Tabs3 Pricing Plan & Cost Guide

Tabs3

Law practice management suite for law firms

4.66/5 (145 reviews)

Tabs3 Pricing

Pricing model: Subscription

Please contact Tabs3 directly for pricing information.

View Pricing Plans Free Trial

Competitors Pricing

DirectLaw

Starting from: 49.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

WaiverFile

Starting from: 15.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Diligent Entities

Starting from: 15000.00/year
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

TM Cloud

Starting from: 100.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Tabs3 Pricing Reviews

Pros
  • I love how easy Tabs is to use and just like the name, all you have to do is TAB through the entire invoice. It's very easy to navigate and when you need to make changes it's super easy.Verified ReviewerRead the full review
  • The integration is seamless and the Financial reports are the best; Trust accounting is perfect and will keep your State Bar very happy with the level of detail.Louise R.Read the full review
  • If you do not understand how to do something or how to fix something done in error, the Knowledge Base is usually very helpful but if you call for help it is always super fast and super helpful.Jennifer W.Read the full review
Cons
  • If you make a mistake on your entry, it can be difficult to locate and correct if you work in a large office.Melissa P.Read the full review
  • I don't like the fact that once you create an invoice and save it if you realize you messed up and put it under the wrong account number, you can't just fix it and delete it yourself.Verified ReviewerRead the full review
  • We have no use for PracticeMaster, yet it is necessary to integrate with our Worldox file management software.Luann M.Read the full review
95%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague

25 reviewers had the following to say about Tabs3's pricing:

Angie Poulin

Great for Price

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-09
Review Source: Capterra

I very much like the program

Pros
Very easy to use and price was right for our size firm

Cons
There are little things that could be done to make things easier that cheaper program offer, there could be more free/inexpensive training and/or training groups

Response from Tabs3 Software


Angie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! Please contact Technical Support for help submitting your wishlist, and keep an eye out on our newsletter and mailings for available webinars. We appreciate your feedback very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

David Simmons

Product and company you can count on

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The Price was reasonable and the software is stable and reliable.

Cons
PM is Difficult and expensive to use in the cloud. Will not work on VPN.

Response from Tabs3 Software


David, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! There are some options for cloud usage, however you're correct in that we don't recommend VPN in a lot of situations for performance reasons. If you need to discuss options, Support would be happy to help. - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Don Grady

Use It, Love It, Recommend It

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

I keep everything about my business in Tabs3, PracticeMaster and the Tabs3 Financials. When I am out of the office I get to my data with Tabs3 Connect.

Pros
It is feature rich (can do everything I ask it to do) and is easy to use.

Cons
Very little not to like. Even the price is surprisingly OK. They don't want to be the most expensive - just the best.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Don, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it very much. - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

David Danielson

Excellent Product and Support

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-11-07
Review Source: Capterra

Support some of the best I have ever experienced. Vey helpful and patient. I have had occasion to call them a number of times and regardless as to which person I reach I am always impressed.

Pros
Pricing, ease of use, and support.

Cons
None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Kristy Lowery

TABS3 - Awesome

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-10-13
Review Source: Capterra

TABS3 Billing System is very user friendly. I am the Firm Administrator of a small law firm that has several different practice areas. We use TABS3 for all our billing, G/L, Accounts Payable, TaskBill and Trusting Accounting needs. We are extremely satisfied!!

Pros
User Friendly. Great Customer Support. Reasonably priced

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Julie Payne

I highly recommend Practice Master and Tabs3

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Practice Master and Tabs3 provide easy to use case management, conflict check, management of client funds and billing, and capture of billable time. I have used it for over 10 years and appreciate the low maintenance, cost, and dependability of this product.

Cons
I began my law practice without a high level of computer/technological skills. Practice Master and Tabs3 has considerably more capabilities than I am able to utilize with my limited tech skills. The tech support necessary for me to learn to utilize the other components costs more than I want to pay.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Julie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! There is a library of training videos out on our website that may be helpful for learning more of the product. - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Sandra Cooper

The Tabs/PracticeMaster family of software is tops!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-09
Review Source: Capterra

We can get almost any report that we want in the Tabs3 software, already there and ready to go with many user options.

Pros
It is very capable software for the price, and the software company that writes it bases many of their upgrades on enhancement requests from actual users.

Cons
As it has grown more sophisticated, the non-platinum software has become slower and the integration with Outlook 365 keeps dropping the PracticeMaster add-in.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Sandra, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Highly recommended

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-09
Review Source: Capterra

I am currently in the process of updating all my systems and they have been amazing to work with. Everything I have asked for has been completed.

Pros
Although there is a learning curve, this software is able to do everything I need. The other Tabs systems all integrate seamlessly which allows for less time wasted.

Cons
There is a learning curve. It isn't an expensive system, so the cost shows in some of the functionality. There is way more offered than you actually use so it's not as user friendly as it could be.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Cynthia Hattier

TABS3 is an excellent product because of the functions and price.

Reviewed 2016-10-13
Review Source: Capterra

Our firm has been using Tabs for over 16 years. I must confess that I was disappointed when we began to use the product, but it has improved every year. It is now an excellent product because of the ease of use and price.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Louis Volpintesta Jr

Great Time and Billing Program

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use. Excellent support. Very Fast database program.

Cons
Nothing to not like about this program. I think that it is a great value.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Louis, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback. If you do think of something you'd like to discuss, Support is always here to listen! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Angela Falco

We've come a long way in two years

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-03
Review Source: Capterra

The largest problem we have been able to solve using Tabs3 is being able to apply our numerous client billing guidelines against all fee entries as they are being entered by the timekeepers into PracticeMaster.

Pros
I like the seamless integration and the cost.

Cons
The learning curve was much greater than expected. We had a week of onsite training after installation, and it was nowhere near enough. We ultimately had a weekly, sometimes daily, telephone conference with Tabs3 support and after four months of that, we finally had a good grasp on the terminology to be able to function within the program and make it work for us.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Angela, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate all the input we've gotten from you and Shana over the last couple of years. - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Patty Parsons

Class Action Law Firm

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-19
Review Source: Capterra

I really like the software because I can pull time and expenses quickly. I had another firm ask how come I can quickly get the information needed out of my system. I recommended this software to them and sent them your information.

Pros
It captures cost and fees in one easy to use program

Cons
The software does not allow the AP system to populate name and address from Tabs3 to issue client settlement checks. Class action firms represent many clients in the same case. When a case settles I have to print client name and address then type the same information into the AP program to issue checks. Being a class action firm we do not bill clients for fees and cost. I need the capability to bill and track cost to individual partners in the firm who then pays for the cost. This billing needs to be on a percentage basis.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Patty, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, and for recommending us! We appreciate your input, and I'll forward your request for populating client information into APS to our product development team! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Unethical business practices. Maintenance is a not good. Poor treatment of customers.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It does what it is supposed to do. I use Tabs3 for billing and for keeping track of my client trust account. It has many useful features and reports.

Cons
They had very bad service when it comes to maintenance. The software is not very user-friendly, first of all, so you're likely going to need technical and/or customer support. I've been using it for nearly 10 years, and this is how they treated me: I paid the same price for maintenance for the first three years, and everything was fine. Then they decided it was time to start gouging me. Every year, the price went up. The service I received was exactly the same, but they decided to charge me more and more for it with each passing year. I asked them to please lock me in at a rate, and that I was willing to sign up for a long-term commitment, but they refused, insisting that I pay more with each passing year. Over a 3-year period, the price went up by nearly 100%. Eventually, I terminated my maintenance plan to keep my office costs down. After a year off, I decided to pay for another year of maintenance, hoping to start at a fresh, low rate. But the opposite happened-- they not only quoted me an even higher rate than before, but THEY TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE PREVIOUS YEAR (the year in which I received no maintenance services) in order to get them to agree to provide me with maintenance again. WOW. Money for nothing. That's not just sleazy, it's unethical.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Katrina Anderson

Great software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-03
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using it for over 20 years. It is easy to learn and use for new employees. Improvements and updates are helpful and easy to install.

Pros
I use everything except for PracticeMaster. All the components work well together and allow me to manage our firm effectively and efficiently. We use the report writer for customized reports, the trust account manager for managing trust accounts.

Cons
The cost of maintenance and the increased cost to platinum are a little more than what I'd like to pay. We have not moved to platinum for this reason. It might make sense to other firms, but for us, the cost is not worth it.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Katrina, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much. Please don't hesitate to reach out to Technical Support for any questions you have! Thanks again! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Laura Carlson

Excellent Product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-02
Review Source: Capterra

I am not able to effectively evaluate the "value for money" category, because I don't know what the costs are.

Pros
It covers all areas

Cons
None that I can think of.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Steven Hirsch

Using Since 1987

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-02
Review Source: Capterra

I have used TABS3 since 1987, for a general practice of law, with special emphasis on Family Court matters. Never had a problem that was not resolved within minutes by staff at Software Technologies.

Pros
Ease of use and durability. Ability to email bills.

Cons
Without Premium (expensive for a solo), there is no use on wireless products.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Melissa Page

Easy to use billing software

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-12
Review Source: Software Advice

I used Tabs3 to enter attorney billing as well as my own paralegal billing. It was a huge help not only organizing, but going back to create a cost trail.

Pros
Tabs3 is user friendly and intuitive. Functions are where you would expect them to be and time entry is quick and efficient.

Cons
If you make a mistake on your entry, it can be difficult to locate and correct if you work in a large office.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Phil Gunthert

The not so good Tabs

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-08-18
Review Source: Capterra

I have had Tabs since 2010, it is terrible. You purchase the program and then you constantly have to go back to customer service (tech dept.) and they want to hit you up for $200 per hour for tech help, as you can imagine that is absurd, expensive and terrible. They let you buy the product and make it seem like there is no additional cost, reality is that you better pay for the ongoing tech support because there are always errors and problems that need addressing, did I mention the $50 minimal charge or $200 per hour for tech help. I rarely was able to use the program, each time I tries there was some new error message and a need to seek out tech department, truly a terrible experience.

Pros
The software has a wide array of features and billing is nicely prints out in a very organized and concise format, it really does have a lot of detail and nice features.

Cons
It seems to always have some problem or error message on the rare instances when I actually needed it to do a billing for a client, nothing is worse than paying for a product and then having to waste time because it will not work and then get stuck paying extra by having to call and pay the tech department $200 per hour to help you figure out why their product does not work as it is promised and as it should from the start. How is it possible that the product regularly has error messages that are not resolvable without a call to the tech department. Very frustrating.

Response from Software Technology


I am sorry that Mr. Gunthert has not had a good experience. We have reached out to him to discuss the specific issues that he is having.
 
I did want to mention a few things related to the points that he brought up. To make sure clients get off to a good start, every purchase of Tabs3 includes a free year of maintenance, which includes both technical support and any product updates that come out during the year. After a year, the maintenance is optional. Many clients prefer that to being required to pay an annual fee.
 
Also, our technical support team gets very high marks. In our last client survey 96% of our clients said they were satisfied with the support that they received from our team. In that same survey, 9 out of 10 Tabs3 clients say they would recommend Tabs3 to other firms.

Kim Hanzl, Support Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 4/10

Minimize review

Bonnie King

TABS3 is great!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This software is really user friendly. Entering time and preparing reports are easy. Been using this for over 20 years!

Cons
Software maintenance is pretty expensive, since we rarely (if ever) use it as we never have any issues. However, it's good to have "just in case."

Response from Tabs3 Software


Bonnie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! Please do keep Support in mind if you even just have questions as to whether something is possible, or if you need a quick question answered. We'll be happy to help! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Dorothy Bartholomew

Control Your Business With This Powerful Software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-13
Review Source: Capterra

Tabs3 software is very powerful. By the time I learned how to use Tabs 3 at the most basic level, I felt as if I could be an accountant. I am still discovering useful and time saving features.

Pros
I most value the interface between Practice Master Billing and Tabs 3 . A law firm rises or falls on its billing practices. The easy to use timer allows us to easily capture time spent on multiple projects and with multiple clients throughout the work day, which results in more accurate billing.

Cons
The software is not user friendly. The learning curve is very steep.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Dorothy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate it! We'd like to know what we could do to make the software easier for you to use--feel free to contact Technical Support with any suggestions. Thanks again! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review

Tracy Johnson

TABS3 Time, Billing, Accounting, and Practice Management Software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-21
Review Source: Capterra

I have utilized TABS3 and it's corresponding modules in firms I have worked for since 1991. I find the program to be user friendly and robust in the features it offers. Module integration allows for seamless flow throughout the programs. TABS3 customer support is the best I have ever worked with. I can always count on their customer support representatives to assist me with any problem I may encounter. Support representatives will see your problem until it is resolved to your satisfaction. As a company, TABS3 is open to suggestions for changes/additions to its programs. They are very open to user feedback. If you are considering a switch from your time, billing, and accounting software, I highly recommend you review TABS3. I think you will be very happy you did.

Pros
Module integration, ease of use, customer support, and company response to user feedback

Cons
The cost of cloud-based (platinum) service. It would be wonderful if I could work on TABS remotely without having to pay an arm and a leg to do so.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Full feature set, but complicated to use

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This product has an amazing set of features. I use it for time tracking and billing and it serves the purpose very well, but it is complicated to set up and any unusual situations can be very difficult to figure out how to address. Having said that, support for the product is very good.

Cons
Probably not a good choice for a small practice. Too complicated for the basic needs of such an office - and too expensive. There are other alternatives that would suit a small firm better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Tabs is EASY to learn and EASY to use!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-17
Review Source: Capterra

AMAZING. I love this software. It's the best account billing software that I've used in the legal field so far. When cost codes are needed for certain accounts they are easy to use and the reports that can be generated are very detailed.

Pros
I love how easy Tabs is to use and just like the name, all you have to do is TAB through the entire invoice. It's very easy to navigate and when you need to make changes it's super easy. The new design layout that was just unveiled is great! There are some new much-needed features that were updated and that makes it even better.

Cons
I don't like the fact that once you create an invoice and save it if you realize you messed up and put it under the wrong account number, you can't just fix it and delete it yourself. You need to contact an administrator with permissions to have it deleted, but I understand that's just a safety precaution and nothing really negative about the software itself. Otherwise, I haven't found any additional negative things about Tabs.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your comments very much. If there's anything we can do to help you, please let us know! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Luann Meyer

Multi-functional software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-16
Review Source: Capterra

The integration features of the billing, accounts payable, general ledger and trust accounting are wonderful and such a time saver. The credit card payment feature is seamless and so easy to use.

Pros
We use Tabs 3 billing, Accounts Payable, Trust Accounting and General Ledger programs. The ease of integration is such a time saver. The credit card payment option is so seamless and user friendly.

Cons
The cost. We have been using this software since 1992. I don't like the fact that when a new enhancement comes out, i.e. when PracticeMaster was introduced, and now Platinum, you basically have to buy whole new software rather than a nominal upgrade fee--especially when we have been paying the annual maintenance fee on all separate programs. We have no use for PracticeMaster, yet it is necessary to integrate with our Worldox file management software.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Luann, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Martha Ackerman

Love STI Products

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-02
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using TABS3 software since about 1998. Having TABS3 Software and its integrated software modules make billing, case management, accounts payable, GL and trust accounting a breeze. TABS3 software bills are easy for clients to read making it easier for them to pay. It's easy to maneuver in, make changes on a draft basis and the like. Pulling information from TABS3 software for analytics makes my job easier to determine timekeeper production, fields of practice viability, and financial progress. And bank reconciliations - nice! PracticeMaster manages information at-a-glance - no more pulling paper files or going to other programs to find it. TABS3 software is one of our most valuable tools.

Pros
All STI products are integrated. They are user-friendly.

Cons
Report Writer: Unless you have a computer programmer on staff or know someone who is intimately familiar with Report Writer, Report Writer is not worth the trouble because you'll never figure it out. Quirky things that cause problems: A. You can't give discounts on bills unless your current fees billed supports that amount of discount. Discounts are given on an overall basis, not just on the current fees billed. B. AP module leaves you hanging in TABS3 cost entry; it doesn't cycle back to AP so you can write more checks. C. Refunds where no money is involved can go over to GL as if money was involved - need to be on your toes to delete that immediately.

Response from Tabs3 Software


Martha, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! We have made some changes to credits in version 19 that may help with your discounts and streamlining entry in AP--please reach out to Technical Support if you're interested in more information! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review