HotSchedules Reviews

HotSchedules Reviews

HotSchedules

Scheduling and workforce management software.

4.29/5 (117 reviews)
4,905

Greg Lewis

This software is easy to use and a great way to communicate.

08/08/2017

The largest benefit was time management. I have a lot more time to do other things that improve our guest's experience, which is the bottom line of my job.

Pros

The communication side of it is great. I have less meetings now that I can send out mass messages. The scheduler itself is top notch. I can move shifts around quickly using the quick keys and copying schedules is a snap. Having the freedom to do my schedule anywhere and being able to approve or deny schedule changes from my phone makes those decisions more informed. We use it to document all incidents good and bad on employees, so when an evaluation comes around you have all that information at your fingertips. It makes a great reservation scheduler. The roster report is the first thing I print out in the mornings to make sure everyone is here and where they are supposed to be and if they are not I have all the phone numbers on that sheet. The fact that it gives you the number of hours for everyone helps with creating budgets for the week.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that part of the expense for the is put on the employee. I know it's very little but some employees don't have a bank account or credit card and have trouble making the purchase. It seems to me that the revenue generated by that could be built into the cost of the software on the employer side.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex  Rener

Fair

13/07/2017

Pros

HS connect makes it easy to upload from our POS. Functionalities are plentiful. Digital log book and task list are favored.

Cons

Billing is never accurate. Takes a long time to get fixed. The representatives change constantly. Take list functions and reporting are minimal. Task list are easy to build but not intuitive to assign.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Lloyd

I have used hotschedules for years at several of my jobs. It made scheduling 200+ employees easy.

15/06/2017

Pros

I like how user friendly and easy hotschedules is to use. I love all the reports you can generate for labor and schedules. The software is very easy to maneuver compared to many other scheduling softwares.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jarret Sutphin

Scheduling made easy

12/06/2017

Makes time off requests and daily availability very easy for staff to make and then to schedule off of.

Pros

Ease of use for staff to release/swap/manage shifts. App makes checking schedule and sending message always available and easy.

Cons

The notifications could be easier to adjust in the settings and messaging could be sorted better, especially within the app.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shay Brown

Saves me lots of time!

07/06/2017

Pros

I like to use Hot schedules to help me build a schedule for my employees, it save me lots of time with having to send out the schedule and insuring everyone gets it! The best part is all request can submitting in one place.

Cons

I have noticed often when in use the page will shut down or reload sometime causing me to start over not always!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jamie Hughes

Low stress scheduling, and great employee interactions

16/05/2017

More time managing, less time with schedukes

Pros

i like that employees can take more ownership of their schedules with limited interactions with managers freeing them to manage and not have so much time figuring out schedules.

Cons

The initial set up and first schedule can feel overwhelming and the set up pages aren't automatically emailed to new hires.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mario de Leon

One Happy Pizza Shop

21/04/2017

Couldn't be any happier. HotSchedules has streamlined the way we make a schedule, and has organized the way we do things! The staff really enjoys being able to control their personal schedule from the comfort of a smart phone. Also the number of headaches have dramatically been on a decline since the introduction of HotSchedules. Thank you!

Pros

The auto-scheduler and templates.

Cons

You can't put a limit on how many people request off the same day.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kikombeeusizuri Bowman

Hotschedules

28/02/2017

Using hotschedules really helps restaurant employees easily access their schedules.

Pros

As a server you can easily pick up an available shift that someone else can't work, and also release/post a shift that you cannot work in order for someone else to grab it.

Cons

Sometimes it is difficult knowing where to go in order to find out certain information, such as if somone sends out a message for all employees to see, but for some reason I won't be able to locate where to see the message.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sabrina Hodel

Great system easy to use

27/02/2017

Love hot schedules for scheduling projecting and just very user friendly. Really like how employees can drop shifts and fellow employees pick them up. Makes things easier when they don't have to call the restaurant and they can work it out on their own.

Pros

Scheduling and employees able to trade shifts

Cons

nothing system is great

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering HotSchedules

Well worth the price

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Sabrina,

Thank you for the great review! We love serving those who serve and we are grateful you are a part of our community.

Happy scheduling!

Read more
Phil Rauscher

General manager

25/02/2017

Really like the program makes it easy to post schedule and for employees to be able to work with one another to change their shifts

Pros

Easy to use works well for all employees plus shows labor percentages and tracking. Nice to be able to use the daily log to communicate with everyone as well.

Cons

Nothing

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering HotSchedules

Use it. This is a great tool for the restaurant and will help you tremendously. Take the tutorials and ask for help they are always willing to help.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Phil,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to provide us with feedback, we greatly appreciate it! We value your role in our community.

Happy scheduling!

Read more
John  Chavez

Perfect for the restaurant world

17/02/2017

What I enjoy about hot schedules is two fold. One as a training manager I can easily set this up with the schoox LMS. So any new employee added to hot schedules automatically gets assigned their courses within schoox. This makes it easier for restaurant managers to train their staff without any support from training furthermore, it allows them to personally control their schedules without needing to worry about how training/restaurant will communicate with one another. Outside of the learning component, hot schedules are easy to use and it offers a color coded scheduler designed to easily help you manager your daily or weekly schedules.

Pros

ease to use almost functions like an HRMS

Cons

has a steep learning curve

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering HotSchedules

review your needs before you buy

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Tran

Easy, a word usually not used in the Restaurant Biz.

11/02/2017

I have been using Hot Schedules for several years now, and I have to say it always pleases! In the service industry, the word "easy" is not usually thrown around. As a FOH manager, and a former FOH staff member Hot Schedules has always been super easy to use and super helpful! Also, implementing it into the restaurant was quick, easy, and the most affordable. The Hot Schedules team is always around to provide great customer service as well! If you are in the market for a new scheduling, labor tracking, (among many other things) service. I would for sure go with Hot Schedules!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Lisa,

Thank you so much for the great review! We love to serve those who serve and are happy to help your business run more efficiently. Thank you for being a part of our community.

Happy Scheduling!

Read more
Alyssa  Collins

Good so far

11/02/2017

Im new to hot schedules but it seems pretty user friendly . Most of the employees have been able to sign up with out any problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Hello Alyssa!
Thank you so much for providing feedback for us. We appreciate your role in our community!

Read more
Mason Dusome

Great Service!

11/02/2017

Hotschedules has made scheduling and forecasting MUCH easier. We are just a small business and the service they provide for the value is outstanding. Scheduling takes hours less than it used to and being able to look at the sales, labor, and other projection really helps us. Great service!

Pros

Great reporting and review. Awesome scheduling at ability to forecast sales and labor.

Cons

Not much honestly. The customer service is sometimes a little hard to get ahold of, and during maintenance or peak hours it can sometimes be hard to access the servers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Hi Mason! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to provide us some feedback! We love to serve those who serve and appreciate your involvement in our community!

Read more
Marios Patatinis

Very good program

11/02/2017

The program is very good and helpful. Price could be a little better. The functionality and ease of the system are excellent

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Marios,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback! We are happy to help your business run more efficiently.

We value any and all feedback-we have a community request page where you can submit your thoughts and insights directly to our Customer Support team!

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200388757-Feature-Requests

Happy Scheduling!

Read more
Jerry Pennington

Works nicely

10/02/2017

I was a little hesitant steering away from y old ways of scheduling but the support and functionality made it easy. Completely switched over staff of 30+ in 2 weeks. Thanks HS!

Pros

functionality

Cons

cost

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Jerry,

Thank you for the great review! We love to serve those who serve and are happy to help your business run more efficiently. We appreciate your role in our community.

Happy Scheduling!

Read more
Nikki  Gingola

First time user

10/02/2017

I love hotschedules. It has really helped me get my business running more fluid, not just for myself but for our staff. Especially when it comes to making a schedule and the ease of use for the staff. I wish Hotschedules had a way for us to incorporate breaks though. That would be very helpful.

Pros

What I like most is the scheduling. I can make a template of a schedule used commonly or start from scratch.

Cons

What I like least is probably more on my part, and that is that I find it to be a lot going on and I am not exactly technologically savvy. But customer service has always been great at helping me answer any questions that I have.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering HotSchedules

I wish that when making the schedule we had the ability to incorporate breaks without having to schedule staff for separate shifts. It seems to confuse them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Nikki,

We know you're very busy, so thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us feedback.

If you have any specific suggestions for product enhancements, please do not hesitate to voice your thoughts on our community forum page!

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200388757-Feature-Requests

Happy Scheduling!

Read more
Maggie Alvarez

Makes Schedules and Labor Cost Much Easier

10/02/2017

My managers are thrilled that they no longer have to make schedules in a spreadsheet. Switching shifts and distributing schedules is a breeze. Requesting time off is also much easier for employees. I'm thrilled they can now easily see how much they are spending on labor.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Hello Maggie,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy to make running your business more efficient and simple. We are available 24/7 if you ever need assistance!

Read more
Paul  Goldstine

Lowering labor made easy

10/02/2017

We recently purchased Hot schedules after reviewing many similar products, and are very pleased with the selection that we made. The ease of scheduling, the control of labor cost,and the tools that Hot schedules has that allows management to spend less time majing schedules and more time developing the team.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Paul,

Thank you for the great review! We love to serve those who serve and are happy to help your business run more efficiently. Thank you for being a part of our community.

Happy Scheduling!

Read more
Laura Leminger

Great Product.

10/02/2017

It really helps with communication with your staff they have the availability to check their schedule any time. You can also eliminate early clock-ins

Pros

online access, clock-in monitoring

Cons

Inability to update the template, having to resave a schedule instead of just adjusting the template. Having to put in the password all the time on my office computer. Need an option for a "keep me signed in on this computer and only ask for passwords when making a change

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Hello Laura,

Thank you so much for your feedback! Here are some articles that may help with updating your template!

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/articles/215565947-HS-Create-New-Templates-Based-on-Existing-Templates

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/articles/214872978-HS-How-to-Edit-Existing-Templates

Read more
Lindsey Lee

Easy Interface, Stress-Free Setup

10/02/2017

We currently have four entities that use Hot Schedules. Each entity seems to get easier and easier to set up! Each representative that I have worked with has been friendly, considerate, and willing to answer any questions I may have. I was given documents on how to navigate the interface myself, along with a support team that has responded back to my inquiries in less than 24 hours each time. I would certainly recommend this product to others.

Pros

Easy interface, easy to set up, great customer service

Cons

Cost of the app for smart phones, a lot of staff do not want to pay for it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Lindsey,

Thank you so much for the great review! We love to serve those who serve and are happy to help your business run more efficiently. Thank you for being a part of our community!

Read more
Ian Snelleman

Good for keeping your numbers in check

10/02/2017

Great for keeping staff accountable and labor where you need it. Features are usefull and can keep everyone on track.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Hello Ian,

Thank you for giving us feedback! We appreciate your response and are happy to serve you! Our customer care is available 24/7 if you ever need assistance.

Read more
brian hebb

Great product to grow your business and improve your productivity

09/02/2017

We were looking for a solution to training our managers in responsive scheduling. Hot Schedules gave us a ready made tools to do just that and even web hosting capabilities to focus our training efforts. Top notch!

Pros

The ease of schedule making and the app for employee shift swapping and schedule viewing.

Cons

The fee charged to sign up for the employee app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering HotSchedules

Improve the menu of POS systems you integrate with.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Brian,

We know you're very busy, so thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us feedback.

If you have any specific suggestions for product enhancements, please do not hesitate to voice your thoughts on our community forum page!

https://help.hotschedules.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200388757-Feature-Requests

We appreciate your role in our community, Happy Scheduling!

Read more
Isaac Yates

Great for our small business!

08/02/2017

Our staff is predominantly high schoolers, so for them to have an app that they can use to see when they work is great. Great for them and great for us!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Hi Isaac!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate it and are happy to serve you!

Read more
Nate Avenson

Scheduling Made Easy

07/02/2017

HotSchedules has revolutionized scheduling for our restaurant/bar. Templates make creating scheduling easy and efficient, but the biggest change is the ease with which shifts can be released/picked-up and swapped. What used to required endless calls and texts is now accomplished in a few quick clicks on a smartphone.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from HotSchedules


Nate,

Thank you so much for the great review! We love to serve those who serve and are happy to help your business run more efficiently. Thank you for being a part of our community.

Happy Scheduling!

Read more