App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Tatango Logo

Mass text messaging (SMS) marketing platform

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Tatango Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

69

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.19/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

nationbuilder
wild-apricot
onesignal

Pros and cons

I find help in it when I need it with excellence, the access is simple and the facility is also great.
The best feature of Tatango is the ability to reach hundreds of people with a simple text. Also, I love how it allows people to reply.
I like the ease of use of the twigs and emojis. I like not having to encode the emojis.
Collects your email address under the pretense that they are chatting with you live, and then cut you off. Use your email address for SPAM.
Once or twice scheduled texts have died due to tatango errors.
There has been very little explanation for this, and as an organization that uses this 5/7 days of the week it's disappointing.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


69 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Fund-Raising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great!

Pros

The software is easy for users to navigate. The reporting is strong and Tatango's Tech Support team is quick to respond and helpful.

Cons

It would be great if zip codes/numbers weren't clickable

RO
AvatarImg

Ryan O.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review of Tatango

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was good, but then the price jumped up we started looking at other companies and found better options.

Pros

I loved how you could see who unsubscribed from your texting service and that also the stop was included within the text but not charged to you as credits.

Cons

The price jumped up on us and was just too expensive to use. Also it was difficult to put forms in and it didn't have the google shortner option so when you put a link in it ate up much of your character limits.

KH
AvatarImg

Kevin H.

Staffing and Recruiting, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Good Platform for Small Company

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to send ad hoc messages. Really good platform for a small company.

Cons

Can't scale for bigger companies. Back-end system is not able to communicate/pull data efficiently.

TB
AvatarImg

Taylor B.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tatango

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is super easy to use and very effective.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to set reminders to make sure our subscribers hear from us on a regular basis. In a small company where one person carries a lot of different titles it easily slips through the cracks. It would also make things more efficient if there was a way to automatically share with your text subscribers and social media subscribers simultaneously.

HH
AvatarImg

Heather H.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid product, amazing team, quick results FAST

Reviewed 5 years ago

We needed a better way to reach our customers to drive revenue. Email is dead and paid social can get expensive. Yes we had to do the work to acquire phone numbers in addition to emails but seeing great success with adding this form of communication and letting our customers choose how they receive our promotions, product updates etc.

Pros

So easy to use. Didn't need hours of on-boarding, was up and running, sending messages and pulling reports on the first day. Also love that Tatango focuses on SMS and is REALLY good at it vs. just being another add-on within a CRM or email service. They know what they're doing and team provided helpful strategies to acquire and engage our customers.

Cons

Honestly nothing. 10/10 very happy and highly recommend for any brand.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tessa W.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

#1 for a reason

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, a great way to reach you customers if you can afford it.

Pros

Tatango is fairly easy to use and has all the features most users will ever need. I also really liek the blog the provide - lots of helpful tips.

Cons

This can get a little pricey, especially for a small business. Also, even though it is very easy to use, you still need a level of sophistication to fully take advantage of Tatango.

RE
AvatarImg

Richard E.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Team, Intuitive Platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We helped set up a customer on the Tatango platform. The Tatango UI was very easy for the customer to use. They were selected over other vendors becuase their platform was able to send text messages to very large lists (4M+ subscribers) very quickly with high deliverability. We liked them becuase their support requests were answered quickly by very knowledgeable people.

Cons

Their platform currently focuses on the US and Canada and they lack Mobile Wallet functionality that some others in the space have on their SMS platforms.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Features for your marketing plans

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Tatango has been beneficial for our organization and our marketing strategies, and we will continue to use their services.

Pros

Tatango can be hard to navigate at first, but overall has a lot of powerful features. Discovering all these features and implementing them into our marketing plan has been crucial in our growth.

Cons

Tatango is not the most ' user-friendly' or 'pretty' option, if anything I'd recommend changing the user interface.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It works for what I need, sometimes unreliable

Reviewed 4 years ago

Its okay, it works well for what I need

Pros

The software is pretty easy, but it crashes pretty frequently for me.

Cons

Its not the most reliable, it crashes or sometimes I can't log in

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Fund-Raising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I was terrified to text... until it was SO easy with Tatango

Reviewed 5 years ago

I work in fundraising -- and Tatango has yielded at least 200% ROI within the first month of investment. This is an exceptional addition to any fundraising program

Pros

Incredibly user friendly -- great visual previews. You can teach someone to use this in about 5-10 minutes.

Cons

I work at a firm and across many clients who use Tantago -- it's frustrating to need to tie each account to another email instead of having one log in and a list of clients to select once logged in

DG
AvatarImg

Daria G.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best solution for big or small text messaging programs

Reviewed 5 years ago

The staff is attentive, responsive and moves quickly on big or small requests. They are constantly looking ahead and prioritizing the most important part of text message programs: deliverability.

Pros

Tatango has a friendly UI for all skill-sets and levels, making it easy to train juniors on the team to utilize the platform. The workflow makes sense and is logical, and can be applied to the growing and changing needs of your text messaging operation.

Cons

Page load times and ease of reporting are the two areas my team has been working with Tatango to improve.

JW
AvatarImg

Jackson W.

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Tool for Politics

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I think the interface and overall ease of use is Tatango's best attribute. It's easy to teach and learn. Also, the segmentation and testing is easy to figure out.

Cons

It is hard to navigate from one campaign to another if they are not owned or hosted by the same administrator/organization (you'll have to set up multiple usernames & then log out/log in to go between groups if working on more than one org.)

SH
AvatarImg

Simon H.

Fund-Raising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy but frustrating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Software is overall easy to use and understand with minimal learning curve. While it takes some outside tinkering to do exactly what you want, it's very customizeable.

Cons

There have been numerous times where the software still simply break. A text that was scheduled to go instead gets deleted, or in the process for saving it gets deleted, or costs will not calculate. There has been very little explanation for this, and as an organization that uses this 5/7 days of the week it's disappointing.

MS
AvatarImg

Mitchell S.

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mitchell's review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Positive, raised a lot of money for political clients

Pros

easy to loading texts, quick results, simple user interface

Cons

could do more with targeting - limited to including 'any' or 'all', can't do a mix (If I wanted to send recent users who also had a tag, but then exclude a different group) Once or twice scheduled texts have died due to tatango errors

KM
AvatarImg

Kate M.

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very positive.

Pros

Unlike many other CRMs, this is exceptionally easy to use and understand. It's very user-friendly and doesn't require much training to learn.

Cons

There are many bugs that come up over time and affect your ability to get a text out -- luckily the Support Staff is very quick to respond.

MK
AvatarImg

Mary K.

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

positive, overall great platform

Pros

very easy to use and understand. Customer service is always fast

Cons

segmenting not as easy as it could be. Statistics also seem to be flawed regularly

AL
AvatarImg

Amanda L.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and great customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago

So far it's been good. We have had a few issues with delayed text messages with initial sign-up. Being a retail location, we have our cashiers try to get customers to sign up at the point of purchase. The customers receive an offer for the initial sign up. The cashiers have reported that several customers do not receive the text messages while standing there.

Pros

I like the ease of use. The text preview is a great feature. I like the send test text feature. The ability to do surveys, several opt in codes, and campaigns.

Cons

The delay of messages. Reports can be a little difficult to run.

BD
AvatarImg

Bobby D.

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

for text fundraising

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great customer service Great communications when bugs are expected Overall usability

Cons

it should be automatic ability to draft after adding funds

JN
AvatarImg

Jeremy N.

Writing and Editing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Software, small bugs but great service

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very effective for text based fundraising.

Pros

This is highly effective for texting. Service is great too.

Cons

The program can be buggy, but it's getting better. Also, some of the bugs have more to do with the carriers than the software itself. Company is very responsive to help tickets.

CM
AvatarImg

Carla M.

Political Organization, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the ease of use and set up for this product. Deploying texts is easy and straightforward, and the price point is great.

Cons

There are other softwares that allow for custom responses, i.e. Text back A, B, C and get a customized response based on what the user texts back. That would greatly benefit our ladder of engagement. I also think the UI is a little outdated and I would like more data segmentation/tracking. An integration with ActBlue would be great.

MM
AvatarImg

Mayank M.

Human Resources, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Interface and API review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Interface is great, very user friendly and super easy to click around and get what you want. Ease of creating campaigns and then easy to monitor performance

Cons

API design and fetching data out programmatically is not good (lacks a number of features which are standard)

NM
AvatarImg

Nicholas M.

Political Organization, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Reliable Broadcast SMS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great customer support, good communication

Cons

Some backend features experience downtime

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Tatango

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Tatango has an easy to use UI. We use it almost exclusively via API and we can do pretty much anything we need to via API since we are just using Tatango to send out SMS messages.

Cons

It isn't the cheapest text marketing solution, but you get what you pay for.

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Useful Product

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall positive, makes mass texting a breeze.

Pros

Very easy to produce mass texting for clients

Cons

Sometimes a bit glitchy, especially with more content heavy MMS

GH
AvatarImg

Gina H.

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best mass text message marketing platform available

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easily the best text message marketing platform available. Tatango is easy to use, has super fast messaging and great features (like video messaging and A/B testing), and provides unbeatable expertise and support. The blog is full of good tips and information too.

Pros

It's easy to use and has great features. Its messaging is super fast. Its unbeatable industry expertise.

Cons

So far I have zero cons to report. I think that Tatango is truly the best.