This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Blackbaud Fundraising Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Overall Blackbaud is a great software program for donor management. I would highly recommend to all fundraising professionals.

Jacob K.

Now we have the best of both worlds. Most of our office now works exclusively in the web view and with it, they can now get immediate information by themselves that assists them in their work.

Karen S.

The ease of use which makes training co-workers much quicker and more easily understandable. The various modules make database management more effective (specifically EVENTS).

Phyllis S.

Cons

While the tools at your disposal are copious, new users will be at a complete loss. We transferred over from another system and we still required a lot of training.

Anonymous Reviewer

My biggest complaint with Blackbaud is customer service. Prior to the new procedures, I was able to call and speak to a human being and explain my issue.

Phyllis S.

Taking a training class can be quite costly and I missed a week of work because I was taught by a live in-person instructor.

Jennifer B.

Overall rating

4.2

5

4

3

2

1

7

8

1

0

1

88%
positive reviews
94%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


17 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful CRM that will meet your needs!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is a powerful CRM service/software. We've expanded our utilization over the years, but I still know there are areas we don't even scratch the surface of when it comes to compiling information on donors and potential donors. A few years ago we made the leap to RE:NXT, placing our data in the cloud -- it's wonderful to be able to access data from wherever I am, whether I need a phone number or...

Cons

We've felt that there are a couple of things in the EVENTS module that we wish worked better for us/our organization, but that's a small hiccup when it comes to the functionality and quality of BB fundraising.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

very versitile

Reviewed a year ago

We have been able to move towards a more technology based fundraising using the justgiving portion of blackbaud for our jog-a-thon. Students created their own page and shared it for donations. This made tracking and acknowledging donations much more efficient.

Pros

We use etapestry and justgiving and have found it to be very useful. We have been able to easily link fundraising campaigns, event registration and forms to our website and then track information.

Cons

Extracting information can be somewhat challenging - once you learn their programing and how to create a query it becomes easier. They do provide a very large training database and a chat room for help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great for large donor databases

Reviewed 3 months ago

Not all of our staff work together closely so this database allows us to access the information that others have entered about a donor or constituent.

Pros

This database helps all of our development staff to keep track of donor information, relationships and gifts. With thousands of donors it would be impossible without this database.

Cons

The overwhelming amount of functions and details that can be put into running reports and entering information means that there is a big learning curve for this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

RENXT helps our office to be the best it can be.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We receive immediate information that we can act on. Yes, you need to put the time in to learn how to use it. I think that what people need to understand is that the way they save data impacts their outcomes with the product. They need to work with it instead of expecting it tho exactly fit the needs of their organization.

Pros

I've been using Raiser's Edge for 15 years. My current office purchased the NXT web view in 2015. This product helps our office achieve our fundraising goals in many ways. I like that when we purchased the NXT web view we still kept the database view. Now we have the best of both worlds. Most of our office now works exclusively in the web view and with it, they can now get immediate information by themselves that assists them in their work. The new features of the web view have greatly enhanced how we do business.

Cons

I really like this product and I have a hard time coming up with anything negative to say about it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Outstanding fundraising tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Raiser's Edge is a helpful tool and provides the information which helps me do my job.

Pros

The ease of use which makes training co-workers much quicker and more easily understandable. The various modules make database management more effective (specifically EVENTS).

Cons

My biggest complaint with Blackbaud is customer service. Prior to the new procedures, I was able to call and speak to a human being and explain my issue. Currently, I can only get a CSR via CHAT, and that is only if someone is available at that time. Even during times where someone is supposed to be available, I frequently receive a message to try again later. When I CAN get a chat session, I find...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Expensive but worth it for any CRM needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Blackbaud Fundraising on a day to day basis to track donor records, giving, pledges, create crowdfunding pages and online donation templates.

Pros

Blackbaud Fundraising includes Raiser's Edge, Luminate Online, crowdfunding features. The Fundraising tools integrate very well and it's user friendly and intuitive. We are able to create an attractive and easy to use donation form for our website. It allows you to easily track donor giving, pledges, create donation pledges and integrate with Raiser's Edge and other tools well. NXT is a new feature we purchased which is expensive however it's an attractive interface to view and track donor pledge level and upgrades.

Cons

Blackbaud products tend to be very pricey and offer a ton of features however you only use about half of them on regular basis. It could be quite a challenge to create crowdfunding pages., definitely multiple steps. Sometimes the dashboard giving and queries show different numbers so there's some inconsistency. Their NXT new tool is amazing however it's pricey. It's great for major giving officer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CRM database essential

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would not be able to do my job without it. I wish it was a little more functional and user-intuitive, but it is still more than worthy of doing the job.

Pros

For any non-profit, a reliable CRM and database is essential and Blackbaud are at the top of this list. Querying and Exports are tough to pick up from the start, but so helpful once you have the knowledge.

Cons

Sometimes the interface leaves a lot to be desired. Also, there seems to be consistent freezing issues that have never been resolved. Adding custom fields can be hard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A powerful tool for a small nonprofit

Reviewed 2 years ago

If your users are not already experts at working with Blackbaud, then you should absolutely take advantage of the offered learning opportunities and user support. We leaned on them heavily our first year. Our small not-for-profit organization grew membership by more than 50% the first year we used Blackbaud to keep our fundraising and membership efforts organized.

Pros

We imported a rather large constituent database, and the software made it possible for us to categorize, sort, and target our communications efforts much more precisely than we were previously capable. The customer service and user training we received was beyond expectations.

Cons

It is not user-friendly. While the tools at your disposal are copious, new users will be at a complete loss. We transferred over from another system and we still required a lot of training.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Built to be used everyday

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's user friendly, the tabs for each constituent are very thorough, you have the ability to keep a lot of information for each donor should you choose to, you can make notes, you can set people up to be on the do not solicit list which is great.

Cons

The queries are hard to create. It's easier to copy from an existing one than start from scratch.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to add as much data about a constituent as you want, in regards to giving, organizational, family relationships.

Cons

The inflexibility in the ability to change/adding fields content.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackbaud Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall Blackbaud is a great software program for donor management. I would highly recommend to all fundraising professionals.

Pros

It's a great way to track analytics for fundraising activities, gifts received and manage donor portfolio.

Cons

This software does work well with an android phone and there is no app which makes it less user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Could not do what we do without Blackbaud.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very positive. The customer service team has always been responsive to my inquires.

Pros

The robust software allows the user to manage and track constituents, donors, grants in a relatively easy to use platform.

Cons

When I was first learning to use Blackbaud, I was challenged with the GUI. It was not as intuitive as I had hoped. After spending more time in the platform, I quickly learned the system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

#keepingtrackofeverypenny

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I think this software is exceptional and I would recommend it to anyone working in development. I thought it was dependable and well-organized. It would not only meet but far exceed any organizations expectations.

Pros

I like how detailed orientated every facet of this software is. It is also very user-friendly and keeps your important data stored securely. Because of the way the software is setup, it is difficult to make mistakes, meaning this fundraising software is dependable and accurate. Blackbaud has a support team that is both knowledgeable and professional which makes learning about their software enjoyable and beneficial.

Cons

At first, this software can be intimidating because there is so much to learn. I was required to take a week long training class. Afterward, I still felt like there was so much I wanted to learn and be able to do. Taking a training class can be quite costly and I missed a week of work because I was taught by a live in-person instructor.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Industry Leaders For A Reason

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The software has definitely improved in recent years. There are a lot of options for customization, so you can use the software in all kinds of ways that you may have not even anticipated in the first place. I was able to set up a nice tracking system for publications in addition to our fundraising activities.

Cons

Can be a bit clunky and glitchy at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One Stop Shop for Donor Tracking

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Makes donor tracking simple and cohesive between fundraising department and accounting department.

Cons

Not very intuitive but they do offer numerous tutorials which are great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Database

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, accurate calculations and prompt tech support.

Cons

Research Point should open In a different tab.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Contract

Reviewed 6 months ago

Horrible

Pros

The sales presentation was great and looked easy. I signed the contract, I spent hours trying to get it going and could not. I have had 3 web designers not be able to make it work. So I guess what I like most was the sales presentation.

Cons

Our organization found their software extremely difficult. Once in the contract they would not let us out of the contract. I would not recommend.