This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Beacon

Cloud-based CRM solution for small to large charities

see alternatives

Beacon Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The integrated donation forms (using Stripe and GoCardless) and sign-up forms are excellent. I like how Beacon is always trying to improve their product and listen to customers like us.

Paul T.

We like that the platform was built specifically for non-profits and with smaller teams in mind. Beacon is customisable and is super easy to build and great for a team with limited resources.

Sarina H.

Excellent care and customer service, as well as a very good piece of software.

Lizzie B.

Cons

With the product being so new there have been some teething problems and barriers where critical functionalities are not yet built, such as integration to gmail and calendar.

Sarina H.

This particular problem will be short lived as Beacon are now working on an automated system for inputting addresses so this should be up and running very soon.

Jane E.

Genuinely can't think of anything that I dislike about the platform.

Sophie S.

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

21

4

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


25 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beacon CRM

Reviewed 19 days ago

We have the ability now to record a lot more donor information. We can now tag our donors to learn more about their journey and what interests they have. We could not manage without it now, I really don't know how we coped before Beacon it has just made life much easier and accessible.

Pros

We started using Beacon nearly 12 months ago and it has been a complete game changer for our medium sized charity. It can do so much that our previous CRM could never have done. It is very intuative and easy to navigate which is a real positive, it is like one of the team! It works out much cheaper than other CRMs we looked at because we have a small team of users. We can take payments through an embedded form on our website which is then recorded directly into Beacon, something we had to do manually previously saving so much time and resource. Event ticketing is a new feature which is also really useful. The Beacon support is so good, they are always on hand to answer queries and help with any problems.

Cons

Beacon does not have an auto address fill function so our analytics for demographic are not very precise. However if you need something that Beacon does not currently provide then just ask their support team. This particular problem will be short lived as Beacon are now working on an automated system for inputting addresses so this should be up and running very soon. We have also had some teething problems with duplicate records but I believe this would be a problem for every CRM and after a bit of training and input from the support team this is much improved over time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beacon takes the Bacon for a nonprofit needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

With Beacon we’ve simplified our entire process for handling donations. Beacon automates everything - from taking donations via an easy to build & integrate 'drag and drop' donation form builder (that's easily associated with the leading payment portals - Stripe, PayPal etc) to acknowledging donors / staff immediately via custom notification templates. The admin heavy task of a Gift Aid submission has been cut dramatically with a built-in Gift Aid tracker. Reports are submitted directly to HMRC from with the Beacon portal without any spreadsheet in sight.

Pros

Chapel & York has been advising and assisting charities for over 20 years. We've had experience using multiple Donation Processing CRMs, and Beacon is by far the easiest CRM to use for any type of staff skill level. The navigation is simple and straight forward and the flexibility of the system can suit as bespoke need.

Cons

The excellent customer support team means that any small con is quickly dealt with. Beacon developers are constantly approving the system and actively set out to listen to users recommendations when rolling out updates and improvements.

Vendor response

Many thanks Adam! Really glad to hear Beacon is working for you and the team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Big Change - Beacon Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- We like that the platform was built specifically for non-profits and with smaller teams in mind - Beacon is customisable and is super easy to build and great for a team with limited resources - With Beacon being an innovative and agile product we've been able to build the product around what we need so it's fit for purpose, rather than trying to make something that already exists fit to our needs.

Cons

- With the product being so new there have been some teething problems and barriers where critical functionalities are not yet built, such as integration to gmail and calendar.

Vendor response

Thanks Sarina! I'm glad that Beacon is working for you. Appreciate the feedback on email/calendar integration - these are certainly coming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to set up and use

Reviewed 2 months ago

Time saving in entering and processing donations.

Pros

It is easy to set up, to integrate with our website and to us.

Cons

Intregration with Woo Commerce could be good but I understand Beacon are working on this whereas the other CRM we looked at were not.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended, personal service

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is an excellent product from a fantastic company with unparalleled user experience.

Pros

The software is extremely user-friendly; my colleagues found it very easy to take over and populate. It's very easy to edit, giving a fantastic degree of flexibility (something we need due to the nature of our beneficiaries). However, the absolute best thing so far has been the fantastic and personal customer service.

Cons

It would be great if it had a ticketing function.

Vendor response

Thanks Ruth - really glad to hear Beacon is flexible enough for your organisation :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love BEACON

Reviewed a year ago

Beacon has transformed our productiveness as a small charity with a 2-person team. We love working with the BEACON Team.

Pros

Very easy to use. Also the support team helped to tailor it's functionality to encompass our specific needs for stock counts.

Cons

Waiting for functionality with Outlook for diary reminders.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beacon CRM Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent - it helped us to create robust impact monitoring systems in a way that required very little input beyond initial set up and can be quickly adapted where required. It's also exceptionally straightforward to explain to staff and volunteers with limited training!

Pros

The software is very intuitive and malleable meaning you can make it fit the requirements you have and the team are there to facilitate that wherever possible - customer service is second to none.

Cons

We're a charity so my biggest disappointment is that we can't get the software free! But you get what you pay for!

Vendor response

Many thanks Callum! Really glad that Beacon is working for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Refreshing new approach to charity crm / donation software

Reviewed 2 years ago

From the first call Beacon are different. No pressure sales people, not complex requirements interviews, just good software with human support by people who know the product and understand the sector. Having used the market leading platforms in the past, this is a fraction of the cost and a far better product,

Pros

This is a ground up re think of software for the third sector. Gone are the laborious and expensive setups, gone are the complex endless menus and table of data and settings. Beacon provides clean, simple and highly customisable functionality across a range of functions from CRM to donation management all seamlessly integrated. Brilliantly simple. Certainly the stand out platform in the third sector.

Cons

For us this platform is more geared towards online donations, donor management and reporting rather than a CRM as such, it has the functionality integrated in, but there are better pure CRMs out there if you just need that function, which if you are in the third sector, it’s unlikely you just need that.

Vendor response

Thanks so much Andrew! Really glad that Beacon is working for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great product for Membership Organisations

Reviewed 6 months ago

We have limited staff and Beacon helps us use them in the most productive manner.

Pros

The product is easy to use and is very powerful in analysing any aspect of your customers data. It has forms that you can integrate into your website so that new members can join and are set up as paying members with no staff involvement. The gift aid integration is seamless and saves hours every month. There are integrations with popular payments, mailing and accounting platforms. New fields can be created on the fly and integrated into screens very easily. The integration with Excel both for exports and imports is very good. Help always seems to be available, usually in less than 10 minutes. In summary a winner.

Cons

The integration with existing standing order payments is clunky but can be managed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My life is so much easier!!

Reviewed 7 months ago

As the only fullt time member of staff in the UK I have a lot to contend with and Beacon has made my life so much easier. Training was slotted in when suited me (even though poor [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was in Australia so not always the best timing for him). Ongoing support has been brilliant - and very patient with me.

Pros

There is so much automation on here that is free my time up to concentrate on fundraising. Our CRM is updated in real time rather than wait for me to input manually.

Cons

There isn't anything at all that I can think of

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Service

Reviewed a year ago

First rate - a really collaborative approach that has allowed us the functionality we need and the time saving value that we required. From start to finish the team have been on hand to advice about the obvious and problem solve the more unusual problems. Brilliant Customer Experience.

Pros

The software is intuitive and easy to demonstrate for others and use. We use the system in a slightly different way to other Charities - the Beacon Team has always been on hand to help us with the slightly more modified system that we have developed.

Cons

We use the system in a slightly different way to other Charities - for example we collect members as "organisations" that has at times meant the system has been a little trickier to apply to what we need. But, help has always been on hand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great CRM!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Enhanced ability to segment our data and create bespoke messaging and analytics. A MUCH greater understanding of our audience.

Pros

Customization Intuitive and easy to use Close relationship with founders Quick responses and help Clean layout

Cons

Genuinely can't think of anything that I dislike about the platform.

Vendor response

Thanks Sophie - I'm glad we're helping on the simplicity & segmentation front!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We thoroughly recommend Beacon CRM

Reviewed 2 years ago

We found the Beacon team to be very approachable and knowledgeable. They really took the time to fully understand our requirements and delivered a really professional service throughout the development, migration and implementation process. The Beacon CRM allows us to automate so many of our system processes and save considerable staff time while still delivering our reporting requirements. We cannot recommend the Beacon CRM product & team highly enough!

Pros

It's flexibility, ease of customisation and ability to integrate with other products. As a charity but also an infrastructure organisation supporting other charities (as well as offering membership) we had quite complex requirements for a CRM. We'd found that many CRMs couldn't meet all our requirements and we needed to update and streamline our processes to become more efficient in staff time. Because Beacon is so customisable it could do everything that we needed it to do; manage membership; report on our work, outcomes and payments; as well as manage our marketing and communications. The interface is very pleasant to use and navigating the system is very intuitive - even for users not confident with IT.

Cons

We haven't found anything we don't like!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent CRM tool

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent care and customer service, as well as a very good piece of software.

Pros

The flexibility / customisability. We were able to create records and fields entirely to meet our needs as an organisation, and were able to customise existing fields to reflect our language. The User Guide and Help Chat facilities, both of which were used extensively during testing phase, are both excellent.

Cons

Nothing really - it is a very good CRM tool. I was involved in the project during the purchase process and for much of the implementation, so did not get to use it day to day, but I know that the team who are now doing so are looking forward to using it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feature-rich CRM with integrated gift aid and online form management

Reviewed 8 months ago

Beacon has enabled us to upgrade our antiquated CRM with relative ease, changed over to new billing systems, switched to Beacon forms for checkout and signup process and integrated the whole lot with Xero accounting. Awesome.

Pros

Easy to use, fast, reliable and flexible. AMAZING customer support, not overly complicated to achieve what you want to achieve (I am sure this is hard to get right).

Cons

I would like automated data exports so I can pick them up in 3rd party reporting tools. It's not that the Beacon reports aren't good but we are already using other tools.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly responsive and customisable CRM with a very supportive customer service team

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent - the support and response times have exceeded expectations

Pros

The almost infinite customisation possibilities it offers - most CRMs are fairly rigid and limiting in their functionality - we conducted in-depth research on several market-leading charity CRM's before deciding on Beacon and I'm happy with the choice we made

Cons

There's nothing to dislike - all depends on your data capabilities but the Beacon team have held our hands throughout the whole set-up and migration process. It took a little longer to fully transfer than anticipated, but I think that's par for the course with these things and is worth taking time over to get right

Vendor response

Thanks a lot Tracey! I'm really glad that you're taking full advantage of the customisation abilities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect solution to a small charities needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

The hands-on support from CSRs is fantastic, I have full peace of mind that our data is secure and if I do have any issues I can contact Beacon very easily.

Pros

We really enjoy the ease of use approach, every task we carry out is done seamlessly and efficiently. We have a clear view of how many active fundraisers we have and keep track of all communication in one place automatically with the Gmail integration. This service has saved a lot of admin time and also helped us raise more funds through the donation form for our website which captures the information and thanks the donor instantly.

Cons

There isn't anything that we like least about this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BeaconCRM is an excellent CRM for non-profits and charities.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've been most impressed by Beacon's willingness to explain and support. It's still early days but so-far so-good.

Pros

I love the interface and how the views are so clear. The tools are so user-friendly and well-thought-through. The integrated donation forms (using Stripe and GoCardless) and sign-up forms are excellent. I like how Beacon is always trying to improve their product and listen to customers like us. Support is top-notch.

Cons

Very little to mention... I feel that this product will only improve over time. Some integrations are still under-development. We occasionally get duplicate records, but normally through human error.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great New CRM Option for Charities

Reviewed a year ago

It has been excellent. It is allowing us to build up our database and is easy to use. Great value for money.

Pros

The integrations are great and save so much admin time. The flexibility and personalisation features are also very useful. Plus the customer service is great, always friendly and helpful.

Cons

Its still fairly new so there are some things it doesn't do but the team are excellent at taking ideas on-board and implementing them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brilliant Charity CRM System

Reviewed 8 months ago

So great to find a CRM system that meets our needs, is simple and easy to use, and has a friendly and accessible customer support team on hand to answer any questions.

Pros

Simple to use, intuitive, easily customisable, integrates with other systems.

Cons

This is a relatively new system so some of the functions are still being developed, but this also allows users to feed into the product design and to highlight features they would like to see.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly and quality software

Reviewed 5 months ago

Really impressed with beacon. So simple to use and the occasions I get stuck the support is on hand.

Pros

Easy to use. The support you receive via the online chat is excellent and always answered in a very speedy fashion. Easy to work out how to use it on the most part without too much support. The support guide is very handy and well written.

Cons

I don’t have much to add here but perhaps being able to add ‘title’ (mr/Mrs etc) in to the forms. This may have already been looked at though as it was a while ago I did it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beacon for a small charity

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Beacon was easy to implement and to bring in data from our legacy server based CRM. It has been an excellent cloud based alternative as a CRM database for our donor and supporter data, as well as allowing us to offer simpler online donation and purchase options, and simplifying Gift Aid. Helpful, and very quick to respond, customer service. Good pricing options for part time staff.

Cons

No downsides so far, software does all that is needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beacon is a dream

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Beacon to manage our UK donations, including Gift Aid processing. I love the way that it integrates with Go Cardless, Stripe and PayPal to make the donation process as easy as possible for the donor. The team were really helpful throughout set up, and remain on hand whenever we need them.

Pros

It's really easy and flexible to use AND our donors can use Apple and Google Pay!

Cons

Honestly, it does everything we need it to do!

Vendor response

Thanks Katherine! Great to hear you're taking full advantage of all of the donation capabilities and options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great database ready to grow with us

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent experience so far, and looking forward to working with Beacon as we grow our fundraising and charity.

Pros

- Level of customisation - Fantastic customer support - Ease of integrations - High level of automation - Very competitively priced

Cons

We've been working with Beacon since the spring and haven't come across anything we like least so far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent CRM ideal for Membership

Reviewed a year ago

The customer service, from sales to support is exceptional. We highly recommend it for small charities.

Pros

The Membership module has transformed our offer. It's allowed us to move to online sign-ups for the first time.

Cons

The reporting module is a little complex and not as intuitive as the rest of the software.