App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Rocket Matter Logo

Write a review

Legal Practice Management & Time and Billing Software

(6)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Rocket Matter Features

Features Summary

Functionality

4.1

/5

200

Total features

96

9 categories

Rocket Matter features

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accounting Integration
Accrual Accounting
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Archiving & Retention

Common features of Time Tracking software

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting Integration
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Attendance Tracking

Price starts from

49

/user

Per month

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Screenshots

Contenders comparison

Functionality

4.1

/5

200

Price starts from

49

/user

Per month

Total Features

96

Unique features

  • Tax Management

  • Cross Ledger Posting

  • Reimbursement Management

  • Real-Time Data

Functionality

4.6

/5

648

Price starts from

37.95

/user

Per month

Total Features

62

Features in Common

41

Unique features

  • Financial Reporting

  • Bankruptcy Case Management

  • Project Costing

  • Core Accounting

Functionality

4.4

/5

683

Price starts from

39

/user

Per month

Total Features

103

Features in Common

85

Unique features

  • Court Records Search

  • Bank Reconciliation

  • Timesheet Management

  • Built-in Accounting

Common Rocket Matter comparisons

Reviewers who mentioned features said:

SS
AvatarImg

Steve S.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome in the cloud practice management service!!!

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our law firm has been using Rocket Matter since 2012. Moving to the cloud was a bit of a learning curve for some of our staff, but they quickly caught on. Since then we have continued to grow in our overall usage of Rocket Matter features and functionality. As a result our firm productivity has increased greatly - particularly in the areas of capturing time and expenses. This in turn has improved...

Pros

Ease of use. Available across numerous platforms. Accessible anywhere there is internet connectivity. UI appearance (aesthetics). "Spotlight" search and Advanced Search functionality. Customizable invoices (MS Word document format). Responsiveness of app/software. Friendly customer service reps who assist us with questions or issues that may arise.

Cons

Initially the reporting capabilities were rather limited in Rocket Matter, but have only improved steadily. Recent additions such as the advanced analytical reports are proving to be very useful tools for the firm owners to monitor the practice's "metrics".

CH
AvatarImg

Catherine H.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for the Sole Practioner

Reviewed 3 years ago

Rocke Mmatter streamlined our billing process so that what used to take 4-5 days per month (I kid you not) with Quickbooks Professional for law offices , now takes a few hours.

Pros

1. Keeping track of time I think is the bane of all attorneys no matter how large the firm. I love that I can open a timer and save the work and come back to the same time if I get interrupted - which is always! 2. I love the client portal component and so do my clients, well with the exception that they frequently forget their log in information and have to obtain that from me. 3. Billing and payments are super easy. 4. The reports are easy to use.

Cons

1. That there is no email component that integrates the calendar with email. I wish the new text feature wasn't so expensive. For solo practitioners I just can't see that there is a good cost/need or want ratio. 2. I imagine if I wanted to get the most out of Rocket Matter it would take hours of me going through tutorials to fully understand all the functions. I really need to explore the document prep section. 3. Kanban - what is it for?

JR
AvatarImg

Jason R.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Adequate but not spectacular. Could use more flexibility.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Convenient to check billing on individual matters to make sure projects are staying on budget.

Cons

There is no much dashboard customization available to users of the software. The options under dashboard settings are limited to "Calendar Centric" or "Task Centric." My firm does not use either of the calendar or task functions of Rocketmatter, so this is all wasted space on the dashboard. I would prefer the ability to use some of this space to show more information about my running timers. Also, when you open the list of running timers, not enough of the matter name is displayed. It becomes difficult to differentiate between different matters without opening up the individual timers.

Vendor response

Jason, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced some frustration with Rocket Matter and would love the opportunity to make it right! Our matter dashboard widgets can be rearranged however you like, giving you the ability to prioritize your information for each matter. We will also pass along your feedback regarding the timers to our engineering team since we're always looking for ways to improve our product. If you ever need assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@rocketmatter.com or call us at 888-432-1529. Thanks again!

GW
AvatarImg

G Ware C.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not just for Mac Users

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software does all it claims to do and does it well.

Pros

Many years ago Rocket matter was brought to my attention as a billing, time management and accounting tool for Mac users. Since then it has grown and has outgrown its reputation as a Mac program while not outgrowing its utility for Mac Users. My assistant uses a PC running Windows. My accountant works on Linux and everyone communicates flawlessly. I spend 80 percent of my work time on my iPad Pro...

Cons

Every now and then I make suggestions to Rocket Matter and its features. I would like to complain but RM in fact listens to its clients.

Vendor response

Thank you for the kind review! We are thrilled to hear you have been happy with Rocket Matter and look forward to our continued partnership!

MC
AvatarImg

McKenna C.

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Rocket Matter makes my and my clients' lives easier

Reviewed 7 years ago

I love that I or my staff can look up anything we need to know about any case whenever we need to when a client calls; when we are on the go; or when working from home or on a trip. Uploaded documents and linking emails to a case on Rocketmatter makes every case file easy to find and use no matter where I am. It's like my whole filing cabinet is with me wherever I need it. And notes make digging through...

Pros

Easy to use, keep everything organized, keeps me on track, increase communications between staff and attorneys, mobile.

Cons

The iPad app is very glitchy; two-way calendar syncing with iCal has long been difficult if not impossible; Syncing calendars with Google cal is glitchy; billing for large insurance companies (LEDES for example) is difficult; and the software can be slow at times depending on your access to high speed internet.

JH
AvatarImg

Jennifer H.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Search Contact

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good, it is nice to be able to call and get help right away and if they can't help you they will get back to you pretty quickly

Pros

The different features that you can do and the support

Cons

When you search someone that is only a contact, nothing comes up, you have to search to the left under the contact section. I wish you could just start searching and it will show the contact. It shows activity but not the contact. Of course it lets you click on the contact when it has a matter associated with it I just think it would be better to search it from there. We never use the contact thing on the left of the screen

JM
AvatarImg

Jodi M.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great program for Solo/Small Firm setting

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have been using Rocket Matter for the past 4 years and have been extremely satisfied with it. In my previous big firm life we used a billing system that wasted more time than it saved and we didn't even use a case management system. Starting my own firm I knew that I wanted something better that would streamline my practice. Rocket Matter filled those needs, plus some. The billing side of Rocket...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JL
AvatarImg

Joan L.

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great program

Reviewed 3 years ago

Tracking case status calendar and billing entries all in one is great

Pros

The ease of use for billing entry and tracking calendar events is flawless

Cons

It defaults to the current date which is slightly annoying when you are entering time for a prior date

Vendor response

Joan, Thank you for the kind review! We thank you so much for being such a loyal, long-time Rocket Matter user and look forward to our continued partnership!

EK
AvatarImg

Elizabeth K.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pretty Easy Use For A Solo Practitioner

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it's a good product that I'm happy to continue using.

Pros

I like the customization I can build into my invoicing, including being able to generate pre-bills as a Word doc and then modify on the fly if I need to. I also encouraged a colleague to sign up and customer service was able to help her learn the produce and use it in her practice.

Cons

I wish the desktop client were more responsive when it comes to reminders. I don't always have my desktop client open and I don't get calendar reminders (i.e. remind me 1/3/7 days ahead of an event). I wish those reminders could push to the app or be set up to generate an email reminder (the way you can have Gmail send calendar reminders via email)

CR
AvatarImg

Christian R.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience has been a super positive one. I have worked at places that did not have a billing system like this and it required some guesswork as to how much I worked on a case or to pull out a phone or stopwatch to log hours. This has made it much easier.

Pros

I like that it is easy to use. I can get where I want to easily. I find what I need to easily. It makes logging hours an easy task instead of an annoying one.

Cons

I really cannot think of any complaints. At prior jobs, I did not have a software system like this to use. There is nothing else to compare it to for me. But I just know that this one is easy and user-friendly.

RS
AvatarImg

Rachel S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Case Management Software Hands Down

Reviewed 7 years ago

My firm has been with Rocketmatter since early 2011. I have looked and dabbled in other case management softwares but we just keep finding that Rocketmatter is the best fit for our firm. The user interface is so easy even the most untechnologically savvy person can use it! Just this past week Rocketmatter called me to tell me we were eligible for discount. Things like that and the CONSTANT updates to keep the software at the cutting edge for attorney purposes is why we will continue to stay with Rocketmatter.

Pros

easy user interface link to quickbooks and lawpay client portal

Cons

If a client forgets their portal password I have to call Rocketmatter to have it reset.

RA
AvatarImg

Rusty A.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Decent software, slow development.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it’s been ok, I feel like I’ve had enough use to stay but do not plan to renew my contract again.

Pros

This software has served its purpose in my practice for several years. I’m able to track my matters and handle billing in a straightforward way.

Cons

I find the reporting functions to be difficult to use and understand, the client portal is one-way which isn’t helpful, there is no e-signature function and credit card and ACH cost more to use. It’s not worth the money when comparing to competing software.

mg
AvatarImg

melissa g.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Rocket review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Still new, but its easy to navigate through. I trained myself. I was using CLIO prior to this firm.

Pros

seems easy to keep client billing and recording payments.

Cons

searching for certain documents that have been uploaded into client files. User has to remember what client /matter a certain doc was uploaded. To fix this issue, how about being able to do a dashboard search for the document?

Vendor response

Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced some frustration with Rocket Matter. Our search functionality does in fact allow for users to search for documents. Please be on the lookout for an email from our support team so we may discuss how we can help give you a better experience with our product! Thanks

SP
AvatarImg

Sara P.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent customer service

Reviewed 8 years ago

I love the customer service and the ability to access my documents from home or share with clients and my office staff. It is very convenient. It also makes invoicing very quick. The ability to integrate with Law Pay is nice also.

Pros

The customer service is excellent. My issues are always resolved very quickly and if I have any questions about how to use the software, I am always given step by step guidance.

Cons

I wish you were able to select who to share a document with as you were uploading it, rather than having to go through two separate steps.

AG
AvatarImg

Aaron G.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and full of features

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and setup. Customer service has been great and responsive. Also the cost for what it does is reasonable.

Cons

There a ton of integrations that RocketMatter has, but most require their own subscription. So the cost of this is only the start. From my research, all of the practice management software requires other software and most of that software requires a subscription.

LS
AvatarImg

Liisa S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rocket Matter is great case management software

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been very good which is why we have stuck with them for 7 years now. It is especially highlighted for me now that we also have a CRM software. We have had 2 different CRMs and neither one of them had the easy standard reporting features of Rocket Matter. I would consider using RM if they had a CRM.

Pros

I love the reporting features that are built in. It makes it easy for me to find data about the operation of the business. It is very easy to run invoices and track time.

Cons

It is difficult to pull reports that are not standard part of RM package. The RM team has helped us device a way to do so but it is still clunky. It also took approx 20 hours of my staff time working with RM team to make it possible to add interest to client invoices. It something that should be standard in any case management software that does billing.

RV
AvatarImg

Rogelio V.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rocket Matter is everything you need. And it is Great!

Reviewed 8 years ago

Rocket Matters (RM) is everything you need for your law office and most other practices. My company has been using it since around January 2013 and we are very happy with it. Before I have used ProLaw, Clio, and Abacuslaw but RM blows the others out of the water.

Pros

You can upload documents to every matter/case you have. You can put in transactions. This is specially useful so that any user can see what has been happening in the case. It is also very easy to read unlike ProLaw/Abacuslaw. The system feels clean and clutter free. The system is very easy to use. Adding documents/notes/transactions/billing is very useful. We love that we are able to add tags to matters. Very often you have case numbers, family members that are a part of the case but the name of the case is in someone else's name. Without these it is very difficult to match some correspondences to their cases. There is a build in time you can use to assist you with billing for what you are doing. RM is very easy to teach to new staff. Most things are self explanatory.

Cons

Very few. Sometimes when they redesign the system it can take some getting used to. But this is true of every program out there. And even then they give you over 30 days were you can try the new design and still go back to the old one if you have trouble with it. Sometimes the system can be slow. However this can be a combination of the computer and internet speed. Sometimes you can't duplicate case names. Which makes sense in a way since you don't want to confuse it with another case and make an error, but too often client's have the same name.

JR
AvatarImg

Jessica R.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for a small law firm

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've loved using this product, it's simple and keeps my firm organized.

Pros

Many features with Rocket Matter are similar to other software out there. I've sat through a lot of tutorials while considering making a switch, no reason in particular, just wanted to know if there was something better available. I will say the one thing I love about this product is it is very user friendly. Functions and features are consistently being added to make daily tasks easier. Our firm practices...

Cons

I wish there was a way to track who put something in at what time, and if it was deleted or edited, who and at what time that happened. Would also love more integration with case law sites or software and possibly a way to save said case law to certain matters for easy access in the future. File storage seemed to be the main issue I noticed while looking into other products, however, for the price of Rocket Matter, what is offered is understandable.

TP
AvatarImg

Tracie P.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Billing is so much easier!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall Im very pleased.

Pros

The ease of batch billing and notifications to client. Our previous software was awful and did not include blast emailing to customers. Now that we have switched back to RM my billing is being done regularly and clients are not missing invoices.

Cons

Recently I needed a report run for a client and I was not able to easily get the information I needed.

BR
AvatarImg

BARBARA R.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rocket Matter Support Team can't be Beat!

Reviewed 8 years ago

Although I feel that there are some features that could be adjusted or tweaked to make better, I gave a resounding 5 star rating to the service team there and would have given more if available. When I hit a road block, 9 times out of 10, the team there gets it "fixed" while I'm on the phone, within minutes, (I do like being able to talk with a human quickly for most problems). If the issue is one that is a bit more complicated, they do not hesitate to get help from someone who has maybe been there longer or might have had the issue come up before. And, they are always willing to "put suggestions" in front of the developing team. They always work with you on your level and can put it in words that anyone can understand.

Pros

That I can get help anytime I need it. Again, hats off to a great support team!

Cons

the calendar . . . I wish it was easier to enter events without having to go back and forth between the calendar and the event screen . . . that you could enter multiple events on the same screen . . . I wish that there were more color categories . . . We use outlook calendar and cannot sync with Rocket Matter for this reason. We use different color categories for mediations, hearings, etc. And, combine those categories with the attorney/people attending each. Do not like that you have individual "blocks" if more than one person is attending the same event.

BA
AvatarImg

Brennan A.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Affordable and User Friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, Rocket Matter combines the best features of case management software at a more affordable rate than their competitors.

Pros

Rocket Matter makes it very easy in our law practice to do new client intakes, use cloud storage to create digital versions of our files, keep real-time notes, check for potential conflicts, message within the office, reconcile our bookkeeping, send payments, and merge documents all in one place.

Cons

It would be helpful if the app had more features, such as messaging. The app shouldn't be a substitute for the desktop but I think the app could use a few upgrades.

PC
AvatarImg

Peggy Clarie S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rocket Matter the spine of our business

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software serves as the hub of the law practice. It manages case process billing and our document assembly. Very functional, great value for money and easy to use

Cons

The connectivity to rocket matter via web can sometimes be down. I believe it is a server issue and they are working on it.

MR
AvatarImg

Meghan R.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent for Small Firms

Reviewed 3 years ago

As an associate in a small firm, this is an optimal way for me to gauge both my active/billable work, as well as the "behind the scenes" and administrative work that is required in a small firm. It has been helpful to see when and where billable time can be lost to logistics and administration, which allows for tweaks and, ultimately, more billable hours.

Pros

The Rocket Matter platform is both intuitive and easy to use. For our small firm, the ability to not just log and track hours and expenses, but also to generate invoices and bills is extremely useful and efficient.

Cons

If I were to suggest anything, it would to establish a smoother connection with programs like Chrometa, to allow for an easier integration of passive billing (meaning, to allow all activity to be logged then allow for edits--rather than manual input). This is clearly a concern that would also require improvements on other platforms, as well.

KM
AvatarImg

Kammy M.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pelts, McMullan, Edgington & Morgan a secretaries review.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have only had positive experiences with Rocket Matter. The chat support is amazing. I love that the classes that you offer and the help videos.

Pros

There is so many things it hard to pick one that I am going with time savers. The dashboard saves me lots of time by having so much information in one place. The reoccurring billing and email links for payments are huge. Also, the merge documents have made my job so much easier.

Cons

Related contacts has helped us tremendously. However, it would be great if we had the option to link or not link their invoices. If the clients owe for different things, It gets confusing separating the amounts once they are added together.

HD
AvatarImg

H. Douglas S.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rocket Matter = Single Most Important Decision I Made When Starting My New Firm

Reviewed 8 years ago

When I started my new practice, North Coast Legal, PLC, there were many decisions to make..... phone systems, billing, case management, location, staffing, etc..... I could not be happier with my case management/billing choice in Rocket Matter. I am more organized than I have ever been, I don't miss a $ of billing opportunity, my Invoices are complete, accurate and very professional. I.... Can't..... Recommend.... Rocket Matter... .Enough! Top notch product. Top notch customer service. Continuing to launch new, value added features.

Pros

Billing = $. Rocket Matter keeps me organized and allows me to not miss a billing opportunity. The interface is excellent.

Cons

Although the I-Phone App is good, there are some features missing from the PC interface. I wish there was a faster way to input payments of multiple Invoices. Right now too many steps. I've expressed this concern to Rocket Matter and based upon their track record, I fully expect they will address the issue.