This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Marketo Engage

Marketing automation for digital marketers

see alternatives

Marketo Engage Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


593 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great tool to dig deeper into analytics.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Marketo offers large amounts of control and also large amounts of integration opportunities (which makes this well-suited to a company that focuses on or uses lots of technology); its pricing and features make it well-suited for mid-level companies. Additionally, setup is both quick and easy and has a community to help make the transition even more effortless.

Cons

Marketo is generally expensive and also requires the aforementioned integrations to work effectively, which adds to this cost. Additionally, analytics are limited and some parts of the interface are strangely unintuitive compared to the rest.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It makes marketing fun!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Marketo is easy to use, quick to setup and an all around amazing tool. It does everything my company needs. The interface is very easy to use even when setting up complex programs. There is a logic to how you go about things that follow the flow of most campaign design processes while helping ensure that you are covering all aspects of the campaign needed.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve for users as well as administrators. There are plenty of resources online to help but one should not expect to load Marketo into your process and immediately log in and start building out complex programs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our company LOVES Marketo. It touches almost everything we do.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Marketing and Sales Alignment, Marketing Activity Automation, Campaign Tracking, Email Cadencing... and more

Pros

The versatility - we use it for lead scoring, nurture campaigns, landing page and performance tracking, sales alerts, and so much more.

Cons

Again - because it's such an integral part of our business there's really not much I don't like. Perhaps it could be slightly more intuitive right off the bat, but even then, with a little training, it's pretty straightforward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool at its core

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that I can typically do anything I set out to do using Marketo. I rarely find myself saying "I can't do that with Marketo"

Cons

While you can do most everything related to marketing automation, the user interface sometimes requires extra steps/work to get where you need to go.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best lead management tool Marketo

Reviewed 3 years ago

I will highly recommend Marketo. It's customer support is great and a big help too.

Pros

I can say Marketo is a marketing platform that every businesses must give their trust. In a short period of time, its unbelievable help to every company is what made us try this app. too. We like that it can be integrated with other apps as well, such a perfect lead management tool.

Cons

You may not consider this tool as one of the easiest tool to use, but you won't regret choosing Marketo as your lead management tool. Training is need at first, but not having a doubt of using this so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Lead Nurturing Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Marketo was built for lead nurturing, and it does that well. The integration with Salesforce is pretty robust.

Cons

The tool leaves a little to be desired when it comes to email marketing, but they have made improvements in recent years (for example, a better analytics dashboard.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I love Marketo as an Marketing Automation Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been great

Pros

How easy it is to automate your marketing campaigns and programs, there's nothing you can't do with Marketo.

Cons

I love Marketo but what I like the least would be their tech support, they take a long time to answer and once they do they don't solve anything

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to learn and very efficient automation software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, apart from the HTML coding window issue (which is required very rarely), the whole system is very easy to use and helps you automate your marketing campaigns.

Pros

The software is easy to use. There is a tonne of documentation on how to use various features and the different project folders make it very comprehensive.

Cons

In the system, when creating emails, the window where you can edit the HTML code is hard to access.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Taking My Teams Marketing to a New Level

Reviewed 3 years ago

Super fast analytics dashboard that is helpful in providing dynamic trends data. With the speed of this software, teams are able to truly optimize their marketing channels and see tangible results.

Pros

This software is easy to use and an amazing option for allowing teams to view insights about trends and behavior. The dashboard is user-friendly and offers opportunities to really delve into crucial KPIs. Not only does this increase overall efficiency, but it is also an affordable option.

Cons

I think that having a more structured educational resource available would help support teams become certified with this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

If you can imagine it Marketo can do it!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Marketo is the most robust platform I have used. You can literally accomplish anything you can think of. I like the engagement programs and streams. Cloning programs and emails are pretty straight forward. I love the database side of Marketo. It's very easy to locate and update user profiles. Listing imports are very fast and easy.

Cons

Although it can do anything, it's a steep learning curve to set anything up. They found the most complicated way of doing easy tasks. 1. No visual flow charts for automation 2. Have fun setting up the email preference and opt-out options. It's a nightmare. 3 The email builder is a complete joke. We ended up signing up with another email designer. 4. The Marketo training videos and tutorials are very high level. You'll find more helpful support in the forums. 5. Customer service is terrible. Have fun talking to someone on the other side of the world that knows less about the product than you. I can't count how many times they tell me something isn't possible only to figure it out later. Oh, and you have to pay for phone support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Marketo is a beast

Reviewed 2 years ago

It’s been really hard to learn everything but I’m starting to feel a little more confident.

Pros

Marketo has the ability to do so many things which is a pro and con. It takes a while to get the hang of things but Marketo can really make this happen for your company.

Cons

I wish Marketo was more visual. It’s sometimes hard to get from start to finish on a project without realizing how you May be affecting other campaigns and lead funnels.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Marketo Marketing Automation Review

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, it is a very easy tool that our marketing team both internally and externally has taken on with high confidence!

Pros

Such a great tool to that is easy for anyone to learn. Easy flows for all marketing execution when it comes to email, social and contact management. All of our partners love it so far!

Cons

Reporting so far is not too telling based off what we see from both the internal team as well as reported by our partners.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Marketo is the crown jewel of marketing automation softwares. It has the ability to integrate with many CRM platforms and is what I find the best automation tool out there. They have a variety of reporting and aggregating tools that make your data easy to use and accessible. It also has many customizable or repeatable processes embedded within it. With the correct process set up within your software, marketo is the best use of your money for martech.

Cons

The most difficult part of marketo is setting it up and understanding how to use it. Once the setup is correct for your system, and you have a known marketo user, the martech is very easy to use. My biggest con with this is getting to a place of understanding. Purchasing this big ticket martech is a waste if you dont know how to optimize it for your industry and to get the results you want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Incredibly pleased with functionality and ease of use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Easy to use and visually pleasing software - Multiple ways to do everything - from data reporting, pulling email addresses through smart lists, etc. - Instant visualization of data on campaigns - Easy A/B testing in the program - Design Studio is straight forward - Pre-made templates - Drop and go with Marketo template modules instead of having to build all from scratch

Cons

- Previously used Eloqua and preferred the visual format of creating email campaigns - Revenue Explorer is often down - works in different browsers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great way to handle lead generation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Extremely robust tool - you can do some incredible things with Marketo. Easy to scale things for the long term.

Cons

Sometimes overly complex. There is also the occasional error that will mess up things like tokens and other settings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Moldable, powerful tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Marketo is moldable to what you need. It's a powerful tool that enables me to imagine how I want a process to happen and then actualize it without using any code.

Cons

The analytics leave something to be desired. Simple reports are good, but with complex reporting you need RCA, which isn't very user friendly. I end up doing a lot of reporting in Salesforce, but I am excited that Marketo has more robust reporting coming down the pipeline.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great marketing automation software that can integrate with anything

Reviewed 3 years ago

Able to create landing pages easily with forms that are trackable. Get leads directly from Marketo that link up with SFDC. The marketing automation aspect is easy and fun.

Pros

It's an incredibly robust system that is incredibly customizable. The ability to create landing pages that directly integrate with SFDC. The community of users for best practices.

Cons

The user interface is a bit clunky. With customization that is available, it is possible to get a bit lost in the hugeness that is Marketo. Lastly, there are no customizable reporting options which can make things hard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Marketo gets the job done

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Ease of use is KEY! It's really easy to teach someone else how to create a new program, email, smart campaign, etc. I also appreciate how easy it is to sync programs to SFDC.

Cons

I wish there were sub/child-programs. I also am continually disappointed by their out of the box reporting. It's really elementary. If you want to do anything other than see email performance you need to add their reporting module - which is only available if you're on the correct product tier. Extremely frustrating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Incredibly powerful, but quite the learning curve

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There is almost always a way to get Marketo to do what you want it to do. If you don't know how, you might have to talk to support or even attend a training. But Marketo can probably do it.

Cons

It's so intricate, and everything is so interconnected, that there are a lot of gotchas. You better have time to double and triple check everything, because there's a good chance you'll forget something. But that's the price of highly customizable software. If it was just one big "go" button, you wouldn't be able to do all the things Marketo does.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Marketing Automation tool on the market

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

All the Marketing Automation that you are use to see but really the best part are the reports that it shows, you can go as deeper as you want, and this is one of the most useful things, also did i mention that there's no software so you are able to check, build and report form any where.

Cons

The fact that the names with accents (from other languages like Spanish, French, Portuguese, etc.) are wrong on the system and its kind of hard to track them all once the lead was register. Some times it takes too long to load the dashboard

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We use this to track all of our lead source

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This has been a great tool to track the leads and how often they have visited each part of or website

Cons

Would love more metrics for the basic user of the system. Make it easy to run reports to figure out the best way to go

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo is a powerhouse for marketing/sales alignment

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The customer support is phenomenal. There are so many resources available to learn the different capabilities of the platform. Marketo also provides great insight into campaign performance so we can make decisions faster.

Cons

There are a few minor issues with the Marketo / SFDC integration that could be improved to allow data to flow more seamlessly between the two systems. A lot of times you are kind of guessing --- "will this work?"

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketing Automation Built for Results-Oriented Marketers

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

As robust as its functionality is, I find it extremely easy to use! I also appreciate how Marketo is constantly adding (free) enhancements and new features to its products to continue its placement as the best provider of marketing automation software. It really excels in lead lifecycle tracking, program membership tracking, campaign execution, and data management and works well for managing leads in each stage of the funnel.

Cons

Some of its design studio features are playing catch-up to other vendors in the market when it comes to responsiveness and style.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Marketo Does it All

Reviewed 5 months ago

Marketo is a system that has evolved and solves most problems marketers come across.

Pros

Marketo is a very powerful marketing automation tool. I've used it at a few different companies for years and feel like there is still so much more it can do. It makes creating and sending emails easy, it tracks lead lifecycle and integrates with salesforce to keep data maintained.

Cons

It is hard to use if you don't know your way around. It also does a lot so some companies have it configured much differently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Needs a facelift

Reviewed 2 years ago

Marketo has been frustrating to use after using other marketing automation tools on the market.

Pros

Marketo is a very powerful marketing automation tool that can serve many different business problems.

Cons

The software is just plain hard to use and takes a lot of ramp-up time in order to be successful, especially as compared to other marketing automation tools on the market today.