App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ACS Logo

ACS

Cloud-based church management and accounting software

see alternatives

(0)

ACS Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


123 reviews

Recommended

KB
AvatarImg

Kaylin B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

ACS Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it is very dated and I would not recommend. They have not made significant updates for years and it feels like we are still in the early 2000s.

Pros

Their accounting module is amazing. I have not found any CMS that is anywhere close to being as good as ACS ileith accounting.

Cons

It is hard to learn and it is very dated. Not mobile friendly. Ugly.

SD
AvatarImg

Shawnette D.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pretty Decent

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been using ACS for awhile now and recently switched to ACS on Demand. Our experience has been positive overall and I think that ACS offers a great product. My major complaint with ACS is that with a church our size, there is no easy way to input contributions. We have staff who have to manually input each person's contribution and it takes a lot of time. Otherwise, ACS is perfect for us.

Pros

Pretty easy to use

Cons

No easy way to input contributions

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

ACS Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

What I liked most about ACS is that it can be simple to just grab someone's contact info or address from a list.

Cons

What I like least about ACS is that it seems very large and clunky. Could use updating.

RE
AvatarImg

RP E.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Like All Things, It's Getting Better

Reviewed 7 years ago

I've been using ACS OnDemand products for a year now, and wasn't all that happy with what I've seen. Going to the conference helped, and learning more about the programs directly made some improvements. I don't like the user interface, and how separate all the components seem to be. It often feels like the various parts aren't 'talking' to each other and the user has to be a guru to make it all work....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

DR
AvatarImg

Dan R.

Religious Institutions,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent financial management with considerable flexibility

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Responsive, professional, high quality, the integration of the various modules

Cons

Has a cloud-based product but still transitioning to the cloud environment

PZ
AvatarImg

Pamela Z.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ACS provides a simple yet very functional service system for updating our records. Love it!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Record keeping, updating addresses, phone numbers, etc. sending email newsletters, running statistics.

Pros

Very easy to use. Already has the buttons set up for the least time consuming entries. Can easily add family members.

Cons

Only that it does take some searching to find out how to correct a mistake or undo wrongly entered information.

AH
AvatarImg

A. H.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ACS for Education

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use ACS to track tuition and donations for our institution. For what we need it is perfect! I love that it will remember what you have been tying in, which is helpful for when entering in per class tuitions.

Pros

Ease of use for entering in.

Cons

When something is "partially paid" it's hard to make changes to the invoice.

WL
AvatarImg

William L.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

By far the worst ChMS I've ever seen

Reviewed 8 years ago

ACS used to be the leader in this industry, but that was in the 1990s. Unfortunately, their software is still stuck in the 90s. It's incredibly difficult to figure out; not at all intuitive. The UX is terrible: it's like working on a Windows 95 machine in your old high school's computer lab. Big issue for me: The software is ONLY for Windows. Do not be fooled by their deceptive product "OnDemand"...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi William, Thank you for caring so much about what¿s best for the church. We do too. We sincerely appreciate your efforts to help people make the best decisions for their church and ministry. That¿s very honorable of you. We¿ll take your feedback and use it to help us get even better. Thanks again for your encouragement.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Outdated and Frustrating

Reviewed 4 years ago

Possibly I am only using one aspect of the software, but it seems like one must have to have a lot of training in the program to know how to use it well. The user interface is also very outdated.

Pros

For our needs, it does take our general weekly attendance and keep track of it, which is what we need.

Cons

This program is NOT user-friendly. It seems to take two different attempts to log in and then you have to follow a series of confusing links to get where you need to go.

JW
AvatarImg

Jimmie W.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ACS Finance

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great software for a single site application!!!

Pros

ACS is very user friendly and easy to set up. I set up the general ledger and contributions modules and found this a very intuitive process. ACS is flexible and has adaptive reporting that makes it easy to gain access to your data.

Cons

ACS needs to "grow" it's ChMS application so that it can compete with the older players in this market. We would like to see more functionality that would make it more viable for a multi-site application.

jd
AvatarImg

jennifer d.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It is like working on Windows 15 years ago.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It does do everything you need for church accounting. The support is very good. The training materials are extensive. The trainers and very good and usually very helpful.

Cons

It is cumbersome, very slow to use (with many extra steps for every task), not intuitive and and very outdated. Some of the training material goes back to 2003, and looks exactly the same. There are extensive training materials, but they are most often so basic they do not answer anything besides basic questions.

BB
AvatarImg

Brenda B.

1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ACS Rocks!!

Reviewed 7 years ago

We've used ACS OnDemand for nine years. Last year we converted to Realm, an ACS product. Their products and customer service are the best I've used in my almost 20 years on a church staff.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

LW
AvatarImg

Laurie W.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ACS does what it needs to

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Although we no longer use ACS, it was a great church software for us. It held all the information we needed, such as financial, contributions, and church member information. Great customer service and mostly user friendly.

Cons

At the time we used ACS, I found it difficult to correct errors in accounting software.

MT
AvatarImg

Mark T.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

We Moved On from ACS

Reviewed 3 years ago

ACS was great in its time but newer products like Planning Center or ACS's own Realm are much better for the modern church.

Pros

ACS was one of the earlier full-featured church database management systems. Its original iteration was groundbreaking.

Cons

ACS struggled to keep up with the changing digital landscape and was too slow to implement online features, cross-platform compatibility, and the like. As a result, the software is clunky and not particularly user-friendly.

MF
AvatarImg

Matthew F.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

ACS

Reviewed 6 years ago

ACS is kind of the standard for many churches in our denomination. However, it has taken years to find the time to utilize it to a large extent. At times it is challenging to learn in an timely manner. However, ACS is a good, functional product.

Pros

Database and Financial records easily connected.

Cons

Challenging to learn fully

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Old and outdated

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would have never picked it and would have switched away from it if I could.

Pros

I worked at a church that had used this software for a long time. It was very old and clunky compared to newer competitors. ACS was working on a more modern version, but it wasn't available for churches of our size at the time.

Cons

It was archaic. Was cumbersome, ugly and not intuitive. The church paid a surprisingly high amount for the software.

KG
AvatarImg

Kaycie G.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We use ACS for check and supplies ordering.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The customer service with ACS is very helpful. Their website is user friendly and saves your previous orders to allow for easy reordering.

Cons

Our organization recently switched banks and it required a couple phone calls to design new checks with our new information on it. The customer service was very helpful but it was somewhat time consuming.

JH
AvatarImg

JL H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A robust program with multiple solutions

Reviewed 8 years ago

ACS offers multiple levels of solutions for churches with weekly attendance from 100-20K. Previous reviews have indicated an outdated system UI, however, it is fair to note that with any software you only get out of it what you put into it and the UI should never be the difference between success and failure of any ChMS. ACS employees have served in churches, on staff and they understand the needs of reporting, communication, member facing engagement tools and best practices in data management. All software evaluations and subsequent implementations should be done with prayer, care and discernment with staff to decide what you need and why you need it.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RK
AvatarImg

Rudolf K.

Animation, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy & nice to use for everyday!

Pros

Its super Fast..The App is Reality fast and Not So complicated!

Cons

Funktionality is Great, the Look and Design is very easy and Good for my eyes & Clean Go Look at.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ACS, it has everything I need. It's great

Reviewed 5 years ago

I improve my way of organizing and analyzing my activities inside and outside of my social environment. Applications are necessary because they help us improve our relationships and have time for other activities

Pros

It is very useful- I liked the ease of use and the characteristics it offers for the management of the church and the school. In addition, the ACS customer service and development teams were incredible. I recommend it a lot. Excellent

Cons

It is necessary to make some updates in certain areas to streamline the customer service process. In addition, it does not have the latest in operating system updates and passwords.

JC
AvatarImg

J C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

60 Seconds to Find 10 People, 10 seconds to find 1

Reviewed 11 years ago

Not recommended. Extremely slow.

Pros

The feature set looked good. The interface was decent.

Cons

SLOW!! I had used church software for 14 years when I went to serve at a mega church in central Florida that used ACS. It was like going back to dial up from a FIOS world. With a mere 20,000 people in the database it took 60 seconds or more to find 10 people whose name matched a certain criteria such as "Billings*". And looking up one person by name search would take no less than 10 seconds. But worse of all, a simple attendance graph would take 45 minutes to generate. A roll could take 10-20 minutes to create and you were locked out of doing anything else. We had state of the art servers ($40k worth!), gigabit backbone, 100base in the office and decent desktop/laptop units. Just "processing rolls" to print was an all morning task. We printed them monthly s a result.

LR
AvatarImg

Laura R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A tool for empowerment

Reviewed 7 years ago

In my role of Ministry Services Director, this software provides a variety of functions to facilitate and disseminate the work of the ministry before us. As a denominational office, communication at times can be taxing but ACS offers many options to get the job done while bringing a "closeness" to those that work alongside our office. Although there are many default settings built in there are even more user-defined settings that can be tailored to suit an organization. Above all else, the customer support is stellar. There is none like ACS!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MH
AvatarImg

Michael H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Support!

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are using Realm, and there has been a learning curve, and some bumps as they role out new features, but they have great support which is always ready to help.

Pros

Using Realm has freed us from the office and are able to use it on the go.

Cons

Learning it.

JW
AvatarImg

Jeanine W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Powerful Product - Stellar Service!

Reviewed 7 years ago

I've been using ACS People Suite for more than two years, and a year and a half VERY in-depth, and I've found it to be a powerful, reliable software with a lot of customizable content and reporting. In addition, the company as a whole seems to have the same vision I do for using data as a powerful tool to support our overall mission to reach unbelievers and enfold believers. And their customer service is definitely NUMBER ONE! So knowledgeable and helpful, and a pleasure to deal with on every level.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KH
AvatarImg

Kathy H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

People Module/Search

Reviewed 7 years ago

This is a powerful database. We cleaned up our data files before our import of the data into The City. The ability to have these two programs communicate with one another and to input the data only once is very necessary. Input of profile info by individual users is also helpful unless, of course, the user does not update information and then is disconnected and church may be unaware of this disconnect. We have been proactive to survey users to re-establish and maintain connection and up-to-date data.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review