Screenly Features

Screenly

Raspberry Pi based digital signage solution

4.22/5 (9 reviews)

Screenly Feature Summary

  • Content scheduling
  • Automatic player updates
  • Video wall ready
  • GPS capability
  • Digital menu boards
  • Playlist management
  • Plug & play install
  • Content library
  • Media library
  • Multi-screen, multi-location
  • Offline mode
  • Remote deployment
  • API
  • Multimedia support
  • Remote update / installation
  • Content / widget store
  • Remote monitoring

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Content Library
GPS
Image Library
Monitoring
Multi-Location
Multimedia Support
Offline Access
Remote Control
Remote Monitoring
Remote Update / Installation
Video Management
Widgets
Learn moreCompare App
API
Content Library
GPS
Image Library
Monitoring
Multi-Location
Multimedia Support
Offline Access
Remote Control
Remote Monitoring
Remote Update / Installation
Video Management
Widgets
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Content Library
GPS
Image Library
Monitoring
Multi-Location
Multimedia Support
Offline Access
Remote Control
Remote Monitoring
Remote Update / Installation
Video Management
Widgets
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Screenly Feature Reviews

9 reviewers had the following to say about Screenly's features:

Mark Lappin

Great Idea; failing to deliver (all screens down)

2018-08-27

right now, I would just like it to work; all screens are currently down.

Pros

Fills a need, looks to be great, easy setup and easy to use interface overall.

Cons

Paying for something that is not working.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Screenly


Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We strive to do everything we can for our customers and apologize that we were not able to resolve this despite our repeated attempts.

We have released new updates that address the issue you were having and do see that your screens are currently active and in sync.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. If you'd like to discuss this matter further, please send us an email at support@screenly.io. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Samantha Richards
Screenly Inc.

Read more
David Nicholas

Review for OSE

2019-02-06

Will definitely consider a paid version when it comes time to replace the OneLAN digital signage we have elsewhere.

Pros

Free and can run on a Pi, can use Google slides.

Cons

Can't actively reboot it from the web interface, no means to check if it's still running (i.e. preview of what's on screen), which would be very handy if administering a screen from another building.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Timmy McGann

Screenly

2018-09-18

Excellent

Pros

The turnaround time from when the media is sent to when it actually plays is very impressive.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike and at the cost it is better than anything other platform we have used on the market.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Screenly


Hi Timmy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our software and we value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact support@screenly.io.

We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.

Read more
Anonymous
(Nonprofit Organization Management company, 1-10 employees)

Goodbye to Free

2019-03-11

Very disappointed that first they cancel their free one-screen option to new customers but then turn around and disable accounts for pre-existing customers like us. No warning either. I discovered by noticing nothing was on the display and then when logging in to see the “account disabled” notice. Nothing I can do except purchase their monthly package that was overkill for our small organization. Since we can’t afford to pay, I’m switching over to info-beamer.

Pros

Was a really great option for our non-profit that couldn’t afford another monthly cost.

Cons

Nothing I can think of. It was easy to use and the free version had all the options we needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vincent Nardi

Great but could be better

2019-02-06

for still images and as a photomenue board it is great

Pros

the ease of use, it is simple to add and change photos

Cons

That I can not put up a functioning time and temp when and where i want it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bastian Graf

Great idea - software crashes constantly.

2018-09-10

Half the time support does not read the email properly and only starts to help & assist when you make threats...very disappointing!

Pros

Easy to set-up if it works - our account manager

Cons

Customer Support & actual software - not working.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Conrad Jooste

Great for advertising in my store!

2019-02-06

Overall a very useful platform for advertising.

Pros

That it’s manageable from anywhere in the world and the very easy initial setup!

Cons

That there’s no functionality for PowerPoint files or to let the pages turn from one to the other.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dustin Herl

Free verison (Screenly OSE) has some bugs

2020-11-25

Pros

Adding assets and scheduling them was easy!

Cons

There is a black screen between a video asset and an image.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Olegario Martinez

Great app

2018-08-28

Pros

Easy to install and use.

Cons

Do not refresh the URL when there is only one asset

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Screenly


Hi Olegario,

Thank you for taking the time to review our software and value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact support@screenly.io.

We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.

Best,
Samantha Richards
Screenly, Inc.

Read more