App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Play Digital Signage Logo

Play Digital Signage

User-friendly cloud-based digital signage software

see alternatives

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Play Digital Signage Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


351 reviews

Recommended

CP
AvatarImg

Chris P.

Primary/Secondary Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent for Educational Environments

Reviewed 3 months ago

The support is excellent. Since we only required one screen there is no cost, yet full support is still offered. Not many companies would offer support under those terms.

Pros

Play Digital Signage was the easiest to work with for our needs. It effectively communicates to our students events and reminders throughout the day. We have various playlists that trigger at various times to remind students when classes end and begin. It is also used to communicate emergency procedures for fire drills and lockdowns.

Cons

Not being able to play a background music playlist continuously without restarting when the top playlist loops back to the beginning.

Vendor response

Hi Chris, Thanks for the awesome review, we really appreciate that. You mention that you are not able to play background music, I'd love to look in to that if you have time? Reach out using the live chat at playsignage.com and let's figure that out. Regards Lars

AC
AvatarImg

Anthony C.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After searching, finally found the signage software we need!

Reviewed 5 years ago

For a long time we had a 9-screen video wall with almost no flexibility in how it showed content. This software has given us the ability of looping Youtube videos, flyers, and other content seamlessly. For us that means better exposure, more engagement, and higher levels of entertainment for our guests.

Pros

It's the most intuitive and user-friendly software we've used! The editing capabilities and plugins make it easy for us to display various forms of content on our screens. In the past, we've been limited on what we could show which was a poor customer experience for our guests. This software gives us the versatility that we need to really enhance our guest experience.

Cons

The asset directory can get crowded and clunky if we don't keep on top of organizing the files. It'd be helpful to have an expiration date like there is for slides.

RC
AvatarImg

Robert C.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

user friendly

Reviewed 6 months ago

We have tried multiple sign programs to operate our digital sign in the front of our store and this one by far is the easiest to use and looks fantastic. One of the biggest pros for us is that it allows for both vertical and horizontal use. We absolutely love it.

Pros

The ease of set up and use for daily ads and promotions as well as the ability to set weekly schedules to best fit or needs makes this program one of the best we have found. It also allows for both horizontal and vertical displays to fit our specific needs.

Cons

It is a few dollars more expensive than other programs but it compensates for it in the fact that it is so easy to use and works well for both small and large businesses.

Vendor response

Hi Robert, Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. Regards Lars

ON
AvatarImg

Oak N.

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, priced right

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We've been using a commercial package called SuperSign to broadcast to our lobby TV. We used it because for a long time we wanted to display a TV station inside a frame and put a welcome message on the side of the TV to greet people. It was very complex and a real pain for our receptionists to edit and change when clients came in. So we decided to find a better product and decided we didn't need...

Cons

The software is great, but just a general warning about the platform. The Amazon Fire stick is not a powerful platform to run the software from. When I put a "Welcome to" ticker on the bottom of a template, if I play at normal or fast speeds, it stutters when the slides above it change. If action is required for your purposes, you'll want a microcomputer platform instead of the Fire stick, but this is an easy way to test the platform and see if you like it. I put the ticker at slow speed so the stuttering isn't as noticeable and now it's acceptable for our purposes.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emma M.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to deploy; works as expected

Reviewed 3 years ago

For how inexpensive it is, it's a GREAT product. We looked into Yodeck and ScreenCloud, and we might've gone with them, but we wanted fast and simple and inexpensive deployment. If that's your needs, you can't go wrong with a simple Fire Stick and Play Digital Signage. My boss was very impressed, too!

Pros

It's so simple to get it set up. I had beautiful digital signage going in about thirty minutes -- and that included the setup of the Amazon Fire Stick, too! I appreciate that it's simple to use but has more bells and whistles still to explore and utilize. I love the ability to schedule a slide for certain time frames. Love that you can do video or images. I believe there's even the ability to add widgets!

Cons

There's a little oddity when slides transition -- particularly with video slides. But cutting down the display time by half a second takes care of that. It also wasn't totally clear to me how to get the content from my computer to the TV the first time (with asset uploads, playlist creation, deployment, etc.). But once I understood it, it was a piece of cake.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review - We really appreciate you taking time to do this. If you have a few minutes, I'd love to hear what could have changed the 4 stars to 5 stars? You can e-mail me directly at lars@playsignage.com.

MA
AvatarImg

Meredith A.

Sports, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommend!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I am not the typical user. I assumed the role of VP of a Women's Golf Association (all volunteer) earlier this year. We are a group of (mostly) retired women who play golf once-a-week at our golf club. One of my tasks was to maintain an old-fashioned bulletin board in our locker room -- a cork-board with paper notices posted using thumb tacks. Surely there had to be a better way. We had a television...

Cons

I have no comments for this section. There is nothing I don't like.

Vendor response

Hi Meredith, Thanks for the awesome review! We appreciate you taking the time to put your review in.

DL
AvatarImg

Daniel L.

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Digital signane

Reviewed 4 months ago

muy buena experiencia, utilce otros servicios y este fue el que mas me convencio

Pros

La facilidad que tiene para usarse, ademas tiene un monton de funciones

Cons

Es dificil en la lista de reproduccion unificarlas

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Vendor response

Hi Daniel, Thanks for the great review, we appreciate you taking the time. Can you elaborate on "It is difficult in the playlist to unify them"? Regards Lars

CW
AvatarImg

Chase W.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Best Solution for Non-Managed Customers

Reviewed 2 years ago

Worked with the team in the past, its a great software for non-managed clients as its powerful and easy to use.

Pros

This software is intuitive and powerful to where customers can utilize powerful tools with very minor training.

Cons

The pricing is not on a sliding scale to where you get a discount for more units or for being a wholesaler.

Vendor response

Hi Chase, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. Regards Lars

ND
AvatarImg

Nicolas D.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've been using Signage display software for a few months now, and overall I'm very happy with it.

Reviewed 7 months ago

In summary, Signage signage software meets most of our digital signage needs, and we've been happy with it so far.

Pros

- The user-friendly user interface makes creating and managing our display content quick and easy.- The software offers many customization options to meet our specific display needs.- We have not encountered any major stability issues or crashes with the software since we have been using it.- The customer service is responsive and efficient, which is essential when we need help or solve problems.

Cons

- Some advanced features, like real-time data integration, might be more accessible

Vendor response

Hi Nicolas, Thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time. Regards Lars

MN
AvatarImg

Munumi N.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Value for money digital signage system

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ability to embed a playlist within a playlist and the ability to time a slide and have itself deleted on the date set. Slide stash is also a good feature, making it easy to use slides created across multiple playlists.

Cons

The downside is the lack of news Apps. That area needs improvement.

Vendor response

Hi Munumi, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time. Regards Lars.

CA
AvatarImg

Charles A.

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Platform/ Great Price

Reviewed 2 months ago

I am very happy with this product. The creator and I worked together for the implementation, and it is great I can still reach out to him if I have questions. Although Play Digital Signage has a great team to work with. I like the one-on-one aspect.

Pros

We got in at the beginning of this companies expansion. We have been able to grow with Play Digital and expand our reach with the system.

Cons

I would like to see an app for smart phones for controlling Play Digital Signage. You can manage from a web interface, but it is a little cumbersome on a smart phne.

Vendor response

Hi Charles, Thanks for the awesome review! Regards Lars

JH
AvatarImg

Jenny H.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great, Simple, Reliable for Public Schools

Reviewed a year ago

We have been very pleased with Play Digital Signage. It is a great option and the fact the app can be downloaded on most smart TVs. It allows us to avoid installing any external hardware. Just downloaded the app, activate the screen, and assign a playlist. Super simple and user friendly.

Pros

The software is easy to use and upload. Being cloud based allows me to update all screens all over campus without having to be in one specific location.

Cons

Sometimes the app with have issues updating and publishing .MP4 files.

Vendor response

Hi Jenny, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time. Regards Lars

BH
AvatarImg

Björn H.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The signage solution that has never let us down.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was very easy to finally have a tool that shows the content the way I wanted it. The content is displayed with the maximum ease of use and after I deployed it myself, it was really easy to transfer knowledge to the ultimate owner of the system, who is self supporting and never needs any assistance or help.

Pros

What I like most is the simplicity, the ease of use and the fact that it never let us down. We haven't had a single downtime second in the 2 years that we have used the product. We have deployed Play on an Amazon Fire stick and 2 displays show content the way we want it without a single interruption.

Cons

I could see a nicer integration with some images banks, external sites, or some other tools, but all of these are less relevant to the real usage we have.

Vendor response

Hi Björn, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. Regards Lars.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ladislav Z.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great digital signage CMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

Certainly highly recommended CMS system. We have hands on comparison with other systems out there that are higher on the price point but give you less then Play.

Pros

We used Play for many years now. We like the playlist management and even though it might have few small drawbacks it works for us in majority of deployments. Playlist nesting, custom schedule on slides are a great help when working with the content.

Cons

No integration with WebOS is certainly a drawback but not a deal breaker for us.

Vendor response

Hi Ladislav, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to do it. Regards Lars

Fv
AvatarImg

Franka v.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Professional and user-friendly digital signage

Reviewed a year ago

We were looking for a new system for our digital signage system and this system has exceeded our expectations. Our customers are very satisfied users.

Pros

The Playsignage system is very user-friendly. Our customers quickly mastered the possibilities. Despite the fact that the system is English and we have Dutch customers.

Cons

We have been working with the system for over 2 years now and we have not been able to discover much that we are missing. Because media RSS doesn't work in the Netherlands, they even made a special RSS reader for us, which makes it possible to use the Dutch RSS feeds. In addition, they have made the weather plugin available in Dutch for us.

Vendor response

Hi Franka, Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this. Regards Lars

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Russell E.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great way to run local TV station basic functions.

Reviewed 2 months ago

It certainly beats old fashioned manual or digital switching systems to control media content!

Pros

We utilize both Google Slides and YouTube videos of local events that we then loop back to our cable provider. Residents get to see the content on an easily scheduled basis. Creating new slides is a very simple and intuitve process.

Cons

Nothing stands out as lacking, but some features are easier to access than others, like slide duration, etc.

Vendor response

Hi Russel, Thanks for the great review. If there are things you think we can or should make better please feel free to reach me at lars@playsignage.com Regards Lars

KE
AvatarImg

Kjersten E.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review of Digital Signage

Reviewed a year ago

Overall we like the product and will continue to use it. We will continue to trouble shoot the issues that we have been having with getting the screen to sync with the TV that we display the graphics on.

Pros

I most like the fact that I can update the screens from anywhere and choose a variety of different designs, fonts, and sizes to show what needs to be shown.

Cons

The thing that we like least about the software is that it can take a while to update from our laptops to the screen that we have the Signage displayed on. Sometimes it fails to update altogether.

Vendor response

Hi Kjersten, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. Regarding your comment about slow updating. I recommend you check the wifi and/or internet for your players. Also, keep in mind larger files takes longer to update on the players. Regards Lars

SW
AvatarImg

Shawn W.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product for distributing ads

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, fits most of the needs, good customer support

Cons

Hard to manage a large number of assets and locations

Vendor response

Hi Shawn, Thanks for the review. You mention it's hard to manage a large number of assets and locations. Do you know about teams? Link, https://playsignage.com/features/teams/ With teams you can add multiple "locations", "departments" all under the name TEAM. Check it out and let me know if you have any questions. Regards Lars.

DO
AvatarImg

Danielle O.

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easily the most robust solution at this price-point.

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a designer who works remotely, being able to efficiently manage content from the cloud rather than manually juggling flash drives with PowerPoint presentations has been fantastic.

Pros

Play offers an incredibly robust product at the absolute best price-point available. Customer support is nothing short of outstanding, and the fact that they integrate seamlessly with an extensive list of devices (FireStick, Android, Chrome, Apple, Raspberry Pi, Windows, etc.) and offer a clean intuitive cloud-based editor loaded with plug-ins and easy scheduling, there isn't another solution that even comes close. Play has completely streamlined the way we push content to the displays in our office. And as a designer who works remotely, being able to efficiently manage content from the cloud rather than manually juggling flash drives with PowerPoint presentations has been fantastic.

Cons

I haven't run into any negatives with the software.

AG
AvatarImg

Alan G.

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect solution for small business needs

Reviewed 4 months ago

This small investment has added a huge level of professionalism to our company. Guests and employees alike love it.

Pros

I love that I can create different playlists for different screens with super easy management and visibility. Screens change and update so quickly that we can always greet guests with customized signage on short notice.

Cons

Editing tools are very basic. But I usually find I can create what I need.

Vendor response

Hi Alan, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. Regards Lars

MS
AvatarImg

Martin S.

Online Media, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Up and running with dedicated support every step of the way

Reviewed 2 months ago

There's been a learning curve, but Play have been there to teach me! The system is succesfully up and runnning. I'm confident that if I have additional requirements, they'll be met.

Pros

Honestly I've been most impressed that I can be working at 10pm at the office and there is still someone on hand to answer my questions and look at my system.

Cons

No cons. Even compared to other solutions.

Vendor response

Hi Martin, Thanks for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Regards Lars

MO
AvatarImg

Maciej O.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Intuitive and as easy to set up as apps in 2022 should be

Reviewed 2 years ago

I need to set up a simple digital signage system and don't have much time/resources to do so. PDS made it easy to do it without any special knowledge and with little time. It just works out of the box!

Pros

I first went through the boot camp of setting up software built into my display. When I finished I realized it didn't have the features I needed. Play Digital Signage is on the other side of the spectrum. It's super intuitive and has all features such an application should have, at least for a user like me.

Cons

I'm not the happiest person being stuck to the built-in visual editor, but the big number of features plugins makes it much easier to me :)

Vendor response

Hi Maciej, Thanks for the review, I'm glad you found the software easy to use and that we were able to provide you with the plugins and features you were looking for. Regards Lars

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Baudelaire A.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Une Application Originale

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Elle permet de faire la gestion de contenu, lecteur d’affichage numérique , la synchronisation d’écrans Interactive

Cons

Elle une application très cher, difficulté au niveau du support technique pour les réponses

Showing original review in French. See translation

Vendor response

Hi Baudelaire, Thanks for the review. In the review you say "It is a very expensive application, difficulty in technical support for answers" Can you elaborate on that? I searched our Live Chat, but I didn't find you there. Regards Lars

MW
AvatarImg

Michele W.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PlaySignage more than capable

Reviewed 3 months ago

Very easy to start up a few months ago. Interaction with developers and service has been very helpful and they are very responsive.

Pros

The plug-ins are very useful so far. Easy to create slides for play later. Easy to save slides to reuse again.

Cons

Would be nice to be able to use different fonts/sizes within a text box. Additional transition options might be useful as well.

Vendor response

Hi Michele, Thanks for the review and the kind words, we appreciate it a lot. Regards Lars

JP
AvatarImg

Jason P.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The platform I've been looking for!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Where do I start! This platform is exactly what our company has been looking for. The ability to create content using the visual editor is extremely powerful and allows for a user friendly experience that prevents you from having to create content elsewhere. Along with the player management functions that allow you to see which players are online at a glance, and easily add players with a simply 6-digit code is a breath of fresh air coming from alternative platforms. On the topic of players, this platform can be installed on nearly every OS under the sun! The pricing model is also unique and very competitive. I've only had positive experiences when requiring support and the team is always quick to respond.

Pros

- User friendly interface - Great pricing model - Feature packed - Player and user management features - Visual editor that's extremely powerful

Cons

None at this time. We've converted most of our clients to PlaySignage from Brightsign, but it would be great to be able to install PlaySignage on a Brightsign player to prevent having to purchase a new player for these clients.

Vendor response

Hi Jason, Thanks for the awesome review! We appreciate you taking the time. Regards Lars.