App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

charles Logo

charles

Web-based conversational commerce suite for consumer brands

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

charles Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

19

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.53/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

So far we have only done newsletter campaigns and has worked pretty nice. Our POC motivates us to push more and we are excited to explore charles further and bring results.
The interface is very useful and fast. It is very nice that it can be integrated with many apps.
What I liked most about Hello Charles is its remarkable capability to manage marketing campaigns on WhatsApp.
It is a pity that there is no mobile app. The price is also more expensive than others.
24h chat closures, limited features (no multiple pictures), complicated to download data etc.
Sometimes there are little bugs with the tool when creating templates but when reporting them to Malte, they are usually fixed in no time.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Domenico M.

Textiles, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Empowering Marketing and Customer Engagement with Hello Charles

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

What I liked most about Hello Charles is its remarkable capability to manage marketing campaigns on WhatsApp. This feature has been a game-changer for us. The ability to interact with our customers in real-time has not only streamlined our communication but also significantly boosted our conversion rates. The platform's intuitive design and efficiency in handling customer queries have greatly enhanced the quality of our customer dialogues, fostering a stronger connection with our brand.

Cons

As of now, I am thoroughly satisfied with Hello Charles and its offerings. It has seamlessly integrated into our workflow, and we haven't encountered any major issues. However, as with any software, there is always room for enhancements. I look forward to seeing future updates that might bring even more innovative features or improved user experience.

PH
AvatarImg

Peter H.

Textiles, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using Charles to convert website visitors to customers

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall, it's all about using Charles in the right way for your business. This could mean sending out newsletter only during sale events or doing it weekly. It all depends on your average order value and your community.

Pros

The ability to automate flows makes Charles a very strong tool! Another great use-case, that has been overlooked by many users, is the power to convert website visitors to customers. With a sign-in rate of over 10% it's much higher than in email (2%).

Cons

In some cases, Charles may have some minor bugs. Also, analytics might need some extra effort and aren't done as easy as in email tools.

Vendor response

Peter thanks so much for your review and for choosing us. We're delighted to hear our WhatsApp automation is working well for you and that WhatsApp is proving a successful channel for your business. Converting website visitors is a great insight and one we'll look into more closely. Thanks! We're working on the bugs and adding extra analytics. Keep letting your Success manager know of any problems so we can make sure we fix it. Thanks again and we look forward to working with you for a long time to come. charles

LS
AvatarImg

Louisa S.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool, great support

Reviewed 10 days ago
Pros

Compared to other tools, Charles offers the ability to seamlessly connect WhatsApp marketing with email marketing via Klaviyo. This effortless integration allows us to pursue an effective multi-channel marketing strategy for both retention and acquisition. The ease of use of the tool makes it particularly intuitive to use, and ideal for planning campaigns and aligning them with business objectives. In addition, the team is very committed from the onboarding phase to success management and is always available to provide support and maximize the success of our marketing activities.

Cons

While still being a relatively new tool, charles is on the pricier side and still needs some development in analytics for campaigns, customer insights and flows.

KH
AvatarImg

Kristin H.

Textiles, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Charles is recommended

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall recommendable. Friendly staff.

Pros

Customers appreciate contact via WhatsApp

Cons

Technical problems and failures again and again

Vendor response

Hey Kristin, thanks for your comments, we're happy to hear your customers like hearing from you on WhatsApp. We're really sorry to hear about technical problems. This is not what we want to happen for our clients. Make sure you report any issues and we will do our best to fix them. Best, charles

IK
AvatarImg

Ibrahim K.

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ibrahim Koc

Reviewed 20 days ago
Pros

The interface is very useful and fast. It is very nice that it can be integrated with many apps.

Cons

It is a pity that there is no mobile app. The price is also more expensive than others.

LL
AvatarImg

Laura L.

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very satisfied

Reviewed 9 months ago

I have had a very good experience with Charles so far. You always have a fixed contact person, which I find very important.

Pros

I'm generally very pleased with Charles. It's easy to use and there are a lot of features that you can use to take your Whatsapp marketing to the next level.

Cons

Currently, I am still missing reporting or KPI's that can be tracked better.In addition, one or two things could be improved/added to the segmentation.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your feedback Laura. We're happy to hear you find us easy to use and that we help take your WhatsApp marketing to the next level :) We get your KPIs comment. This is something we know is super important to marketers and is a big priority for us in 2023. Keep talking to your Success manager and we'll make sure it's on our product roadmap! charles

DG
AvatarImg

Dennis G.

Cosmetics, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It`s a good Tool

Reviewed 9 months ago

Benefits: Mobile Marketing about Whats App

Pros

- Whats App Marketing- Live Chat in every Browser at every time

Cons

It`s complicated to search for more demo videos or learning material for check up the tool

Vendor response

Hey Dennis, thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. All feedback is appreciated. We upload new demo videos all the time, please talk with your Success manager so we can find a way to make them easier to find. Thanks again! charles

NB
AvatarImg

Noel B.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CRM would be unthinkable without it

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Easy operation & constantly growing number of features. The team is always at your side.

Cons

In the beginning they still had some bugs. However, these are rapidly decreasing.

Vendor response

So great to hear we're an essential part of your CRM, Noel – and that our product is improving. We're working on it. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback! charles

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game changer for us and a huge edition to our channels

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The journeys feature as mentioned is great. We use it practically for all our campaign send outs to build interactive message flows instead of just a simple message.

Cons

Sometimes there are little bugs with the tool when creating templates but when reporting them to Malte, they are usually fixed in no time.

Vendor response

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and we're happy to hear you love Journeys as much as us and Malte is great, isn't he? We'll pass on your kind words! charles

SS
AvatarImg

Silvia S.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for whatsapp communication

Reviewed 22 days ago
Pros

Easy to implement and to use, user interface is very simple and usable also from other "less expert" team member. Very good customer support, fast responses and always trying to help you in your strategy.

Cons

It would be great to have more integration (i.e. Salesforce, Zendesk etc).

CF
AvatarImg

Caroline F.

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Charles is tippi toppi

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Mich überzeugt die persönliche Betreuung vom Charles Team. Anliegen und Probleme werden direkt addressiert und versucht zu lösen. Top! Wir nutzen Charles aktuell um Kundenanliegen zu lösen. Zukünftig mehr Marketingkampagnen. Unsere Kunden schätzen den individuellen und schnellen Kontakt über WhatsApp - auch außerhalb der Geschäftszeiten.

Cons

* Interner Aufbau der Einstellung finden wir zu unübersichtlich* Wir hätten gern mehr Farben in der Tagauswahl* Aktuell nur eine Verbindung mit einem Shopify Shop möglich (DE) - wir haben allerdings noch weitere Shops * Wunsch nach mehr NPS Aussagen zu Nachrichtenzeit, Bearbeitungszeit etc.

Showing original review in German. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Actually the best choice in the market

Reviewed 9 months ago

Powerful tool in mid-short business activities,

Pros

Plug & play approach: quick set up before start spreading messages

Cons

Data viz, analytics, integrations: I'm sure that all will be improved in less 18 months

Vendor response

Wow, we love hearing that – thanks for the review and keep an eye out for new features in the coming months!

EZ
AvatarImg

Elena Z.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elena

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

the product itself is great, [sensitive content hidden] also provides very good support

Cons

24h chat closures, limited features (no multiple pictures), complicated to download data etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Elena. We appreciate it and are super happy to hear you get good support from our Success team. It's always good to hear how we can improve too. Re 24h chat closures, that's unfortunately due to WhatsApp's policy. The cost per conversation from WhatsApp is for a chat that takes place within 24h. After that, you'll need to pay WhatsApp again for a new conversation. You can...

TS
AvatarImg

Tabea S.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Tool but need some improvment

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

The support and they are always willing to improve.

Cons

That the tool often not work....Some bugs will not been fixed at all.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Tabea, we appreciate it. We're glad you feel supported by us and please keep in touch with your Success manager, we're always making improvements to our tool, hopefully your issues will be fixed soon. charles

JJ
AvatarImg

Johanna J.

Arts and Crafts, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gute Anwendung für gezieltes WhatsApp Marketing

Reviewed 10 months ago

Leicht anzuwenden und mit einem guten Support ausgestattet.Durch die Journeys lassen sich tolle Kampagnen bauen, die den Kund:innen Spaß bereiten.

Pros

Wir können unsere Kund.innen personalisiert bespielen und erzielen somit bessere und höhere Direct sales.

Cons

Bisher ist die Kampagnenplanung noch nicht möglich. Das würde vieles erleichtern

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hey Johanna, danke für deine Bewertung. Gute Nachrichten! Kampagnenplanung ist jetzt verfügbar, wende dich an deinen zuständigen Customer Success Manager, um mehr zu erfahren! charles

jv
AvatarImg

jan v.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

whatsapp as part of our daily business

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Love being able to chat directly to our users on their phone, it makes it easier and somehow less intrusive than sms or calling.

Cons

whatsapp has many hoops to jump through, but thats not charles fault as such.

Vendor response

Hi Jan, thanks for the review! We love that you love chatting with your customers via WhatsApp. Less intrusive is exactly what we're going for so that's great to hear too. Keep letting us know what we can do to improve! charles

LB
AvatarImg

Luisa B.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Tool to access our customers or interested parties!

Reviewed 9 months ago

So far we have only done newsletter campaigns and has worked pretty nice. Our POC motivates us to push more and we are excited to explore charles further and bring results :)

Pros

Easiness with platform and with our POC in any help, doubt - the loom videos are incredible!

Cons

Integration with some platforms still a bit lacking but nothing major

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your feedback Luisa. We're delighted to hear you're enjoying our platform. We've passed your comments on to the team. Ease of use is a priority for us so it makes us happy that our efforts are working. Re your integrations comment, we've taken that on board. We have some exciting integrations coming up so maybe that will fill in the gap. We're also glad you find the Loom videos helpful. We enjoy making them too :) charles

ED
AvatarImg

Elisa D.

Food Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software and Customer Support

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

It works great for sharing our promos and product launches, very easy to use, very reliable Customer Support

Cons

Room for improvement when it comes to the speed and fluidity of sending the campaigns

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Elisa, we're happy to hear charles is going well you – we're working on making speed better. charles

OT
AvatarImg

Olivia T.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good experience and support

Reviewed 6 days ago
Pros

Good experience, support and user-friendly platform.

Cons

Flexibility with internal e-commerce integrations.