This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Canto Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


608 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Right Fit

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

This is the first DAM we've contracted at Mercy and we are very pleased with the features. We are easily able to share and tag photos which is a big plus. The social media integration and native photo editing tools are also helpful for social posts.

Cons

This is eminently customizable, so you need to have strong governance or else you will run into organizational issues. I recommend a work group to review periodically

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great digital asset management for a small to mid-size creative teams

Reviewed a year ago

My company has used it successfully across multiple departments. It gets the job done and is easy to use.

Pros

The program is fairly intuitive and easy-to-use. I like that I am able to divide our assets into folders and albums and add tags. The AI has also improved the search feature over the past couple of years.

Cons

There isn't much that I'm critical of, but from a design perspective, the interface look is a bit dated.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review of Canto, Stefanie! We appreciate your feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Broad and Innovative

Reviewed 5 years ago

Over the past few years Canto has worked hard to push their software to meet the increasing Data Asset Management demands of the corporate world. Canto has become a business critical system, cataloging hundreds of records a day. It has allowed us to streamline our production workflow and maximize our efficiency. Their improved API has let us integrate Canto with our other systems, making it the nucleus that delivers content throughout the company.

Pros

The product is solidly built and does what it promises.

Cons

Like with most enterprise software systems, there is a learning curve when first configuring a deployment

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great service that should be implemented by all companies

Reviewed a year ago

This platform solved a lot of our internal organization systems.

Pros

Platform is easy to use. The onboarding process was a breeze. The Canto team helped us through every step of the way. Client support continues to be great. Our international organization systems improved thanks to Canto.

Cons

There are no features that I dislike. It is a great system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent product for a University communications team

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Canto is extremely easy to use. We did our own setup and migration of more than 100,000 images and that was not as challenging as it sounds like it should be. Customer service was very responsive during the transition (and continue to be).

Cons

The most challenging thing for us was that there were not many use cases of how other universities use Canto to manage large digital assets, and how to set up the folder structure best. As a result, I'm not sure we are completely optimizing what Canto can do for us, but I have a call next week with our rep to review where we are and what we can do to improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good option for managing a large asset library

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

The software makes it easy to search through our library of close to 100,000 images, and to share images with stakeholders without sending them as email attachments.

Cons

The interface tends to feel extremely slow when scrolling through the library. When doing bulk tasks such as adding a few hundred photos to a collection or adding tags, sometimes I have to leave Canto open working on the task for a few minutes and come back when it's finished.

Vendor response

Thank you for this review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good DAM software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its good for what it does and the cost associated with it. Its robust and works well for our needs.

Pros

We compared Canto to others in the Digital Asset Management software market and found it to be the most robust for the lowest cost. It handles pretty much everything for us photo/video wise. We like the tagging/keyword search ability and the ability to bucket and segment media.

Cons

It cannot handle vector art, which I found surprising. You can use vector art, but it needs to be in the "Brand" portal and not in your main library. The cost per user is a little bit over the top. We had to scale back our users as we only need people downloading images, not managing it. I have had many bugs uploading massive files (upwards of 100+ at a time) and the keywords/tags I put in the main upload screen did not come across. When I opened a ticket for this, support basically said "We can't recreate the problem" and left it at that. They wanted ME to make a video, and frankly im to busy to troublehsoot their system for them, they should not have put that back on me. The issue still stands to this day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cumulus is easy to use and works well for our purposes, we use primarily for catalog asset managemen

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, ability to assign meta data to make assets super easy to find. We use for catalog image management but often share those assets across other channels so someone working on an email campaign can quickly find all images in a particular furniture collection.

Cons

Integration with Indesign, really touchy sometimes, that I can't set to overwrite files if someone uploads an image that is already there it saves a s a new version versus overwriting, should have option.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Work Smarter Not Harder - Such a timesaver!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This software makes organizing and tagging thousands photos so ridiculously easy. Everything is easily organized and accessible to your team internally but it's also so easy to share files and photos externally with easy link creation and download options.

Cons

When tagging large numbers of photos, if you select and tag only two or more photos when exiting back out of the edit data option canto automatically re-scrolls back to the beginning of all the images. Can be a bit frustrating to keep scrolling back down to try and find where you left off tagging for large batches of photos.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Client able to focus on core value-added work with Canto

Reviewed 10 months ago

We completed a very thorough evaluation process and the Canto team was very supportive. During implementation, they were accommodating. Because our Client had 5TB of data and wanted to set up some complex features for launch in a short time, we had an internal project manager. This is probably not necessary for a more basic implementation where timelines are less of a concern. But, if you need to get portals, workflows, and lots of assets migrated in a short time, support beyond the Canto implementation team to stay on track may be required.

Pros

Portals are the feature that has transformed the way our Client collaborates with external partners. Rather than spend time transferring assets to and from, the Client is able to post and receive assets through portals and upload links, liberating their time to focus on creative, value-added work.

Cons

There are fewer project management-related features in Canto than in some other products. The inability to assign tasks, for example, is absent from Canto at this time.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Martine! Great news that Canto Portals have 'transformed' the way that your client collaborates.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Digital Asset Management you deserve

Reviewed a year ago

We have nearly 20.000 pictures and other data that we need to spread from the headquarter in our whole company (5.400 employees, > 20 sub companies). Canto helps us a lot here. Not just because of the linking, tagging and user integrating. Canto gave us more time for other things to do!

Pros

- Import Function (folder import) - Ai tagging (even its only in english: wonderful!) - Statistics about the picture, video, etc. (now we can see which picture is used more often than other ones) - User roles

Cons

- typo3 (in general cms) plugin should be integrated as a standard function

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Robust DAM Makes it Easy to Stay Organized

Reviewed 2 years ago

As I mentioned above, Canto helps our company tremendously to build and maintain a robust and up-to-date content library. It's so helpful to have all of this stuff at our fingertips, in one, organized place, to share and use.

Pros

Canto is just so easy to use! We have everyone from marketing to our sales staff to our delivery personnel uploading assets into our library and the Canto DAM tool makes it super easy to share these things while keeping all of our assets organized in one central place.

Cons

I really wish there weren't as many steps involved to download something from the desktop client. A one-click download would be so awesome! Also, as of late, I've been getting signed out of my account. It's not huge deal to log back in when I need something, but I wish this didn't happen.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto was the solution for us!

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Canto is being used across our whole company to maintain and organise our image and video library. As a designer the Adobe connector was a major reason for us going with Canto, being able to have that connectivity between Canto and Indesign has saved us so much time. Canto is easy to use and very intuitive.

Cons

With our previous Asset Management system it would create a unique sequential number for each new file that was uploaded this is something that we have not been able to do with Canto. This would have been beneficial to us as it would have helped with our workflow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use Software

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I have had a great experience. It is a very intuitive software and the customer support is great.

Pros

I like that it is very intuitive to use. I took over as the admin from my predecessor and it was a seamless transition. I was able to figure out most features on my own.

Cons

It is hard to gauge when I am running out of storage.

Vendor response

We appreciate your review of Canto, Autumn! Your account manager will reach out soon to discuss how to gauge storage capabilities. Thanks again!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We are very satisfied and happy with CANTO!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our institution has a huge photo archive. We have a wonderful and TALENTED photo department that is up-to date with new software and technology. Our photographers were introduced to CANTO and we were able to follow up and purchase the software. Product is wonderful for our needs; customer service is also great. It is a great platform, easy to use, practical, accessible and worth its value. We all love it over here!

Pros

Accesible, functional and easy to use!

Cons

Updates have been tricky, but customer service was able to solve some challenges

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It was very easy to get up an running quickly and the user interface is intuitive and simple.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We provided our channel partners with access to a wealth of our corporate marketing and sales assets very quickly and easily.

Pros

I like the ability to easily create branded, multiple portals where the user experience is best. It is very user friendly where finding content is easy. The syncing to outside file storage apps like Dropbox is handy There is version control and duplicate look ups. The cost of ownership is good, we can users easily and affordably.

Cons

The reporting ability is average. It is hard to look at how people are using the content. And only admin can pull reports. Also the Intro email is not very customizable. So the user may get confused where it is coming from. Last it does not any integration with Salesforce.com, this would be a nice to have feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple, Effective Asset Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been able to store our finished assets and make them accessible to the marketing team. We have non-sales assets that we need to reference. A great example is our tradeshow display materials which we make available for our field teams to select from for their shows.

Pros

We purchased Canto because it had the key features we needed. Tagging, searchability, categorization. Simple implementation, easy-to-use. We needed a way to store our assets outside of the sales org and Canto provides an easy way for doing this.

Cons

I dont have any complaints about Canto, sure there are features in other tools that are more advanced but we got what we needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We're a long term user of Cumulus cataloging assets for many customers.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's relatively simple software and the installation and upgrade process is pretty straight forward. The desktop clients are very powerful and easy to use.

Cons

The web interfaces could use some major work. They are typically very buggy and released before they should be. Most complaints we get about the software is related to the various web interfaces. I would highly recommend moving away from Java to something a little lighter on the server side.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally making images accessible to everyone

Reviewed a year ago

For years we have struggled with various methods for sharing marketing collateral (hi-res images, videos, InDesign files, brochures, etc...) with our colleagues, especially international teams! Canto has made a HUGE overnight difference in how accessible our files are. The ease of file sharing is good for our customer-facing colleagues.

Pros

My team especially loves the search and tagging funtions and how easy it makes to find what we're looking for - VAST improvement over the cascading folder organization of our Windows file management. I like that it feels similar to other file storage solutions (Dropbox, NextCloud, etc...) because we don't have to spend much time training our users on how it works. It's super easy to upload and cateogorize new files so they show up where we want them to.

Cons

It might be nice to hide unused filtering options - we don't need all of them and I think some users may be overwhelmed when they see the neverending filter options and think they have to use them.

Vendor response

Hi Caitrin! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and your account manager will be reaching out to address your filtering options idea soon!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Canto is a great online, small organization option

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our organization was using folders and files on a server for our digital assets. We were growing to fast to make this a feasible option, so we started looking at DAMs. Canto (then called Flight) had the tagging and indexing features we desperately needed. Their customer service is also top notch.

Pros

It is easy to use, configure, and is easily comprehended by non-tech savvy users. Love it!

Cons

Needs required field capability. Also a breadcrumb system while searching.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally an Easy Way to Store, Search, and Distribute Our Content!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I love how easy it is to search for specific content. Our company uses project photos for many types of content, and it's so easy to lose the images/videos we want on our company's network. With Canto we are intentional about tagging our photos and videos so users can easily find what they're looking for without hours of digging through files!

Cons

It can take some time to upload content. We went through a multi-month push to get as much content on the system as we could (more than 14,000 items) and batch uploads were tough. Either the tags and descriptions would be off or not show up at all, or it would add the wrong information. After we discovered these issues it was no problem finishing it up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Graphic Designer

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using the Canto Digital Asset Management system at the Museum for years now and it has made my job as a designer considerably easier. My clients can set up gallery for to look at for photos they like and i can also review photos for multiple projects and send galleries as well. It also haas taken a huge burden off of Photography department so clients and the Design department can access photos and not bog down the photographers.

Pros

easy to use and make galleries for clients

Cons

need to be able to view images larger before downloading

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto Review

Reviewed a year ago

We have saved a lot of time searching for files. The sales force can access any file or media whenever they need to without having to wait for someone to email it to them.

Pros

It integrates with Sales Force. There are a lot of options to share content with your sales force.

Cons

Certain folder types cannot be shared so you have to select the content inside the folder individually.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing, Jesse! We have a lot of integrations and are happy to hear that Salesforce is your favorite. To get the details on the issue you're having with sharing folders, your account manager will be contacting you soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Value DAM

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to create custom fields, manage our database, and our workflows.

Cons

There were some difficulties getting our previous library and the data associated with each asset moved over. However once we got that done it has been a much better library experience than our old DAM.

Vendor response

We appreciate the feedback, Jennifer! Thanks for sharing your experience of migration and implementation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Utilizing Canto for Photo Management

Reviewed 10 months ago

Through using Canto, we have eliminated the need for main server storage of all the images and graphics that were originally stored there.

Pros

Canto's search features and tagging are the most essential pieces to easy use. The overall system's rollout across our company has been seamless, as Canto's support team is consistently responsive with questions or concerns.

Cons

When uploading many photos at once, tagging can lag or when going through many photos at once on the application, it can be slow as it processes all the images, graphics, etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Whitney! So happy to hear that the rollout of Canto was seamless with the help of our support team.