This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

CanadaHelps Donor Management System

Built for Canadian Charities by a Canadian Charity

see alternatives

CanadaHelps Donor Management System Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


11 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Another Home Run for CanadaHelps

Reviewed 4 months ago

The CanadaHelps team has been an incredible partner and a significant resource for our charity. They are personable, responsive and capable. We feel privileged to have a partner that truly "gets" the charitable sector, understands our challenges and promotes our causes.

Pros

Modern, intuitive, powerful, backed by a technical and customer service team that is second to none.

Cons

The Opportunities tab has lots of room for development as a recurring grant management tool.

Vendor response

Thank you for leaving a review Alistair, our Product Team always appreciate your thoughtful feedback. We are so happy to hear that you regard us as a partner and the feelings are mutual - we look forward to our continued partnership!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

CanadaHelps DMS review from The Children's Book Bank

Reviewed 2 months ago

I was part of the planning and the beta-testing of the DMS. It was a fun experience and really great to be a part of this new feature of CanadaHelps from the start.

Pros

So far the DMS has been very helpful for our team to organize and execute fundraising campaigns - including the MailChimp integration. We also like being able to process a cc donation, issue a tax receipt and know that all the information is already logged into our system.

Cons

It would be nice to have a monthly payment feature for the DMS - the once a year payment can be hefty, especially for smaller organizations. There are still some bugs - duplicate contacts from importing our original lists. But over time these kinds of bugs get worked out.

Vendor response

Hello Roxanne, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you found the DMS helpful for organizing and executing your fundraising campaigns. We have noted the demand for monthly payment options and are looking into ways to make the DMS more accessible in this regard. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

New to DMSing

Reviewed 2 months ago

We are able to start generating regular newsletter and fundraising campaigns with greater ease. The on boarding process was longer than expected but the support staff have been great in helping us get to where we need to go.

Pros

It is great to have all our contacts in one place. There is a steep learning curve but I am hopeful it will be worth all the effort! I am grateful for the super support staff helping us along.

Cons

We are working to create new business processes around the DMS. There are a few key part of the software that I would like to see improved including uploading new contacts in bulk (without having to use another email communication program). The placement of 'unsubcribe' feature of the bulk email templates needs to become more flexible so people are unsubscribing to communication without taking the time to even scan it.

Vendor response

Hi Kathy, thank you so much for leaving us a review. We're happy to hear our support team is helping you with the learning curve, that's what we're here for. Also great to hear that newsletter and fundraising campaigns have gotten easier with the CanadaHelps DMS. The feedback you are providing us is very useful. I'm happy to share that we are working on a bulk import tool for the DMS in the near future and the placement of the unsubscribe position should be fixed this or next week so stay tuned! Do reach out to us if you have any other feedback. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick customer service

Reviewed 4 months ago

Sending out our newsletter to over 1400 people is easy and efficient. This is much improved from the system we were using before.

Pros

This software is easy to use. It makes sending out our quarterly newsletter fast and efficient. Responding to donors from the Donor Management System is a breeze as is the ability to customize letters. I would highly recommend the CanadaHelps system to colleagues.

Cons

It can be difficult to customize reports and the information I have to sift through is very extensive.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Kimberley! It's great to hear that we're helping to make things like donor communication easier for your organization and that you would recommend the DMS. We have heard your feedback and improving the reports is in the pipeline! Thanks again for this feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Guild of the Royal Canadian Dragoons

Reviewed 4 months ago

We looked at commercial software and we stumbled across the DMS after asking CanadaHelps if they knew of a a provider. Perfect solution for our charity given those who work for us are located across Canada. We needed something simple to understand, cloud based and flexible.

Pros

Ease of use, cost, flexibility and support .

Cons

Took a little while to become comfortable using it - takes time to learn anything!

Vendor response

Thank you Dave for leaving a review. We're proud to be serving Canada's charitable sector. We look forward to continuing to support you and the Guild of the Royal Canadian Dragoons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy with the switch!

Reviewed 4 months ago

We're really enjoying it and look forward to the improvements that are to come that we don't even know we need yet. We are so happy with the way Canada Helps has taken our feedback to make the system better and I would recommend it to any small charity in a heartbeat.

Pros

As a charity that uses CanadaHelps.org to collect donations, I love that the Canada Helps DMS has a seamless connection to the .org. Our previous CRM did not interact with CanadaHelps.org which led to a lot (I mean a lot) of manual inputting of gifts (including every recurring monthly gift). We also love that Canada Helps DMS is a lot cleaner than our old software, it's relatively user-friendly, and only gets better with time. We have greatly benefitted from the support of our main contact who onboarded our team to the system, and continue to ask questions as they come up. Canada Helps DMS is eager to make our experience as a charity better, and are very open to feedback/suggestions of how to make the product better for charities.

Cons

As with anything new, it took some time to get on board with the DMS, and Canada Helps was still tweaking things to make the system better. It is in a much better place now after working on some improvements, and was WELL worth the time to switch from our old system.

Vendor response

Hi Danielle, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so happy to hear you're enjoying our fundraising tools and DMS. We've definitely come a long way and will continue to take feedback from our charity partners! We have many features and improvements in store.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent donor management system for charities

Reviewed a month ago

The DMS from Canada Helps is very user-friendly and has all features a charity needs to have in order to manage donor information and to support communication regarding donor stewardship. The DMS team members provide excellent training and outstanding customer service. They are friendly and attentive, respond promptly on questions and concerns, and go above and beyond to help find a solution. We have received exceptional support, even outside of business hours!

Pros

The great things about this software are the donation forms, emails can be sent out of DMS (individual and groups), the ease of batch adding contributions and issuing tax receipts.

Cons

Managing groups is a bit tricky when it comes to combining some groups as one group, but we found a way by creating a "smart group" and setting ‘parent’ and ‘child’ groups. There is no integration with Quickbooks Online and regarding tax receipts - it is a challenge in the back end to have to cancel a tax receipt (e.g., if an address has changed), then re-add every single contribution, then re-issue a new tax receipt.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for tracking donors

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

The software is able to track and organize donations of individuals who contribute to our organization. In addition, the simplicity to send thank you messages is great along with sending taxable receipts.

Cons

However we are still learning how smart lists operate and there ability to automatically add individuals to the lists. Finally large donor importing is not available at this time so you must manually enter one individual at a time. We are looking forward to CSV data batch input when that feature is available.

Vendor response

Thank you for the transparent feedback Tyler! We look forward to supporting you and your team with the CanadaHelps DMS. We have batch imports on the roadmap and are excited to work on the best importing solution out there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DMS Review by a staff of CareImpact

Reviewed 2 months ago

It's been a great tool to communicate with our donors consistently

Pros

It was easy to migrate our existing contacts and it's very easy to contact the helpdesk with my queries. Also, I really liked the existing articles and videos to help with the use of the DMS. It has really educated me on how to use the DMS and what I can use the DMS for.

Cons

I think adding contacts into the DMS can get tedious when there is more than 1. Maybe a feature where we can import in contacts using a csv file would be useful. Also, having different tiers of access would benefit our organization as we don't want all our staff to have access to the entire DMS.

Vendor response

Hi Gracia, thank you very much for leaving a review. We're glad that you find the support for our DMS helpful. We are working on more content to support charities using our DMS and spreading the word so more charities know how a DMS can benefit them! We hear you on the cons and we are thinking about these pieces - I can let you know a bulk import tool is on our roadmap. We look forward to continuing to support you and your team at CareImpact!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great Donor Management System

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

The site is easy to use, and looks very nice. I like how the donor management system is organized and how I can easily view a donor past contributions with the the click of one button. The automatic contribution reports are easy to read as well.

Cons

I like everything this Donor Management System has to offer, and have yet to find an option that doesn't work for me.

Vendor response

Hi Natashia, thank you for leaving a review! It's great to hear that you are enjoying the use of the CanadaHelps DMS. We appreciate our partnership and look forward to continuing to support you and your organization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Converted from homegrown legacy system which has become outgrown.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Excellent support for our conversion.

Pros

Ease of use, integration with our Accounting System (Sage).

Cons

Just beginning to explore, now that we have converted history.

Vendor response

Hello Dave, thank you for leaving a review! We are glad you are enjoying the use of the CanadaHelps DMS and the donations of securities feature so far. We look forward to supporting you and your charity as you continue to grow and explore our DMS.