App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Xara Designer Pro X Logo

Xara Designer Pro X

Graphic design and creative management software

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Xara Designer Pro X Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

23

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.86/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Xara Designer Pro is a powerful, yet easy-to-learn and friendly vector graphics package, which is a true delight to work with on daily basis.
Also, they continuously improve it and add additional features. A great alternative to designing websites if you do not like or do not want some of the inconveniences of Wordpress.
If we talk exclusively about design, my experience is excellent, it has everything you need in a very friendly environment to make excellent designs.
Permanent pop-ups and reminders to pay subscription even if one decides to opt out of the scheme is extremely annoying.
If only the Magix annoying marketing messaging associated with the program was less intrusive.
After the initial 365 days of updates expire, you have to pay for renewal at a discounted price.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


23 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Soma L.

Graphic Designer

Design, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Must have!

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Soma: Hey, my name is Soma. I'm a self-employed graphic designer and print specialist using Xara Designer...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Edward M.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Gets users away from the "same look" of built-in "out of the box" online web design

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to use, and yes, OK, sometimes a bit quirky in terms send-to-back and bring-to-front, but gives a very good result. Great price and does what I want it to do. Very convenient that as you build your main internet website, it builds tablet and mobile versions alongside.

Pros

For those who want relatively easy-to use WYSIWYG webs-design software to get away from the relative "same look" of the instant, on-line web site space providers, this could be the programme for you. While it has a multitude of templates for purchase that are fully customisable, you do have ultimate control through the fact that you have the software installed locally on your machine, which is one...

Cons

You do have to have access to the PC you installed the software on as well as your files for design elements you add such as images and text (this is not a collaborative piece of CMS software), although with know-how you can possibly make a portable version of the software. You need to keep an eye on where you locate your files, especially if you make a large website, so that you have access to any...

ZL
AvatarImg

Zoran L.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A well rounded, professional all-in-one software for design, photo editing, DTP, websites and more.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Xara Web Designer Pro 365 has an enormous number of features. It will give you an integrated solution for almost all of your design, layout, DTP, Illustration and web design needs. The learning path is worth diving in. It is a stable, professional product that belongs in the top ten tools of my design toolbox. It carries a modest price and has a rather confusing update service. If you are in a small or medium business as a freelancer, UX/UI/web designer, a publisher or a photographer just to name a few, I suggest that you give Xara Designer Pro 365 a try. Definitely recommended.

Pros

Xara Designer Pro365 (version 15.0 tested) is an absolutely robust and well-integrated software package for design, photo manipulation, Illustration, layout, DTP and web design tasks. It is Windows Vista/7/8/10 compatible. Very fast and stable. A capable alternative to Adobe Photoshop. You can professionally create different graphic design elements for the professional looking logos, a web responsive...

Cons

I would like to see a phone instead of an email only support and some people may desire Xara Designer ProX365 localization in languages other than English and German. Also, Xara Designer ProX365 comes with their version of the subscription program called the Update Service. That's why there is the number 365 in the name. It is free for the first 12 months from the date you buy the software, and it...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Raymond A.

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

3 Tools in one...

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall, Xara has been a good value for our team. It is a little Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign wrapped up into one package. The file sizes are generally small and the programs run light and fast. I have been able to train our team on this relatively quickly.

Pros

I love the flexibility of this program. It has a lot of capability and is still and light program that does not bog down your system.

Cons

It can be buggy at times and customer support is overseas so it takes a long time for them to hit you back. I wish this was available on MAC. They have a new software that is cloud based but it is not up to par yet.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Edgar R.

Performing Arts, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top Notch Multi-tasking Designing for the Average User

Reviewed 6 years ago

Xara Designer Pro X is actually now my first go to application on a daily basis. Mainly because it runs pretty smoothly on my desktop computer and laptop as well. I do a lot of presentations and print design where photo editing is now necessary. I could do these chores with Illustrator and Photoshop running side by side, and I still do when the job requires the need of all the tools and options of these two, but the use of RAM starts to lag the computers in a matter of hours when many layers and vector points start to sum up, but for not complex designs Xara Designer has it all. Ever tried to edit a PDF file in Photoshop and Illustrator from another source that is not yours? Well, Xara Designer makes editing PDF files is a breeze and it respects the original formatting and design.

Pros

Vector editing, photo editing and enhancing, web design, layout and print design, presentations are also available all in one package. Did I mention vector editing? Yup! Now lets add some cloud editing option on the last release! Memory (RAM) consumption is quite low compared to Illustrator or Photoshop, which makes it a great option for basic computers.

Cons

Coming from other graphics software Xara Designer could mean a new learning challenge, but the curve is not that steep. The interface is quite simple to understand after a few runs but the color picker and the layers palette could mean the dedication of minutes of playing around to fully understand how to get things running to usual designing times. Transparency options are also limited as compared to Adobe Illustrator or Photoshop. Masking could also be cumbersome and understanding how they work needs some trial and error hence they work together with the layers palette (under masks options).

MH
AvatarImg

Martin H.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazingly powerful, yet simple and friendly. On the hard drive or in the cloud.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Xara Designer Pro is a powerful, yet easy-to-learn and friendly vector graphics package, which is a true delight to work with on daily basis. If only the Magix annoying marketing messaging associated with the program was less intrusive.

Pros

Xara Designer is a must-have vector graphics editor both for the beginners and graphic enthusiast as well as for pros. Amazingly powerful, yet very easy to acquire advanced skills with user-friendly interface. What's also impressive is the sheer amount of tutorials and how-to hints easily available (Xara Xone) including the large program user community, always able to provide an advice and widely publishing graphics created in XARA. Exists as a standalone program installed on a PC or as a Xara Cloud app.

Cons

After Xara was acquired by Magix, the marketing of the new [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] became quite intrusive and impossible to get rid off. Permanent pop-ups and reminders to pay subscription even if one decides to opt out of the scheme is extremely annoying. And really, spoils the enjoyment of the perfect software package to a large extent. Silly and not necessary.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for SEO rankings

Reviewed 2 years ago

Xara has kept on improving and it is future looking.

Pros

I keep switching between Photoshop and Xara Designer Pro X and certainly for good reasons for both platforms. However, it still baffles me that Photoshop has taken so long to provide WebP support which most of the browsers presently do support. WebP images are the way to go especially in dealing with large sized images which load slowly and ultimately affecting website SEO. To the praise of Xara for supporting the crucial WebP. It very easy now to have very high quality images with reduced sizes and consequently significantly improving webpage load speed and achieving better SEO ranking.

Cons

I wish there was a version of Xara for Mac to utilize the Apple pencil and just have one computer for most of my work.

AS
AvatarImg

Augusto S.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very powerful design software, but not too intuitive...

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very helpful, we use it basically to design websites, we are happy even it is not the most intuitive piece of software, but once you learn how to perform certain tasks, then you will love it.

Pros

This is really very powerful software for designers. Once you figure it out, you are only limited by your imagination. Also, they continuously improve it and add additional features. A great alternative to designing websites if you do not like or do not want some of the inconveniences of Wordpress,

Cons

Some very essential / basic features are too difficult to figure it out. It is not too intuitive at all, even sometimes using the help on the software.

MF
AvatarImg

Mike F.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Xara is a all in one powerhouse

Reviewed 5 years ago

One of my go to pieces of software for web design. Some of my most attractive sites were made with the help of Xara. I love the fact that i can stay in one piece of software for all graphics tasks. This is one powerful software package. Highly recommended.

Pros

Its a photo editor, page layout and web design software under one GUI. Fantastic photo editing features, cool templates and very large library of assets and effects. Very powerful and responsive web design software. Extremely dependable.

Cons

Lacking core programming features. No easy way to create custom forms. Must buy templates for forms. Requires a mildly expensive yearly upgrade fee for new versions.

pn
AvatarImg

patrick n.

Individual & Family Services, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Glad to discovered XARA

Reviewed 2 years ago

This software is very easy to use and learn. It is very functional both on the web and as an installed software on the PC. You can work offline as long as you would not have an immediate need for the online components/content

Pros

Shying away from the steep learning curve of other great designing softwares, I found Xara Designer Pro X easy to learn and navigate. From a novice with little graphic designing background I was able to design a presentation with a lot of ease from online catalog templates. The best part is the daily tip you get as soon as you open the software and the demo videos are readily available for almost every task you might need to perform.

Cons

The challenge one might face with Xara is that the online content catalog cannot be accessed offline.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

McKaffui Aikins S.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fabulous Multipurpose Designing Software.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This powerful designing software is built to handling both vectors as well as bitmaps.The are many available templates to choose from if you don't have higher designing knowledge. Customs design elements can be created and can be used in any design of my choice. There's no loss in quality when scaling up when drawing lines, shapes and curves. It's has simple and great user interface.

Cons

Its limited to only windows platform which prevents many who are not willing to use windows machines.

TJ
AvatarImg

Tony J.

Education Management, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Xara has the X factor

Reviewed a year ago

I have to illustrate lots of different concepts. With Xara I can do that. I can save my work in a variety of formats and sizes.

Pros

Xara is easy to use and I have produced thousands of symbols for use in my work with it. It is one of the best programs for drawing that I have used. I could not be without it!

Cons

I am disabled and I find the nodes used in curves hard to see as they are so small. No background removal.

LH
AvatarImg

Laurie H.

Fund-Raising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thank you!

Reviewed 3 years ago

A+ great value, great features that are easy to use

Pros

This does everything I want it to WITHOUT being complicated! I use the Content Catalog frequently for access ti quick use icons or symbols.

Cons

all good, the help section is very basic but gets the job done.

JS
AvatarImg

Jasmine S.

Public Relations and Communications, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great to create some good branding documents

Reviewed a year ago

I love using it and have been recommending this software to many of my friends and colleagues as well.

Pros

You can save your brand and its colors across the entire software which saves a lot of time as you don't have to always put the logo and match the colors to your branding. I absolutely love this feature.

Cons

There is absolutely nothing I would change. I would also like to add that their customer service is on point.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Xara Designer Pro X provides a GREAT alternative to Adobe Creative Cloud

Reviewed 6 years ago

I loved the old adobe Fireworks program and Designer Pro is the best replacement I have found. Seems to do everything Fireworks did and then some!

Pros

Love the fact that you can edit / create bitmap and vector graphics from the same app. Provide a wide range of tools for the novice and pro user alike. Great alternative to Adobe's $600 per year solution.

Cons

Designer Pro does have a little bit of a learning curve. Not everything is as instinctive as you might think. But once you begin to understand how things work it seems to fall into place.

AD
AvatarImg

Anjanette D.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Xara Designer Pro X

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I think it's awesome tool and highly recommend it.

Pros

One of the most effective tools I've ever used for work is this software. I appreciate the advanced features this has, such as the non-destructive editing that makes it incredibly simple for me to design my project.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that its tools are not as versatile as some other design tools. This may limit the availability of online resources and support.

SL
AvatarImg

Soma L.

Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have!

Reviewed a year ago

It’s the most powerful tool for vector graphics, website building.

Pros

The simple toolbar and the Pantone support.

Cons

I love it. No cons. All the tools are available at one place.

AA
AvatarImg

Alexis A.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Designer Xara

Reviewed 4 years ago

If we talk exclusively about design, my experience is excellent, it has everything you need in a very friendly environment to make excellent designs

Pros

Designer pro was at least for me the first online tool that allowed me great practicality as well as advanced design functions

Cons

The only one against today is that it does not incorporate integration with online tools for customer capture and monetization,

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love Xara Designer!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, a great and low price graphics software for day to day use!

Pros

I like it's ease of use, it's low price, and its high quality output. It is very easy to create great graphics with it!

Cons

I don't like that it doesn't support Right to Left languages, like Hebrew. It shows the text in reverse.

AK
AvatarImg

Ajesh K.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best photo designer software ever - DESIGNER PRO X

Reviewed 5 years ago

I used this software as one of my friends suggested it for my photo editing for my social profiles it's easy, much effective product for the work for beginners and mediocres but I don't prefer it for professionals as it only comes close to Adobe but considering the money factor it's the professionals choice and I leave that choice to them, but for me it was the perfect one

Pros

The main advantages are: 1. It's got a 1 year free trail with all the updates that comes during that period. 2. It's easy to use for a non designer 3. Tutorials helps a lot 4. Plenty of functions to do photo editing 5. Works on low end systems 6. It's better than Adobe considering 1 year free trial to use

Cons

The disadvantages are: 1. It's not great for people who does not know anything about designing or photo editing 2. Even though tutorial is there it doesn't make you know everything about the software 3. On low end PC's it might become working slow depending on prolonged usage 4. Not available on Mac

PD
AvatarImg

Paul D.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

« THE ALL IN ONE »

Reviewed 3 years ago

Xara has great features that enables you to work faster . It saves a lot of money with its one time payment. It is all in one because I can make use of it to create illustrations and edit photos .

Pros

It offers a large range of features , and they are all great. It has cloud abilities to view,edit and update any document on any computer or tablet through a web browser . It has one of the sophisticated and fastest vector rendering engines. Which gives it the ability to deliver more complex graphic design efficiently.

Cons

Except the fact that it is available only on windows, xara is a great software.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love This!

Reviewed 6 years ago

This can help you scale images, enhance and clean-up backgrounds like a pro!

Pros

So, I simply use this product for Photo editing, but it can do so much more. I think this product stand closely next to Adobe Illustrator & Corel, but...easier to learn and understand because the platform layout is not complicated and cluttered.

Cons

They do have a free trial...however I think it is worth the money. If you are a Designer or Photographer, then get this.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Software for Designers and even Non Designers

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I loved that this is a flat rate program. So many programs are switching to subscription. This program can be a huge cost savings to companies who have previously used Adobe products. The program is easy to use and even if you're not a graphic designer, this program is fairly easy to navigate and get the job done.

Cons

Product support isn't great. The company just seems to be worried about selling the product than assisting with questions.

BW
AvatarImg

Brianna W.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fairly good but has its flaws

Reviewed 5 years ago

Not my go-to

Pros

I enjoy what it can do with my pictures when I can actually do it.

Cons

Fairly difficult to figure out functions.