Wintac Reviews

Wintac Reviews

Wintac

The All-In-One Software for Service Contractors

4.33/5 (416 reviews)
1,659     1,321

Nathan Epperson

Wintac Review

23/03/2017

Good program for the money. Does have glitches that are not easy to figure out. Overall worth the money we spent

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew  LaLuna

Using wintac

22/03/2017

We are an HVAC company and have used the software since 2002 as our database. Last year we began using the portal which has helped our techs find important info when needed in the evening if the office is closed. we are still trying to implement the use of the portal in the field for techs full time. We have never used the accounting side,our bookkeeper prefers Quick books. The software is very easy to use and can be customized in my different fields to suit your needs. We are a flat rate company and although we use a flat rate program that is not as popular at some of the big names Wintac support was able to create an import utility that allows us to use the flat rate program we wish too. Overall we think it is a very decent software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Walter  Jurczyk

HVAC Software is worth the effort

18/03/2017

At first the software is overwhelming due to the amount of information it will allow you to customize into the program. With a small amount of persistence and effort this software is amazing to both tech in field and office personnel. Easy to enter fields allow for total customizing of invoices and proposal s to allow for customers to log in and view on the their own, integrated systems are flawless. Will keep easier to navigate with use as in any software but worth the effort.

Pros

integration between office and field

Cons

Little complicated at first but customer service is awesome

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Philip Jackson

Not very smooth.

14/03/2017

Parts and material do not sync with the price book very well and very hard to navigate.

Pros

The dispatching part looks ok. It seems to be geared more towards the office/dispatchers. I can't even update or change customers information.

Cons

You can't simply add pictures and model numbers. You have to click proceed or save after every added line or it erases it. Everything is in small small print.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christina Adams

Pretty Satisfied

22/02/2017

Wintac has been very helpful to us. We are able to do everything we need to in order to manage our business. There are some features we don't even know how to use yet because there is that much. I do have a few recommendations for constructive feedback, nothing I hate about it but there is always room for improvement. 1) The customer service team is always fantastic. Lately, however, they have been super busy. You used to be able to get someone on the line right away, but now it's more of an answering service. I would like to see them bring on more staff to accommodate their growing customer base. 2) I would really like to be able to have the dispatch board up in a separate window so I can always see where I have all of my guys, but still be able to navigate through WT. 3) With the many features of wintac, I would love to be able to see more webinars available for training. I feel like we are only scratching the surface. It would also be neat if Wintac could integrate with gmail or Google calendar. I love how Wintac is always asking us opinions and implementing our suggestions. Thank you for always being open to listen to our requests.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Sinkler

Great product

17/02/2017

It is great for multiple things. It works well with the accountant. It should be able to adjust the pricing better.

Pros

How quick it works

Cons

It could work better with mapping

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Get Payzer it works well together.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve f

Too Many problems!

14/02/2017

Since the SQL release I have had more problems than ever with error codes and Wintac freezing up with a code on the screen. Also have issues with Retained earnings calculations. Call tech support and be ready to wait for a long time. Then if you are lucky you might get to talk to someone, or they say they will call back. Very unsatisfied customer.

Pros

Web Portal

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Might want to consider other alternatives

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Aleksieiev

Very Expensive But Good

02/02/2017

The software is very very expensive but very good. I would suggest this software to all companies, but be ready to pay.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Krzywonos

Great software, helped us become efficient and organized

02/02/2017

Wintac helped us tremendously in scheduling, invoicing and keeping track of important customer & employee information. We have been using the 2012 Wintac Green Version. The program was not as intuitive as standard "windows" programs, but the training available was great . Wintac is very easy to operate (now) and we cannot imagine our professional life without it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Becky Butler

Wintac Field Software a Must for our Company

19/01/2017

After, reluctantly, forcing ourselves to step into the technological age of in-field software applications, we now realize how difficult we were making our lives by continuing without it for so long. Our dispatcher has real time updates, customers have invoices and payments showing immediately, and our technicians can look up job history or schedule follows ups in very little time. Our company is able to instill confidence in our customers & stability in our income by completing the transaction in the customers home, rather than the old fashioned charge out billing we had used for years. We are quite pleased with Wintac Field Service Software and use it with our 3 service technicians. We had previously used Wintac for our day to day operations for over 10 years and added the Field Service Software about 3 years ago. Wintac has always had exceptional customer service. In our experience, this is what has set them apart from the competition and keeps our company coming back year after year.

Pros

Ease of use. Accessibility for our techs on customer history. Accepting payments. Real-time updating for scheduling purposes.

Cons

The area in which we live is rural. Our technicians don't always have service on the tablets, however, this is not the fault of Wintac. That falls on our carrier. Getting set up was a bit of an issue, but, again, Wintac tech support is always there to help even the most technologically challenged.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Try it. You won't be disappointed. We are in an age of technology and we all want to grow our businesses. This will help you get there.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donald Horenzy

Issues with the software

09/01/2017

Even though they have been around 25 years but in the service field less 5 yrs - the software has several problems. We had made several attempts to help with issues that we have been having from the beginning of us buying the software. The use of the web side in the field is very slow and becomes jammed when using it. Now if they could put more work on the App version they have it would be more user-friendly. Equipment management is very poor where we would enter equipment model and serial numbers then they would disappear.

Pros

It is an all in one software and has a mobile app.

Cons

Wintac Issues Customer Login: There needs to be an example and explained exactly how the password how it should be set up. When my customers go to set up their logins it does not show how Wintac password set up EXAMPLE – At the Sign up for your new account window – Under Account E-mail it should explain the password parameters. Wintac System: PO – Item code for the Vendor’s – I have in Business Options checked (PO) – Include Vendor’s Item Code and it is not printing on the PO Order. A/P & Checking: In Adding a (Journal, writing a check & anything with G/L account) Should have placed another column showing a description of Account description or have it where we can choose to use Division or Description next to Amount. Worker Order: Why is it when we are working in work order and want to see equipment - there is not a place from that screen to look up equipment that is at the location when clicking from dispatch board (we need to be able to get to the equipment from the job site not only from billing information. I want the ability to only see equipment for the jobs site we are on not all equipment unless I am in customer information area. I have one customer that has 2 system on each 80 cabins in the system so when I am looking at work order I cannot just click on that location equipment with going back out to get to customer information then finding the building and then look at the equipment. Poor time management. Task: Building a task the cost sometimes does not transfer from inventory cost and when I zero it out in inventory it does not remove it from the task (when I have it check to update task when inventory is changing) But when I zero it out in the task cost it comes back. Task: Adding in Items & Amounts – If I am Adding let’s say Freon and need to change Amount or Qty from 1 to 6 the price savings in work description goes away after I make the QTY change to the item (Does not update the price savings or add price) But if I left 1 in QTY it Stays. Task: When building a task from inventory the cost does not show up all the time or if I change cost in inventory it does not change it in the task. But if I change it sometimes it does not stay. If I change HRS/QTY it does not update on work description it removes task information. Equipment: Again we should be able to look at job equipment from Invoice, Work Order on the job site. We have to go out of invoice into customer information then equipment History – I have customers with Multiple job sites – It would be easier just from work order /or Invoice. Notes: There should be at job site SHOULD save in notes area at Job site and Customer information. When you save notes on the jobs site page – IT SHOULD save it also at customer information in case of follow-up work. Saving in Notes are so we can use as reference no matter if new or old work order – invoice – Proposal. Email: Are Emails are going to customer’s Spam all the time. The Emails are how a customer gets their Bills. In the field – APP or Portal The tech cannot change any information in the field if it needs to be changed ex-address, email, or name spelled wrong. Tablet – APP In the field the APP is faster to use than the web porter. Using the web porter through tablet is like dial up – (if you are old enough to remember) when standing in front of the customer trying to leave the job. My Opinion is to improve the App to input information quickly then upload information once it has been inputted will save time and easier to use. In the app need to be able to upload customer signature and payment information. Because ever little change made on the web porter really slows downs the time we should be doing something else. When we select a task in the field – When the customer has a discount it does not show the regular price then the discount price like it does when doing the invoice in the office computer. APP & Web Porter: We should be able to input or change equipment on the job site SEPARATE from attaching to parts or task that are inputted. We should be able to select equipment we are working on but also be able to add or edit on jobs site! Credit Card: When we are taking credit cards in the field (there should email a receipt to the customer along with invoice). I do not what to here it is Xcharge issue then Xcharge said it is Wintac issue so at this point I wish someone put their big boy pants on and fix it. I have asked both Wintac and Xcharge and both had point fingers to each other. I know the receipt can be emailed because I have been using this way of processing before Square even came out. The receipt shows on the web porter when we run the credit card in field so it should be able to get emailed along with the invoice. Customer Info Field: *Note Box: It automatically puts in a note every time the pay and billing statement. I don’t want this to happen I want to manually put that in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Nothing is more frustrating in buying a software that you have to call customer support all the time to fix their issues that you are pointing out that needs to be addressed. Now an SQL update has been released and so I will wait to see if they made the improvements that corrected the issues. The cons above was a letter sent back in 5/28/2016 and still as of today no call about the issues that I would have like them to address. Today we still have problems with our customers getting their emails from us through the system. We have tried everything they asked and to the point of us buying Outlook 2016 last week. We are still having issues with emails, so we have to mail invoices to our customers which I was trying to keep from doing!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
john desante

Best software program I found for Plumbing & Heating business.

30/12/2016

We have been using Wintac since 2001 and believe that this is the best software program for our Plumbing and HVAC business.

Pros

Easy to learn and has many integrated business functions and great searching features.

Cons

Some of the accounting features are above my knowledge, but not for my accountant.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joseph Litvaitis

Wintac for use with QuickBooks Pro

30/12/2016

We implemented Wintac a little while ago to go paperless and streamline out billing process. Wintac is not an integrated solution but does have a limited transfer to and from QuickBooks. Tech support on average is good. All our issues have been fixed if not immediately, have been fixed in a day or so when the correct support agent is tapped to straighten out our software problems. The online support is pretty good and quite often connects to my computer to fix the problems, and usually shows me how to correct the problem I was having. Had a few problems with the Web portal, but most of the troubles have been corrected. Do use the Wintac app. It has a bug capturing signatures that support assured me would be corrected with the upcoming release.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hilda Del Alizal Gomez

GREAT JOB CONTROL CENTER

23/12/2016

We use wintac to keep track of all our open calls and sales. The job control option to limit status by a letter or number makes it real easy to keep organized and be efficient. We recommend it for service professionals.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ron Neeley

Thank You

21/12/2016

HVAC Software based on the investment of time and money gives the biggest bang for the buck!

Pros

Comprehensive

Cons

Fluidity

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Very dependable consistent software. It is only as good as the people that work with it.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Wessel

Wintac

21/12/2016

We have been using Wintac for years and I have not had the issues with this program or its people that you hear about other programs.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

None at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Don't wait to purchase you will be happy you did.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Connie  Bedoya

Satisfied Wintac usuer

21/12/2016

We have been using Wintac for over 15 years. We have been using the wintac portal for 3 years. The wintac program is our A/R program and now our dispatching program. Both work very well for our hvac business.

Pros

This is a relatively easy to learn, easy to teach and easy to use the system.

Cons

We converted from an extremely old version of Wintac to a newer version in 2014 and there was only one small glitch in bringing over old history. But it was very small considering the amount of data, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

As with any new product, shop around. We have found Wintac to be just what we need for our business.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rich Haskell

Not able to meet the needs

20/12/2016

After 18 months we are still not able to get all the "known issues" resolved. They are very responsive to our issues, however, the team is unable to fix the issues, sitting the next version addresses them. Inventory was the selling feature for our small company, and we are still not able to figure out why when posting purchases, they mysteriously remove inventory, change pricing (revert to previous costs). Their solution is to reprocess the WIP, but that is not a cost effective solution. As one could see, this will affect financials as the cost of goods is affected. We have spent hours, on hours data mining the reports to find the errors within the program. We have 1300 customers in an oil and propane delivery and service business. Until we brought it to their attention, they were not aware the ticket printing did not work and caused the crash of CPU, resulting in complete data loss. They "rebuilt" our data over 6 times in the 18 months we have had this program, nuts! They have "fixed" the printer issues, but still we have crashes that require the shut down during busy times, but we have the process to avoid loss of data, and they have supported this issue by providing rebuilding data and such. Currently, we are unable to invest in another solution and have found work around to get us to be able to operate. However, the cost of hours, lost time due to crashes, along with the extensive work to validate financials has left us with a very poor overall customer experience. It is too bad, as their techs work hard to try and help. This corporation needs to invest in its product. We would have been willing to pay more, as this is priced for YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Pros

Ability to manage work orders, dispatch board, and customer job manager.

Cons

Financials are somewhat limited on reporting and ability to reconcile the cost center balances to obtain the adjusted trial balance., employee payroll has limited ability to provide what is required to report to state and federal, inventory management is a complete nightmare, with changes that cannot be explained, but some are a result of system design with many areas for error.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

Look hard, and make sure you have really good technical ability to perform IT support within your organization.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Dineen

Wintac great for medium sized company's

16/12/2016

We have used Wintac since the early 90's. We love it and our only complaint had been the speed on our network. We are hoping the new database system will fix this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bernard  Cuffy

Great Software

16/12/2016

Excellent software and people behind the software. Makes life a little easier. We've started using Wintac 2004. Upgraded in 2012. Now upgrading again. The software has been improved over the years. I am looking forward to the new upgrade so that we can start using this software as our primary software for running our business in 2017.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alan Brown

wintac works

14/12/2016

we have used wintac for 15 years and have great success. easy to use and train new employees. it has been very reliable

Pros

the reliability and ease of use

Cons

no issues really....looking forward to an updated version to see the improvements

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Urias

Excellent Program

12/12/2016

Wintac has really helped keep our pest control office more organized. Our jobs are all a little easier now that we use Wintac. The web portal is very easy to use and excellent for field technicians. It takes a little time to learn and get use to the program, but it is worth it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
earl post

review

12/12/2016

So far, this software has been the best, including support that we have used in the HVAC industry for 20 years.

Pros

support

Cons

limited with mobile pads

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Winn

User before Wintac made for Windows

11/12/2016

Have been very happy with the product as I have used it. Was able to get up and running with no training, though I am sure if I were to use all the features it would be helpful. Particularly liked being able to start using it for sending out bills without having to set up the inventory first. Was billing within hours of receiving the software. Staff was very helpful on one question I did have. I would like a little more comprehensive help manual as I am from the "paper" generation, but overall most of my issues have been able to be solved without outside help. I have received a number of compliments from customers on the appearance of my bills.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alan  Cofer

Wintac

06/12/2016

Our firm has used Wintac since it was called Intac in 1995! We are extremely happy with all of the Wintac features that we utilize. However, we do not utilize the accounting feature as we have another accounting software program. It has been a blessing to have cutomer records that are this easy to view with just a click.

Pros

Customer service history, work order, invoicing and dispatching.

Cons

A few glitches in the Wintac Pro version 16.44 but nothing major.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wintac

I would highly recommend this program if for nothing other than the customer service history. I have records dating back to 1995!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more