This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Canto Reviews - Page 8

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


608 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helped our team utilize marketing materials

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had been organizing images and marketing collateral in google drive folders but the size became unwieldy and the sales team had difficulty finding what they were looking for. This has really helped the sales group put the content that marketing generates to use.

Pros

Easy to search for documents and product images. Really liked that we can add fields to make searches more relevant to our business. For instance, tagging images with internal job numbers so that they are easy to reference. Overall the sales team is using marketing resources and product images much more frequently now that they have an easy way to access what they are looking for.

Cons

The team really liked the drag and drop functionality of the Canto chrome plugin but it looks like chrome is now limiting some of that functionality where instead of dragging a file it is downloaded and then needs to be dragged from a folder. It still works as it should but it would be great to work things out with google chrome to get that original functionality back.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

major help with accessibility, very streamlined form of asset management

Reviewed 4 years ago

The software streamlines communications across the companies and offers easy search-ablity for anyone using the software.

Pros

the tagging system allows for easy search-ability. folders and albums allow for organization efficiency. the plug-in with In-Design makes it possible to easily connect documents and files with flight.

Cons

the way that tags are done could be streamlined so that users could "apply all" to certain assets rather than retyping the tags over again. another option to highlight images that you would like to go back in look at could be useful (there is something like this currently, however, the assets are all in a giant folder and you cannot make further distinctions between files)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Content Organization Made Easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

We spend much less time searching for certain images to use in our marketing projects and materials. It has allowed us to search our photo library which is exactly what we needed.

Pros

We were looking for a smart way to organize our photography and make it searchable. Before Canto it was hard to navigate the paths on our drive to find certain photos. We utilize the tagging feature and facial recognition a lot. It is very helpful when we are searching for specific images.

Cons

The only con I have found with this software is that at times I want to share multiple albums or photos from different folders with outside users and I cannot do that. From my understanding, I can only share photos within the same album.

Vendor response

Hi Kendra! Thank you for reviewing Canto. We're glad that it's been helpful for you. An account manager will contact you about sharing digital assets with outside users! Thanks again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Dynamic DAM platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Canto has been an important and daily tool for the professionalization of our workflows, and helped us develop meaningful care for our archival materials.

Pros

Canto is very flexible and adaptable platform that has really streamlined our workflows and made our materials accessible to our statewide staff across three different offices. It's also made it a much simpler process to search and find good visual assets for various needs, and to share out photo and video documentation with back to artists we work with easily.

Cons

The price is cost-prohibitive for smaller organizations, but the investment has been an important one for our organization in really taking good care of our cataloging and accessing our media assets. We do wish there was a function to batch-rename a group of files, tho.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto Review

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

User interface is very friendly. Intuitive on both desktop and mobile sites which makes using on the go very easy.

Cons

Nothing I dislike. My only grip would be that once starting a searching through assets, uploading new assets is only accessible from the home page rather that from the page I'm searching from.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Wyatt!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saved our company time and money

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall experience has been great. Not having to send the same files over and over. Load it once and everyone can access the file(s) or we can create a portal as easy as that

Pros

Love having access to all of our files and images in one place. We don't have to look through Google Drive or Drop box or our Internal server anymore. Its all in one place and has saved us a tremendous amount of time

Cons

The platform can be a little faster when creating folders/albums

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A brilliant product to help a market your company's brand

Reviewed a year ago

Canto has helped our Marketing department greatly! The platform/ service has made it so much easier for our department to get files (Photos, vector files, brand guidelines, logos) to other people in the company. It's share ability and functional work platform is very effective when working with 3rd party venders.

Pros

I loved the ease of use, the functionality, the storage, the cataloguing and the effectiveness to the rest of the company.

Cons

If the functionality had more features that other company members could use it would make it an even bigger product. Features like remote work platforms, use of same features with other members.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Home Base for Assets

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, it's been a good experience. Our team has never been more organized in asset sharing!

Pros

This has been really helpful for our team. In the past, our assets for each area of the business lived in different places. This has changed this tremendously, and our team and external partners now always have access to the most up to date assets.

Cons

More flexibility on how folders are displayed. Currently, it's my understanding that they're displayed vertically, by date.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good product to start with in digital asset management

Reviewed 3 years ago

We struggled with finding digital assets before Canto, and our previous tools didn't allow for shared access. Now our whole team has access to all our assets, and sharing outside the team is easy.

Pros

Canto has made managing our digital assets and sharing across our design team and enterprise far easier than with our previous tools. It automatically makes metadata searchable, and it's pretty easy to import assets from old systems.

Cons

I'd like more integration with Adobe Creative Cloud software. There is an InDesign plugin, but similar tools for other programs would be helpful. The organizational structure can be a little clunky and limiting, due to this being a web-based tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Digital Assets Mgmt Platform Ever!

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a great time saver as it would take us 70% more time to find and send images to our different departments.

Pros

The ease of accessibility of your assets whether in a conference room, computer or phone. And the permissions you can customized per user.

Cons

Not being able to delete within the shared collections section and the time it takes to upload videos. System will time out occasional.

Vendor response

We appreciate the review, Gina! We're glad to hear that Canto is making your assets more accessible!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Stepped Up Our Digital Asset Management Game to Canto

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We had been using a simplified asset management system, but realized we needed something more robust. Canto was able to deliver what we needed. We needed something that was easy to use, had the ability to add many users for internal access as well as the ability to share externally, and needed very good cataloging/search tools. It does all that and much more. Canto has been great for us as we now have all of our media assets in one place.

Cons

Not necessarily a knock on the software, unless there is a solution to this problem. But mass uploading takes some time since you have to go back in to organize & tag everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As a small independent school with many digital assets, we have been able to organize and share our files more easily with different departments at our school.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve for the users, but for those who want to learn it does not take long to understand how to find the asset the asset they need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Canto Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Prior to purchasing Canto, the office did not have any Digital Asset Management software. The addition of Canto has created one robust location where all photos live safely. Many users in the office are now able to self serve their photography and video needs, which saves time for everyone.

Pros

The addition of facial recognition to the software has been a huge help for my office.

Cons

I use Canto all day. It auto-logs you out of the system quite frequently, forcing me to login anywhere from 5-10 times per day.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I am a Canto reseller and Canto Partner Member

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am a reseller

Pros

There is nothing else on the market that compares from a price/value perspective. To find a product that provides as many features, you would be spending 4 times the cost of Canto

Cons

The application client interface hasn't changed in over 10 years, it needs to become more user-friendly with a redesigned interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

10/10 Canto Review

Reviewed a year ago

Very positive. I would recommend this program to other businesses.

Pros

I love the functionality of the program as well as the friendly user experience.

Cons

I have no complaints at this time. My experience has been extremely positive.

Vendor response

We appreciate your review, Liz! Very glad to hear that your experience has been positive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto Perfect Asset Storage and Management

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall we're happy with the platform. We're hoping to get additional user access worked out with the company.

Pros

Canto's biggest strengths are it's core ability to house all of our digital assets in an organized manner and then allow us to keyword tag each one. We have thousands of files, and it's super important for us to find the right file quickly without having to know the file title. From there, we can see versions, comments, share it, and more.

Cons

This software is madly expensive. Yes - it has TON of features, but what it lacks for us is disappointing when it comes to user logins and limited outside access. Their "Portals" area is a nice feature, but it's pointless when you're needing a 3rd party to simply upload their assets (from such as a photo shoot) and you have to send them a core login to do so.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review, Jeff! For third-party users who are only uploading assets, I would suggest using Upload Links! You can learn more here: https://www.canto.com/features/share/.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto Flight Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've been using Canto's Flight for a little over a year now, and I remain highly impressed with the service. They continue to make great improvements in the features and interface. They respond to issues, questions, and requests quickly. Couldn't be happier!

Pros

Easy to use an administer. Looks nice. Lots of asset sharing options. Very responsive customer service team.

Cons

My only complaint is I wish the image previews were higher quality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canto is amazing!

Reviewed a year ago

I'm managing the organization's assets with Canto and it's extremely easy to share files across the org. In this digital world, that's imperative!

Pros

It is easy to use and the intuitive design allows it to be accessed by our global team.

Cons

Facial recognition could be improved. I know it's a newer feature but I'm looking forward to seeing it grow.

Vendor response

We appreciate your feedback, Kelsey! Canto facial recognition is powered by Amazon Rekognition, so we are also excited to see how the technology grows!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for Document Control

Reviewed a year ago

Customer service is prompt and takes into consideration the needs and wants of the customer. They are always making minor improvements.

Pros

I like that it is very easy to organize multiple types of assets. It is also very easy to replace old documents with new versions to ensure that the whole team as the same version.

Cons

Sometimes the search feature has a mind of its own and selects something completely different from what you were trying to search for when the mouse was not even touched.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing, Eric! Sounds like you might have a ghost! In all seriousness, your account manager will be in contact about this strange issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Canto DAM

Reviewed a year ago

Simple storage and cataloguing system. Good functionalities. Hits the spot.

Pros

Easy to configure, good reporting and bulk edits. Good interface.

Cons

No taxonomy (parent child relationships) capability for metadata values.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Canto DAM Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our experience with Canto has been overwhelmingly positive. They are continually updating the interface and speed at regular intervals, their support team is top notch, and the platform as a whole is extremely easy to set up and use.

Pros

Very easy to set up and use. Regular updates. Great support.

Cons

Wish it had a little more customization in the portals.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Product

Reviewed a year ago

Good experience. Use it daily!

Pros

Ease of use. I can export what i need in the file type I want, resize it etc... Search is very easy.

Cons

The person who set ours up wasnt organized so having ti redo a lot but that's not the software's fault!

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Suzanne! We appreciate it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best software out there

Reviewed 6 months ago

i solved the search function of the archival system with this...

Pros

it is easy to use and user friendly, it has good integration for search and also keywording

Cons

the storage is kinda of limited but scalable with the amount of $$ we can pay out.

Vendor response

We appreciate your review, Daniel!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Improve Workflow with Canto

Reviewed a year ago

I was looking to improve asset organization internally and make external asset sharing more professional.

Pros

Canto has robust searchability, is incredibly user friendly, and makes asset management a breeze.

Cons

After multiple years of use, I have yet to identify any major issues with Canto.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed 4 years ago

robust digital asset management and visibility.

Pros

General user interface is mostly intuitive for people who don't have experience with DAM systems. The ability to add other custom extensions and customize the various ways to get to the system.

Cons

Its expensive and the lack of custom reporting features really poses challenges for business management. There seems to be a high amount of turnover at Canto that can pose difficulties providing a seamless customer service experience.