Halo Reviews

Halo Reviews

Halo

Supply chain analytics & business intelligence platform

4.45/5 (28 reviews)
497     1,857

Eduardo Peters

All of my data in one quick view

16/01/2017

We are starting to use Halo and we are excited with the results and possibilities that it brings us. It is certainly a key tool for rapid data analysis and decision making. We are moving towards an intensive use of Halo in several departments.

Pros

The Halo analytics tools are quite nice to use from building cubes to using the results. At various points, it is quite intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Know your data sources well. Understand what and how you want the results before you start building.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Felipe Furlanetti

Good tool for analysis and decision making

16/01/2017

I use the Halo BI to bring insights to the managers of our clients. The integration feature with ERPs and Maps are great. It's not just another vizual tool.

Pros

Good for any size of company, easy to implement, Prebuilt for ERP / CRM, Prebuilt templates for our industries and for our clients.

Cons

There is not a negative point

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rob McAdams

Rmcadams Getix

16/01/2017

Very good training, easy to understand product and Prism looks great

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wilhelm Evans

My Experience thus far

10/01/2017

From the start of training to support afterward, I've been completely impressed. This product is honestly amazing. I have never seen a company provide the level of support with the almost instant response times from their support team. Not to mention the politeness and knowledge provided. Halo truly provides more than they advertise.

Pros

Ease of use - once you get into using it, you get hooked on what can be done. Security - as an administrator I decide who sees what and at what level. Prebuilt to my needs - haven't found what it can't do yet or what the great support team can't help us with.

Cons

What do I like least about this product. Well nothing so far. The only limitation when creating a View is your imagination.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Absolutely and without question, use the Halo Support Team. They are the best.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brent Glendening

Halo exceeds with lstest release of thier BI solution

16/12/2016

Halo delivers a premium BI solution that is more that just easy to use, state of Art solution. The products time to value is fantastic you can have BI dashboards available in half the time of many competitors, and can be supported by users in the departments with little support from IT. We really were excited about the pre-built interfaces to many of the standard ERP and CRM solutions, along with Standard view templates by industry and company departments requirements. With the most recent release they know have predictive analytics to allow you to forecast "look forward" trends based upon industry standard predictive models.

Pros

I feel the customer support and quality of the software is fantastic. we have gone through 6 upgrades without issues, and the support was working with us every step of the way, without any extra costs other than the annual maintenance. The other real benefit we experienced was the ability to import data from multiple sets of systems, integrate them into one cohesive data set, validate the data, and deliver actionable prebuild templates for our industry.

Cons

As Halo grows the software is getting better and better, they are investing heavily with industry experts and is becoming a Tier one supplier with more knowledge than just another BI platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

in the selection process take advantage of the proof-of-concept sales process. If / when you select their software take advantage of their industry experts and potentially some of the consulting expertise to get some very quick wins. you will see results in days/weeks not Months & Quarters of many of their competitors.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Erickson

Not just a product, a solution!

17/11/2016

Halo BI has developed a fantastic product for solving the analytical problems a company typically encounters. Pairing a strong data engine (data warehouse, ETL) with an easy-to-use front end they've created a solution that we embraced quickly and appeased both the technical data guru's and the data consumers who just want to drag, drop, point and click. Mobile reporting and the ability to handle forecasting round out the offering nicely.

Pros

Easy-to-use front end for dashboarding and reporting. Most users pick up on navigation very quickly and are excited to be able to view their data from many different perspectives. Simplicity in use for end users with a powerful data warehouse and ETL to provide the data to them are a great combination. Having it be a mobile solution as well was key for our user base. Customer support has been excellent to compliment the solution.

Cons

Very good solution overall and a lot to like here. If I had to pick something it would be enhancing formatted reporting, though I haven't seen many solutions that address this well today and also provide the benefits Halo provides in one package.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Definitely add Halo BI as one of the solutions to seriously consider. It's a strong product with great customer support and a desire to get it right that exists across the company. Aligning these was key to earning and keeping our business.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
T. Eric Ervin

Halo has unlocked the data from the Dynamics AX safe

17/11/2016

Prior to having a BI solution we were like many other companies I am sure. Exporting data straight from our ERP system into mostly Excel based reports. This was not only time consuming but also led to many errors in reporting, often having more than one version of the truth. That is why we decided to explore what our options were with BI. During our evaluation of many different BI vendors/software we quickly saw Halo rise above the rest. Halo Source is everything you need from a data warehouse, and cube creation perspective. On top of that, it is using full Microsoft based technology which makes the learning curve extremely fast, even for those non-developers. A deciding factor for Halo was the data quality module. Everyone has some form of dirty data, but Halo has a solution for that. It was the only company that offered this sort of feature and was a major reason we selected Halo as our business intelligence solution. You absolutely do not need to know how to write SQL to spin up your own data warehouse and cubes for use with Halo Prism. On the topic of Prism it is very streamlined visualization tool. Drag and drop with as many visual options as you would need. Prism has allowed us to gain insight into our data that we have struggled see. We truly believe that this will be one our most successfully projects that has the largest impact since our ERP implementation, and even then this is really the icing on the cake for our complete ERP suite.

Pros

Support from the point of sale and beyond. I have never been sold a product where the vendor kept constant contact even after the sale and install. Halo truly cares about their customers and their product, and we look forward to a long successful relationship with them. Prism is extremely user friendly, drag and drop measures and dimensions to quickly and easily answer questions about your business. Only software/solution to address data quality as a key part of the ETL process. Solution experts who really know my business and our ERP system. Training was exceptional. Prebuilt templates to address industry specific needs.

Cons

Wish we could have moved forward with our BI approval faster. This was on us not Halo we just were not sure as a Business what we wanted. But once we had our demo it was clear Halo was our top choice. Power BI put a wrench in this process giving pause from our Executives, but once I tried to replicate some reports in Power BI and saw how large the learning curve was and that it did not include the foundation of any BI solution (a data warehouse) Halo again was where we turned.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Halo offers the complete package. From the backend date warehouse, Data cleansing, Cube Creation, predictive analytics, and a slick visual front end. If you don't believe me have them do a proof of concept with YOUR data! This is something most other vendors will not even entertain. What better way to show value from your BI software than to evaluate it with data and metrics you know. Do your homework and call references, Halo gets nothing but positive praises from anyone I have talked to who uses it.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
martin monkewicz

Nice program -- lacking in bells and whistles

24/10/2016

I joined a company a couple years ago. This software was the BI tool in use. I found it was not intuitive to use and was rarely used. As luck would have it, with personnel changes, I found myself as the main person to use. Since them I have found it is easy to use when used frequently. I have also found that other users do not use due to lack of bells....

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Killgour

HALO Review

08/09/2016

As I don't have the kills in-house to complete a lot of the work currently, we've been leveraging the skills of the Darren. Darren is great at understanding what we're asking, and also looking at the bigger picture and offering options for things we hadn't even considered. Moving forward, we'd eventually like to have training for myself and Lauren so we can start to do more of this work ourselves

Pros

It is a tool we've never had before within the company Once understood, easy to use the date to see what we want to see Graphical interface Good update schedule each year

Cons

Speed of some views (however this is related to our server resource) There are a lot of features for HALO, however we're only scratching the surface with this

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Turboia

Halo Prism

01/09/2016

The overall experience of this product has been very good and satisfying. It has 2 applications. The webportal and the etl tool. Both are very user friendly and easy to use and develop in.

Pros

The portal is very user friendly with lots of features. The ETL Tool is very good and easier to use than SSIS and other tools. Manu Ikkala has been a very knowledgeable and very prompt in his support.

Cons

The ability to show lots of measures against the time dimension

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt James

Great product that suits our business

31/08/2016

Pros

Ease of use, easy to deploy, quality work of the developer.

Cons

We have had no issue with the product or with the service from Halo BI.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Conduct a POC using samples of real business data.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Grant Brinkhurst

Using Prism for sales, sampling and stock reporting

25/08/2016

Pros

Prism software is easy to use, simple to customise and change reports, data can be taken from multiple sources, reports can be distributed automatically. There are regular enhancements to the product. Halo keep me well informed about new features. Support for modifications is generally prompt.

Cons

No major complaints. A simpler way to email reports or choose specific data from reports and print to PDF or email would be good. Reports with quite a few calculated field can be slow to run. The report updates after every change you make - perhaps might be useful at times to be able to make several changes and then have it update.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Ease of use is very important so people have confidence to create their own reports, otherwise they won't use it or will still want others to run reports for them and not get the full benefit of it.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Odhran McCloskey

Very happy with Halo

21/08/2016

Pros

Very good balance between usability and functionality Relatively simple for business analysts and computer literate users to "own" the cube side of things Very easy for people with low/medium computer skills to analyse the data (presentation side of things)

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about either Halo Source or Halo Prism

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

One of very few products we looked at that offered both the cube-building/data gathering with the presentation layer

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Rice

Halo - great product!!!

17/08/2016

Great product - very powerful. If you cant think up an idea, this platform and the guys behind it can make it happen.

Pros

Integrates well, and has plenty of data input options.

Cons

Could still be easier for staff to build views. You have to be a little analytics orientated to drive the backside of this beast.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
THOMAS MENDEZ

ABC Review

16/06/2016

Pros

Low maintenance and very good response time by Halo when needed.

Cons

Annual maintenance fee and the cost to implement a new cube.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

determine how you are going to use the data and by whom.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jake Thieu

A must-have BI product.

31/03/2016

Pros

Friendly and knowledgeable. Always response to your support request quickly. It's easy to use and easy your work.

Cons

Depends on Web Browser version. However, it's acceptable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Highly recommended for a 3rd party BI tool. They are committed to our success with their product.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adriana Rozgowski

Halo BI Prism Training and Support Staff Help

30/03/2016

Pros

I enjoyed the interactive class that was incredibly informative giving me insight into the exact material I needed to learn.

Cons

I do not have any issues with this program. It is very helpful!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

I would simply make sure that you have access to all of the User Guides available. These have loads of tips and tricks that will get you working on those excellent, interface report views right away!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Gilbert

Very Powerful tool - Highly recommended

24/03/2016

Pros

It takes a lot of the grunt work out of the ETL process when creating data cubes and a data warehouse. The program lets you pull in data from multiple sources and easily transform it without any knowledge of SSIS or Data Analysis. The front end prism product is easy to learn and offers many options for presenting you data in dashboards and reports. The product is also self documenting which is a major time saver.

Cons

It does require the developer to have a good knowledge of the source data and how it relates. Would be nice if it had more templates for pulling data from ERP systems like Dynamics AX. It does come with some.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

To me this product is actually 4 products in one. It is a data repository for pulling in data from various systems and sources and merging it into one database, it also takes this transformed data and can create a data warehouse for reporting, and it creates cubes for data analysis. Then the front end is a very robust BI tool. And as a bonus it also is a documentation tool, auto creating documentation for all of your data connections.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark DeBower

Halo BI - Useful tool that adds value to our MS CRM Enviroment

17/02/2016

Pros

Halo BI has added significant value to our Microsoft Dynamics CRM environment. It is easy to integrate with multiple data sources for 360 views from lead to invoice. From a user perspective, I have found that users find the interface intuitive in building reports to meet their individual needs. The Dashboard graphic capabilities are a big hit with our users.

Cons

Would like to see more robust export capabilities in gathering views into a single report.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

We evaluated several MS Dynamics BI tools. Make sure you consider back-end capabilities that will be needed for sophisticated data integrations and translations. Halo has a great user interface, but also powerful back-end capabilities.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eliot Paisley

A Product that's Quick to Implement & Improving Rapidly

30/11/2015

Pros

Training is top-notch, resulting in a very quick implementation. Email support is extremely quick to respond and very knowledgeable. Ease to integrate multiple data sources is shown to have been a high priority in development. Out-of-the-box data visualization capabilities are very nice. Most of all I see that the product is being actively developed and improved which gives great promise that each and every bug/feature request can and will be addressed.

Cons

Documentation could be more expansive. Creation of structured financial reports (P&L, CashFlow, Balance Sheet) is difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Contacting other companies to discuss their implementations was very valuable for us to decide that HaloBI was the right choice for us.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Dean

Impletented Halo to provide interactive dashboards on customer spend

08/07/2015

Pros

Highly functional yet simple toolset utilising leading edge thinking and technology. Very simple, quick and cost effective to implement.

Cons

Not enough people know about it or understand the value proposition. Difficult to sell internally with such a low profile.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Understand the unique niche that it excels in and don't try to make it what it is not.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sara Lichtwark

Business Analyst quick review

07/07/2015

Pros

Easy to navigate, easy to change views quickly if a designer. Relatively easy for less experienced users to get around.

Cons

Flexibility of views is not great - the ability to manipulate to the view required still somewhat limited.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Get your lowest end and highest end users to trial it, and see what they think.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dale Polekoff

Long time user - have seen the evolution.

29/06/2015

Pros

The best thing about this product is how easy it is to train our non-techie users. The vendor has always supported us and have worked to handle our needs and issues.

Cons

There are limited options for getting the training needed to enable internal staff to handle basic changes in the application. There is sometimes over-promise in the selling process.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Make sure your users will enjoy operating the UI. If the business people don't come, your project will fail.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Henry Grimes

My Review about HALO

26/06/2015

Pros

Prism is very user friendly and understandable. Very very dynamic when drilling around.

Cons

Duplicates data during ETL and Prism takes a long time when dealing with big data.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

Look forward and think about how you will be using your data in the future and make sure this software still makes sense.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Richards

Highly usable for programmers and executives alike.

26/06/2015

Pros

Prism is powerful and highly customizable. Source data is easily readable in SQL Server. The software is continuously evolving. Service top notch; a quick email asking how to accomplish something is often responded to within the hour.

Cons

A few nuances that have workarounds or functions that aren't intuitive, especially in Source. For some offhand examples: Ctrl+S doesn't save a project. You can't add a SQL Expression field if the datasource is Access (without fiddling with the source fields). Can't delete a range out of the processing log. I think there are occasions when right-clicks don't do what I'd expect. Just really minor things that trip me up for a moment and I don't think about them again until next time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Halo

BI quickly hands you compiled data on a solver platter, but you have to know what you want first. It takes a high level of understanding of transaction data to generate the right reporting data.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more