This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Mautic Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The promise of Mautic's marketing automation is attractive, especially compared to the prices Hubspot is charging. Insights into and tracking of individual users is awesome.

Andy R.

Being open Source is its greatest advantage because the software is constantly evolving and can always be improved both for oneself and for other users looking for a CRM of these features.

Moises M.

Dynamic content is great to use, I have just started using this feature it is very useful for customized landing page experience. Great user community and slack channel that helps you anytime.

Narendhiran S.

Cons

I have had the problem to integration with Hubspot. Documentation does not have actualization.

Aneta L.

The updates always crash my system. Also, built in crm is very weak.

Anonymous Reviewer

The landing page builder is difficult to use and so is the form builder. There is no customer support or tutorial to guide you on how to make the most of the features.

Abigail N.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

25

12

5

1

2

82%
positive reviews
95%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


45 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and powerful

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

You can start to use in minutes and increase the benefits day by day. It's simple to integrate with any website and a lot of other platforms (CRM in our case)

Cons

Some features are not completely well explained in the documentation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Open Source Marketing Automation and Email Marketing Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've been using Mautic for a few years to manage client email marketing campaigns and marketing automation integrations on their websites. It's an excellent solution for tech-savvy agencies that don't won't to spend tens of thousands of dollars on other platforms.

Pros

Mautic is open source, self-hosted, has a strong community behind it, and releases updates relatively frequently. You get all of the features of a HubSpot-like platform on your own server.

Cons

The occasional bug will pop up with new releases. I don't won't update immediately on important production servers until I've tested new releases. Self-hosting and open source means a little more work, but it's a great cost savings and it's always preferable to be in control of your data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best CRM and Autoresponder System I know of

Reviewed a month ago

It is a very powerful and important tool for my business that provides many possibilities and integrations, however sometimes we need a little technical expertise to solve certain details and do very specific things.

Pros

Being open Source is its greatest advantage because the software is constantly evolving and can always be improved both for oneself and for other users looking for a CRM of these features. What I like most about it: A/B testing of your digital marketing campaigns If you decide to use this tool, you should know that with it you can perform A/B tests for your landing pages and websites. These tests will allow you to optimize the performance of your platforms and improve the attraction you exert on your buyer persona. Compatible and adaptable to other tools and technologies Mautic is also a software designed to integrate with other complementary open source technologies. It works very well with the customer relationship management software for ecommerce (CRM) Drupal and with WordPress.

Cons

One of the points that needs to be corrected is the high dependence of its users on technical support. For the configuration of this Marketing Automation software, it is essential that Mautic's technical support assists you throughout the process. If you are not an expert, your first steps with this tool can become a small ordeal, but once you get over it, everything is a marvel.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Free open source product that is great when it works, but difficult too

Reviewed 4 years ago

It allowed me to setup some marketing automation for cheap, but it requires a great deal more work than commercial systems to setup and understand.

Pros

It is a free and open source and has much of the functionality of the largest players in marketing automation. It has a decent interface for each component that works fairly well once you understand it. The integrations with email providers is great once you get them configured. Other plugins and integrations are very good.

Cons

Email configuration is difficult and problematic. Once running it is good, but you need expertise in configuring all aspects and you have to work with providers that require further expertise in order to increase deliverability. I use Elastic Email and it is a good system, but still difficult if you don't know how email deliverability should be configured. While the functionality is powerful in terms of the features, there is a disconnection between many of the components and it takes a real learning curve to get things running right. I still struggle with many of the components. It has features that will allow it to be a semi-decent crm, but they need to add new capabilities to it. Concepts are difficult as it related to visitors to your site and emails.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to integrate and full control

Reviewed 2 months ago

It has a bit of a learning curve but once you dive into it its great. Maintaining a workable database does require some active administration, but there is many support from the community there.

Pros

Since its open source you have full control over it. For this this means we can offer our customers a full marketing automation suite at a fraction of the cost of other parties. At the same time we can contribute to make the platform better. It has loads of features and can be used for many different things. We use it for setting up highly person and customized automated campaigns and that works brilliantly.

Cons

It is sometimes a little buggy. We have had our fair share of stuff that didn't work but usually thats fixed in a couple of releases. The good thing is that usually you can also provide a temporary fix yourself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Automation for Less Cost

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good experience so far, keeps costs of mailing list sending down.

Pros

The ability to automate a lot of marketing tasks and the ability to track users for targeting leads from our website traffic.

Cons

The software seems to create a massive database size for larger lists as the amount of data collected is vast, therefore be aware that you may need a dedicated database server for storage

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mautic provides all the features of highend marketing automation solutions

Reviewed 3 years ago

In today's environment a marketing automation plan is essential and Mautic offers a great one at a great price (free if you can install your self)!

Pros

Mautic makes marketing automation easy. From campaign scheduling to marketing asset tracking and management Mautic rocks. Extensive and highly flexible contact management is an additional Mautic benefit.

Cons

The most cost-effective implementation of Mautic is to install, setup and manage on your own server. The downside is that you will need the expertise on staff to accomplish this. There is a web-base, subscription version that is as good or better but does come with a monthly fee.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Open source and Awesome

Reviewed 14 days ago

Overall experience is good, and implementation is easy too.

Pros

Landing page creation with template support and automation based on interaction points with leads are the few features I like most.

Cons

There is no good mobile app support available as of now, and this is the only area where Mautic is lacking.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An open-source Marketing Automation tool, giving paid ones a run for their money

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been great, with Mautic we have all data at one point, it is easy to track and deliver segmented content, onboarding flows easily which was cumbersome and erogenous when we were doing it manually.

Pros

NOTE: I use the self-hosted and open source version of the software. 1. Unlimited team member and collaboration possibility, as opposed to limited team size in other ones. 2. Very powerful decision engine that helps us customize Campaign workflow. 3. We can modify and segment users very granularly using company/lead attributes and their actions on the website. 4. Dynamic content is great to use, I have just started using this feature it is very useful for customized landing page experience. 5. Great user community and slack channel that helps you anytime.

Cons

1. Set-up took some time and help from the tech team. 2. Adding design elements like font and color to forms takes time to learn initially 3. UI could be better. 4. No proper dashboard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good email marketing tool

Reviewed 8 months ago

Mautic helped me to reduce costs with email marketing campaigns.

Pros

- No user limit; - No limit on monthly emails; - Integrations; - Email creator in html; - Possibility to create Landing Page; - Unlimited contacts; - Possibility to create segments.

Cons

the cons of Mautic are due to the learning curve that is much greater when compared to other email marketing tools on the market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only open source marketing automation software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Compared to costly subscriptions such as HubSpot or Pardot which start at $800-1000/month, Mautic provides the majority of the functionality that most marketers need without a licensing fee. Through an intuitive contact timeline, you get deep insight into events such as page hits, form completions, email opens/clicks, and asset downloads. The drag-and-drop campaign builder makes it easy to build workflows...

Cons

Mautic can require the expertise of a developer or sysadmin to set up and maintain. Fortunately, there are Mautic consultants that will professionally maintain your Mautic instance for a price that is far less than a subscription-based service. If you self-host, you have to bring your own email gateway (e.g. Amazon SES, SendGrid, etc.), which might seem like a disadvantage at first, but is actually an advantage. If you ever decide to use any other email marketing tools in conjunction with Mautic, you can benefit from the sender reputation you've accumulated while using Mautic - to ensure good email deliverability.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An amazing tool for email marketing

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using for sending newsletters (trying to automate from rss to email), capturing the leads (integrating with thrive leads), and crating the welcome campaigns with advanced conditions (adapting them to the behavior of the person). I do also integrate with Magento with an extension.

Pros

I like that it is an open source solution that delivers on their promise. It has very advanced options, plus a community that loves it. Used both from small companies or by fortune 500. So it is very scalable. Allows to own your data.

Cons

There are two things that I do not like a lot. The business model behind for me looks to have minus and few economic incentives for the creators to improve it constantly. And I think that may reflect in that misses somethings that other similar tools have (for example easily arrange the time to send the email, rss to email, better facebook integration, etc). But, it is amazing how many things already have working fine (automated campaigs, impressive tracking pixel and contacts profiles, plug ins, email template editor, ab testing capacities, etc). Really a great work, and working good for real campaigns. Very stable product (that does not happen with all open source products)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent free Marketing Automation Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Im a Mautic fan.

Pros

Its logic way of handling the things. Its simple and effective design. It works. It had never let me down. And if you have acces to C-Panel - its free to install and use.

Cons

I love the software, but the things can get a little complicated - more all the possibilities than the software it self. You need to be able to - and have the time to - read the manual and not least the very responsive forum - to get it to work. WPcrafter had some Youtube videos on the subject. See them and learn. Then you are flying. ...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Main features available, active community of developers, growing network of helpers

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been using several marketing automation software on my own, Mautic covers the main features digital marketers are willing to automate (i.e. Email builder, landing page builder, very user-friendly campaign builder...) The main difference with Mautic is that it is an open-source framework, and gathers a growing reliable community of developers. Improvement from version 3.4 to 2.1 are impressive,...

Pros

The campaign builder is from far the most user friendly one on the market. The open source community is fairly active and growing

Cons

Difficulty to deploy, need to be backed up with technical profile

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

You get what you pay for

Reviewed 2 years ago

Decently functional, but not the best in quality. You get what you pay for.

Pros

First of all, "Mautic" is both a name for SaaS run by Acquia, and also OSS available for anyone online. Here, I talk about just the software experience since it is almost what both of them have in common (assuming OSS installed correctly). Mautic is a great software for getting started with marketing automation for a fraction of the price that the competitors are asking for. Also, the functions and features aren't that limited. Mautic has all the features required for a company to get results by lead nurturing.

Cons

Mautic falls behind to competitors quite a bit in terms of integration with other services. Not only competitors, but major SaaS offer various integrations with other services, making it possible to tailor to all kinds of needs customers may have. Mautic is very limited in that regard, often requiring users to do extensive research on how to achieve what they want. (Often involves Zapier with some coding.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beugguy on self-hosted, but so wide and interesting

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very very good, and recommend. But need time to set-up properly.

Pros

We can manage so many things as campaigns emails... In the end, it needs a bit of time to understand it but once done, it is the best tool on the market, and free as it is open source.

Cons

Really beuggy at the begining, and especially if you are not a dev.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Avoid at all costs if you're B2B

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

What initally drew me to Mautic was the UX of their campaign builder which was something most of the other major players didn't have at the time. Pricing was far under the other major players as well and the way it was sold seemed like it would be a relatively easy install.

Cons

Literally everything else. Onboarding took over 3 months, we had problem after problem after problem. They told me for 18 months that in every single email I sent I didn't have any bounces, I questioned them over and over and over about why the bounce report wasn't accurate and they tried to tell me it was. After them FINALLY realizing they configured something wrong in our install I pulled us out of Mautic completely as now I could not trust the reporting. This is the most infurating piece of software to use, especially if you don't have a martech person on staff. Avoid at all costs and just pay the extra $$$ to go to one of the major players.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Open Source Mautic - excellent tool for FREE. Setup is complex but works great once running.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are extremely grateful to have this tool available and working for us each day. It's going great and we look forward to adding more campaigns as time goes on.

Pros

We are using the FREE open source version of Mautic, so please keep that in mind with this review. It is pretty complex to set up on your own, without the right people in place; however we were able to do it, and the product is GREAT. We have several campaigns running for different product types and all is going smoothly. We've spoken with Mautic staff and they are really great to work with.

Cons

Without a clear vision on what exactly you want to do, I doubt you'd be able to get Mautic installed version working. (However, the online, fully supported version is another story. With their help, you could for sure.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Is like mailchimp but better

Reviewed 3 years ago

I can control EVERY aspect of my email marketing!

Pros

I love how great the campings in Mautic are. The visual templates of emails and the easy use for customizing them is amazing. Mautic use points system to see witch contact are the one's opening your email and helps to focus on the right path. Love how once you get to know the software everything just work and is your to make.

Cons

There is no white labeling, it definitively has some learning curve and the initial setup on cron jobs in a server can be tedious.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mautic

Reviewed 3 years ago

Running campaigns to ensure online growth for our organization has been achieved, we can't do without it since we are in the ecommerce sector

Pros

one of the best tools for online marketing, automation to send emails and running campaigns.

Cons

A user needs to train a lot to use it, its not that easy to use, research is needed to install, configure and use it as its supposed to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mautic is the right way to start with Marketing Automation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good product to sell services to our customers

Pros

It is open-source but not poor and developers communities are active and helping if you ask. It has been built by people who know about Martech and it gives you the right setup in your path to it. Definitely useful to start with and even grow with it

Cons

Bugs are there, you bet it, and sometimes you discover them in the worst situations. So you need to test beforehand but bugs are not so many and in several situations you get the solution via forums

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software for all of your MAM needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

I really enjoy Mautic. The support and product are both top-notch! It integrates well with all of our other systems and I would highly recommend to anyone!

Pros

My favorite part of Mautic is the A+ customer support. I'm never waiting more than 12 hours for an answer, even on nights and weekends, and the customer support staff are always willing to jump on a call to discuss my problem and offer assistance. The templates Mautic offers look fresh and are relatively easy to build. My favorite features, though, are probably campaigns and landing pages. The look and feel is so much cleaner than other softwares I've used.

Cons

I wish that there was a slightly more advanced Salesforce integration, but that's coming from someone who has used Pardot (a Salesforce product) in the past and the pros for Mautic vs Pardot definitely outweigh the cons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 4 years ago

No one. I am using this software and promote it in Poland.

Pros

I am using this tool for 8 months. It has great: Forms, Dynamic Content, Focus items, Progressive profiling. A lot of plugins. Powerfull tool. Self-hosted it the bigest pros. Big community. For me the best. Great guide: https://www.mymautic.pl/

Cons

Still a lot of errors... I have had the problem to integration with Hubspot. Documentation does not have actualization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketing Director

Reviewed 5 years ago

This is a great and easy to use marketing automation software. The fact that it is an open source project make the software very powerful in terms on new features. Every month, you're glad to use a new, modern and extremely useful feature. Using mautic is simple as a child's play.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mautic is a powerhouse which you can use to automate 65% of your inbound marketing campaigns!

Reviewed 4 years ago

- Email automation - Intelligent drip campaigns - Creating smart web forms - User profiling

Pros

Mautic is a powerful tool that makes live of marketing teams so much easier. A few Pro's include: 1. Feature rich 2. Amazing drip campaigns 3. Works well with mailchimp, sendgrid and other providers 4. Well documented with videos 5. One-stop solution for so many web marketing tasks

Cons

The only con would be the easy of getting started. It does require a learning to get started and accustomed to the tool.