Bay-masteR Reviews

Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

4.49/5 (39 reviews)

James Beasley

Great management software.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-08
Review Source: Capterra

Great customer service & tech support. I like using the software. Would recommend.

Pros
I demoed Bay-master along with several other software brands. I Chose Bay-master. Bay-master is one of the easiest & quickest software programs I have used to write & complete a ticket. I like that it keeps parts & labor for each job on ticket in groups separating each group on the ticket. Some programs I have tried places the parts & labor all run together so you don't know what part goes with what labor. Making it confusing. Having separate jobs makes it so that I can make several jobs or estimates on a ticket. Then while on the phone with the customer and trying to sell multiple repairs I can select or deselect each job giving the customer different options and pricing. The software automatically updates pricing as selecting & deselecting work. Making getting approval for work easy. Also the repairs that the customer does not approve are saved as quotes & will load onto the new ticket the next time customer returns. I love the texting feature. It helps a lot. I like the inventory feature also. I use the program to order my parts through NAPA prolink.

Cons
I think the time clock feature could be a little better, But it works ok.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Jim Otterstedt

Great product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

We are producing accurate, easy to understand invoices with very little effort. Customer communication has improved with our ability to send canned text messaging quickly and easily.

Pros
How many companies that sell shop management software listen to the end user? Of the few that listen how many entertain the thought of implementing a change based on a comment from the end user? Over the years this company has always been receptive in hearing and reviewing my suggestions, following up with required dialogue and in many cases implementing a change accordingly. We are all in this together and they understand that we, the end user of their product, may see or envision a change that could be an improvement. Their open minded, approachable business model has always impressed me. Their support staff is excellent and responsive to all of my needs. A recently released cloud version includes small changes that overall make it better than the old version. The texting feature found on both versions is great way to improve customer communication and efficiency with very little effort. Direct interfaces with our suppliers eliminates unproductive phone orders and price/part number entry mistakes.

Cons
The interface with tire suppliers is not as efficient as the interface with parts stores. Is this the fault of the program or the tire supplier? Unknown.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

chuck berryhill

Bay-masteR

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-23
Review Source: Capterra

I like the all in one value. I can track history, payment, statements, inventory, etc all on the same program.

Pros
We have used Bay-masteR for over 20 years. Just recently (6-8 months) converted to their clowud based system. Pros= Easy back up. More features. Techs can access and work in the work order. I have access to the work orders off site.

Cons
Cons- seems to be a bit slower, especially when printing. Takes several seconds before the printer starts printing. Has had several glitches that I have had to call tech support about. Some they have been able to take care of right then and others we are still waiting to get corrected. Tech support is always too busy to take your call so you will have to leave a message and hope they call back quickly. They have left me stranded a couple of times, but overall they respond in a timely manor.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Jane Milford

Note inprovement

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-16
Review Source: Capterra

I have learned on the fly so I'm sure that there is more in to this program that I am not aware of and could be using to make it work more efficiently. Training needs to be improved.Training need to be improved. The training videos don't seem to be the same as what we use since I just get the basic plan. Make appointment for personal training would be helpful. Overall it is a great program for the price.

Pros
License plate recognition of VIN. Carfax I personally use the "Notes" area to keep track of what work was preformed on a certain vehicle: such as date, mileage what work was preformed, fluid amounts and type of oil and filter used. It is easier than using the "History" Would like to see the program do this for me.

Cons
There seems to be a lot of field to fill in each time. Like "Repeat Customer" shouldn't do this automatic if it has been checked before. I shouldn't have to fill that in each time. When typing in the "Customer Request" this should show up in the "notes" area too. Instead I copy and past it there. Training need to be improved. The training videos don't seem to be the same as what we use since I just get the basic plan. Make appointment for personal training would be helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Sharon Evans

Software that does everything

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-13
Review Source: Capterra

cost and efficiency.

Pros
I like the fact that you have an all in one program. Your able to import parts and labor right into the estimate and order your parts from the program itself. There is alot of different aspects of this program that I love.

Cons
There were no cons to this program. Everything was what I expected and more

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

miquael gray

Baymaster techie

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use High level of functionality for the price High level of customization

Cons
Not as integrated as so other programs Customer service can be spotty if you are in a rush to get your system back up and running There were issues with system subscriptions but that has been fixed with the switch to Baymaster Online

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Paul Marone

new baymaster

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-08
Review Source: Capterra

great

Pros
We need the tabs to have the non-standard option in history it would be nice to have a cross tab look up like Make & Model rather than Just Model How will the Quick books interface work on the new system ??

Cons
when it crashes it seems your the only ones that can fix it there is no fix it self buttons

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

BARBARA ROBERTS

Great Automotive Billing Program

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent customer service! when our shop had a computer crash the tech support had us totally restored with in hrs. one of my favorite features is the history I can pull up any work order in seconds, it make it so easy to answer mechanics questions and customer questions. I think this soft ware is great it makes every part of my job easier.

Pros
I like the features such as accounting, customer and vehicle history, inventory and marketing. We have used Bay-Master since 1997. I appreciate all the features and would recommend it to any automotive repair shop it its invaluable for keeping track of everything.

Cons
Some of the features have add on costs which used to be included in base price

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

RICHARD NAEF

GREAT SOFTWARE

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-07
Review Source: Capterra

IT IS A TRIED AND TRUE SOFTWARE

Pros
EVERYTHING ABOUT IT IS SPOT ON. ILOVE IT

Cons
WHEN CHANGING TO ONLINE IT WAS A LITTLE BIT OF A CHALLENGE BUT I WAS A BETA TESTER.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Denise Mills

Office

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-23
Review Source: Capterra

How easy it is to use and the customer service has been great

Pros
Very easy to use, and fix things before closing out

Cons
Wish more was included in our cost, the everyday little things

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

James Quinlan

Baymaster is great.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

My experience has been one of the best investments in our business after over 30 years. We have used Baymaster for over 15 years and have never looked back. I have looked at other programs but have never found one that is as easy to use and as powerful. And all are more costly.

Pros
Very easy to use. Very powerful. Choose what features you need. Customer support is awesome. I really like the web based program.

Cons
I really have not found anything. The few things in the past were updated after inquiring to customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

David Pelzer

Just ok

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-19
Review Source: Capterra

I would not sign up for baymaster to use it if I was starting over today. The whole system goes down every few months, which doesn't sound like a huge deal but it is. I don't know a single shop who has their system go down at all ever. It is just not a very reliable program.

Pros
It works as it should sometimes. But it has enough issues to make it frustrating.

Cons
While the online version is faster and more stable than the old cloud version, it still has issues. We are constantly locked out of tickets. Official built us an option to force tickets to unlock, and even that still will not work at times and we won't be able to get into a ticket from any computer. Not even the one that the system says is in it. The system often goes down during the day when we are busy and it completely handicaps us. The new vehicle selection menu is terrible compared to the old full screen version, it's bad enough we don't even use it when booking appointments any more. Customer information should be automatically capitalized. It would be good if quotes would carry forward to a customers new invoice even if the EOD report hasn't been done on their old one. Sometimes customers pick up their vehicle and call back later that day to book in for the work to be done. Then the quote you made is still on the old paid invoice and you can't get it to show up on the new one and you have to build it all over again. The printing is a pain. Every few weeks a random computer will stop printing baymaster tickets and we have to get support to fix the printing issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

chris meyer

good program

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-14
Review Source: Capterra

good

Pros
price, ease of use technical support is always there when needed

Cons
sometimes deletes whole tickets on it's own

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Dudley Martin

Total Shop and Workflow Solution

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-13
Review Source: Capterra

Baymaster replaces a full time employee and is the fastest estimator out there

Pros
It does everything I need It is accessible for integration It is the best program for the money out there It is a low overhead software that can run fast on older machines It is self maintaining It integrates with other info systems well It prints understandable upfront invoices for customers

Cons
Light on accounting functions but is easy to pivot into other programs

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Shana Unruh

Daily User

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

The customer support in this program is awesome. The technicians are friendly, you get to talk right to a person, and they are very knowledgeable about the program.

Pros
We love the way we can easily look back on work history and previous repairs done to a vehicle. Program is pretty easy to use.

Cons
I wish there was a little simpler way to add repeat messages on invoices. Like "Retorque wheels after 100 miles."

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

MARK JOHNSTON

SHORT COMMING OF BAYMASTER

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-17
Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL EXPERIENCE IS GOOD.

Pros
EASE OF USE. VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND FIGURE OUT.

Cons
MY CUSTOMER DATABASE AND HISTORY IS MINE AND SHOULD BE ABLE TO RETRIEVE IT AND SWITCH TO ANOTHER SOFTWEAR AT ANYTIME. I FEEL TRAPPED USING THIS BECAUSE I CANT TRANSFER MY INFO FROM THIS SOFTWEAR. I FEEL LIKE IM BEING FORCED TO USE THIS AND IF I HAVE PROBLEMS THAT CANT BE RESOLVED IM STUCK.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

John Snigier

Baymaster Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

I was one of the first users of Baymaster and originally was a demo location. Stayed with BM through the years and BM owners.

Pros
Integrated. Interface with accounting system. Reports. Vehicle identification by VIN, License plate. Call up vehicle data and owner data by multiple means - VIN, Name, phone, Plate, veh. model, etc.

Cons
Random need to call in for registration verification and access reset.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Neil Bilodeau

The best

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The ease of uses of the software surpasses most other shop management software that I have looked at. There are features that Bay-Master has that other very expensive shop management software says that they are the only ones who have such as a liner parts matrix and labor matrix.

Cons
Because they are smaller some other peripheral software do not work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Damien Cesko

It works

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I enjoy the software. Customer service has always been helpful when needed and the pricing is much better than the competiton. There are a couple little quirks but that is the case with anything.

Pros
The pricing and simplicity. It offers up what you need at a reasonable cost but you can add on the extras of need be.

Cons
The online version lost quite a few functions my shop used from the pervious version.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Bobby Twynam

Baymaster Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Always get me running

Pros
American made, Jersey guys answering the phone, always stuck with you till the issue is resolved

Cons
Part description has limited space . If you want to be very descriptive in naming a part you are limited

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

FRANCIE MILLER

BayMaster is great automotive repair software.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-17
Review Source: Capterra

Very good program. Great customer service.

Pros
it is easy to bill out repairs for customer. Software is user friendly.

Cons
I think the inventory pages could have more room for notes and more information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

TAMAR RAFAELI

Baymaster helps you master your bays!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I love that using Baymaster is easy - for example looking up a service history is at your fingertips! This is especially useful when a customer is on hold or at your service counter.

Cons
The first few days were a tad rough when we first switched to the cloud version. (This was to be expected)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

THUAN NGUYEN

Bay-masteR Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-16
Review Source: Capterra

Great communication and quick service when needed.

Pros
This software is SO easy to navigate through. It is user friendly and has a lot of additional features!

Cons
As a service writer, I am unable to access and add notes while the techs are in the ticket looking through history.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Frank Durantino

rewiew

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is pretty easy to use and to teach other people how to navigate.

Cons
There is a issue when writing a comment on the customers home page it has been like this the entire 15 years I am using this program. It should be addressed. Otherwise a pretty good system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores

Robert Earle

Long time user

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Repair history is the best. It’s easy to search prior repairs.

Pros
very automotive friendly . Search engine is nice. it interfaces easily with quick books

Cons
I had trouble with the internet version. It would not close end of day without locking up

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Bay-masteR

Shop management solution for automotive stores