping your processes, you will see first-hand how quickly Actionstep improves your firm's ability to grow and deliver better value to your clients. We hope that Actionstep will continue to develop its product to address its limitations and bugs. Actionstep has promised that it is working to address the concerns that our firm and other users raise in the LinkedIn user forum and UserVoice feedback. We hope that Actionstep continues to improve the product, and we look forward to more progress. If so, we expect to continue to use Actionstep for a very long time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Don C.

An Above Standard Process-Based Solution for Services

Reviewed 2015-04-08
Review Source: Capterra

Actionstep offers to users the possibility to focus on the added-values activities by automating other ones. Anything recurrent can be captured and standardized, enhancing efficiency and decreasing the risk of mistakes. It requires time to get accustomed to it but once it is done, it works very well and the support service is truly reactive and helpful. Also, Actionstep listens to its customers (e.g. via user groups) and dedicates time and resources to innovation (useful plugins), which keeps it and its users, few steps ahead. I would definitely recommend it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Susan H.

Too expensive, too much work involved

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-12-12
Review Source: Capterra

I spent a long time deciding on Actionstep, and in that time the monthly price doubled. Apparently because it was an immediate start process and I could do everything myself. $139/month and once signed up it turned out that without putting my business on hold and spending one month setting it all up myself i was left in the same position as previously - paying an Actionstep provider to do it for me, with my input to tell them what to do. Plus the higher monthly fee. I spoke to 3 provider companies and all were charging more than $5,000, and the day I stopped paying my AS subscription all that work would be lost. So getting off the ground is fairly prohibitive, unless you dont actually have any business and the time to do it. Within AS the email system didnt really ever work and involved a lot of double handling and diverting and didnt address any of the automated email issues we needed. The invoicing in AS does sync with Xero but you have to send invoices from Actionstep - so you need to build a new template, then you cant add a Stripe pay now credit card link for people to click on, (and theres no alternative product available in Aus) and you cant do a basic, include-and-show GST calculation on the invoice. Incredibly frustrating. Customer support they would get back to me within 24 hours, often to say no, or "thats coming in the next upgrade". I lasted 2 weeks and after about 5 days total work with minimal progress I decided Office 365 could do all the same and more.

Pros
The potential - it seemed like it was going to help me automate and streamline

Cons
The level of set up involved. The subscription basis meaning time put in not retained. The email functionality - non existant. The integration with Xero - very minimal and wont do the same standard of invoicing. The support in WA - customer support online not bad, although timewise for WA meant they were responding when I wasnt at work. When I requested local support they kept sending me to interstate firms. One very helpfully said he would fly over and solve all my problems - it would take three days plus travel from Qld - in the vicininty of $10,000

Response from Actionstep Software



Hi Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and I'm very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

We take pride in our software but understand implementing any CMS like Actionstep does take some time and effort.

We have thoroughly revised and expanded our onboarding processes for Express customers such as yourself - meaning a much more structured & documented implementation lessening the need for a small business to employ an implementation partner.

Once again, we are sorry you didn't get the most out of Actionstep. If you have any questions or to see how we can work together, please do not hesitate to contact our team at support@actionstep.com

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

Catherine B.

This software is extremely difficult to use. It pretty much requires programmers to manage.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-07-12
Review Source: Capterra

None. It turned out to be too hard to use. When I wanted to move to a different software, I could not export any emails.

Pros
Nothing - I found it was more trouble than benefit. The software claims to manage emails, and it will manage them as long as you stay with that software. If you want to change to another software, you cannot retrieve your emails.

Cons
The description of using "work flows" sounds like a very good and useful idea. It is not. The company wants users to hire a "partner" company to set up the software or purchase pre-programmed workflows from third party vendors. "Partner" companies are extremely expensive, if they return your call at all. You pretty much have to hire a third party company to program the software just to use it. As far as I can tell, the workflows are so detailed that you will spend every minute typing data into the software system instead of doing legal work. When I got rid of the software, none of the thousands of emails flagged into the system could be exported into another system. It was very difficult to transition away from the program.

Response from Actionstep Software


Hi Catherine. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and I'm very sorry you haven't had a great experience.

In response to your points you raised:

Actionstep allows you to export all of your data at any time, including e-mails. You can read more about this on our user guide. Data is exported in a standard format, but unfortunately it is beyond our control as to whether or not this information can be imported into another system.

Actionstep is a highly customizable system and we do understand that this means it can take quite a bit of time to get up and running. However, the time you spend up-front tailoring the workflow to your needs will pay back over and over again in the efficiencies you will gain. We do understand that not everyone has the time to learn a new system and that is why we have a network of trained consultants that can assist.

We will be in touch to discuss this further and see what we can do to help. Thanks again for the feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Bob M.

Cloud legal practice management with the functionality of premise-based applications

Reviewed 2015-03-13
Review Source: Capterra

The breadth and depth of Actionstep's features are quite impressive for a cloud-based SaaS (Software-as-a-Service) product. Its functionality can compete with the best of the premise-based practice management programs, and it has the "any time, anywhere" advantages of a cloud-based system. It offers unlimited custom case fields by practice type, so you can automatically have a statute of limitations field in a PI case and an Estate Plan Type in an Estate Planning matter. All fields can be used to merge documents and emails(!) using Actionstep's internal merge function or HotDocs. Your standard tasks and document/email merges can be created automatically as the case proceeds from one step to the next, so that when a bankruptcy case is filed a letter to the client with the 341 meeting date, time, and place is created automatically. Views can show filtered lists of cases, tasks, or appointments that need your attention. Any of these lists (think PI cases that have outstanding medical records requests, overdue high-priority tasks, or all court dates in the next 30 days) can be emailed to you automatically each day so you can prepare for your day if you schedule the email in the morning, or the next day if you schedule the email at night, without having to log into Actionstep. Because Actionstep has such a wide range of features, it can be challenging to configure it for your practice and to learn how to use it, but that's true whenever you compare a program with more functions (think Word) to one with fewer functions (think Notepad). If you don't need the additional functionality, stick with the simplest solution that meets your needs. But if you do need the additional functionality (case management, document/email management, billing, and accounting), then you may want to consider hiring a consultant to guide you through the implementation. (Do you prepare your own tax return or do you hire an accountant?) Full disclosure: We are an Actionstep Certified Consultant/Partner. There's nothing else on the market that has Actionstep's range of functionality in a cloud-based practice management system that can be configured for the specific needs of different practice areas, and tailored to an individual firm's practices and procedures. If you're looking for a complete end-to-end practice management solution, especially if you don't want the cost and potential headaches of a local area network, you should take a look at Actionstep.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review