App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT Logo

Cloud fundraising and relationship management for nonprofits

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


419 reviews

Recommended

JP
AvatarImg

Joan P.

Religious Institutions,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Helpful fundraising software

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

The software allows you to keep more than just address and gift data for your constituents. You can customize parts of the software to meet your organization's specific needs. Additional modules can be added as your organization needs grow and budgets allow. Customer support is available through many channels and the company works to help users interact with each other, which can be very beneficial. They offer a variety of training options that are also beneficial and I would argue essential.

Cons

Their growth and expansion of products seems to be outpacing the ability in all areas to support it all. On a few occasions I have found promises made by sales staff to be unmet by the software...though it appears to be more of a lack of true understanding of my questions/needs on the part of specific people sales staff. When I ask support staff about it later, they are much clearer on what the software can & can't do.

ES
AvatarImg

Eric S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CRM database essential

Reviewed 5 years ago

I would not be able to do my job without it. I wish it was a little more functional and user-intuitive, but it is still more than worthy of doing the job.

Pros

For any non-profit, a reliable CRM and database is essential and Blackbaud are at the top of this list. Querying and Exports are tough to pick up from the start, but so helpful once you have the knowledge.

Cons

Sometimes the interface leaves a lot to be desired. Also, there seems to be consistent freezing issues that have never been resolved. Adding custom fields can be hard.

MM
AvatarImg

Mary M.

Fine Art, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not Much to Brag About

Reviewed 7 years ago

Never again!

Pros

Supposedly, it's the industry standard. It's powerful, it has been around forever. At first glance, has all the functionality one would need.

Cons

Terribly difficult to use. Frequent technical difficulties. Does not interface well with the related product, Financial Edge. Slow response time when entering Actions. Much duplicate entry required when entering Actions and Notes. Salutations offered when entering a new account are "wonky". Way too little bang for the buck. Reporting awful and difficult.

AM
AvatarImg

Allison M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Raiser's Edge has a lot to offer

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

I love how many capabilities that this database has to offer. There are so many ways to get to know your donors, track giving, and a variety of grouping/reporting tools. Everyone I have worked with at Blackbaud has been really friendly and willing to help. I have used Raiser's Edge at both a small organization as well as medium to large organization in terms of budgets and gifts coming in. I love using it and the fluidity of the tasks. At the small organization, we also utilized the membership module.

Cons

Raiser's Edge capabilities are overwhelming when you are learning and takes a long time to really understand even the basic capabilities. When working with Blackbaud you have several people connected to your account. For example, you have an Account Rep, a Target Analytics Rep, a Training Rep, ect. It can be confusing when it is time to renew your policy and you want to make changes.

AF
AvatarImg

Austin F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Industry leader with waning power

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The user interface is very friendly to even the most tech-limited user.

Cons

Very limited customization for the needs of your specific organization.

VA
AvatarImg

Veronica A.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Features

Reviewed 6 years ago

We are still fairly new to NXT. I am the database coordinator so a lot of the functions do not really pertain to me. I love the dashboard and I love the info you can pull up on a constituent. Very impressive. I would love a better tutorial or a class on everything it can offer. I do hope once we get a designated fundraiser that they will utilize NXT. It is a great tool for when you are out fundraising.

Pros

Ease of use - Once you start looking around there is a lot you can do and it is fairly easy to find the info you need. Great for Fundraisers on the go Lots of info Great Dashboard

Cons

Takes getting used to - especially if you are used to the database Lots of features - but we need a better way to learn all it can offer

DM
AvatarImg

Deborah M.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NXT Web View is loved by our directors/executives

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good.

Pros

They most love the portfolio management features, the donor lifecycle framework for tracking acquisition, retention and recapture, and the non-techy look, feel, and nomenclature. I most love that this means they're using NXT much more (with smiles) and our fundraising operation and C-Suite is benefiting from it.

Cons

We used the hosted enterprise version of Raiser's Edge for many years before moving into NXT, so we are very aware of things that still can only be done at all or as well in database view. However, we appreciate that Blackbaud is working on bringing more and more database view functionality into web view.

RS
AvatarImg

Rachel S.

Higher Education,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CRM Database for the Detail Oriented

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

There are so many ways to tailor this product to the unique way an organization does business, particularly through field naming and attributes. They're very good at improving functionality through upgrades and making it easy to reach out to other users.

Cons

This product works best when someone manages the architecture and keeps the data clean, while also performing daily functions through a clear process. The guidebooks often lack great detail for typical usage and issues. More often than not, organizations seem to have a puzzle of data, where it came from, what it means, and when a great database manager leaves, they take with them the finite understanding of their own customizations. There is no platform for defining why a table exists, or how an attribute should be applied, so after 5 or more years with the database, many orgs seem to swimming in data management issues which frustrate the front-end users.

GW
AvatarImg

Gwen W.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product that is easy to use

Reviewed 7 years ago

I think this is a great product and I can see it being a valued resource in any organization.

Pros

NXT is very easy to use and the tiles can be moved around to create a custom view. In addition, the mapping feature with lists makes it very easy to see who is in an area we are planning a visit for. Because it is so easy to use, it allows others to create their own lists easily.

Cons

There is not a more granular query tool incorporated yet or reporting so back office users can also take advantage of this view.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A powerful tool for a small nonprofit

Reviewed 5 years ago

If your users are not already experts at working with Blackbaud, then you should absolutely take advantage of the offered learning opportunities and user support. We leaned on them heavily our first year. Our small not-for-profit organization grew membership by more than 50% the first year we used Blackbaud to keep our fundraising and membership efforts organized.

Pros

We imported a rather large constituent database, and the software made it possible for us to categorize, sort, and target our communications efforts much more precisely than we were previously capable. The customer service and user training we received was beyond expectations.

Cons

It is not user-friendly. While the tools at your disposal are copious, new users will be at a complete loss. We transferred over from another system and we still required a lot of training.

KG
AvatarImg

Kelsi G.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NXT Early Adopter

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been extremely pleased with NXT from the onset, but are continually amazed by the updates rolled out regularly which make it an even more powerful tool!

Pros

The ease of use for users is huge! Our frontline Gift Officers love the functionality of NXT! Our team benefits from the dynamic way it presents the data which makes the data more useful and telling for decisions.

Cons

We would love to see it be an app, so it is even easier to access, but we love the product as it is and have no hesitation in recommending.

LR
AvatarImg

Lauri R.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for front line fundraisers

Reviewed 6 years ago

Our team loves NXT and it has been easy to get everyone on board with the product.

Pros

Raiser's Edge NXT works best for gift officers that work in the field more than the office. Contact reports are easily entered via any talk to text app and the report is completed while the visit is still fresh. The mapping feature allows finding constituents in specific areas into a simple process and reduces the information pulls by support staff. Overall NXT is best as a self-service program for fundraisers.

Cons

Raiser's Edge NXT is not quite ready for the DBA to use. It works very well for fundraiser's but lacks some of the features for heavy processing.

AL
AvatarImg

Aidan L.

Performing Arts, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A Joke

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's an entirely negative product and only useful if you still do things the 1980s way, manually and with lots of effort. Do not use if you want a smooth and functional CRM. The fact they charge money for this is disgusting. For every thing I can think to do to improve data operations for my team, RE tells me I can't do it, and nor can I do any of the workarounds I think of. It just hates you and it wants you to fail. DO NOT PAY FOR THIS.

Pros

NXT was pretty? There's a 40 char min on this question but there's not that much good to say about it.

Cons

Everything. From data reporting, to querying, to integration with other software, to donation management.

BR
AvatarImg

Brent R.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Raiser's Edge is still the best out there

Reviewed 3 years ago

The webview of RENXT gives my development team an easy to use interface that they can access from anywhere on their phones or tablets. As the administrator of RE in my organization the majority of my work still remains in the database view.

Pros

Easy to export data and produce needed reports

Cons

The database view hasn't been updated in the 18 years I've used it and the web view is still in development so not all functionality that you're used to in the classic view of RE is available via the web view.

RB
AvatarImg

Roger B.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User-friendly means that the team actually uses the software.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Your DBA will still primarily be in the database view, but fundraisers - especially those on the road, will love the simplicity and functionality of NXT

Pros

The NXT interface is very user-friendly and works well on computer, tablet or phone. Of course, there are some tasks that can only be done in the database - but most of those tasks should be done by the "Super User" or DBA anyway. Think of NXT as the "lite" version of the software - functions that gift officers and casual users need but none of the "scary" bells and whistles of the database.

Cons

Blackbaud is constantly rolling out enhancements and upgrades to the product, so cons don't stay relevant for long.

KC
AvatarImg

Kristy C.

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

System is great

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

You can build data entry batches that contain all the information you need to enter making the process much faster. This is extremely important when you are adding 100+ donations/individuals weekly.

Cons

With two organizations in the same system it is hard to get the system to work perfectly for both. One organization has individual membership the other has family memberships, we had to enter family memberships under head of household with only their information.

MP
AvatarImg

Michele P.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Raiser's Edge Review

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I use this database software everyday and now feel very comfortable using it. There isn't a lot of updates which is nice and keeps workflow progressing. You can use this product on a very basic level or elect to use every single feature it offers to maximize your program.

Cons

This database requires some training, it is not user friendly and take time to learn how to properly run queries to the point you have all the data you are truly looking for.

JK
AvatarImg

Jenn K.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NXT is getting better all the time

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

easy to use, especially building relationships which was more complicated in the database view. As our fundraising becomes more sophisticated and more staff are making contacts for fundraising, the action logs are so helpful to keep us all informed.

Cons

Not all the functions in the database view is available to edit or create in NXT . When that happens, training new staff will be so much easier because most data inputs and updates will be in NXT and training materials will not have to say "now open database view and find the record again, then click X tab, then do Y.. Now go back to NXT and check the display...

CT
AvatarImg

Chris T.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I think RE is a very useful program!

Reviewed 8 years ago

Raiser's Edge is a very valuable tool that I've used at several different organizations on a daily basis. It is an excellent resource when used correctly and consistently. I just wish the search function was a little easier to navigate sometimes!

Pros

I like how easily I can find information stored by colleagues throughout my organization. It cuts down on asking people questions about constituents they have relationships with.

Cons

I find it hard to search for information sometimes if you do not have all the information you need.

BV
AvatarImg

Blake V.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 7 years ago

Support is always super willing to help you with a task. When I first started I used their chat and phone support frequently which was a huge help.

Pros

Can open on any mobile device through a normal web browser making it extremely easy to log in and add your actions. Great for a giving officer to be able to look up a constituents info on the go. Useful analytics on actions, fundraising reports, LYBUNT, etc.

Cons

You cannot add a record straight from NXT. Only can add new constituent records from the desktop version of Raiser's Edge. Their Wealth analytics are decent but I've found better resources from other groups like Wealth Engine or Donor Search.

DT
AvatarImg

Dana T.

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust database that's intuitive and easy to use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

RE NXT is a robust database that's intuitive and easy to use. The ability to track nuanced information is impressive, there's so much that can be done from building queries to using variable data in acknowledgement letters to include personalized language around gift designation etc.

Cons

You still have to use the "old" database view for many functions, although that's steadily changing and new features and enhancements are released frequently.

LR
AvatarImg

Leah R.

Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for mobile fundraisers, but not as robust as database view

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Being cloud based, RE NXT is great for on-the-go fundraisers. It is also a great UI and being able to drill into records is beneficial.

Cons

The filtering in lists is not as flexible as database view. There are queries that still need to be done in database because NXT doesn't provide enough filtering criteria. For instance, it is necessary for us to use "not one of" or "does not equal" in our filtering but NXT doesn't have that capability at this time. Also, it is concerning that when merging records in database view, data that was entered via NXT may not merge and will be lost if the record is deleted during the merge.

HK
AvatarImg

Heather K.

Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NXT and upper management

Reviewed 6 years ago

All in all, we love our NXT.

Pros

NXT has most importantly helped our upper management, CEO and V.P. gain valuable information on our donors, and the stewardship of them. They are easily able to view the performance of each Fundraiser/Solicitor and where they are in the moves management process.

Cons

It does not yet take the place of Raiser's Edge, batching, events, etc. Refresh time should be instantly but there is a lag which is sometimes up to 7 hours.

GM
AvatarImg

Gavin M.

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

RE: NXT

Reviewed 6 years ago

It is a great piece of software that has helped me in my work. I would definitely consider moving from RE7 to NXT if you haven't done so already!

Pros

It is so easy to use in the web view, and it is very easy to read and understand the various charts and graphs that analyse your fundraising. Also, you have the best of both worlds - web view and database view, which is the same view as RE7.

Cons

My only gripe is that not every function of the database view is available in the web view yet. However, from watching various webinars and listening to talks at conferences, the future looks great - more functionality in the web view.

AM
AvatarImg

Adam M.

Environmental Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pricey but solid

Reviewed 6 years ago

Professional training is not a requirement, but to truly dig into the details of all the features, I would recommend some Raiser's Edge training sessions to ensure that your team is getting the most of the product.

Pros

The database features and reporting are by far the highlights of Raiser's Edge. Raiser's Edge allows you to manage and track your donors in pretty much anyway that you could think of. The reports can be fully customized, allowing you to track and analyse data across your constituents. Batch entry into the database is also a huge plus, especially if you handle lots of small donations from donors.

Cons

This software may not be the best for smaller non-profits because of the price. It's a bit on the pricey side. For smaller non-profits, you are probably better off using another product.