This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Canto Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


608 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect for our needs

Reviewed 5 years ago

After nearly two years of using the software i can say that this DAM fits perfect to our needs. The migration of the old DAM system was accompanied by Canto very professional. The handling of more than 200k of highres assets in several portals is fast and easy. Managing the files with the native or web client is fast and intuitive. Working together with the guys from Canto showed us how close they...

Pros

Fast, reliable, many features, company is very close to the product

Cons

Support sometimes takes its time, self managing the system is difficult because of extensive features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canto Cumulus is easy to use and provides a great way to organize my pictures and documents for work

Reviewed 4 years ago

The software provides a great way to organize, store, and access files in a central location available to everyone in the company. Searching is easy with capability to customize metadata to each asset. Visual thumbnails provides another easy and quick way to find records.

Pros

There are several things I like about this software. 1) Capability to create custom metadata for my files. 2) Ability to search text in documents. 3) Ability to tag files to several different categories (folders) without creating duplicate files. 4) Drag and drop files into categories. 5) Capability to create customized catalogs. 6) Ability to search in multiple fields. 7) Large size limit for uploading files.

Cons

I use the enterprise vault and uploading files can be time consuming. This problem is related to internet speed and local firewalls.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Canto is a powerful software but it is costly and the customer support is underwhelming.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ability to search, access, organize and view large image files quickly.

Pros

The software is able to keep our data organized and provides us with a quick way to view and sort very large image files. Our database has grown exponentially since we have been using Canto and the software has been capable of handling everything we have added without slowing down at all.

Cons

I have had negative experiences with customer support and, as a non-profit arts organization, the cost of the product is a big challenge for us. Despite having paid annual fees for maintenance, some of the kinks in the software have warranted additional fees to get resolved. Most of the customer support team has exhibited very limited technical knowledge and troubleshooting with them has been a huge challenge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and intuitive!

Reviewed a year ago

We have been using Canto for a few years, it has definitely made our staff less dependent on me to provide them with images and other digital assets. It has also made it easier to provide content to other staff members and vendors around the world.

Pros

We love how easy Canto is to use. There are so many fantastic features and they're constantly upgrading the product. With most of our staff working remotely we use Canto often to collaborate with each other and vendors.

Cons

I'd like to see better facial recognition, more granular permissions for users, and more accurate smart tags.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DAM done well

Reviewed a year ago

Canto has transformed our workflow to enable our whole photography library and other brand assets to be available to our staff and agencies.

Pros

Great user interface and very well thought through features. A robust and reliable tool.

Cons

The only issue I have had is connectivity to Indesign. However, this isn't an issue with Canto so much as an internal firewall/IT problem.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing Canto, David! It's great to know that the free trial helped with your decision. We're happy to play a part in transforming your workflow!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Two Thumbs Up for Canto!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Canto's DAM has helped us get our assets into a central and easily accessible location. No more worrying about what happens if a hard drive is lost!

Pros

My favorite thing about Canto is it's ease of use. It reminds me of iTunes a bit, there are several ways to search for assets which make it very easy for users to locate assets. I come from a background of keywords and tags and appreciate the way it is laid out in Canto and as an administrator I also love the reporting aspect, specifically the metadata activity metrics. Another huge plus is the external...

Cons

I really don't have a whole lot to complain about. I would just recommend that before your team is ready to upload from an external connection into Canto, make sure you do some up front work in your existing file structure. It makes the upload much easier, it's hard to change the file structure once assets are uploaded into Canto but there are workarounds.

Vendor response

We appreciate your review and recommendation!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product for Marketing Teams and Remote Teams

Reviewed 2 years ago

Customer service is great and is quick to answer questions. If there is a feature that currently doesn't exist, customer service is quick to add it to a queue of improvements for the system.

Pros

As a nonprofit organization that frequently profiles individual members of our organization, Canto provides us with a quick and effective tool to search for photos of individual people. By tagging photos with names of people in them saves us hours searching through event photography to see if there are photos of a particular person. Moreover, we can easily search photos of a particular person by photo orientation, meaning we can find a headshot quickly or a landscape photo that works well with our website. Canto also allows us to back up all design files and create a repository of them that otherwise would take up too much storage on our other storage systems.

Cons

If we spell a word wrong when tagging a photo, that shows up in the search if you forget to delete it. Also, smart tags can cause confusion at times as they may not be accurate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Navigation

Reviewed a year ago

Organization is awesome easy to use.

Pros

Easy to share files to clients love the way you select the files you want and send the link. Awesome organization easy to navigate.

Cons

Be awesome if you could send a client a direct link and automatically downloads the file.

Vendor response

We appreciate the feedback, Edgar! I will take this suggestion to our team. Thank you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A great way to organize, locate and deliver assets to a variety of users in a variety of forms

Reviewed 7 years ago

Canto Workgroup allows us to manage a multitude of assets of varying sorts across multiple folder structures and servers then easily locate them without wandering blindly through the asset terrain. I also like that I can apply a multitude of categories to assets (if I want) making them even easier to locate in a comprehensive way which a folder structure and/or naming convention will not allow. I...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great organization tool

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall we are very pleased with our decision to implement Canto for our digital asset management. It has increased our productivity and gives us an edge when responding to photo and video requests from media. It also helps us to keep our visual content fresh and organized. I would definitely recommend Canto to anyone looking to protect and organize photos and videos.

Pros

We use Canto for campus-wide digital asset management. Our Marketing and PR team manages the application, which helps us distribute photos and videos to our campus departments and news media. We find it especially helpful for organizing and distributing athletics-related content. It is also helpful for organizing photos and videos for easy retrieval.

Cons

The application is sometimes laggy, but the Canto team is super responsive.

Vendor response

Melony, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that Canto has been useful across campus!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Intuitive asset management for a medium nonprofit organization

Reviewed 8 months ago

Purchasing Canto is certainly worth the cost for our organization. We now have a manageable, cloud-based asset library. Our communications team can keep tabs on what assets are being used for which projects and have a better handle on copyright violations. Canto offers functionality that allows us to share assets internally and externally with plenty of options for access control.

Pros

Canto is incredibly user-friendly and easy to learn to use. My organization hasn't yet done a full roll-out of the system, but the test users that are using the system found it easy to figure out with very little training. I purposefully left instructions vague and the test cases were able to find their way around the system with very few follow-up questions. It has provided our organization with an accessible, streamlined process for managing images and selecting them for print and digital communications pieces.

Cons

Canto charges based on total number of users, so for smaller organizations like ours, it is very cost-effective, but that may not hold true for larger companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto as business DAM integrable solution.

Reviewed 2 years ago

The experience is very good in a general point of view, the service is very stable and we had zero problems during all the time that we has been used it.

Pros

The solution is very easy to use without losing their powerful functionality and features. Integrate Canto with other business solutions was very easy too, a task of only one day to get it working in production.

Cons

The lack of granular profiles and access management as an standard feature, the solution offers a detailed management of groups, privileges and content but is paid feature

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Gilberto. We're glad to hear that you've had a positive experience. Your account manger will be emailing you soon to address the access management features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use Digital Asset Management System

Reviewed 3 years ago

In the past, our media library of thousands of images has been housed in folders on a server. The folders were organized by topic and date, but not easily searched if you didn't know specifics of what you were looking for. Image search and sharing was falling heavily on two people. It was also difficult to share large batches of images, as some of the files are quite large. We have been relying on...

Pros

The part that I like the most about Canto was the ease of getting started. After watching a webinar and an initial training session for the admin area, I was able to set up and customize our DAM immediately. The additional training for users was great as well. But the software is very user friendly and easy to use overall. Customer service is outstanding also.

Cons

Some of the more advanced features (portal creation and integrations with design programs) aren't as clearly explained or touched on in initial trainings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto the desktop and web client are excellent - Portals has been challenging.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Externally, we have deeper trust from our customers - we had a superior solution for their asset issues. Internally it keeps everything at our fingertips.

Pros

The desktop application meets all of our internal needs. The web client is also excellent and has been liberating when working remote. My organization has to work with many different DAM systems from many different customers and Canto by far stands apart from the crowd.

Cons

Portals was released way before it was ready for primetime. It has been nothing short of a struggle trying to help the customers we cut over from Sites. Subsequent releases did fix the issues but not being able to tell me customer when the fixes are going to happen was frustrating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto Review

Reviewed a year ago

Stable platform that can be easily accessed by an organisation that works globally. Helpful support team that is keen to help us make the most of the platform.

Pros

Effective and easily managed system to upload and store multiple assets from our different programme bases across the world.

Cons

A lot of great new functionality has been introduced recently but it can be complicated trying to explore and utilise this effectively. Some of the best pieces of functionality, like the integration of Adobe CC has additional cost implications.

Vendor response

We appreciate your feedback, Helen! We know how important it is for global organizations to have their assets centralized and easily accessible. Thanks for choosing Canto!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto is an excellent media storage solution for business

Reviewed 8 months ago

Canto provided us an easy to use platform to store a large number of videos, audio files and PDFs and allowed us to share them easily with clients, designers and plugged into our company wordpress for fast upload to our sites.

Pros

File finding and searching on Canto is very easy and highly effective (provided that your naming and tagging is up to scratch) and the implementation and sharing of permissions, accounts and controls is very fluid and clear cut.

Cons

Uploading and ensuring the right metadata is attached to files can take time and slow large uploads, but is key to ensuring that files are easily found later.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, James! We agree, adding metadata is key to the upkeep of your digital asset library.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Asset Management for Small Creative Team

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Canto is easy to navigate and learn; the sharable upload links (for clients and contractors) and branded portals have made coordinating with clients much more efficient

Cons

A couple of issues with the UI (isn't responsive to scale to smaller screens, higher resolution images don't always load) and a poor versioning feature (only one version can be 'active' at a time, so revisiting different versions is cumbersome)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cloud Based Document Management

Reviewed 6 months ago

Very slick from start to finish - good demonstration, easy onboarding and straight into the tool!

Pros

The product is really quick to set-up and provides instant connection between other document management tools such as Dropbox. Having looked around at a lot of other solutions, Canto provided all the functionality we needed at a price that is far more consistent with cloud-based tools!

Cons

Having used the system extensively over the last few months, the only criticism we would mention would be some of the automated connections - for example our Dropbox connection often stalls when refreshing. However, the customer support team are always quick to respond!

Vendor response

Hi Tom, thanks for your review! So glad to hear that Canto's price to performance ratio works out for you and your team!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Support Customization and deployment was amazing. The level of detail and workflow, amazing!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Time and cost saving for any large scale corporation. The ability to streamline process, locate and find assets, as well as keeping version control of each asset so that there is always the current one. Most organizations spend a large amount of time communicating assets.

Pros

The ease of use, the ability to manage, share and organize media and content. Image and media processing is smooth and detailed. User management has made it easy to deploy.

Cons

Different server configurations, having to go from Dev to production process is a little difficult. overall backup and migration process. Needs more Brand landing page control, to make it more weblike in terms of making a front end landing page for each product category to brand page.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canto Digital Asset Management - Getting the photos and graphics into the hands of the right people

Reviewed a year ago

I have been very happy with Canto.

Pros

Canto put our photos into the hands of the designers very quickly. The photo selection process was a very time-consuming task, with a very high level of specific domain knowledge needed to even find a photo on the network drive. Canto's public portal system has enabled us to very quickly build "sets" of photos and distribute them to the field staff that needs them. The templating system has been absolute gold for distributing customizable images for locized social media campaigns.

Cons

We have struggled to find a way to add instructions or "how to use the files in this portal" without resorting to adding a ReadMe file.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review, Mark! So happy to hear that Canto helps your team work more quickly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great org, but slow to load

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is so great to be able to organize and streamline who inside and outside gets access to approved assets and when.

Pros

I like that is it really well organized and easy to see my assets. I also like that I can control who does and who doesn't see assets.

Cons

I think it is tedious when there are lots of pop-up windows to send someone a link to an asset. I think that it could be streamlined with a better UI. It is a major pain point for me. I just want to send a link real quick and it takes lots of clicks to get to it.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of Canto, Page! We appreciate the feedback and are always working toward a more streamlined experience for our users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Asset Management Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I enjoy using Canto because of it's ability to categorize and search our massive asset library. It's easy to set up curated collections of assets using lists or folders to share with our vendors and partners.

Cons

The user interface can be finicky at times, but functions as needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software does what it promises. You can tag assets and search for them easily. This software can potentially save your organization a lot of time.

Cons

Customer service / technical support has been frustrating to work with at times, other times they've been helpful. I've called in to Canto before and had one of the reps that answered the phone tell me that they don't have a tech support team, the rep was very unhelpful. Other times I've called in to explain the scenario that I'm experiencing and the customer service rep will then have you fill out a support ticket explaining what you just explained to them over the phone. It would be much easier to just call the rep and have them take over the support ticket entirely. If the team revises their support process, I would be very satisfied.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best suited for photography at the moment

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's a great DAM especially if you're dealing with photography, but it needs a little work with other assets.

Pros

It's great for photography, and a great way to consolidate photos with a dedicated download link.

Cons

It's not well suited for file types that aren't photos or pictures. There are no video previews, no .PDF previews either.

Vendor response

Hi Edmund! Thank you for your review of Canto. Your account manager will be reaching out soon regarding file previews!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canto: The Team Member You Need

Reviewed a year ago

Our Marketing, Communications and Business Development teams love Canto, but really our IT team is so thankful we are no longer collaborating on shared drives with duplicate image and video files taking up precious digital space.

Pros

Canto has reimagined how my team collaborates by providing a centralized project hub. It also provides incredible customer service.

Cons

I wish the pricing structure was a little more clear. When we first signed with them, contracts were based on cost per feature, and when we renewed it had shifted to bulk pricing. It was a challenge to get on the same page, but the Canto staff was very helpful in working with us and we are happy with our renewal contract.