Muster Reviews

Muster

Advocacy platform for nonprofits & trade associations

Muster

Review Summary

Pros

It is a very affordable alternative to other similar resources in the marketplace and the customer service is outstanding.

Brian C.

I love that Muster is so affordable. It makes advocacy software accessible to smaller organizations.

Brittany Dawn M.

Great experience and happy to have this tool for our members.

Jo M.

Cons

This is disappointing that the letter the legislator receives is not eye-catching in that way, where they can easily pull out the key features of the message.

Kadi P.

Inability to easily replicate archived campaigns (repurposing content older than a year).

Brian C.

Lack of some customization options for messages (e.g., direct HTML editing).

Andrew K.

Overall rating

4.8

(21)

5

4

3

2

1

17

4

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy we made the switch to Muster

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been very satisfied with Muster and are glad we made the switch from our previous vendor where everything was a la carte and the customer service was non-existent. Muster has been very attentive to our needs and the software itself is great. We've recommended Muster to several other non-profit organizations in our area because of our good experience with it.

Pros

We like how easy it is to use and that the price includes everything -- each feature is not a la carte.

Cons

When we first subscribed there were some kinks to be worked out particularly around loading lists, but those have been addressed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Muster is a Must-have

Reviewed 3 years ago

We began using Muster in its early days as a tool for us to build a grassroots advocacy organization. Before Muster, we used MailChimp, which is great for sending email, but it doesn't provide the key functionality of calling your list to specific, political action and then tracking the outcomes. Muster was absolutely critical to our success when, last year, our city council passed the final vote to begin building rapid transit infrastructure for our city. Now, as our organization grows and matures, Muster's features allow us to keep our supporters engaged and keep our officials on the right track.

Pros

Muster is great for the following reasons: Excellent underlying data that makes segmentation and targeting your list simple. The team is fantastic at supporting their product. Sending quick updates is easy.

Cons

Muster could be better if: More integrations Greater ability to customize emails Organization-facing mobile apps for managing lists, signups, calls to action.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Effective Advocacy Tool

Reviewed 9 months ago

Using Muster has increased our reach on issues that matter most to our members. Our members find it easy to click through the prompts and customize their message to legislators, and they are able to easily share the Action Alerts among their networks as well.

Pros

Muster is an effective tool for engaging our association membership to participate in advocacy activities and engage their elected officials. With a few simple clicks, it makes it easy for people in our network to reach out and advocate.

Cons

There is not a way to modify the text in the messages we send to legislators—ie, bolding certain phrases, italicizing legislation, or bulletin key takeaways. This is disappointing that the letter the legislator receives is not eye-catching in that way, where they can easily pull out the key features of the message.

Vendor response

Kadi, Thank you for your wonderful review and we appreciate the feedback! We always want to ensure the deliverability of constituent messages which is why we made the choice to limit the styling for them. We look forward to continuing to serve the Michigan Federation for Children and Families and making it easier for your supporters to connect with their legislators. Best, Corey @ Muster

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful and economical

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

User-friendly with an easy to use interface. Economical - well suited for a growing organization. Very responsive team, actively seeking feedback and making changes to suit our campaign.

Cons

Data organization can be tricky. Large numbers of contacts can slow down the interface.

Vendor response

Hi Atul, The whole Muster team wants to thank you for your continued feedback! We want to ensure you and every other customer gets the most out of our product. We've loved seeing the incredible growth you've had in the short time you've used Muster and we'll always work on ways to make the experience smoother. Best, Corey @ Muster

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We needed a simple and straightforward 'contact your legislator' tool. We got that and more.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We increased our grassroots lobbying presence from practically non-existent to one of the most active groups in the state of Iowa. We also grew our activist network 4-fold, with the help of a lot of online ads that drove new activists to the action page.

Pros

It's very simple, you can begin using it almost immediately after signing up, and you can track and monitor every email/letter/phone call you produce. We signed up thinking we would only use the email action tool to get members of our organization more involved in grassroots lobbying. Instead, we used every tool available and grew our activist network 4-fold (with the help of a lot of online advertising to drive people to the action page).

Cons

When you create a new email action for users to click on and contact their lawmakers you can edit the landing page (which describes the purpose of the action and some talking points) but not the form letter. So if you want to freshen up a form letter you have to create a new email action. This was just a minor inconvenience.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Political Action is Easier

Reviewed 9 months ago

We are a professional association working to pass state legislation and this is the first political action software we have used. So, far it has been going very well and the learning curve for the system is very modest. As we build our database of contacts, we're also gaining confidence in our ability to efficiently and effectively mobilize our members to contact key legislators at just the right time.

Pros

Muster is very easy to use and the ability to identify contacts by legislative district is extremely helpful. The ability to create Calls to Action with accompanying message templates looks very promising and will get much more use as we get closer to the upcoming legislative session.

Cons

While this system will identify contacts by legislative district, it doesn't currently identify the legislative district of an individual contact. We understand that is likely to be added in the future and will be much appreciated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Enables Advocacy Engagement with Members at a Reasonable Rate

Reviewed a year ago

A positive experience. It's less expensive than some of the other options out there and it gave us what we needed to increase advocacy engagement with our members.

Pros

It gives us the ability to engage with our members making it easy for them to contact state representatives and officials about issues important to our industry. The interface was simple and not too complicated as well.

Cons

It has limits. There's a need to recreate the campaign when you want to resend. In some cases, there's also an issue with proper district borders as it pulls from map coordinates and they can sometimes be slightly off. For example, I'm right on the border with another district so it didn't display my own district properly. This isn't a common problem but it does happen sometimes and they're working on it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Muster Testimonial

Reviewed a year ago

the ability to easily communicate legislative issues with the membership.

Pros

Muster is the best advocacy software product I have seen or used. The ease of use for both the Chamber and the end-user through the Action Center allows us to engage our members and the community in issues that impact our area

Cons

i can not think of anything at this time

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fits this niche calls to action better than anything else; support it top-notch

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use Muster primarily to get our members to contact their legislators when its in session -- e-mails for the most part. The ability to target not only by district, but specific *committees* is extremely helpful. (We'd rather not bombard every senator and rep with messages if we can help it.) It's still fairly new, so there are features that aren't yet implemented... emphasis on "yet." Just about...

Pros

Great back-end database of legislators. Fine-tuned targeting. Clear instructions; great interface.

Cons

Lack of some customization options for messages (e.g., direct HTML editing).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Investment to Date

Reviewed 5 months ago

WONDERFUL. Customer service has been so quick, thoughtful, and solution-oriented.

Pros

The ease of use for me to create action alerts, the ease of use for the members of our organization to send targeted emails - it's been a game-changer for us.

Cons

I wish there was an email template I could send out to our contacts asking them to update their home AND business address. Explaining that they'll only receive the alerts if they're a match with our targeted group.

Vendor response

Hi Megan! Thank you for the glowing review and insightful feedback. As we continue to iterate on Muster, we will look for ways to make that process easier for you and your supporters. As of now, the best way to go about retrieving/updating addresses would be to send out an email broadcast with the Muster contact form linked. We think there are ways we could make this easier though and will work to bring them to life. We've loved partnering with the Virginia Retail Federation and look forward to continuing to serve you the best we can! Corey @ Muster

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very user-friendly

Reviewed a year ago

Muster offers an effective means of connecting your constituents to members of Congress with easily drafted and distributed messages. The team is easily accessible and helpful when responding to questions. As a DC lobbyist with more than ten years of experience in government relations, I strongly recommend it.

Pros

The ease of setting up your own "grassroots" broadcast, and the list management features make it easily manageable.

Cons

When targeting smaller groups of congressional members, it would be helpful if Muster could allow you to select or "de-select" specific members of Congress by alphabetizing by last name.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Muster Makes our online Advocacy Possible

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our organization has worked with Muster since its startup and they continue to adapt to customer needs. I have worked with other e-advocacy firms and nobody compares to Muster's attentive customer service! They would probably answer my call for help at 2 a.m.! They are reasonably priced and easy to use. I like that they provide for contact with local elected officials as well as federal and state because they are so grassroots oriented.

Pros

-easy to use; reasonably priced; outstanding customer service; local contacts

Cons

Almost anything I have recommended to improve the product has been implemented. Muster appreciates the advice of the practitioners!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Muster: Best Bang for Your Buck

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I love that Muster is so affordable! It makes advocacy software accessible to smaller organizations.

Cons

In 2019, the committees list in Muster broke and hasn't been fixed the last time I checked. This used to be a huge time saver for me, so I hope it resolves soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very Helpful Tool

Reviewed 5 months ago

Great experience and happy to have this tool for our members

Pros

Easy to use, accurate database, simple and effective

Cons

A bit of a learning curve on the definitions of broadcasts

Vendor response

Hi Jo, Thank you so much for the fantastic review and feedback! We're thrilled you find Muster so easy-to-use as that has always been a top priority when creating tools. Ease-of-use will continue to be a top priority here at Muster, and we look forward to continuing to serve NDASA. Best, Corey @ Muster

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game Changes

Reviewed 6 months ago

The customer service is what sets this product apart!

Pros

The functionality is a game changer for trade associations and Chambers of Commerce.

Cons

Once an action alert is closed, you cannot clone it for a new situation. It would be nice to be able to clone closed ones or be able to save form sections of content.

Vendor response

Kyle, Thank you so much for the incredible review! We're very excited to have the Fredericksburg Regional Chamber as a customer. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and making sure you're successful in all your advocacy initiatives. The feedback is always appreciated, and we look forward to providing you even more tools in the future. If you need anything, don't hesitate to reach out! Best, Corey @ Muster

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for association advocacy communication

Reviewed 3 years ago

As an association executive director, I've been using Muster a little over two years with great success. It is a very affordable alternative to other similar resources in the marketplace and the customer service is outstanding. I recommend any association that needs advocacy communications, especially on a budget (an who isn't?) give them a try.

Pros

Price and ease of use

Cons

Inability to easily replicate archived campaigns (repurposing content older than a year)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great way to connect your contacts with their elected officials

Reviewed 3 years ago

Working with Muster has changed my organization's approach to advocacy efforts. We can now offer our contacts an efficient and effective way to reach their elected officials. The software is easy to use on our end and also easy for our contact list to use. We have seen our advocacy list grow at an impressive and consistent rate since integrating Muster into our website. The Muster team also provides excellent customer service. They are quick to respond if an issue or question should arise. They are also willing to listen to our needs and figure out ways to integrate new ideas that can help our advocacy efforts grow into their software updates. Highly recommended.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We've had a great experience with Muster and the Muster Team!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We love that the Muster Team is always listening to our feedback and trying to accommodate our needs, even if they are only specific to our organization. We really like that capability of out of constituency contact. We typically ask our members to contact committees, which means they may not necessarily be constituents of those legislators. Other advocacy software companies don't allow that, but we're happy Muster does.

Cons

The extra fee for tracking phone calls. For our needs, we'd really prefer just to have Muster provide the phone numbers of legislators to our members for those who'd rather make phone calls vs. email or Twitter.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Affordable and Effective Advocacy Software

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use for admin and user, customer service experience, covers the basics for organizing communicating succinct messages to federal officials

Cons

List upload functionality via CSV is a bit clunky if you're pulling from a database, though I believe they have SSO option.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent grassroots mobilization platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've used several voter/grassroots mobilization platforms, but couldn't be happier to have moved my association to Muster in the past year. The user interface is clean and intuitive. The email blasts and action alerts are easy to compose, and our members find them appealing and user-friendly. Muster's customer service is also phenomenal - they quickly respond to help requests and are always open to software development suggestions to continue to improve the platform. GREAT software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Muster has helped our organization engage with our members

Reviewed 3 years ago

Since we've started using Muster, we've had much better response from our members when we send Action Alerts or ask them to engage with their legislators. It is helping us with our advocacy in an easy, streamlined way.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review