App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TallyPrime Logo

TallyPrime

Once you choose simplicity, life changes

see alternatives

(2)

TallyPrime Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.3

/5

152
89%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.28/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Good software specially those who are not very good in modern software and those who are looking for quick solution on your financial data processing needs in a strict budget.
We are able to clearly see the progress on all of our in queue processes, flag with issues and identify bottlenecks. Great visual tool that is easy enough for all yo use.
Easy to use, store as much data as i can that iz amazing , useful to every Acccountant and every businessmen for their Account data.
If windows is corrupt the data of tally is lost, so every time user needs to backup the data, also it is not available in various languages. Some users needs hindi input.
Customer support is really too bad, many times you will not get connected via phone support and email support is very worst, reply will be after a week.
Fraud : we were sold trial software and that caused us 2 months of implementation.

TallyPrime users...

QuickBooks Payroll-logocaret
listing-logo

QuickBooks Payroll

Busy Accounting Software-logocaret
listing-logo

Busy Accounting Software

Microsoft Excel-logocaret
listing-logo

Microsoft Excel

How would you rate TallyPrime?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


152 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best and Fastest Accounting Tool

Reviewed 4 months ago

Great. Easy and Fast. Gets the job done

Pros

- Fast - Easy to learn - In Line with accounting standards and rules - Easier Compliance

Cons

- New Updates take time - Newer tax laws like GST complicated to implement - Doesn't look like a clean software/ aesthetically pleasing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use ERP9 Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ease to the business not only in Accounting side but also in analytics side

Pros

It's all ERP module are very easy to learn and use unlike other accounting software It's statutory feature ease the business

Cons

Firstly, It's aging feature of sundries need to be improved, Secondly, for calculating tax for cgst and sgst we need to calculate it manually which needs to be improved

Vendor response

TallyPrime supports you for all your GST needs. With TallyPrime, all your tax calculations and return filing is automated with inbuilt error detection and prevention capabilities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I am Professional Tax Consultant and Running my Small Practice since 2020 (After Covid Pandemic)

Reviewed a month ago

I would say Tally Prime is not only famous for India's Accounting Software but also global level too. I have worked on various Accounting Systems but Tally is something unique software, That's why we have also named our Tax Firm i.e Unique Taxfin Solutions.

Pros

I am Professional Tax Consultant and Running my Small Practice since 2020 (After Covid Pandemic). Tally Prime is India's best Accounting Software. Now I can easily Manage my all Accounts, Track Receivables and Smartly Raise Professional Invoices from Tally Prime. This Software helps me a lot to in GST Compliance and to get accurate scenario of my business.

Cons

Yes, I would recommend to Tally Solutions to get back function of Schedule-3 of Balance Sheet and Profit & Loss Account for all Public and Private Limited companies. Whereas in Tally ERP.9 we used converted our Financials easily as per Schedule- 3 of Companies Act, 2013. So in Tally Prime this function is missing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

TallyPrime Review

Reviewed a month ago

TallyPrime has been a very useful package, it brought professionalism to the accounting department with its professionally laid out reports and also simplified essential processes like Bank Reconciliations.

Pros

It is fairly user friendly, has a very professional layout and and also has some great features like e-invoicing and auto-bank reconciliation.

Cons

The layout takes some learning, but once learnt it's fairly simple to use

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We live and breath on Tally

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Tally has been part of our life since the day of the inception of the business. We rely totally on the tally for our accounting system. It's Sleek and Simple layout is fast and easy on the eye and the ability to anything using the tons of shortcuts without touching the mouse at all is a breeze to work like a pro.

Cons

The bad thing we feel about tally is that it did not evolve much in these recent days of cloud computing and the ability to resolve all problems a CRM should for the company. It still lacks some details on its functions and the layout of the end results must be improvised a little to meet the standards of it's users.

Vendor response

Tally Virtual User (TVU) along with virtualization technologies like RDP, RDS, and so on, allow you to access TallyPrime from anywhere, anytime. You can use your office computer or a cloud/virtual server to host your TallyPrime. When the server is connected to the Internet, you can use any computer or device, on which the third party tool works, to access the desktop of your server computer. After you access the remote desktop, you can start TallyPrime as on your local desktop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Tally prime

Reviewed 8 months ago

Keeping in view price and east to use feature. My overall experience with tally had been good.

Pros

Simple, easy to use and standard software. GUI of the tally is very good. It's not complained like SAP and all. Even beginner and non accounts professional can learn it quickly.

Cons

Bulk entry have to be e tired Manually. Bank straw can't be important from excel, I.e. it has to be entered manually. Tally does not provide backup file which can be imported into internationally used accounting software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

TallyPrime - the most commonly used accounting software

Reviewed 2 months ago

Very easy to find tally trained people on the go, easy to use

Pros

ease of finding tally trained people, customisation possibilities

Cons

many commonly used features , available in free addons can easily be incorporated in main software but not done

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tally is built from smaller to largest orgs for solving accounting needs

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

I have worked on almost all versions of tally since 2007, it has been the easiest software for wider use cases ranging from a small tier org to a larger org.

Cons

Lesser customization is something which i feel is a hindrance but still i have been using it all my life so it is best.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tally Prime Software Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Tally is simple and easy to use software. It is very helpful for preparing and uploading GST returns. I have been using this since many years. The required data can be compiled and exported to PDF and Excel easily.

Cons

only the thing is that it is not a cloud based

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Accounting software focused on accountants

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Since its an offline software, its very easy to navigate with keyboard shortcuts.

Cons

The learning curve to use the application is very high. Not suitable to first time users of the accounting software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with Tally erp9 is very good. it helps us in maintaining all records of our client.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I help me in maintaining records of large number of client in a limited time daily. Helps in timely filing of returns and other business reports. Which results increase of my profit.

Pros

This software is best and most trusted software. It provides automated solution for maintaining records and timely compliance with laws. The Best in this software is that one can customize this software according to requirements. Even special customization for every kind of business is available. It is very easy to use and learn for a fresher, Shortcut Keys are given on right side. Data can be easily compiled and migrated to PDF, Excel and Other Forms. Tally.net user is another very good feature, which provides you to access your data while sitting anywhere. These days it is very helpful for preparation and uploading of GST Returns directly from Software

Cons

This software is not on cloud storage basis. But In all, this software is very good and best software for maintaining complete records of a business

Vendor response

Thanks!Tally Virtual User (TVU) along with virtualisation technologies like RDP, RDS, and so on, allow you to access TallyPrime from anywhere, anytime. You can use your office computer or a cloud/virtual server to host your TallyPrime. When the server is connected to the Internet, you can use any computer or device, on which the third party tool works, to access the desktop of your server computer. After you access the remote desktop, you can start TallyPrime as on your local desktop. Tally Virtual User (TVU) options refer this link for more details https://bit.ly/3yjJd07

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Accounting Software

Reviewed 15 days ago

Overall I am using Tally from last 10 years and I am very satisfied customer of Tally

Pros

Ease of use, all accounting features available, can be customize according to the need, report can be tracked any where with the help of internet.

Cons

Systems gets hanged, many times systems need to be reloaded

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tally Prime for all accounting needs

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with tally prime was good as a practising chartered accountant, I majorly provide services to small and medium size entities and it is best suited for them.

Pros

Tally Prime is known and trustable accounting software which is being used by moat of the businesses. Its best suited for small and medium size businesses. User friendly and easy to use. Provides various final analysis reports in easy to understand format. This is budget friendly as small and medium businesses cannot invest in high rated softwares. It also provides multi user working and data sharing option. It also provides feature of accounting of applicable taxes such as GST, TDS etc. Provides inventory managemant facility to users. Overall a good accounting software with all required features, easy to use and in budget too.

Cons

Does not provide specialized financial reports. Not compatible with cloud compounding, data mining or other artificial intelligence features. Does not provide auxiliary software service such as payroll, pos etc. Sometimes it is complicated go work in multiuser option.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Backbone of CA's work day.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is a backbone of accounting and financial industry. This software provide in-depth analysis along with accounting.

Pros

Tally supports export to CSV, GST tax calculation. Readable data available for filling of GST returns. This provide multi-language support. It maintains inventory along with accounts. Automatic interest calculation for various accounts like receivable, payable, capital account. User security controls along with data safety features. It supports Audit features which are very useful. Presentation of data with bar charts. It not only provides profit and loss for the Financial year but it also provides various ratios for analysis of financial data. This is available for students for learning purpose.

Cons

User cannot open multiple instances of ledger account at same time. User cannot enter cost center wise opening balances which makes it difficult to depict data cost center wise. GUI graphics color should be customized.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Suitable and reliable software for your business financial and accounting needs

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using this software as a bookkeeper in handling inventory management, statutory compliance and financial accounting of the business. Following daily transactions has thus been easy since they can followed sequentially. the information is captured as transactions are being executed thus promoting the accountability and accuracy of information.

Pros

One of the things I like most with this software is its ability to adopt to the changing needs of a business needs today. It has the ability to adopt them with ease and and also ensures the business data is safe and secure. Through the help of partner support, Tally provides support for training and installation.

Cons

The software requires the user to have some accounting knowledge to effectively work with it. After the installation, the user can hardly grasp the accounting knowledge to facilitate the operations.

Vendor response

Most of our customers find it really easy to use our products. We have a detailed in-product and online help https://help.tallysolutions.com), should you need any assistance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes my work more easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

Am been working with this software since 2014 and it’s so easy to operate or accounting, everything is easy to calculate,, means everyday I can see profits and loss just by entering expenses, I even print cheque’s through tally erp 9, after many years I can the details of the cheque’s I issued. This is best software to any small or multinational companies

Pros

Can create account for multiple companies and use at multiple windows,, need not to do calculations by hand, everything percentage and deductions are calculated in tally itself

Cons

Doesn’t have automatic backups,, would be good if they have an option that data will be saved somewhere when computer get corrupted

Vendor response

"Currently auto backup is not available , however, backup of Data can be still performed using Backup functionality available in the default product. As a alternative, you can use external application Cobian software to take Auto backup"

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Basic Accounting and Inventory Software of Small Business

Reviewed 2 years ago

value for money for very small business not recommended for the companies who got tons of transactions

Pros

Best part for cost center wise accounting, Easy to use very basic accounting software, Good Reporting and bank reconciliation function.

Cons

No Payroll function, not good if you are using excel as invoice and then importing it to the accounting software import from excel is not there you have to convert it in to xml and then import little tricky No web version.

Vendor response

We suggest you to refer the following links for information on some of the widely used features of TallyPrime. Inbuilt Payroll feature is available in Tally Prime - https://bit.ly/2PBJ6eV For online access of Tally from anywhere we have Remote access and Tally on Browser options. You may refer this link for more details. Tally on Browser - https://bit.ly/3eac3bz Remote Access - https://bit.ly/3e2FjRl

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ONE OF THE BEST ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE AND VERY MUCH HELPFUL FOR GST RETURN FILING IN INDIA

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am a user of Tally Erp 9 for seven years. I feel it is the best accounting software available in India.

Pros

It is very easy to use and can be used by anyone who knows the basic accounting rules. Ledger creation in tally is very simple.Tally Erp 9 is very user friendly and can be used in small as well as corporate business enterprises because it has a lot of features. Any one can set it's features as per their requirements.Multi companies can be created and GST consultants and Auditors can easily take statutory reports and file GST returns through Tally Erp 9 very quickly.

Cons

When we use remote control feature sometimes it takes more time. Statutory reports can be taken slowly if there is company with huge data.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback. Enhancing remote access capabilities is one of our top priorities. Stay tuned for more on this from us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best for GST registered users in India

Reviewed 4 years ago

Customer support is really too bad, many times you will not get connected via phone support and email support is very worst, reply will be after a week.

Pros

GST implementation is really appreciated, some bad marks are you cannot control or lock the previous date invoice numbers which is very important for GST registered users, if your configuration of numbering is automatic the if you change any one number in between all the invoices will be affected, It should not be happen after filing GSTR1 report.

Cons

Reporting mechanism is fantastic, accuracy, front end look and excel export are awesome. More than that filtering options are really helpful to generate custom reports to submit the reports to management or higher authorities.

Vendor response

We regret the inconvenience caused. Kindly share your support ticket number and help us look into this specific issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tally- Accounting Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

When we need to surrender tally from 1 computer to another computer we face some issue. I have done this as well but some time we face issue. I have installed tally ERP ,no have done backup it's very easy to use.

Pros

Tally this software is very user friendly and you can say very intuitive. They have single user & multiple user licesense. On multiuser lisence we can access tally on multiple devices , computers, laptops. Even they have remote facility so you can give remote. Tally support also very nice.we have single user means Silver license. We are happy to using this. Our accountant can easily maintain all purchase, sale, payment , receipt, invoice entries. It is very easy to take data backup also.

Cons

Actually software is good but when tally version we need to update they will charge for this. This charges for service support. And we need to update version manually. After all software is very good very light version.

Vendor response

"Tally license is a perpetual license. You would need subscription to upgrade to latest releases. In addtion to this TSS also provides many options like a trusted and secure medium to connect to your data remotely with no additional software or hardware requirements. Refer this page for more details. https://help.tallysolutions.com/article/Tally.ERP9/faqs/8173.html "

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A must software for all your accounting needs

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to deliver data in it's correct form that helped many sellers to understand their profit, their taxes, their stock out graphs which in-turn helped them understand and concentrate their business fall and rise from time to time and immensely helped them to sell more only those products which sells more. Helped in understanding their profit margins. Helped in catching where they were getting charged more and how to reduce that. We were able to help sellers in maintaining proper record which is legitimate according to govt policies as well thus giving them a smooth day to day experience of accounting and inventory management.

Pros

multiple options to select. minimal data and maximum effect auto calculation of bills several menus to analyse and present data report export facility server-client option to expand it's usability options for VAT forms plugins import State wise calculation capability

Cons

UI is not so simple how to use guide is not so easy to understand error messages does not specify or give suggestions to rectify it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very useful and must software for accounting and book-keeping

Reviewed a year ago

Tally was the first ever software that I worked and now after working with Tally Prime, it has proved how much the software has evolved. This is by far the oldest and most trusted software.

Pros

It is easy to comply with the Indian Taxation (GST) with this software. It is very helpful for preparation and uploading of GST Returns directly from the software. It is very easy to learn and it is very quick as there are shortcuts for each function and they are very easy to learn. Contacting their support is quick and they are very helpful. There are several menus to analyze and present data.

Cons

UI can be improved. There are charges to change the version and the changes are to be done manually. We need this on cloud storage basis,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

What I love about TallyPrime? It's really necessary software for all business holder.

Reviewed 3 months ago

I am handling all out vehicle inventory with TallyPrime. And also using for keep all our account data up to date and get clear report end of the day.

Pros

TallyPrime is very well known company in this field. Since long they are providing this service in this field. I love there Accounting and billing system most and the user access system. There order management and processing system also very useful. I love there software.

Cons

First of all I will say this software are long time in this market. So lots of things they improved already. But some of there feature need to improve for payroll system. They can add payroll and HRM to this system which will be more better. People will be interested to buy this more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The accounting tool for all your needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Since my work is straight-forward, I don't require any customizations but yes integration to the tax-regimes is a must which Tally has already deployed in its upgrades and would continue to do so in it's future releases. Extremely fast and responsive once you get accustomed to using it. I've been using Tally for the past 6 years now and no complaints whatsoever. Cheers!

Pros

Tally has made it extremely easy for me to move from old tax regime to GST. Allows me to custom-view sales and purchase data based on my requirements and generate various reports on a daily/weekly/monthly/yearly basis as required.

Cons

It's a bit costly and it takes time to get accustomed to the User-Interface. Also customization is very limited so if you're in requirement of a scalable tool that allows you to customize its utility, you should look for other accounting tools.

Vendor response

We thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate you for taking time out to write such a detailed review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Tally User Experience as an Assistant Accountant

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

it gives more convenience by providing short cut key information on the right side of the screen with its respective headings as its always easy for users to use short cut keys to access data with more speed with our limited time in the work environment

Cons

narration for the transactions are limited or most of the time when we get printed the voucher some parts of the narration are missing as it has given limited lines which make inconvenience when we have to write a detailed comment of the vouchers, specially for the payment voucher where we have to pay our suppliers and get it signed

Vendor response

Thanks for the review. We will share your feedback on narration field with the concerned team.