Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central

Enterprise resource planning for SMBs, formerly Dynamics NAV

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central

Review Summary

Pros

Our employees love the clean and self explaining GUI of Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 which integrates into the Microsoft world perfectly.

Wholesaler

We can provide better customer service because everybody finds their needed information faster and more secure. That is a big advantage for all.

Renate C.

I have used the software for almost 9 months, and have found it to be very user friendly, with excellent presentation.

Misbah S.

Cons

Once again, if you buy this product you a damning your co workers to years of mental anguish and some might genuinely start hating their job so much that they quit.

Phil A.

Otherwise implementation will fail and management will blame systems in front of business owners.

Ayass A.

Ridiculously expensive and not even close to what any other software company charges for basic accounting.

Amanda L.

Overall rating

3.7

(85)

5

4

3

2

1

25

30

16

7

7

65%
positive reviews
86%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


85 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Accounting Intern

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is good

Pros

Categories of Account Receivable, Account Payable, and General Ledger

Cons

it has lot of information that I need to learn

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The new way to do business

Reviewed a year ago

Our business is running smoother since changing but we are slowly getting everything in the new system. It is taking some time but it easy to find orders/invoices when you know what to look for. I use it daily to send invoices, correct price errors, correct PO numbers.

Pros

I like that we are able to have all of our stages in one program. From our quotes to our invoices, we can keep track of the progress of each transaction. You can search by customer, order number, PO number, amount and there are many more options. After some training and a better understanding of how accounting works, I have excelled at understanding what needs to be done to correct issues or fix errors. I appreciate the ability to put notes on each quote, order, and invoice.

Cons

I wish there was a little more features such as having automatic invoices from multiple vendors but I think they may be working on that. I also wish there was a creation date for invoices and not just a posting date. I also wish there was a way to link invoices after you have made a change/correction such as the PO number being incorrect. Once you change the PO number, you have no idea that it went to another invoice.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have worked in the supply chain for 5 years now and have experience with 3 different ERP's. Our old ERP was limiting, though it was also fairly straight forward. The biggest issue seemed to be how incredibly date sensitive how ever without requiring dates at the same time. This pushed the change to a new ERP and Microsoft NAV was chosen through their partner company Just Foods. A truly bizarre...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty easy to navigate, but the screen formatting needs adjusted

Reviewed a year ago

We use the collections module, sales, purchasing, service cost, job cost, subcontractor module, and more. We use purchase orders and 3 way matching and use dynamics for a wide range of use.

Pros

You can easily adjust titles to be in red or have distinctive features to stand out, but it is not always easy to do on the financial module and you cannot do it when using features like smartlist.

Cons

The inability to generate certain reports (you have to set them up yourself) which can be VERY time consuming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Dynamics Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is really for basic use. If you are part of a manufacturing business or a large business, the software is not for you. In my experience, it is best used for small to mid size companies. The support is also terrible.

Pros

Pulling information out of the system in simple reporting isn't bad if you leave it in the same format. Basic reports are easy to read, and usually you can get the numbers in that you need by updating fields.

Cons

Entering information is extremely time consuming. You have to be very familiar with the software to be able to know what you can and cannot tab through. Pulling any information into excel is extremely time consuming and takes a lot of manipulation for it to look presentable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Full of unrealised potential

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've evaluated NAV for other roles and now I have been using the product I am convinced that it is a very powerful product when configured correctly. It has options for many roles and the ability to configure the system exists but is limited by design.

Cons

Very high cost support and difficult nature of upgrades is a real turn off. Each version upgrade is treated as a new deployment. Lacks the ability to make even the most basic changes without partner assistance or developer licence. While the product has a lot of potential I would be reluctant to upgrade an old version as I feel there are other products out there which can do the same job with a much more reasonable price tag. Value for money is the main reason I have marked this application down.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Account and financial record needs

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Accounting, G/L/ Receivables. Fairly straightforward and easy to use. Use from time it was GP 10. Standard reports were easy to use.

Cons

Glitches from time to time, we only had a certain amount of users accounts purchased and at times had more people trying to use so couldn't log in, but that isnt a software con. Just a con that you have to purchase a number of users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good experience as a system admin and end user

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

1. Like the excel function on NAV screen where you can dump out any info onto excel for external reporting. 2. Like the ability to setup permissions on record level. for example, can setup permissions where a user can see Purchase invoices for a particular vendor. 3.

Cons

1. Doesn't have a good approval chain process for purchasing documents. Very linear approach based on amount. 2. Microsoft customer support comes at a price and even with that they dont touch any customized function and ask you to get back to partner for fix

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Dynamics NAV - Re engineering software dimensions

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of use Super customisable Connectors to sync with other softwares

Cons

it should be available with other platforms like Mac etc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

my Microsoft dynamics NAV by pmx review

Reviewed a year ago

it is good and i recommend it for automated daily media buying activities.

Pros

it makes our day to day media buying process as it automates the process for better efficiency and saves time.

Cons

the software doesn't make room for recall especially in situations where the initial data has been modified.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Modern ERP Solution

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I joined AL FANAR Electricals Co. KSA -in 2003, it has been decided to replace ERP system with NAV, Tec.Support was provided by AL FANAR IT an affiliate company who became golden partnership with Microsoft later and provided the system if Gulf Market, the implementation was very successful, early versions of NAV in 2003 was famous as (Navision Attain) at that time, the system provided a splendid AR,...

Cons

No Disadvantages or defaults in my opinion if implementation requirements are clear and correct and finance knows exactly controls, processes outputs they need. everything is there in this system.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Our 18 month experience on MS Dynamics

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

MS Dynamics is pretty user-friendly considering the other CRM products in the market. It's got a pretty good coverage in terms of customer engagement process. Right from Presales interaction center to post sales Services, it covers most processes. Microsoft as a vendor is placed well to offer this as a cloud offering as its also owns Azzure MS Dynamics does have a mobile app for Apple devices which is pretty useful and easy to use. That helps in user adoption on field. The support provided by MS is good, but gets activated only when situation gets into emergency mode.

Cons

The comercials could have been more affordable. I would have loved more seamless integration between Dynamics and Navision as both are from the same family. Easy to deploy mobile applications for Andriod phone is something which would have been really useful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to support accounting processes!

Reviewed a year ago

A great tool for everyday accounting processes: reports, invoices, and managing different outlets within the company.

Pros

It is easy to run reports, since all the data you might need is in there. We use it to make invoices, and pro-forma invoices. It is great to have and keep our customer's database updated. It's easy to add new data. Be able to customize the data you use it everyday is a big plus.

Cons

Managing this software requires a lot of practice. You have to get familiar with it before run important reports and invoices. If there are too many processes at once, it can run slow and even block you out, so you'll have to wait until the system get less busy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great software, if you're not afraid of customization

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great software for small and midsize businesses.

Pros

One of NAV's biggest strengths is the fact that it's a Microsoft product, so the ease of use factor is high, given the fact that virtually all employees are familiar with MS ribbons, icons, etc. NAV is also customizable (with the help of a consultant). The fact that it is customizable, yet easy to up-gradable, is a huge factor.

Cons

There are some basic items that are only available through customization. I would like to see MS make these accessible as items that users can configure, vs. having to pay for customization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago

Microsoft has always been a great service that our company enjoys using. This service continues to strengthen the brand of Microsoft.

Pros

The thing i like is that the interface is easy to use. The setup requirements are better than the normal setup ideals.

Cons

I did not like how it is difficult to add users into our system. Not everyone has had a positive experience with this software.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feature Rich and Highly Customisable ERP

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good ERP for Small to medium enterprises

Pros

If you get the right partner- developer it a highly customizable product Great compatibility with MS Office Suite As an accounting or Financial Management ERP it is function rich, from the custom reports- account schedules, intercompany to navigation functionalities

Cons

Jobs lacks proper integration with Financial Management The number of updates or releases are just overwhelming

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great cloud based solution for small-medium businesses.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Keeps all our business data in one spot. Very easy for everyone do to their own paperwork.

Pros

Attach PDF's of invoices, PO's right to the entry. Keeps all ERP data in one spot. Can work from any device. All of our guys can work in the field and we have yet to hire an administrator.

Cons

Report creation requires a developer to help set up. Support costs can be high if you don't have a computer savvy person in your company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Property Management for Dynamics NAV is a great solution for Real Estate Companies

Reviewed 3 years ago

Better collaboration, higher transparency, less redundant data and work.

Pros

With PMX Property Management we can manage almost our entire operations with this solution. We especially like that the solution provides a very stong and flexible accounting base with a lot of reporting tools available.

Cons

As with every integrated solution people have to adapt to the fact that all information is in one data base afterwards. The learning process for everybody that one's actions / entries influence all others takes some time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good for property management if you use the add-on

Reviewed 4 years ago

I liked the solution so far, it's easy to learn and use, even if requires some time to understand the logic. Just as any other software I guess. Together, it's a great solution, allows us to manage all aspects from accounting to leasing to reporting. We use it on a subscription base.

Pros

Flexible can be adjusted to our business. NAV partner Admiral is very supportive. We liked subscription option, did not need to invest upfront. Integrated accounting and lease management allow having all numbers in one place and it gets easy to analyze. Much faster tenant billing process than we had before. Good training material from Soft4RealEstate.

Cons

Smart NAV partner is needed. Even with a subscription, there is a set-up fee and we had to invest some amounts into development. But now we have what we need. Much of info on NAV in Customersource, but need time to search for it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Financial package

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use NAV for all our accounting needs -- G/L, accounts payable/receivable, payroll. Easy to use and reports are simple to set up.

Cons

occasional glitches after upgrades, but that's to be expected and they are corrected quickly. We receive good support from our service provider.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best application for ERP in SME

Reviewed a year ago

According my experience I recommend this for small scale and medium scale business entities and not for the large scale entities.

Pros

This is a kind of ERP software that highly used by the manufacturing organizations. The application is advisable for use the medium scale business entities who are operating in manufacturing, retail, trading and distribution business activities. Though this is recognized as an accounting software, it is having the multiple function platforms such as HR management, project management, sales and marketing and supply chain management. Obtaining the information from the system is easy by the way of generating types of reports.

Cons

The most important drawback of the application is it is functioning slowly when few windows are open. Therefore, it needs to close the windows again and again when application is getting slow. The managing of the application requires a comprehensive experience and knowledge on it. It takes a long time to enter the data to the system. Users need to be familiar with application when entering data. For an instance, there are more unnecessary fields to be filled.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Functional and Precise

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Great store for customer information and data, relatively simple to get to grips with, and an efficient search function.

Cons

Can run slowly if there are a high number of users, and missing some features like batch c and p. That would be useful and time-saving.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Used this daily for years

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Navision has tons of options and features making it very easy to get specific reporting in almost any way imaginable.

Cons

It could take a while to learn how to use it. There are so many different ways to do things that it can become confusing at first.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used the software for almost 9 months, and have found it to be very user friendly, with excellent presentation. It is normally quick, software does not crash often and it works well for many different type of industries.

Pros

Very user friendly Good presentation Excellent layout - easy to search for whatever you need Good use of headings and sub-headings Being able to import from Excel, and transfer any journals into Excel easily

Cons

Maybe not the best for reporting purposes, or hard to find a way straight away Could be a more efficient way to import transactions from Excel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software that covers all operation of real estate management.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We can provide better customer service because everybody finds their needed information faster and more secure. That is a big advantage for all.

Pros

The best thing is that we got rid of many Excel-files that provided the connections between our individual tasks. Now there all data in one place and everybody can can get to their taks-realted information and data easliy. That is a big progress for all!

Cons

Due to the one-software-covers-the-whole-company idea, it is complex and needs some training. But the PMX-people are always there for us on the other hand.

page 1 of 4